Brief Odac impressions
Dec 12, 2012 at 10:05 PM Post #1,291 of 2,018

livewire

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Posts
999
Likes
28
Quote:
 
When I a $500 million Lotto prize, I'm gonna get me a Benchmark DAC1 or Grace M903. Unfortunately, they're both too big for my cubicle at work, so I'll have to find a better job, too!

 
Must be a self-defeating fruedian slip, you left out the word "win".
 
With that kind of dosh I sure wouldn't be wasting my time working in a job, much less looking for one. Ha-Ha!
 
Dec 13, 2012 at 1:04 PM Post #1,294 of 2,018

chrislangley4253

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Posts
2,509
Likes
52
I've been having some issues with my ODAC.. I have to rule out the USB port and the cable, but after a while I start getting some pretty serious distortion and I have to unplug and replug the cable, which fixes it.. But, only for a while.

I moved it to my other usb 3.0 port, if it still keeps it up then, I'll track down another cable and rule that out next.
 
Dec 13, 2012 at 1:46 PM Post #1,295 of 2,018

HamilcarBarca

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Posts
1,027
Likes
41
Quote:
I've been having some issues with my ODAC.. I have to rule out the USB port and the cable, but after a while I start getting some pretty serious distortion and I have to unplug and replug the cable, which fixes it.. But, only for a while.

I moved it to my other usb 3.0 port, if it still keeps it up then, I'll track down another cable and rule that out next.

 
How long do you leave it unplugged? Might it be overheating?
 
Dec 13, 2012 at 7:21 PM Post #1,298 of 2,018

chrislangley4253

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Posts
2,509
Likes
52
Quote:
 
How long do you leave it unplugged? Might it be overheating?

Definitely not overheating. I unplug it for half a second, if that. It did it on the other usb 3.0 port.. So I moved it to a 2.0 port, so far, no problems. 

I'm thinking it might be a driver problem of some sort.. my ODAC is called ODAC - 6 now.. Lol, when I moved it to the 2.0 port it reinstalled the drivers. So maybe that'll fix it.
 
Dec 13, 2012 at 7:38 PM Post #1,299 of 2,018

lorriman

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 22, 2011
Posts
209
Likes
17
I've been having some issues with my ODAC.. I have to rule out the USB port and the cable, but after a while I start getting some pretty serious distortion and I have to unplug and replug the cable, which fixes it.. But, only for a while.


Just on the off-chance: you do have it plugged in to an amp? You aren't plugging your phones directly in to the linout of the ODAC?

I know this is unlikely but all possibilities need covering.
 
Dec 13, 2012 at 7:55 PM Post #1,300 of 2,018

kingoftown1

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Posts
607
Likes
132
Quote:
Definitely not overheating. I unplug it for half a second, if that. It did it on the other usb 3.0 port.. So I moved it to a 2.0 port, so far, no problems. 

I'm thinking it might be a driver problem of some sort.. my ODAC is called ODAC - 6 now.. Lol, when I moved it to the 2.0 port it reinstalled the drivers. So maybe that'll fix it.

I'm on 11-ODAC now, mostly just from moving everything around though
wink.gif

 
Dec 14, 2012 at 8:29 AM Post #1,302 of 2,018

2000impreza

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Posts
81
Likes
12
Quote:
I've been having some issues with my ODAC.. I have to rule out the USB port and the cable, but after a while I start getting some pretty serious distortion and I have to unplug and replug the cable, which fixes it.. But, only for a while.

I moved it to my other usb 3.0 port, if it still keeps it up then, I'll track down another cable and rule that out next.

 
 
Have you tried hooking the ODAC to a usb hub with a external power supply? I previously had similar problems with a usb powered DAC. The cause of the problem was dirty USB power supply from my laptop. After hooking up the DAC to a externally powered hub, I never had the problem again.
 
 
Dec 14, 2012 at 9:28 AM Post #1,303 of 2,018

beaver316

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 24, 2011
Posts
1,569
Likes
63
Quote:
 
 
Have you tried hooking the ODAC to a usb hub with a external power supply? I previously had similar problems with a usb powered DAC. The cause of the problem was dirty USB power supply from my laptop. After hooking up the DAC to a externally powered hub, I never had the problem again.
 

 
Im really considering a USB hub to use with my ODAC for different reasons. Which would you recommend? It seems all amazon listings have a fair amount of bad reviews.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top