Best Headset for Gaming Enthusiasts?
Jul 26, 2014 at 7:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

Nokillz

New Head-Fier
I just recently got a new rig and am on the market for a great headset in the ballpark of $250-300. I am looking for something with noise-cancelling, amazing sound quality, and a clear microphone. I would go for a headphone/ dedicated microphone setup if they are built for gaming, the only thing I do on this computer. I've been looking around for some time and have been interested in the Sennheiser products and astro's A50s. I am pretty new to head-fi as well. I am unaware if this is important, but I am using an onboard sound card. Thanks! 
rolleyes.gif

Jul 27, 2014 at 12:31 AM Post #3 of 22
Hello and welcome!

This guide should help you to get started and give you some ideas. 
http://www.head-fi.org/t/534479/mad-lust-envys-headphone-gaming-guide-update-7-9-2014-ultrasone-hfi-15g-added

Jul 27, 2014 at 3:05 AM Post #4 of 22
Don't worry about noise cancelling if you aren't in a consistently noisy environment (public transit, airplane, etc). It'll just make the audio quality suffer and a lot of them can't play music when the batteries die. If you don't want to hear outside noise, you just need properly isolating headphones. I recommend open headphones over closed ones for gaming, but it's a matter of preference.

Here's some setups:
  1. Philips Fidelio X11, Blue Snowball microphone
  2. AKG K612 Pro, Objective2 amplifier, Blue Snowflake microphone
  3. Sennheiser HD 558/598, FiiO E7, Antlion ModMic
  4. Audio Technica AD900X2, Blue Snowflake microphone
  5. Beyerdynamic DT880 Pro, Objective2 amplifier, Antlion ModMic
  6. Sony MDR-MA9003, Schiit Magni4, Antlion ModMic

1: Does not need an amp, does not need its cable changed. Don't listen to the people complaining about it.
2: The A900X is closed, if that's more your fancy.
3: Discontinued; price will fluctuate.
4: Might not be necessary for the MA900s, but I included it regardless.