Chord Electronics - Hugo 2 - The Official Thread
post-15626912
Post #18,466 of 18,507

joshnor713

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
1,074
Reaction score
571
Location
Seattle Area
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Location
Seattle Area
Posts
1,074
Likes
571
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: SupperTime
post-15626946
Post #18,467 of 18,507

paulgc

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
376
Reaction score
260
Location
Toronto
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Location
Toronto
Posts
376
Likes
260
Is there a case that can accommodate the hugo+2go?
Yes there is and a nylon tote bag. The website is in Japanese and they only ship domestically. You need a 3rd party service to export. Fingers crossed that Chord offer these as well.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15626951
Post #18,468 of 18,507

paulgc

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
376
Reaction score
260
Location
Toronto
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Location
Toronto
Posts
376
Likes
260
     Share This Post       
post-15631393
Post #18,470 of 18,507

MikeJSmith

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
72
Reaction score
36
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Posts
72
Likes
36
I'm having issues with using my Hugo 2 via USB on my Windows 10 Computer.

Quite often (perhaps after every time the computer goes to sleep), there is no sound coming from the Hugo and whatever app I am using to play music hangs. I've tried Groove Music, WMP, and some 3rd party ones. Also happens on youtube. Sometimes after the Groove Music has hung for a while it'll start playing, but there is still no output.

Clearly it's a computer issue rather than with the Hugo. I've tried reinstalling the drivers but no luck.

I have to go into settings, disable then re-enable the Hugo and it then it works fine.

Any ideas?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15631890
Post #18,471 of 18,507

InstantSilence

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 1, 2020
Messages
106
Reaction score
27
Location
usa
Joined
May 1, 2020
Location
usa
Posts
106
Likes
27
How does someone hook up optical from pc to H2? Pc have no optical out...
What is a competent usb a to usb micro that doesn't have Rf noise, ect
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15631891
Post #18,472 of 18,507

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3,422
Reaction score
1,038
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
3,422
Likes
1,038
I'm having issues with using my Hugo 2 via USB on my Windows 10 Computer.

Quite often (perhaps after every time the computer goes to sleep), there is no sound coming from the Hugo and whatever app I am using to play music hangs. I've tried Groove Music, WMP, and some 3rd party ones. Also happens on youtube. Sometimes after the Groove Music has hung for a while it'll start playing, but there is still no output.

Clearly it's a computer issue rather than with the Hugo. I've tried reinstalling the drivers but no luck.

I have to go into settings, disable then re-enable the Hugo and it then it works fine.

Any ideas?
I don't understand your question.

Are you saying your PC should still send music to Hugo 2 when it has gone into sleep mode?
Or your Hugo 2 disconnects after PC has gone to sleep. Then when your PC is woken, the Hugo 2 is not accessible and needs re-enabling.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15631919
Post #18,475 of 18,507

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3,422
Reaction score
1,038
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
3,422
Likes
1,038
Which is better sound quality? I feel adapters degrade fidelity
How do you think computers output optical, if they do not have converters?

Or maybe look for a quality brand of USB to optical converter then, for assurance. There are quality sound cards with optical-out like Asus one, that go in PCI-E slots. Or there are external converters that only do the USB to optical work.

USB and optical effectively sound the same with Hugo 2. Hugo 2 USB input is filtered. Some of use double filtering by using a Jitterbug too. … Additionally on Windows when running the Hugo 2 via USB, the Chord driver resends for data if there is an error.
 
Last edited:
post-15631990
Post #18,476 of 18,507

CaptainFantastic

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
836
Reaction score
494
Location
W Europe
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Location
W Europe
Posts
836
Likes
494
How does someone hook up optical from pc to H2? Pc have no optical out...
What is a competent usb a to usb micro that doesn't have Rf noise, ect
It depends on the motherboard. My somewhat high-end Asus ROG Strix motherboard does have optical out. My previous Asus (same price range roughly) did not. I was using a separate, high-end sound card, Asus Xonar STX II for optical out (now for sale).
 
     Share This Post       
post-15632312
Post #18,477 of 18,507

MikeJSmith

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
72
Reaction score
36
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Posts
72
Likes
36
Or your Hugo 2 disconnects after PC has gone to sleep. Then when your PC is woken, the Hugo 2 is not accessible and needs re-enabling.
This, kind of - the Hugo 2 doesnt appear to be disconnected it just doesn't work after the computer wakes from sleep mode. After waking after sleep, the computer says the chord is connected, enabled and working properly. If I go to sound settings the master volume line is going up and down so it clearly thinks it is sending sound out; just nothing comes out of the Hugo! If I then go into settings and disable / re-enable the Hugo it works fine.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15632344
Post #18,478 of 18,507

Amberlamps

Formerly known as Phuca
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
2,534
Reaction score
1,377
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Posts
2,534
Likes
1,377
     Share This Post       
post-15632773
Post #18,480 of 18,507

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
3,422
Reaction score
1,038
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
3,422
Likes
1,038
This, kind of - the Hugo 2 doesnt appear to be disconnected it just doesn't work after the computer wakes from sleep mode. After waking after sleep, the computer says the chord is connected, enabled and working properly. If I go to sound settings the master volume line is going up and down so it clearly thinks it is sending sound out; just nothing comes out of the Hugo! If I then go into settings and disable / re-enable the Hugo it works fine.
It's been a long time since I used my Hugo 2 on my PC, so I can't remember what happened.

I have a TT2 connected to my PC now. After the PC wakes from sleep, I can get the sound going again:

1. By restarting the music player, if the music player was running.
2. By restarting the browser if e.g. I was watching YouTube.
3. Sometimes restarting the browser does not get sound in browsers going again. I have to restart my music player (JRiver), and start playing a track for a second. That gets audio up and running again. Then with a restarted browser, I can get sound going on YouTube etc.
4. If all else fails, reboot PC. Although re-enabling like you do would most likely work.

That might work. However I do recall Hugo 2 and TT2 having different quirks.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: MikeJSmith

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 8, Guests: 10)

Top