Changing a Pot
post-1446968
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 9

Naga

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
957
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Posts
957
Likes
10
the knob on my presonus HP4 is getting a bit lose, is there any hope for changing it?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1447013
Post #2 of 9

nikongod

DIY-ku
Joined
Jan 24, 2005
Messages
8,882
Reaction score
120
Joined
Jan 24, 2005
Posts
8,882
Likes
120
the knob? tighten teh set-screw.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1447425
Post #3 of 9

Naga

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
957
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Posts
957
Likes
10
nah, the actual mechanism
 
     Share This Post       
post-1447595
Post #4 of 9

mono

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Posts
1,412
Likes
11
Pictures might help for the majority who have no concept of exactly what the board and pot are like, but generically speaking:

Pot on wires- simply snip the wires or desolder them.

Pot on PCB- Use a desolder pump (plus soldering iron) to remove as much solder as possible. Then if there's still some pins held down by remaining solder, take forcepts or good/tiny needle-nose pliers to grasp the pot pin at the tip, and slightly wiggle it while reheating the solder, so that when solder hardens the continually-wiggled pot pin is still free of solder bond. It makes more sense while doing it than to describe and should be done gently but quickly (briefly heated) to minimize chance of pulling up circuitboard pads/tracks.

Then of course you need another pot with similar pin arrangement. In some cases I've successfully opened pots, bent their tension springs out a bit. Other times the spring is the electrical contact itself and can also be carefully bent outward. These are not optimal solutions compared to buying the right pot to replace it, but can work ok.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1448158
Post #5 of 9

Naga

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
957
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Posts
957
Likes
10
silly question: do pots have ratings, specifications?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1448251
Post #6 of 9

nikongod

DIY-ku
Joined
Jan 24, 2005
Messages
8,882
Reaction score
120
Joined
Jan 24, 2005
Posts
8,882
Likes
120
Quote:

Originally Posted by Naga
silly question: do pots have ratings, specifications?



yes, and yes.

ratings with regards to power handling (1/8W, 1/4W, 1W, etc)

spec with regards to "linearity" (or how truly logarithmic they are for audio...) chanel matching, and the like.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1448272
Post #7 of 9

cire

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
993
Reaction score
11
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Posts
993
Likes
11
they also have a rating for the maximum amount of resistance they can give. for example, a 50k pot (also called trimmer) can give 0ohms all the way up to 50k ohms. theres also the amount of times they can be turned rating
 
     Share This Post       
post-1448301
Post #8 of 9

Naga

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
957
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Posts
957
Likes
10
any brand recommendations?

ill open the thing up and get some pics in the coming week
 
     Share This Post       
post-1448326
Post #9 of 9

mono

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Messages
1,412
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Posts
1,412
Likes
11
Brand may have a lot to do with what you need, and what you can find. Note the pin arrangement and spacing, shaft length, shaft diameter, and mounting diameter. Note also that there is a difference between 6mm and 1/4" shaft, that while they're close, close isn't always enough - it needs to fit the knob else you have to find a different knob too. Essentially, measure every possible parameter including the resistance.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top