Chord Electronics - Hugo 2 - The Official Thread
Oct 26, 2021 at 5:58 AM Post #20,446 of 20,562

zolom

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Posts
593
Likes
250
Location
Here
Started to use Raspberry pi with the JustBoom Digi Hat as a streamer, input to Hugo 2 (via coax or fiber). Sounds good (although not great, compared to bit-perfect Tidal hifi via UAPP USB audio).

Can someone explain the coax states of the H2? (coax1, coax2, dual coax; yellow, light blue, light red color of the source selector).

For my RCA coax cable I use a mono RCA to 3.5mm adapter to connect with the H2, is it the correct adapter?

Which Coax cable (including the 3.5mm connector) is recommended for my setup?

Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Oct 26, 2021 at 8:57 AM Post #20,447 of 20,562

Progisus

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 28, 2018
Posts
1,410
Likes
1,492
Location
Canada
Started to use Raspberry pi with the JustBoom Digi Hat as a streamer, input to Hugo 2 (via coax or fiber). Sounds good (although not great, compared to bit-perfect Tidal hifi via UAPP USB audio).

Can someone explain the coax states of the H2? (coax1, coax2, dual coax; yellow, light blue, light red color of the source selector).

For my RCA coax cable I use a mono RCA to 3.5mm adapter to connect with the H2, is it the correct adapter?

Which Coax cable (including the 3.5mm connector) is recommended for my setup?

Thanks.
Coax 1 is for single 384khz max signal. Coax 2 is a combo of 2 x 384khz signals from an mscaler or SRC-DX. It requires a special cable. Moon Audio makes a good one.
 
Oct 26, 2021 at 9:01 AM Post #20,448 of 20,562

JulienFrance

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 4, 2020
Posts
15
Likes
4
Location
France
Started to use Raspberry pi with the JustBoom Digi Hat as a streamer, input to Hugo 2 (via coax or fiber). Sounds good (although not great, compared to bit-perfect Tidal hifi via UAPP USB audio).

Can someone explain the coax states of the H2? (coax1, coax2, dual coax; yellow, light blue, light red color of the source selector).

For my RCA coax cable I use a mono RCA to 3.5mm adapter to connect with the H2, is it the correct adapter?

Which Coax cable (including the 3.5mm connector) is recommended for my setup?

Yes, it is correct,
Just try Coax 1 and Coax 2 :
Coax 1 configuration = Tip and sleeve, Coax 2 configuration = Ring and sleeve.
 
Oct 26, 2021 at 9:12 AM Post #20,449 of 20,562

Boldakov

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 12, 2020
Posts
71
Likes
75
Location
Saint-Petersburg
Can someone explain the coax states of the H2? (coax1, coax2, dual coax; yellow, light blue, light red color of the source selector).
Unfortunately, there is no documentation on dual coax data mode of Hugo 2, maybe @Rob Watts could explain. It seems to be L+R coax..
Coax 2 is a combo of 2 x 384khz signals
But it is a miracle how to use it, and what maximum DoP rate is (DSD128 or DSD256)..
Mytek Digital Brooklyn DAC+ has the same functionality but is it the same dual coax or another one?
 
Last edited:
Oct 27, 2021 at 4:46 AM Post #20,450 of 20,562

technobear

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Posts
2,279
Likes
770
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Oh my goodness. Lots of answers here that are mostly or partly wrong!

The Hugo 2 has TWO coaxial inputs.

The socket is a 3.5mm STEREO (Tip-Ring-Sleeve) socket.

Coaxial input 1 uses the tip and the sleeve. You can use a mono or stereo plug as long as the signal goes to the tip.

Coaxial input 2 uses the ring and the sleeve. You can only use a stereo plug and the signal must go to the ring.

Dual coax uses both inputs together and is for use with the MScaler only.
 
Oct 27, 2021 at 9:22 AM Post #20,451 of 20,562

marcus2704

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2016
Posts
326
Likes
198
Looking to get an aftermarket cable made up for my Stellia's to my Hugo 2.

In terms of headphone connector, am I better off having the cable with a 6.3mm or 3.5mm adaptor? If there is no distinct reason to go with one or the other, Ill go for the 3.5mm which would allow me to use with the Shanling M8.
 
Oct 27, 2021 at 9:33 AM Post #20,453 of 20,562

WaveTheory

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 25, 2020
Posts
194
Likes
532
Location
USA
Looking to get an aftermarket cable made up for my Stellia's to my Hugo 2.

In terms of headphone connector, am I better off having the cable with a 6.3mm or 3.5mm adaptor? If there is no distinct reason to go with one or the other, Ill go for the 3.5mm which would allow me to use with the Shanling M8.
They are identical outputs. So pick what works better ergonomically.
 
Oct 27, 2021 at 10:07 AM Post #20,454 of 20,562

MarkParity

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 16, 2020
Posts
584
Likes
682
Location
UK
Looking to get an aftermarket cable made up for my Stellia's to my Hugo 2.

In terms of headphone connector, am I better off having the cable with a 6.3mm or 3.5mm adaptor? If there is no distinct reason to go with one or the other, Ill go for the 3.5mm which would allow me to use with the Shanling M8.
I will throw this into the discussion.

Go with the 6.3mm if possible its a stronger connection so less likelihood of a broken socket. My 3.5mm socket on my Hugo2 is still fine but I did break a 3.5mm Mojo socket once, the soldering to the circuit board is weaker and that resulted in a loose joint between the PCB and socket.
 
Oct 27, 2021 at 10:21 AM Post #20,455 of 20,562

marcus2704

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 13, 2016
Posts
326
Likes
198
Thanks all, I have gone with the 3.5mm purely because it enables me to use it OTG with my Shanling should I ever decide to.
 
Oct 29, 2021 at 11:41 AM Post #20,456 of 20,562

ducnsh

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Posts
84
Likes
56
Location
VN
Is there any ways to enter hugo2 to desktop mode manually?
 
Oct 29, 2021 at 12:25 PM Post #20,457 of 20,562

technobear

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Posts
2,279
Likes
770
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Oct 30, 2021 at 1:40 AM Post #20,458 of 20,562

flargosa

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Posts
775
Likes
49
Do you guys know where to purchase replacement batteries for the Hugo 2? I was able to replace the batteries for my Hugo 1 no problem, but there doesn't seem to be Hugo 2 batteries available online.
 
Oct 30, 2021 at 2:06 AM Post #20,459 of 20,562

ducnsh

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Posts
84
Likes
56
Location
VN
Hi guys, I have bought a 2nd hugo2, when it connects to my iphone via lightning-micro otg it shows the name mojo not hugo, is that normal?
 
Oct 30, 2021 at 4:10 AM Post #20,460 of 20,562

Lohb

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Posts
6,367
Likes
3,310
Location
Surfing on electro
Hi guys, I have bought a 2nd hugo2, when it connects to my iphone via lightning-micro otg it shows the name mojo not hugo, is that normal?
I think that is older ones that were named like that, it does not matter...
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top