Chord Hugo
Jan 30, 2016 at 6:08 AM Post #12,886 of 15,636

Whazzzup

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Posts
9,533
Likes
11,515
Location
Toronto, Canada
No Hugo does not I don't know as Hugo and TT runs un balanced se, well TT has xlr connections. The advantage to xlr is secure connection and self cleaning. There are no sound benefits.

A dedicated ground per channel is indeed a benefit (lower noise floor) and outputting your signal to a balanced amp that requires a balanced input to utilize the entire circuitry and power of said amp is yet another benefit. :wink:  Those XLR connections are to use your TT as a dedicated DAC and feed out a balanced signal to balanced amplifier (headphone, speaker, e-stat amp). 

I'm not saying a balanced amp is always better, cause it's not. Like most things in this world...it depends. :smile:

Thank you good to know for TT users as an option. I have not thought that far ahead yet.
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 6:19 AM Post #12,887 of 15,636

doraymon

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Posts
1,385
Likes
440
Location
Back from the future
Hi Guys,
 
I finally decided to upgrade my headphones to make justice to my fantastic Hugo. I sold my HD650 and went for the HiFiMan Edition X.
 
These cans are amazing and the combo with the Hugo sounds just fantastic!
I did a lot of testing before buying, I auditioned everything from Audeze (LCD-2, LCD-3, LCD-X) to Sennheiser (HD-800) and HiFiMan (HE1000, Edition X).
 
But there is still one thing I have to improve: I am using the stock optical cable to connect the Hugo to my MacBook Pro, but I would like to upgrade to something more sturdy (and good looking).
 
I've been looking around for months now, but can't find a good quality short cable (0.3 to 0.5 m), with Toslink to Mini connectors.
 
As usual I request your help if you have any ideas . Thanks a lot!
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 6:30 AM Post #12,888 of 15,636

episiarch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Posts
2,649
Likes
270
Location
London and California, mainly
I use the KabelDirekt Toslink / Mini Toslink cable with my MBP and Mojo.  Works well, is the best-looking optical cable I've come across, and is available in a 0.5m length.  https://kabeldirekt-store.de/pro-series/kabeldirekt-pro-series-mini-toslink-kabel.html?___store=amzonuk
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 6:49 AM Post #12,889 of 15,636

doraymon

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Posts
1,385
Likes
440
Location
Back from the future
  I use the KabelDirekt Toslink / Mini Toslink cable with my MBP and Mojo.  Works well, is the best-looking optical cable I've come across, and is available in a 0.5m length.  https://kabeldirekt-store.de/pro-series/kabeldirekt-pro-series-mini-toslink-kabel.html?___store=amzonuk


Not bad, are you happy with the sound? Could you ear any improvement in the sound vs the stock cable?
Actually I am very sceptical about changes in SQ or coloration with optical cables... anyhow...
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 1:31 PM Post #12,892 of 15,636

SAP7

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Posts
694
Likes
11
See my post earlier.

Not all optical cables will fit the Hugo !! Some of the best ones don't due to the shallow input area of the port

And the Sysconcept 1300 is one you can specify any length and it works...
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 1:46 PM Post #12,893 of 15,636

doraymon

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Posts
1,385
Likes
440
Location
Back from the future
See my post earlier.

Not all optical cables will fit the Hugo !! Some of the best ones don't due to the shallow input area of the port

And the Sysconcept 1300 is one you can specify any length and it works...


Yes I considered the Sysconcept but I'm hesitating, for some reasons the final products I see in the pics look kind of cheap...
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 2:20 PM Post #12,894 of 15,636

seeteeyou

Living encyclopedia of product accessories.
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Posts
1,721
Likes
338
Back in July 2015, the original version of Audioquest Toslink Diamond was shown
 
http://web.archive.org/web/20150722040545/http://www.audioquest.com/fiber-optics/diamond
 
oQJt0aA.jpg

 

 
Then they changed that to the latest version since September 2015, not sure if that were any good for Hugo?
 
http://web.archive.org/web/20150915012931/http://www.audioquest.com/fiber-optics/diamond
http://www.audioquest.com/fiber-optics/diamond
 
fN4b1gw.jpg
 
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 2:35 PM Post #12,895 of 15,636

Whazzzup

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Posts
9,533
Likes
11,515
Location
Toronto, Canada
Back in July 2015, the original version of Audioquest Toslink Diamond was shown

http://web.archive.org/web/20150722040545/http://www.audioquest.com/fiber-optics/diamond

oQJt0aA.jpg


[rule]
Then they changed that to the latest version since September 2015, not sure if that were any good for Hugo?

http://web.archive.org/web/20150915012931/http://www.audioquest.com/fiber-optics/diamond
http://www.audioquest.com/fiber-optics/diamond

fN4b1gw.jpg
 

I like diamond, great construction, have a USB. Very pricey but for audio heads who feed the economy, I'd say get it.
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 3:05 PM Post #12,896 of 15,636

doraymon

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Posts
1,385
Likes
440
Location
Back from the future
I'd say the wireworld super nova 7 is the best optical cable on the market.


I read some reviews and found out they have a 0.3m version, which is perfect for me.
The AQ Diamond is nice but way overpriced for my wallet, so I just bought the Supernova 7 0.3m
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 3:38 PM Post #12,897 of 15,636

lovethatsound

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 11, 2013
Posts
555
Likes
97
I read some reviews and found out they have a 0.3m version, which is perfect for me.
The AQ Diamond is nice but way overpriced for my wallet, so I just bought the Supernova 7 0.3m
The supernova 7 will work with the hugo,but it is a lose fit into the hugo,so it's ok for a desktop setup,but no good for portable set up with the hugo,please bear this in mind if you're buying a supernova 7 for the hugo.
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 10:10 PM Post #12,898 of 15,636

doraymon

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Posts
1,385
Likes
440
Location
Back from the future
The supernova 7 will work with the hugo,but it is a lose fit into the hugo,so it's ok for a desktop setup,but no good for portable set up with the hugo,please bear this in mind if you're buying a supernova 7 for the hugo.


Oh no... I am not going to spend 150 Euro for a cable which connects loose to the Hugo.
Have you tried it, how loose is it?
 
Damn, I hope I can cancel the order now...
 
Jan 30, 2016 at 11:50 PM Post #12,900 of 15,636

doraymon

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Posts
1,385
Likes
440
Location
Back from the future
If you're using the hugo on the move it will be no good.it will just come out.


I'm not using it on the go, but the whole idea of spending so much money for a cable which doesn't fit 100% is annoying.
It obviously depends on how much loos it will be, and I'm afraid the only way to check is to give it a go.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top