Broke College Student Audiophile Guide
Apr 27, 2017 at 1:09 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

LynetteCullen

New Head-Fier
Warning: This build focuses on portability and cost. It is heavily influenced by what I had on hand. I am by no means an expert, but here is what I did.

Note: All important items are listed in red. Unnecessary items are listed under Extras. The price that I paid for the item is listed in blue while the listed price for an item is indicated in purple.

Media Player: iPod Video (AKA iPod 5.5) [$70] [$0]
s!Arf4KtDfq0xhxzUZ6uJUCczLF5J8

Headphones: Shure SE215 [$100] [$98]
s!Arf4KtDfq0xhxzk7nTgryRCtFtU7

Amplifier (For Modularity): Biosciencegeek (BSG) Headphone Amplifier cMOY Premium Amp [$50] [$50]
s!Arf4KtDfq0xhxzHogVw6qQaX76G-

LOD Cable: FiiO L9 Right Angled Line Out Dock Cable for iPod, iPhone and iPad [$15] [$5]
s!Arf4KtDfq0xhx0AbsJl8s8pmhrCl

Extras:

Bluetooth Headphones: Sony MDRXB950BT/B Extra Bass Bluetooth Headphones [$76] [$55]
s!Arf4KtDfq0xhxzjYSjfbLQeEFlCO

Bluetooth Adapter: Jaybird OEM iSport Bluetooth adapter for your iPod/iPhone 4 or older Gen [$20] [$15]

Custom In Ear Monitor Conversion Mod: Amazing Mold Putty (200 grams) For Push Molds for Choc, Polymer clay& much more [$6] [$6]
s!Arf4KtDfq0xhx0LWwLXeJasxRL0F

Amp Mods (For Future Proofing and Customizing Sound to Specific Headphones):

1. TLE2082AC [$3] [$0.15]

2. AD712JN [$1] [$0.35]

3. OPA2227PA [$2] [$0.90]

4. LM4562NA [$2] [$0.87]

5. JRC4556AD [$2] [$1.30]
s!Arf4KtDfq0xhxzLu8g1ahkhY3uAT

iPod Mods (For Future Proofing):

1. mSATA PCI-E SSD to 40pin ZIF CE Cable Adapter Card for IPOD Classic 5th 6th [$8] [$8]

2. 3000mAh Battery Upgrade replacement for iPod Classic 6 6.5 7 Video 5 5.5 Thin [$15] [$15]

3. Crucial MX200 mSATA 500GB SATA 6Gbps (SATA III) CT500MX200SSD3 [$109] [$0]

Important Items Total: $235

My Total: $255.57

Grand Total: $479

s!Arf4KtDfq0xhx0RXwsKQRGtuWFvy

Apr 27, 2017 at 3:56 AM Post #2 of 7