Building a CMOY amp, help
Feb 28, 2006 at 1:42 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

timmins

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Posts
482
Likes
10
Hi, I am in the process of building the basic cmoy amp from tangentsoft but I couldn't find the proper amp here in toronto, can I use an amp that is different that the ones that are listed, I have two amps on hand (CHN-NE555N-KOR115, JB31AELM-741CN) can these be used in place of the other amps.
Thanks
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 2:33 AM Post #2 of 13

rsabo

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Posts
595
Likes
10
This would get more attention in the DIY forum.

I can't find anything about those opamps, but they seem to be serial numbers as opposed to model numbers, which are typically shorter (AD8610, OPA2134, LM386, etc.)
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 9:28 PM Post #4 of 13

Pars

Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Posts
4,127
Likes
54
Quote:

Originally Posted by timmins
Hi, I am in the process of building the basic cmoy amp from tangentsoft but I couldn't find the proper amp here in toronto, can I use an amp that is different that the ones that are listed, I have two amps on hand (CHN-NE555N-KOR115, JB31AELM-741CN) can these be used in place of the other amps.
Thanks



Those do not look like they will work... the NE555N is a timer chip, and the 741CN is one of the first op-amps (single) ever made (and will sound like dog-doo). From what I understand, Toronto has a number of electronics shops so you should be able to do a search here and maybe find some.
 
Mar 1, 2006 at 3:56 AM Post #5 of 13

Polaris111688

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Posts
312
Likes
10
Do NOT use the 741. I'm pretty sure Digikey ships to Canada. A good chip to start with is the OPA2132PA. Compared to the higher end chips, it's relatively inexpensive and it sounds good.
k1000smile.gif
 
Mar 1, 2006 at 12:26 PM Post #6 of 13

timmins

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Posts
482
Likes
10
most of my parts came from active surplus here in Toronto, does anybody specifically know where I can find the amp here in toronto, or even better maybe someone could give me list of amps that are compatible.
Thanks
 
Mar 1, 2006 at 10:03 PM Post #7 of 13

Polaris111688

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Posts
312
Likes
10
The dude from Tangentsoft recommends using anything that's FET input, I believe, for ease of use. Avoid bipolar inputs. Ones easy to use include the Analog Devices AD8620, AD823, AD843, Burr Brown OPA2132PA, OPA627AP. Check out the dude's site. It provides a lot of info on each opamp chip.
 
Mar 2, 2006 at 12:41 AM Post #8 of 13

rsabo

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Posts
595
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by Polaris111688
The dude from Tangentsoft...


You mean Tangent?
tongue.gif


Check out his "Notes on Audio Op-Amps", lots of good stuff. Oh, and the AD843 and OPA627 are single-input. You would need two (total of $17.12 for the AD843, $36.76 for the OPA627
eek.gif
) and an adapter.
 
Mar 2, 2006 at 3:22 AM Post #10 of 13

Polaris111688

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Posts
312
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by rsabo
You mean Tangent?
tongue.gif


Check out his "Notes on Audio Op-Amps", lots of good stuff. Oh, and the AD843 and OPA627 are single-input. You would need two (total of $17.12 for the AD843, $36.76 for the OPA627
eek.gif
) and an adapter.



Yeah, him! lol. (Sorry tangent.)

For now, I'd just put a socket where you want to put the opamp for flexibility and upgradability.
 
Mar 26, 2006 at 5:50 PM Post #11 of 13

tola555

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Posts
113
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by firefox360
Why not just order the required amps from Digi-Key? Or if you want to go the super-cheap and mischevious way, order a free sample from Texas Instruments?


They give them for free??
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top