Buying regular headphones for PC + Xbox 360 gaming
Jul 18, 2013 at 4:05 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

romantichero

New Head-Fier
So basically, I want to buy high-quality headphones (around $150-$175 budget) primarily to use for PC gaming, watching films on my computer, and IF POSSIBLE hearing audio while Xbox 360 gaming.

So basically: please recommend some headphones, and ALSO, is it even possible to use such headphones with an Xbox 360 wirelessly without spending excessive money on adapters and such? I'm not an expert on wires and jacks so some explanation would be helpful!

Also, if I may want to purchase a mic too in the future, will that work out? It just seems like the dedicated "gaming headsets" are a rip off for the quality of audio.

Thank you so much!

Jul 18, 2013 at 5:26 PM Post #2 of 11
Quote:
So basically, I want to buy high-quality headphones (around $150-$175 budget) primarily to use for PC gaming, watching films on my computer, and IF POSSIBLE hearing audio while Xbox 360 gaming.
So basically: please recommend some headphones, and ALSO, is it even possible to use such headphones with an Xbox 360 wirelessly without spending excessive money on adapters and such? I'm not an expert on wires and jacks so some explanation would be helpful!
Also, if I may want to purchase a mic too in the future, will that work out? It just seems like the dedicated "gaming headsets" are a rip off for the quality of audio.

For surround sound gaming on a xBox, you would want something like the Astro Mix-amp. (used $100)
and that does not include headphones.

You might be able to find a used Turtle Beach DSS for surround sound headphone gaming, with the xBox.

I guess if your willing to game and watch movies in 2-channel stereo, you could spend all your budget on headphones (I'm assuming the xBox has something like a headphone jack?)

Jul 18, 2013 at 11:22 PM Post #4 of 11
Quote: