Chord Electronics ☆ Poly ☆ (wireless & microSD module for Mojo) ☆★►USEFUL INFO on 1st PAGE!!◄★☆
post-14909806
Post #13,111 of 15,462

ZappaMan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
1,185
Location
dynamo hum
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Location
dynamo hum
Posts
2,010
Likes
1,185
Yes I've been working with Roon on this. They've come back today after setting up a closed support forum so
together we can work out what the problem is. Anyone still having problems getting Roon to play to Poly
can PM me and I will send over the private link - just bear in mind it's the Easter holidays until Tuesday so I
may not be able to respond immediately.
Amazeballs :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-14909811
Post #13,112 of 15,462

Matt Bartlett

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
831
Reaction score
981
Location
Maidstone
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Location
Maidstone
Posts
831
Likes
981
Website
www.chordelectronics.co.uk
How about the hardware manufacturers like yourself integrating the Google Cast functionality into their products? There are quite a few hence Google stopped making Chromecast Audio product.
Yes the hope is that this will become easier and more common now Chromecast Audio has ceased and Google will make it available to more hardware manufacturers similar to the approach Apple have with Airplay.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14910174
Post #13,113 of 15,462

rwelles

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
415
Reaction score
191
Location
Oregon Coast
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Location
Oregon Coast
Posts
415
Likes
191
Still hoping for a fix for multiple access points. Meanwhile I'm back on my single point WiFi (named Cracker :ksc75smile:). I have noticed that 2.0 fw allows the poly to maintain connection MUCH better!! I'm able to move to areas in my house now that used to lose connection.

Props to John, Matt, and the team for this significant improvement!!
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: opienor
post-14910609
Post #13,114 of 15,462

nicolas7

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
29
Reaction score
1
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Posts
29
Likes
1
I finally bought again a new Mojo Poly, I've updated to 2.0 I guess (successfully arrived to 1.0.4.1 before that) as I saw those 3 Colors flashing, then saw the yellow one, stopped, then yellow again, then blue. I unplugged the charger and shut down the device. I turned it on again, same for Gofigure in my mobile and this app asked me to connect to Polymojo (The name I gave him), so I selected it, started to download and suddenly told me that the Bluetooth PIN "does not match that of the device you selected". I did 0000 when I first configured it, so I don't understand why it doesn't recognise those numbers. If someone can help please.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14910667
Post #13,115 of 15,462

nicolas7

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
29
Reaction score
1
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Posts
29
Likes
1
I have finally dissociate my mobile and Poly, then re-associate and opened Gofigure agai, then I was able to have access to the app. I've checked Poly version in the general setting and now it show me 0.0.0. The strange thing is that I can listen to music with the Mojo Poly through mconnect (the poly is flashing purple though). Also it says wi-fi - not connected (I'm not in hotspot mode), I was able to connect before that.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14910682
Post #13,116 of 15,462

1oasisfan

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jul 12, 2016
Posts
11
Likes
12
I finally bought again a new Mojo Poly, I've updated to 2.0 I guess (successfully arrived to 1.0.4.1 before that) as I saw those 3 Colors flashing, then saw the yellow one, stopped, then yellow again, then blue. I unplugged the charger and shut down the device. I turned it on again, same for Gofigure in my mobile and this app asked me to connect to Polymojo (The name I gave him), so I selected it, started to download and suddenly told me that the Bluetooth PIN "does not match that of the device you selected". I did 0000 when I first configured it, so I don't understand why it doesn't recognise those numbers. If someone can help please.
Delete current bluetooth profile. Retry. Else try different device (old version of android worked for me).
 
     Share This Post       
post-14910811
Post #13,117 of 15,462

calidore

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
18
Location
UK
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Location
UK
Posts
23
Likes
18
Still hoping for a fix for multiple access points. Meanwhile I'm back on my single point WiFi (named Cracker :ksc75smile:). I have noticed that 2.0 fw allows the poly to maintain connection MUCH better!! I'm able to move to areas in my house now that used to lose connection.

Props to John, Matt, and the team for this significant improvement!!
I'm finding the same. Finally I can take Poly to bed with me...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14911178
Post #13,118 of 15,462

Mhsherman

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Location
Canada
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Location
Canada
Posts
2
Likes
1
I have successfully upgraded to 2.0...wasnt easy as I did get failure messages on go figure for Android....but low and behold, in spite of the error messages and no solid yellow it did update. However the new go figure app for android can no longer connect to the poly. I get an error message asking for the Bluetooth pin. After imputing 0000, I just get a cycle back to the same message. Using go figure on my iPad all is well. Plays as roon endpoint and in dnla mode. The tidal and qobuz credentials seem to have no purpose. I have reinserted my sd card and machine has been indexing for 3 hours. Android app simply doesn't work. This is a major update but the poly mojo still seems unready for prime time and too awkward. This is a shame as chord makes brilliant hardware, just can't nail the software, a reoccurring theme in the ce space.
Just following up. My experience with 2.0 is mixed....sweet and sour. The improvements are in wifi performance, no further dropouts when moving about the house, an impression of better sound. The dissapointments are in the Android app which has connectivity issues, first in bluetooth for opening app controls, now revised and improved with a play store update, now the android app has almost no funtionality in selecting and configuring wifi networks. Those networks that were previously configured now show as "unknown". In general the android app is beta at best. The ios app performs well but functionality with glider has gone backwards with sound quality which seems constrained...certainly nowhere as good as streaming roon. Babysteps with continued software issues on an otherwise amazing product in terms of SQ. my final score for 2.0 is 6/10....up from 4/10
 
     Share This Post       
post-14911406
Post #13,119 of 15,462

nicolas7

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
29
Reaction score
1
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Posts
29
Likes
1
I finally got the 2.0 update a few hours later. One more thing now, apps like Mconnect doesn't see the Poly when I'm in hotspot mode, should I need to enter manually something? Sound is killer by the way, far better that the one I got last year that I had to return due to hardware problems, I'm wondering now if the DAC part was working correctly? (I can now hear a difference between a headphone linked to my MacBook Pro and linked to Mojo Poly...!).
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14912210
Post #13,120 of 15,462

masterpfa

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
342
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Posts
1,050
Likes
342
Just following up. My experience with 2.0 is mixed....sweet and sour. The improvements are in wifi performance, no further dropouts when moving about the house, an impression of better sound. The dissapointments are in the Android app which has connectivity issues, first in bluetooth for opening app controls, now revised and improved with a play store update, now the android app has almost no funtionality in selecting and configuring wifi networks. Those networks that were previously configured now show as "unknown". In general the android app is beta at best. The ios app performs well but functionality with glider has gone backwards with sound quality which seems constrained...certainly nowhere as good as streaming roon. Babysteps with continued software issues on an otherwise amazing product in terms of SQ. my final score for 2.0 is 6/10....up from 4/10
I was hoping that V2.0 would have been offered as a beta on Android, if it was I missed that boat.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14912609
Post #13,121 of 15,462

tekkster

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
652
Reaction score
502
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Posts
652
Likes
502
I've been wondering about GoFigure and BT for a while....if a near future Chord streamer device (for either Mojo or H2 or even a future device), were to utilize BT5, would the data throughput be fast enough to display songs (and of course, albums, artists and genres) and therefore turn GoFigure into a full on DAP.

Right now, though the Poly uses BT 4.1, the throughput for text data seems very slow (or perhaps is it an issue with the speed of the Poly server, or CPU or RAM limitation on the Poly hw). Playlists show up rather slowly. (Though I LOVE that they show up in alphabetical order now).

Sorry, it may seem like I'm complaining, or it may seem like I'm requesting a particular feature. Really, I'm just curious about the limitations of Poly, and wondering a little bit if the 2Go will be somewhat different from a GoFigure interconnectivity/capability perspective, and to some extent, even a feature perspective.

Though, if a 2Go emerges with no real changes hardware changes except a slightly improved performance over Poly, I'd still probably get it.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: masterpfa
post-14912619
Post #13,122 of 15,462

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,563
Reaction score
2,609
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,563
Likes
2,609
I've been wondering about GoFigure and BT for a while....if a near future Chord streamer device (for either Mojo or H2 or even a future device), were to utilize BT5, would the data throughput be fast enough to display songs (and of course, albums, artists and genres) and therefore turn GoFigure into a full on DAP.

Right now, though the Poly uses BT 4.1, the throughput for text data seems very slow (or perhaps is it an issue with the speed of the Poly server, or CPU or RAM limitation on the Poly hw). Playlists show up rather slowly. (Though I LOVE that they show up in alphabetical order now).

Sorry, it may seem like I'm complaining, or it may seem like I'm requesting a particular feature. Really, I'm just curious about the limitations of Poly, and wondering a little bit if the 2Go will be somewhat different from a GoFigure interconnectivity/capability perspective, and to some extent, even a feature perspective.

Though, if a 2Go emerges with no real changes hardware changes except a slightly improved performance over Poly, I'd still probably get it.
Maybe you will find out in two weeks. https://www.head-fi.org/threads/hug...official-thread.885042/page-439#post-14909744
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14912628
Post #13,123 of 15,462

jarnopp

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,538
Reaction score
759
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,538
Likes
759
...
Though, if a 2Go emerges with no real changes hardware changes except a slightly improved performance over Poly, I'd still probably get it.
Why would we think 2Go would have improved performance, especially if it leverages the same hardware/software that Chord has spent all this time developing and fine tuning? It may (should) have more inputs, like Ethernet, and ideally even some outputs for use with other DACs besides Hugo2 (TT2 and non-Chord), but I expect it would sound the same (excellent).
 
     Share This Post       
post-14912654
Post #13,124 of 15,462

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,563
Reaction score
2,609
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,563
Likes
2,609
Why would we think 2Go would have improved performance, especially if it leverages the same hardware/software that Chord has spent all this time developing and fine tuning? It may (should) have more inputs, like Ethernet, and ideally even some outputs for use with other DACs besides Hugo2 (TT2 and non-Chord), but I expect it would sound the same (excellent).
This photo of a prototype posted at the time of CES 2018 shows an ethernet socket, so I hope that the production version has retained it.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Peter Hyatt
post-14912710
Post #13,125 of 15,462

tekkster

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
652
Reaction score
502
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Posts
652
Likes
502
Why would we think 2Go would have improved performance, especially if it leverages the same hardware/software that Chord has spent all this time developing and fine tuning? It may (should) have more inputs, like Ethernet, and ideally even some outputs for use with other DACs besides Hugo2 (TT2 and non-Chord), but I expect it would sound the same (excellent).
Ahhhh, of course. This is an audiopile forum, so of course many would equate the word "performance" in relation strictly to sound. I should have been more clear.

I'm really talking about performance of the hardware around areas "outside" of audio sound quality.

The circuit board, I imagine, will retain the same 10-layer design that Chord used in the Poly, but will have more surface area, so by performance, I mean maybe a better general CPU, perhaps a bit more RAM to handle more (textual) data simultaneously, a larger ROM to perhaps have additional MPD features....things that might have an effect on MPD performance. Perhaps larger BT or WiFi chipsets that may have improved connectivity/throughput, or being more responsive to GoFigure, or perhaps better TCP/IP handling, or maybe WiFi 5gHz capability (Poly is 2.4gHz only), etc.

These are all things that are not "problems" necessarily with the Poly, but would be improvements to the overall "experience" of using GoFigure with a new Chord streamer. Given that opening GoFigure means first waiting for the app to find the Poly, and then waiting for the QuickPlay playlists to load, and of course, having no access to songs/albums/artist/genre, just makes me wonder what a larger streamer like the 2Go photos indicate, plus the longer time Chord has had to work on the 2Go before release, might mean in terms of performance improvements.

I would not contemplate, or expect, any "performance improvement" in sound through upgraded streamer related components. Sound reproduction is not the Poly's or 2Go's job.

---

Nice, just have a little budget set aside since the tax hit, while bad, was anticipated since last year, so I have a bit of reserve next month. Crossing fingers.

---

This photo of a prototype posted at the time of CES 2018 shows an ethernet socket, so I hope that the production version has retained it.
Ethernet would be awesome. I have a NAS in the office, and a Stereo at the bar, with PLC/ethernet running between the two locations, so being to run a 2Go/H2 combo at the bar and into my stereo would be very nice. Had been thinking about getting either a Mytel Brooklyn Bridge to handle the bar area, but placing a 2go/h2 there instead would be a great option.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: jarnopp

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 8)

Top