Blocked! No more Head-Fi at the office!
post-800076
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 28

Canman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
3,667
Reaction score
14
Joined
May 13, 2003
Posts
3,667
Likes
14
Blocked! No more Head-Fi at the office!

The IT dept at my office installed a program called Websense which basically blocks everything that doesn’t have to do with work. On some sites there is quota time you can use but not for Head-Fi.

Work sucks if I don’t have Head-Fi to waste time.


I have successfully gotten around it before by using my university library server as a proxy. Unfortunately, my school account is set to expire at the end of this month (I graduated two years ago) so I won’t be able to use it anymore. Does anyone have experience with getting around this program, or does anyone know about using proxy servers in this situation?
 
     Share This Post       
post-800097
Post #2 of 28

darkclouds

Particular about his Sméagol Grammar we thinks he is.
Joined
Sep 27, 2001
Messages
1,988
Reaction score
10
Joined
Sep 27, 2001
Posts
1,988
Likes
10
Sorry to hear that canman... but that cracks me up!
 
     Share This Post       
post-800111
Post #3 of 28

PinkFloyd

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
9,511
Reaction score
21
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Posts
9,511
Likes
21
Quote:

Originally Posted by Canman
Blocked! No more Head-Fi at the office!

The IT dept at my office installed a program called Websense which basically blocks everything that doesn’t have to do with work. On some sites there is quota time you can use but not for Head-Fi.

Work sucks if I don’t have Head-Fi to waste time.


I have successfully gotten around it before by using my university library server as a proxy. Unfortunately, my school account is set to expire at the end of this month (I graduated two years ago) so I won’t be able to use it anymore. Does anyone have experience with getting around this program, or does anyone know about using proxy servers in this situation?



More time to view your female colleagues and (wow this would be a first) speak to them. Could be a blessing in disguise
 
     Share This Post       
post-800112
Post #4 of 28

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,846
Reaction score
477
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,846
Likes
477
Put your machine at home on a dsl line with a static ip, then use
windows XP and remote desktop. Make it look like you are doing
remote administration
 
     Share This Post       
post-800113
Post #5 of 28

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
Is Websense a packet filter based censorware?

What browser and OS are you using?
-Ed
 
     Share This Post       
post-800117
Post #6 of 28

Canman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
3,667
Reaction score
14
Joined
May 13, 2003
Posts
3,667
Likes
14
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevin gilmore
Put your machine at home on a dsl line with a static ip, then use
windows XP and remote desktop. Make it look like you are doing
remote administration




Kevin, I have cable modem at home which I believe is dynamic ip so that's not going to work...I really don't want to get DSL because I don't have a phone line at home. I use my cell phone for all calls.

Ed, we are using XP pro and IE at work, but I could probably install an alternate browser.
 
     Share This Post       
post-800123
Post #7 of 28

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,846
Reaction score
477
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,846
Likes
477
Some cable companies can supply a static ip...

Or cheat and rig some kind of keepalive and keep the dynamic address
all of a specific day...
Or have the machine email you every time the address changes...
 
     Share This Post       
post-800124
Post #8 of 28

Canman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
3,667
Reaction score
14
Joined
May 13, 2003
Posts
3,667
Likes
14
Quote:

Originally Posted by PinkFloyd
More time to view your female colleagues and (wow this would be a first) speak to them. Could be a blessing in disguise



Advice from the ladies' man...coming from the same guy who started the fart thread
 
     Share This Post       
post-800127
Post #9 of 28

zachary80

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 7, 2003
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 7, 2003
Posts
1,375
Likes
13
Google for: free anonymous proxy

There are a couple of good ones, but I don't have time to search for you right now.
 
     Share This Post       
post-800154
Post #10 of 28

damitamit

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
421
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Posts
421
Likes
10
carrying on from the setting up remote admin at home.

You could use a IP redirection service like www.no-ip.org or www.serveftp.org which keeps the address pointed to you IP.

or set up a proxy at home and use that.
 
     Share This Post       
post-800192
Post #11 of 28

Canman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
3,667
Reaction score
14
Joined
May 13, 2003
Posts
3,667
Likes
14
Quote:

Originally Posted by damitamit
carrying on from the setting up remote admin at home.

You could use a IP redirection service like www.no-ip.org or www.serveftp.org which keeps the address pointed to you IP.

or set up a proxy at home and use that.




How would I go about setting up a proxy server using one of these programs?
 
     Share This Post       
post-800196
Post #12 of 28

damitamit

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
421
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Posts
421
Likes
10
you would use one of those services to get around your cable modem dyanamic IP problem.

Then get a program to set up a proxy server on your pc at home. Search google for "free proxy server software" or something.

Or try download.com
 
     Share This Post       
post-800200
Post #13 of 28

tennisets

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
1,329
Reaction score
16
Location
Medford, MA
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Location
Medford, MA
Posts
1,329
Likes
16
Search for AnalogX Proxy. I use it in my house for my network, and it works quite well. Pretty nifty for a free program. Check out the rest of the stuff on the site too, some of it's pretty good.
 
     Share This Post       
post-800226
Post #14 of 28

Prince

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 31, 2004
Messages
244
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 31, 2004
Posts
244
Likes
10
If all fails, go to the IT department and ask for the guy, of course with a baton on your hand.

 
     Share This Post       
post-800229
Post #15 of 28

acs236

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 24, 2002
Messages
3,309
Reaction score
25
Joined
May 24, 2002
Posts
3,309
Likes
25
Quit your job.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top