Changing Tubes on an AMP?
Dec 14, 2013 at 8:30 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

Morph91

100+ Head-Fier
I am new to this and i have heard that after a while you have to change the tubes in a tube AMP. I wouldn't have a clue how to change them or where to purchase new tubes from, if i am rubbish at electrical DIY is it better to get a solid AMP or is the changing of tubes a simple process? 

Thanks in advance!

Dec 14, 2013 at 10:30 AM Post #2 of 2
  I am new to this and i have heard that after a while you have to change the tubes in a tube AMP. I wouldn't have a clue how to change them or where to purchase new tubes from, if i am rubbish at electrical DIY is it better to get a solid AMP or is the changing of tubes a simple process? 

Thanks in advance!

Changing tubes is only a little less complicated than changing a light bulb.
wink.gif

They're plugged into a socket: pull them out, push them back in.  The glass is much thicker than a light bulb so you are able to grab them by the glass without an issue.  Because some of them are so old, though, the chances are greater of breaking off a pin.  Many people recommend a slight "stirring" motion when you plug them in to equalize the force on the pins - sort of like torqueing opposite nuts when changing a tire.  Most audio tubes have anywhere from 7 to 9 pins on the bottom.  There's either a gap in the pins or a center post with a locating key, so it's impossible to plug them back in without being oriented correctly.

Now, the only caveat to that is that some tube amps may have the tubes enclosed inside the case, instead of on top or through large holes in the case lid.  In those cases, you obviously have to take the case apart to get to the tubes. Amps built that way are few and far between, however, because everyone knows audiophiles like to "roll" tubes.  That's the practice of changing out to different tubes to try and get an improved sound.