Audiophile King DAP: LG ThinQ G8 vs. DAP Flagships; No Contest?
post-15750797
Post #1 of 1

jayteeare

New Head-Fier
Reaction score
Im a relative newbie with about 6 months into the audiophile journey. I upgraded from the iPod 5.5 Video (Wolfson DAC fame) to the Fiio M9 which I got for a great deal brand new at $200.

I just stumbled into the world of Astel & Kern DAP's among others in articles, and amazed how much these things can cost.

One interesting note. I've read great arguments that the cell phone, the LG ThinQ G8 is actually more spec'ed out with heavy duty audiophile specific goodies. Im still not savvy enough to decipher the particulars, but I was hoping one of the more seasoned members of the forum could shed some light. Here are the audio related specs of the LG ThinQ G8 which sounds like it has any DAP on the market beat hands down.

Can you please compare how this LG G8 ThinQ compares against the Fiio M9, M15 and higher end Astel & Kern DAP's like the & Norma for example.

From Various Sources:

The new G8 ThinQ from LG delivers audiophile sound-quality delivered by ESS Technology’s ES9218P. The ES9218P is a System-on-Chip that offers impressive sound quality to mobile devices, designed to meet the demanding needs of mobile applications. The ES9218P is built around the legendary ESS SABRE® DAC. The technology provides amazing sound quality with a stable image and immersive sound-stage. The ultra-low noise QUAD DAC Technology reduces background hiss without consuming significant power from the battery.

It will also come with a Hi-Fi Quad DAC and 3.5mm headphone jack allowing it to output high-quality sound; a Boombox Speaker function that produces a more bass-heavy sound when the phone is placed on a hard flat surface; MQA lossless streaming support (that’ll reportedly be available even to those who don’t have unlimited data plans); and DTS:X 3D Surround Sound, which aims to create a 7.1-channel effect with or without headphones.