Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-12470445
Post #15,136 of 40,464

Mojo ideas

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
1,166
Reaction score
1,709
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Posts
1,166
Likes
1,709
The price for mojo is definetly reasonable (just so I don't get shot here, with these people)

But 600$ is quite high for something that was intended to Accompany a phone. I sure enjoy it, too me perceived value is about 350 tops
I'm sure we could have achieved that price had we just done what everyone else in this industry does. That is to put a industry standard Dac chip inside. But had we done that it would sound like every one else's does too. Instead inside mojo you have got a reference quality custom Dac that has about five hundred times the signal processing that other Dacs have including forty or more DSP cores running similtainiosly. Never underestimate something just because it is small. surprisingly Mojo has far more active electronics than virtually all desktop dacs too.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: opienor
post-12470459
Post #15,137 of 40,464

bocosb

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
81
Reaction score
44
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Posts
81
Likes
44
The price for mojo is definetly reasonable (just so I don't get shot here, with these people)

But 600$ is quite high for something that was intended to Accompany a phone. I sure enjoy it, too me perceived value is about 350 tops
 
Sometimes i think that the dealer will call me and ask for more money for the Mojo.. it feels like a steal for the price even tho is the most expensive dac i ever bought :p  I use it on both my desktop rig and connected to the phone
 
post-12470818
Post #15,138 of 40,464

MacedonianHero

Headphone.Guru Editor
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
17,427
Reaction score
3,204
Location
Toronto, Canada
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Location
Toronto, Canada
Posts
17,427
Likes
3,204
Well, I can happily confirm that the Mojo works flawlessly with my new iPad Pro (9.7"...the larger 12" was just too big for me as I tend to lug my iPad around with me everywhere). Simply plug and play, just as it was with my (or now my son's
) iPad Air.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12470825
Post #15,139 of 40,464

Wyd4

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
2,656
Reaction score
506
Location
Country Victoria, Australia
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Location
Country Victoria, Australia
Posts
2,656
Likes
506
Well, I can happily confirm that the Mojo works flawlessly with my new iPad Pro (9.7"...the larger 12" was just too big for me as I tend to lug my iPad around with me everywhere). Simply plug and play, just as it was with my (or now my son's :wink: ) iPad Air.

Very nice. I was looking at these however it's hard to justify the step up from a regular iPad Air for the price. The 256gb memory does look appealing though I must admit.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12470845
Post #15,140 of 40,464

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,973
Reaction score
7,568
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,973
Likes
7,568
Very nice. I was looking at these however it's hard to justify the step up from a regular iPad Air for the price. The 256gb memory does look appealing though I must admit.

Pffft! My wife picked up a iPad Pro (12" for me) and an iPad Air (for her) 4 weeks before the new models were announced. I would have preferred the 256gb version for sure. Grrrrrr. :mad:

I like the Mojo. :)
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: GreenBow
post-12470950
Post #15,141 of 40,464

Signal2Noise

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
1,992
Reaction score
764
Location
Wherever the music takes me
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Location
Wherever the music takes me
Posts
1,992
Likes
764
I always have a good chuckle when I see the words "iPad" & "Pro" used together. :D

The iPads still require the USB Camera Kit dongle to use for audio out, correct?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12470955
Post #15,142 of 40,464

captblaze

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
1,364
Reaction score
934
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Posts
1,364
Likes
934
The iPads still require the USB Camera Kit dongle to use for audio out, correct?
 
yes unless you own the Audeze EL-8 or Sine with the Cipher cable
 
     Share This Post       
post-12470962
Post #15,143 of 40,464

MacedonianHero

Headphone.Guru Editor
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Messages
17,427
Reaction score
3,204
Location
Toronto, Canada
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Location
Toronto, Canada
Posts
17,427
Likes
3,204
yes unless you own the Audeze EL-8 or Sine with the Cipher cable

Exactly, works very well with the SINE headphones too. Plus this thing is damn fast. Very impressed with it so far.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12471067
Post #15,144 of 40,464

jarnopp

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,544
Reaction score
764
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,544
Likes
764
Pffft! My wife picked up a iPad Pro (12" for me) and an iPad Air (for her) 4 weeks before the new models were announced. I would have preferred the 256gb version for sure. Grrrrrr. :mad:

I like the Mojo. :)

Wait...you like Mojo? :L3000:
 
     Share This Post       
post-12471085
Post #15,145 of 40,464

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,973
Reaction score
7,568
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,973
Likes
7,568
I always have a good chuckle when I see the words "iPad" & "Pro" used together. :D

The iPads still require the USB Camera Kit dongle to use for audio out, correct?


Totally off topic....

I use mine on set for concept art when working with my clients. It's great for that. I don't use the iPad generally for audio.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12471371
Post #15,146 of 40,464

UNOE

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
706
Reaction score
51
Location
Orange County, CA
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Location
Orange County, CA
Posts
706
Likes
51
Does anyone know if any cheap android devices like this cheap Blu phone would work with Mojo.  Interface is probably not much worse than X3 first gen.
 
 
http://www.amazon.com/D141W-Factory-Unlocked-Android-Smartphone/dp/B00OJCOQPK/ref=sr_1_25?s=wireless&ie=UTF8&qid=1459580815&sr=1-25&keywords=android+phone
 
     Share This Post       
post-12471378
Post #15,147 of 40,464

masterpfa

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
342
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Posts
1,050
Likes
342
  Does anyone know if any cheap android devices like this cheap Blu phone would work with Mojo.  Interface is probably not much worse than X3 first gen.
 
 
http://www.amazon.com/D141W-Factory-Unlocked-Android-Smartphone/dp/B00OJCOQPK/ref=sr_1_25?s=wireless&ie=UTF8&qid=1459580815&sr=1-25&keywords=android+phone
Probably not, reading the advert it states " Android v2.3 (Gingerbread),"

USB Audio out I believe was introduced from Android 4.4 (KitKat) onwards

 
Check out this thread on Android Phones and USB DACS
 
     Share This Post       
post-12471380
Post #15,148 of 40,464

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,973
Reaction score
7,568
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,973
Likes
7,568
     Share This Post       
post-12471386
Post #15,149 of 40,464

leaky74

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
591
Reaction score
184
Location
UK, near Manchester
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Location
UK, near Manchester
Posts
591
Likes
184
Any usb cable recommendations for use with Mojo (without disappearing down a rabbit hole)? I'm returning a QED reference cable not because it doesn't make a discernibly positive difference but because it's just too bulky/stiff - with not much movement of the cable, the connection into the DAC often gets disturbed.  
 
     Share This Post       
post-12471392
Post #15,150 of 40,464

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,973
Reaction score
7,568
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,973
Likes
7,568
Any usb cable recommendations for use with Mojo (without disappearing down a rabbit hole)? I'm returning a QED reference cable not because it doesn't make a discernibly positive difference but because it's just too bulky/stiff - with not much movement of the cable, the connection into the DAC often gets disturbed.  

You know, there's a lot of links to otg usb cables in the third post of the thread. :wink_face:
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 3, Guests: 10)

Top