CHORD ELECTRONICS DAVE
post-14758818
Post #12,901 of 15,048

Whazzzup

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
6,896
Reaction score
5,189
Location
Toronto, Canada
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Location
Toronto, Canada
Posts
6,896
Likes
5,189
I went alpha on gsx mk2, splendid.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14759095
Post #12,902 of 15,048

Torq

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
1,846
Reaction score
2,104
Location
Seattle, WA
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Location
Seattle, WA
Posts
1,846
Likes
2,104
I went alpha on gsx mk2, splendid.
No doubt.

That didn't seem to be an option at the time, nor is it now (at least according to the options available on the website). I don't know if Justin can/do/does that as some kind of special/custom order, just that the DACT stepped attenuator is now standard. That might be moot for other people anyway. And is water under the bridge for me at this point.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14759438
Post #12,903 of 15,048

iDesign

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
1,024
Reaction score
286
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Posts
1,024
Likes
286
did anybody compare dave with dcs stuff such as rossini? views highly appreciated
I'm not aware of any members of Head-Fi that purchased the dCS Bartók thus far. I assumed that we would have seen some comparisons to the DAVE since it includes a headphone amplifier and a similar price of admission. I do find its network connectivity options are somewhat compelling if they work well and provide a good isolated path. However, I would still pick the DAVE for a number of reasons including its smaller footprint.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14761061
Post #12,905 of 15,048

Foxman50

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
90
Reaction score
47
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Posts
90
Likes
47
did anybody compare dave with dcs stuff such as rossini? views highly appreciated
I have compared Rossini DAC/world clock against HMS/DAVE. I found the dCs to be fatiguing and overly bright.

These were fed directly into a set of ATC active 50’s via balanced o/p’s.

Only difference was the Chord set was fed from an Aurender N10, whereas the dCs pulled straight from NAS.

I was disappointed by the dCs but maybe this was more down to system synergy.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: jacc
post-14761556
Post #12,906 of 15,048

audio_1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
148
Reaction score
131
Location
Ireland
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Location
Ireland
Posts
148
Likes
131
I have compared Rossini DAC/world clock against HMS/DAVE. I found the dCs to be fatiguing and overly bright.

These were fed directly into a set of ATC active 50’s via balanced o/p’s.

Only difference was the Chord set was fed from an Aurender N10, whereas the dCs pulled straight from NAS.

I was disappointed by the dCs but maybe this was more down to system synergy.
The dCS philosophy is to sell multiple boxes. A low accuracy clock is fitted to the DAC so that you will have to purchase a higher accuracy master clock. The single ended outputs use op-amps. High inductance ribbon cables connect the analogue outputs and digital inputs to the circuit boards. Dual AES cables connect the multiple boxes. A fully configured Vivaldi system could have 5 AES digital cables and 5 master clock cables. Imagine the number of ferrites required to prevent RF noise. The digital volume control kills dynamics if more than 20 dB of attenuation is applied. Need I go on, the Dave, Blu 2 or Hugo M-Scaler are in a totally different class.
 
post-14761566
Post #12,907 of 15,048

naynay

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Messages
229
Reaction score
104
Location
UK
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Location
UK
Posts
229
Likes
104
Class it is, just listening to my newly owned Dave :smile_phones:
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Aslshark
post-14761731
Post #12,908 of 15,048

naynay

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Messages
229
Reaction score
104
Location
UK
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Location
UK
Posts
229
Likes
104
Hi
Other than using power off on the remote is there a button on the unit that will do the same?
Thank you
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14761739
Post #12,909 of 15,048

ecwl

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
564
Reaction score
413
Location
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Location
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts
564
Likes
413
The dCS philosophy is to sell multiple boxes. A low accuracy clock is fitted to the DAC so that you will have to purchase a higher accuracy master clock. The single ended outputs use op-amps. High inductance ribbon cables connect the analogue outputs and digital inputs to the circuit boards. Dual AES cables connect the multiple boxes. A fully configured Vivaldi system could have 5 AES digital cables and 5 master clock cables. Imagine the number of ferrites required to prevent RF noise. The digital volume control kills dynamics if more than 20 dB of attenuation is applied. Need I go on, the Dave, Blu 2 or Hugo M-Scaler are in a totally different class.
While I agree with most of the gist of what you're saying, I have to admit I really don't think dCS is intentionally including a low accuracy clock into their DACs and then upselling their products with a higher accuracy master clock. My understanding, based on Rob Watt's explanation, is that all DAC designs (except for Chord's Pulse Array DACs) are very jitter sensitive which means that they would always perform better if paired with a higher accuracy master clock. By comparison, with the Chord's Pulse Array DACs, because the DAC design is not jitter sensitive (or significantly dramatically less so than other DAC designs), an excellent master clock is sufficient to eliminate jitter-related effects, obviating the need for thousands of dollars of external clocking.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14761882
Post #12,910 of 15,048

Sunya

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
77
Reaction score
32
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Posts
77
Likes
32
If a DAC sounds better slaved to an external clock than on its internal one (even if the external clock has better specs) something is wrong with it. dCS (and Esoteric) DACs have Word Clock outputs which allows them to be the Master Clock for the source sending the digital signal (like in Asynchronous USB mode); but why lose the chance of selling another useless box to ignorant audiophiles?

https://repforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/topic,16164.0.html
 
     Share This Post       
post-14761886
Post #12,911 of 15,048

GryphonGuy

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
216
Reaction score
135
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Location
Malaysia
Posts
216
Likes
135
While I agree with most of the gist of what you're saying, I have to admit I really don't think dCS is intentionally including a low accuracy clock into their DACs and then upselling their products with a higher accuracy master clock. My understanding, based on Rob Watt's explanation, is that all DAC designs (except for Chord's Pulse Array DACs) are very jitter sensitive which means that they would always perform better if paired with a higher accuracy master clock. By comparison, with the Chord's Pulse Array DACs, because the DAC design is not jitter sensitive (or significantly dramatically less so than other DAC designs), an excellent master clock is sufficient to eliminate jitter-related effects, obviating the need for thousands of dollars of external clocking.
In the old days, say the early "naughties" of the 21st century, digital signals were sent realtime (remember the Slim Devices Transporter and similar devices?) and an external clock sending timing signals to both the Slim Devices Transporter and my Metronome Signature DAC ENORMOUSLY changed the signal to be time-aligned etc. Jump forward to when the Metronome died and could not be repaired by even the Factory in France, the Chord DAVE does not need an external clock because it time-aligns the digital signal within itself. With DAVE and Sonore UltraRendu powered by Uptone LPS-1.2, the current sound of my system has never been better and I don't feel the need (yet!!) to improve the music produced by this current system.

If a top-of-line multi-box DAC system sounds bright even when synchronised by an external clock, it points to electrical noise and probably the old real-time transmission technology that industry leaders have abandoned long ago or indeed never implemented in the first place.

Just my opinions.
Cheers
GG
 
     Share This Post       
post-14762265
Post #12,912 of 15,048

Foxman50

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
90
Reaction score
47
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Posts
90
Likes
47
The dCs world clock made very little difference and was debatable if it actually made an improvement or just altered the sound.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14762768
Post #12,913 of 15,048

musickid

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
3,944
Reaction score
1,841
Location
U.K.
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Location
U.K.
Posts
3,944
Likes
1,841
It alters the sound and the time zone you listen in by transporting you back....back to a time when Brachiosaurus chewed leaves. (expensive audio components that make zero difference to the sound quality one hears.... oh my.)
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: ZappaMan
post-14766590
Post #12,914 of 15,048

naynay

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Messages
229
Reaction score
104
Location
UK
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Location
UK
Posts
229
Likes
104
Currently using SSD drive attached to Aries Femto USB for my music storage for dave what are others using for there music as i feel this setup could be improved?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14766668
Post #12,915 of 15,048

Triode User

Member of the Trade: WAVE High Fidelity
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,131
Reaction score
2,474
Location
Leics, UK
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Location
Leics, UK
Posts
3,131
Likes
2,474
Currently using SSD drive attached to Aries Femto USB for my music storage for dave what are others using for there music as i feel this setup could be improved?
I use the Innuos Zenith SE running Roon and set up to to play from RAM under the new release of the Innuos firmware. It is excellent. I also have Roon set up to stream from the Zenith to various other Roon endpoints around the house such as a Chromecast outputting optical in the kitchen system.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 9, Guests: 8)

Top