Chord Electronics ☆ Poly ☆ (wireless & microSD module for Mojo) ☆★►USEFUL INFO on 1st PAGE!!◄★☆
post-14923311
Post #13,156 of 15,472

Signal2Noise

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
1,992
Reaction score
764
Location
Wherever the music takes me
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Location
Wherever the music takes me
Posts
1,992
Likes
764
On the subject of Roon...

I've been palying around with various music playback/management software of late such as JRiver MC, Audirvana, Amarra, Plex, etc.

Then I remembered the 60-day trial coupon for Roon included with the Poly. I was bored today so I decided to audition the (arguably) ridiculously-priced piece of software. I even blew the dust of the MojoPoly to try it out. After installing the very specific Roon Server on my Synology NAS and getting library (still loading actually) mapped to Roon I was off to the races.

Wow!

Why didn't I try out Roon before??? Oh, I know why: the cost of annual vs lifetime subs.

However, admittedly this software is very slick. And my personal library of over 1600 (purchased/ripped) CDs takes on a whole new look with media-injection that Roon provides. Now I can sit in a comfy chair with iPad in lap and MojoPoly with its glowing orbs to my side and enjoy the music with a visual stimulus provided by Roon. So now I'm torn. A 60 day trial of Roon should be sufficient to experience everything (not subbing to Tidal and Qobuz isn't available yet in Canada) butr after that will/should I opt for Lifetime?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: jarnopp
post-14923806
Post #13,157 of 15,472

MikeRight

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 20, 2016
Messages
355
Reaction score
166
Joined
Feb 20, 2016
Posts
355
Likes
166
On the subject of Roon...

I've been palying around with various music playback/management software of late such as JRiver MC, Audirvana, Amarra, Plex, etc.

Then I remembered the 60-day trial coupon for Roon included with the Poly. I was bored today so I decided to audition the (arguably) ridiculously-priced piece of software. I even blew the dust of the MojoPoly to try it out. After installing the very specific Roon Server on my Synology NAS and getting library (still loading actually) mapped to Roon I was off to the races.

Wow!

Why didn't I try out Roon before??? Oh, I know why: the cost of annual vs lifetime subs.

However, admittedly this software is very slick. And my personal library of over 1600 (purchased/ripped) CDs takes on a whole new look with media-injection that Roon provides. Now I can sit in a comfy chair with iPad in lap and MojoPoly with its glowing orbs to my side and enjoy the music with a visual stimulus provided by Roon. So now I'm torn. A 60 day trial of Roon should be sufficient to experience everything (not subbing to Tidal and Qobuz isn't available yet in Canada) butr after that will/should I opt for Lifetime?
In my humble opinion, lifetime in the software world is too much...
A lot of things can happen in a short period of time.
I prefer to pay year by year and lets see (it is what I do)

Enjoy!
 
post-14923825
Post #13,158 of 15,472

JedG

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 15, 2017
Messages
34
Reaction score
10
Location
Hong Kong
Joined
Dec 15, 2017
Location
Hong Kong
Posts
34
Likes
10
On the subject of Roon...

...

Wow!

Why didn't I try out Roon before??? Oh, I know why: the cost of annual vs lifetime subs.

However, admittedly this software is very slick. And my personal library of over 1600 (purchased/ripped) CDs takes on a whole new look with media-injection that Roon provides. Now I can sit in a comfy chair with iPad in lap and MojoPoly with its glowing orbs to my side and enjoy the music with a visual stimulus provided by Roon. So now I'm torn. A 60 day trial of Roon should be sufficient to experience everything (not subbing to Tidal and Qobuz isn't available yet in Canada) butr after that will/should I opt for Lifetime?
You will love it even more with Tidal or Qobuz integration and bit-perfect (or optional DSP) transport to your home stereo(s).
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14923987
Post #13,159 of 15,472

211276

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
47
Reaction score
30
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Posts
47
Likes
30
I have had a Mojo for over three years and was put off adding a Poly because of the issues. I have finally taken the plunge but am not getting very far connecting it to my android phone. The Poly is recognised as a Bluetooth device but I am unable to connect, or at best not for very long. I am confused by the instructions which state enter the code 0000 when prompted. I am not receiving a prompt and think this might be the source of the problem. All the time the P light is flashing green and blue. Grateful for advice. Thanks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14924046
Post #13,160 of 15,472

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,567
Reaction score
2,614
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,567
Likes
2,614
I have had a Mojo for over three years and was put off adding a Poly because of the issues. I have finally taken the plunge but am not getting very far connecting it to my android phone. The Poly is recognised as a Bluetooth device but I am unable to connect, or at best not for very long. I am confused by the instructions which state enter the code 0000 when prompted. I am not receiving a prompt and think this might be the source of the problem. All the time the P light is flashing green and blue. Grateful for advice. Thanks.
"By default out of the box Poly should already be in access point mode where the P status light is flashing blue and green all the time. They all leave the factory ready to connect to a network."
You are trying to connect by bluetooth, but poly is trying by default to connect by wifi.
For owners to give you the best advice, it will help if you can provide additional context such as:
  • which version of the firmware is installed on poly?
  • which version of the GoFigure app are you using?
  • which music player app are you using?
  • which phone are you using?
Any additional advice @Matt Bartlett ?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Peter Hyatt
post-14924058
Post #13,161 of 15,472

Ckro

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2015
Messages
132
Reaction score
83
Location
EU
Joined
Sep 8, 2015
Location
EU
Posts
132
Likes
83
Tried the poly/mojo yesterday and some iems, a great sounding pack that you can bring everywhere.

Will definitely consider buying one later. Just a shame that there's only 1 SD card slot... But you never get everything I guess
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Peter Hyatt
post-14924147
Post #13,162 of 15,472

211276

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
47
Reaction score
30
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Posts
47
Likes
30
"By default out of the box Poly should already be in access point mode where the P status light is flashing blue and green all the time. They all leave the factory ready to connect to a network."
You are trying to connect by bluetooth, but poly is trying by default to connect by wifi.
For owners to give you the best advice, it will help if you can provide additional context such as:
  • which version of the firmware is installed on poly?
  • which version of the GoConnect app are you using?
  • which music player app are you using?
  • which phone are you using?
Any additional advice @Matt Bartlett ?
I suspect Poly trying to connect to wifi by default could be the root of the problem. How can this be overcome? What is confusing me is the reference to inputting 0000 in the instructions. I am not receiving the prompt.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Peter Hyatt
post-14924246
Post #13,163 of 15,472

jarnopp

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,544
Reaction score
764
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,544
Likes
764
I suspect Poly trying to connect to wifi by default could be the root of the problem. How can this be overcome? What is confusing me is the reference to inputting 0000 in the instructions. I am not receiving the prompt.
Do you need to use Bluetooth? You can use Poly just fine and connect/configure using GoFigure without needing to activate the Bluetooth connection at all.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14924254
Post #13,164 of 15,472

jarnopp

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,544
Reaction score
764
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,544
Likes
764
On the subject of Roon...

I've been palying around with various music playback/management software of late such as JRiver MC, Audirvana, Amarra, Plex, etc.

Then I remembered the 60-day trial coupon for Roon included with the Poly. I was bored today so I decided to audition the (arguably) ridiculously-priced piece of software. I even blew the dust of the MojoPoly to try it out. After installing the very specific Roon Server on my Synology NAS and getting library (still loading actually) mapped to Roon I was off to the races.

Wow!

Why didn't I try out Roon before??? Oh, I know why: the cost of annual vs lifetime subs.

However, admittedly this software is very slick. And my personal library of over 1600 (purchased/ripped) CDs takes on a whole new look with media-injection that Roon provides. Now I can sit in a comfy chair with iPad in lap and MojoPoly with its glowing orbs to my side and enjoy the music with a visual stimulus provided by Roon. So now I'm torn. A 60 day trial of Roon should be sufficient to experience everything (not subbing to Tidal and Qobuz isn't available yet in Canada) butr after that will/should I opt for Lifetime?
If you decide you like it, I would go lifetime. You’d be betting that they last another 4 years at least, or that something better doesn’t come along. Although, it’s a pretty complete package now, with all the device support, metadata, and RAAT streaming protocol.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Progisus and JedG
post-14924309
Post #13,165 of 15,472

hammerh34d

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
36
Location
Poland
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Location
Poland
Posts
62
Likes
36
OK, guys.
Tell me what the hell Roon "data service" is so I can understand how it works, because the wepbage is completely incomprehensible in terms of explaining the technology. Pure marketing bull with some tech ornaments added.
I am struggling with this piece of garbage again, as it logs into my wifi with no problem at all, and I can see it is connected on my router, but for last couple of days I am unable to see it in any of my players (Bubble, mConnect, AKconnect),
The cost of Roon is ridiculous, but as I was stupid enough to pay for this piece of garbage of Poly, I can handle Roon - but only provided it would in fact make it work.
I am exhausted at this point I must say :frowning2:
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: tekkster
post-14924419
Post #13,166 of 15,472

211276

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
47
Reaction score
30
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Posts
47
Likes
30
Do you need to use Bluetooth? You can use Poly just fine and connect/configure using GoFigure without needing to activate the Bluetooth connection at all.
The instructions say that Bluetooth should be connected to before wifi. I have managed to connect to Bluetooth but Gofigure is not picking up the Poly. Also the P light is no longer coming on when previously it was flashing green and blue. I believe the Firmware is 1.0.17.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14924446
Post #13,167 of 15,472

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,567
Reaction score
2,614
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,567
Likes
2,614
The instructions say that Bluetooth should be connected to before wifi. I have managed to connect to Bluetooth but Gofigure is not picking up the Poly. Also the P light is no longer coming on when previously it was flashing green and blue. I believe the Firmware is 1.0.17.
That firmware is over a year old, so you should update to v2.0 which was released earlier this month.
Best to update GoFigure as well.
v2.0 has cured virtually all the issues that owners were having, and improved the overall Poly capabilities.
https://www.head-fi.org/threads/cho...on-1st-page-◄★☆.831347/page-863#post-14893477
 
     Share This Post       
post-14924471
Post #13,168 of 15,472

Peter Hyatt

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Messages
1,962
Reaction score
1,885
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Posts
1,962
Likes
1,885
In my humble opinion, lifetime in the software world is too much...
A lot of things can happen in a short period of time.
I prefer to pay year by year and lets see (it is what I do)

Enjoy!

I agree with you.

I wish I didn’t.

Irony is the ad from Philips way back when they introduced the Compact Disc as ‘perfect music stored forever.’
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Mr X
post-14924503
Post #13,169 of 15,472

211276

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
47
Reaction score
30
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Posts
47
Likes
30
That firmware is over a year old, so you should update to v2.0 which was released earlier this month.
Best to update GoFigure as well.
v2.0 has cured virtually all the issues that owners were having, and improved the overall Poly capabilities.
https://www.head-fi.org/threads/chord-electronics-☆-poly-☆-wireless-microsd-module-for-mojo-☆★►useful-info-on-1st-page-◄★☆.831347/page-863#post-14893477
As the Poly is not connected to wifi, how can I update the firmware?
The blue P light is now flashing as I am attempting to get Gofigure to recognise Poly.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14924522
Post #13,170 of 15,472

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,567
Reaction score
2,614
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,567
Likes
2,614
As the Poly is not connected to wifi, how can I update the firmware?
The blue P light is now flashing as I am attempting to get Gofigure to recognise Poly.
Blue light means that poly is trying to connect via bluetooth.
It is best for you to contact info@chordelectronics.co.uk, and chord support will talk you through the update process.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 6)

Top