Cayin N6ii, Unlimited Possibilities: a fully modularized smart DAP
Oct 26, 2021 at 4:01 PM Post #7,441 of 7,693
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
11,596
Likes
7,435
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Since the iFi Diablo has a decent DAC, then just about any player would work well as a data source.

Thanks for mentioning it. On a side note, it's cool that these days DAPs can be used as transports for external DAC/amp packages.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Oct 27, 2021 at 4:52 AM Post #7,442 of 7,693
Joined
Nov 16, 2013
Posts
5,887
Likes
8,337
I got the A02 too with no external amp. I’ve had the C9 twice now and it hasn’t made me happy. The R01 is simply amazing with my Sennheiser IE900s and the LCD-4Z. Super curious about how it will sound with no external amp with the LCD-5 I should have soon.

The Cayin C9 is a preference issue I think. I found that in every circumstance that I needed an external amp, the iFi Diablo felt better to me. Since the iFi Diablo has a decent DAC, then just about any player would work well as a data source.

On the other hand, if I don’t need an external amp, I can’t imagine a better player than the Cayin N6ii with R01.

That is quite normal, I have come across someone who bought a R01, didn't like it and sell it out very soon. Sound preference is as important as sound quality, there is no absolute best in this hobby.

On the other hand, if you were to use a DAC/Amp instead of a headphone amplifier, the different between a $1000 DAP (N6ii) and $500 DAP (N3Pro) will significantly narrow down, features and UI become the more dominating factors.

I seriously doubt R01 can handle LCD5, the low impedance low sensitivity specification needs a lot of current, even C9 will fall short of that IMHO.
 
Last edited:
Cayin Stay updated on Cayin at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
http://en.cayin.cn/
Oct 27, 2021 at 6:03 AM Post #7,443 of 7,693

hemtmaker

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 25, 2013
Posts
947
Likes
176
@Andy, I currently have the N3pro and using it primarily with IEM (fender ten 5). What’s sort of sound signature and sound quality difference would I expect upgrading to N6ii + R01, and N6ii-ti for that matter. Thanks!
 
Oct 27, 2021 at 6:40 AM Post #7,444 of 7,693
Joined
Nov 16, 2013
Posts
5,887
Likes
8,337
Cayin Stay updated on Cayin at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
http://en.cayin.cn/
Oct 27, 2021 at 7:03 AM Post #7,445 of 7,693

WDitters

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Posts
750
Likes
568
Location
The Netherlands
Oct 27, 2021 at 7:34 AM Post #7,446 of 7,693
Joined
Nov 16, 2013
Posts
5,887
Likes
8,337
@Andy, I currently have the N3pro and using it primarily with IEM (fender ten 5). What’s sort of sound signature and sound quality difference would I expect upgrading to N6ii + R01, and N6ii-ti for that matter. Thanks!

I am not familiar with Fender IEM, so I can't comment with reference to your IEM specifically. I can only offer some generic observations.

From sound quality perspective, the dynamic and control are significantly improve when you change your player from N3Pro to N6ii(R01) or N6ii-Ti. The resolution is also enhanced but you probably won't feel that immediately because the details in R01 tends to be very subtle, they are all there, but not prominent.

For sound signature, the R01 offers a more refined and polite presentation, very natural overall and the acoustic instrument are the one that strike me. it is a different take from the Triode mode of N3Pro which is warm and lush, and the vocal are more intimating.
 
Cayin Stay updated on Cayin at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
http://en.cayin.cn/
Oct 27, 2021 at 7:36 AM Post #7,447 of 7,693
Joined
Nov 16, 2013
Posts
5,887
Likes
8,337
Hi Andya. Can you clarify if MQA support in the Hiby app needs a subscription? If it does, how much would that cost?

You don't need a subscription to HiBy, but you need a Tidal subscription to access the MQA content in Tidal Master program.
 
Cayin Stay updated on Cayin at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
http://en.cayin.cn/
Oct 27, 2021 at 10:04 AM Post #7,448 of 7,693

WDitters

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Posts
750
Likes
568
Location
The Netherlands
You don't need a subscription to HiBy, but you need a Tidal subscription to access the MQA content in Tidal Master program.

So this subscription is specially for external devices that support MQA and are authenticated by Hiby? What if they're not authenticated by Hiby but officially have MQA support?
 

Attachments

  • 20211027_160304.jpg
    20211027_160304.jpg
    281.5 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
Oct 27, 2021 at 1:00 PM Post #7,449 of 7,693

blotmouse

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Posts
781
Likes
1,839
Location
Seattle
So this subscription is specially for external devices that support MQA and are authenticated by Hiby? What if they're not authenticated by Hiby but officially have MQA support?
R01 only has ability for 1st order SW unfolds of MQA, if you were not aware. No hardware support.
 
Oct 27, 2021 at 2:24 PM Post #7,450 of 7,693

WDitters

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Posts
750
Likes
568
Location
The Netherlands
Oct 27, 2021 at 2:46 PM Post #7,451 of 7,693

blotmouse

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Posts
781
Likes
1,839
Location
Seattle
And the E02?
Just the R01 is not supported. The other boards are supported to varying degree's. The E02 is supported, yes.
I only saw R01 in your sig and didn't want you buying add on's if they were not going to work to your expectation.
 
Last edited:
Oct 27, 2021 at 4:54 PM Post #7,452 of 7,693

WDitters

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Posts
750
Likes
568
Location
The Netherlands
Just the R01 is not supported. The other boards are supported to varying degree's. The E02 is supported, yes.
I only saw R01 in your sig and didn't want you buying add on's if they were not going to work to your expectation.

Ah.. Very considerate.. I actually also have the E02 (I have updated my signature now 😂).. But since in most apps it sometimes is difficult to see when it's unfolding and when it's upsampling, I thought I'd just ask..
 
Last edited:
Oct 28, 2021 at 2:43 AM Post #7,453 of 7,693
Joined
Nov 16, 2013
Posts
5,887
Likes
8,337
So this subscription is specially for external devices that support MQA and are authenticated by Hiby? What if they're not authenticated by Hiby but officially have MQA support?

I have channelled your question to HiBy, and they come back to us saying the subscription is NOT relevant to the Professional version HiBy Music Player preinstalled in N6ii. The notification was incurred from their regular HiBy Music Player app that is commonly available on Google Play Market. You don't need subscription to use MQA feature in he Pro version preinstalled in N6ii.
For more detail, you have to consult HiBy Music directly, I can provide further assistance on their behalf. :beerchug:
 
Last edited:
Cayin Stay updated on Cayin at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
http://en.cayin.cn/
Oct 28, 2021 at 2:52 AM Post #7,454 of 7,693

WDitters

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Posts
750
Likes
568
Location
The Netherlands
The notification was incurred from their regular HiBy Music Player app that is commonly available on Google Play Market.
Interesting... Since I never installed or used the regular version, it appears that they forgot to clean up some code here and there in the professional version ...
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top