Chord Mojo DAC-amp ☆★►FAQ in 3rd post!◄★☆
post-12469054
Post #15,091 of 40,293

TheTrace

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 30, 2013
Messages
240
Reaction score
32
Joined
May 30, 2013
Posts
240
Likes
32
well I got my phone Rooted by a "professional" now it wont turn on. Hope its not messed up. Back to him I go.
Is rooting necessary for Mojo/Android or was it an attempt to gain 3rd party app functionality?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12469065
Post #15,092 of 40,293

captblaze

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
1,301
Reaction score
800
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Posts
1,301
Likes
800
on his computer took about 15 minutes.
 
have you tried to get into recovery mode to see if a custom recovery is installed, did he do a nand backup so you could return to the old system? I know it is a lot of questions, but there is quite a few variables that can affect the device. and also because Mojo will never be able to so its thing if it is connected to an electronic brick
 
     Share This Post       
post-12469077
Post #15,093 of 40,293

jmills8

Previously known as bmiamihk
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
12,251
Reaction score
4,695
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Posts
12,251
Likes
4,695
have you tried to get into recovery mode to see if a custom recovery is installed, did he do a nand backup so you could return to the old system? I know it is a lot of questions, but there is quite a few variables that can affect the device. and also because Mojo will never be able to so its thing if it is connected to an electronic brick
He said he can put it back but I will have to go back tomorrow.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12469078
Post #15,094 of 40,293

warrior1975

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
7,619
Reaction score
1,198
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Posts
7,619
Likes
1,198
jmills8 Damn bro that's rough. I can't get my lgv10 to work with viper and mojo either. It does work without viper, but viper is pretty important.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12469093
Post #15,095 of 40,293

Ike1985

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
2,687
Reaction score
1,564
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Posts
2,687
Likes
1,564
Why would you root immediately without even trying any of the apps, especially UAPP? I have S7 edge, use this cable:
 
http://www.amazon.com/Meenova-Mobility-Cable-MicroUSB-MicroUSB/dp/B00ZYB44UW
 
with UAPP and everything works perfectly.  I have not rooted anything.
 
As far as Iphone's being better... Iphones will output all audio from all apps to mojo, bypassing the built in DAC in the iphone.  Androids will output all audio played through UAPP/Onkyo/hiby(dunno haven't used hiby) to mojo, bypassing the built in DAC in the android phone.  However, anything else you want to play via android phone; youtube, stitcher, tune-in, bandcamp, etc, it will all be upsampled before being sent to the mojo-at least for now as no one has developed an app that can send the output from these programs directly to the mojo as well.
 
Also, why buy 3 phones? It would seem with a little research you could have just bought one that you knew worked instead of buying 3.  just curious.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Light - Man
post-12469094
Post #15,096 of 40,293

jmills8

Previously known as bmiamihk
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
12,251
Reaction score
4,695
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Posts
12,251
Likes
4,695
jmills8 Damn bro that's rough. I can't get my lgv10 to work with viper and mojo either. It does work without viper, but viper is pretty important.
Yeah, now I have an 8 hour new phone bricked and a 24 hr old LG phone. My original phone will play Onkyo.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12469103
Post #15,097 of 40,293

warrior1975

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
7,619
Reaction score
1,198
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Posts
7,619
Likes
1,198
Lg doesn't work with the stock music app?

Like someone recommended earlier, did you try bolting into recovery? When you say bricked, is it turning on at all? Any activity on the screen? Or nothing? Big difference really.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12469109
Post #15,098 of 40,293

Light - Man

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 23, 2015
Messages
5,811
Reaction score
5,544
Location
Dublin, Ireland
Joined
Mar 23, 2015
Location
Dublin, Ireland
Posts
5,811
Likes
5,544
Age
120
  Why would you root immediately without even trying any of the apps, especially UAPP? I have S7 edge, use this cable:
 
http://www.amazon.com/Meenova-Mobility-Cable-MicroUSB-MicroUSB/dp/B00ZYB44UW
 
with UAPP and everything works perfectly.  I have not rooted anything.
 
As far as Iphone's being better... Iphones will output all audio from all apps to mojo, bypassing the built in DAC in the iphone.  Androids will output all audio played through UAPP/Onkyo/hiby(dunno haven't used hiby) to mojo, bypassing the built in DAC in the android phone.  However, anything else you want to play via android phone; youtube, stitcher, tune-in, bandcamp, etc, it will all be upsampled before being sent to the mojo-at least for now as no one has developed an app that can send the output from these programs directly to the mojo as well.
 
Also, why buy 3 phones? It would seem with a little research you could have just bought one that you knew worked instead of buying 3.  just curious.
Sounds to me that he has too much money and not enough patience!

 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Carl6868
post-12469110
Post #15,099 of 40,293

jmills8

Previously known as bmiamihk
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
12,251
Reaction score
4,695
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Posts
12,251
Likes
4,695
Lg doesn't work with the stock music app?

Like someone recommended earlier, did you try bolting into recovery? When you say bricked, is it turning on at all? Any activity on the screen? Or nothing? Big difference really.
says failed in red. Ill just bring it back to the guy. LG3 only onkyo will play but I didnt find this out until today.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12469150
Post #15,101 of 40,293

jmills8

Previously known as bmiamihk
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
12,251
Reaction score
4,695
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Location
Hong Kong and Miami
Posts
12,251
Likes
4,695
     Share This Post       
post-12469214
Post #15,102 of 40,293

Ike1985

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
2,687
Reaction score
1,564
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Posts
2,687
Likes
1,564
     Share This Post       
post-12469311
Post #15,103 of 40,293

masterpfa

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
1,045
Reaction score
333
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Posts
1,045
Likes
333
   
Hope he can fix what he screwed up. 
The saddest thing is, especially in hindsight, was getting their phone to work with USB audio first and foremost.
The best choices with the phone out of the box would have been Onkyo HF Player, UAPP or Hiby.

As great as the features are on Viper4Android and Neutron are, IMO not worth the hassle they have seemed to have gone through so far to get them to work, failing or even worse in this case a probable bricked phone.

There are threads here on Head-Fi on phones and USB audio and a few suggestions in this thread on phones that have worked.

Good luck @jmills8  in getting this resolved quickly.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: jmills8
post-12469347
Post #15,104 of 40,293

rkt31

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Messages
1,536
Reaction score
443
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Posts
1,536
Likes
443
why not to buy a used redmi phone solely for transport ? i have used ultra cheap redmi 1s in airplane mode. it works perfectly with uapp, hiby and should work with other apps also. it plays all files with uapp or hiby except some high res files over 24 96 or over dsd64. it is small and will stack well with mojo. however i use fiio x3 2nd gen as regular stack than redmi.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 13)

Top