1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

Audiophile Placebo

Discussion in 'Sound Science' started by catharsis, Apr 21, 2009.
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Next

Last
  1. Catharsis
    My apologies if this has already been covered elsewhere.

I work in the field of nutritional science and research. My wife is involved in medical sciences and by nature we’re engrossed in a wonderful world of double-blind, placebo controlled studies on a daily basis; this experimental model is the gold standard in determining whether variable X has any affect on variable Y. Where possible, objective measurements (e.g. blood cholesterol, NK cell activity) are used, however subjective or self-reported changes are often used concurrently. Presently, this model is the most effective means of determining which drugs or chemicals have an impact (positive or negative) on a specific health outcome (such as pain, mobility, mood etc). By using a control group, and / or a placebo group, researchers can account for the confounding variable of what the test subject can “expect” when he or she is administered the independent variable (drug, chemical).

It should be noted that in the majority of cases, if a subject does experience a positive result, it is because the subject expects the medicine to improve their health. Whether the subject was administered the drug, or a fake look alike (placebo) the majority of the benefit is experienced by both groups (sometimes test groups number in the 1000’s of people). A drug or chemical is only said to be effective if it produces an effect ABOVE AND BEYOND the placebo.