Audiophile cans for gaming ?
Jul 1, 2020 at 5:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

lastGRIMM

New Head-Fier
Hi,

On a quest to find best possible headsets in range of 200-300 USD for gaming on PS4.

Past Experience -

1. Tried Steelseries Arctis Pro + Gaming DAC - Returned
2. Currently using Beyer DT 990 Pro 250 Ohm - Planning to return as the sound signature is too bright for me. The high treble gives me fatigue & cracks at high volumes. (connected with Denon AVR 3500 at the moment, but i doubt the treble problem will go away even if I pair it with a decent amp/DAC)

Amp/DAC - Most likely planning to get Soundblaster G6 as it is compatible with PS4.

What should I buy next ?

1. Need immersive gaming experience. Prefer nice tight bass.
2. 30% competitive & 70% single player gaming.
3. No music.
4. Open back works for me as I have no background noise.
5. Country - Sweden. (buying from drop USA is an option, but not the preferred one due to not so smooth return process).

Many thanks.

Jul 1, 2020 at 6:01 PM Post #2 of 15
Hi,

On a quest to find best possible headsets in range of 200-300 USD for gaming on PS4.

Past Experience -

2. Currently using Beyer DT 990 Pro 250 Ohm - Planning to return as the sound signature is too bright for me. The high treble gives me fatigue & cracks at high volumes. (connected with Denon AVR 3500 at the moment, but i doubt the treble problem will go away even if I pair it with a decent amp/DAC)

Amp/DAC - Most likely planning to get Soundblaster G6 as it is compatible with PS4.

What should I buy next ?

3. No music.
5. Country - Sweden. (buying from drop USA is an option, but not the preferred one due to not so smooth return process).

Many thanks.

The most popular gaming headset, is the Hyper X Clouds. Their known to have greata sound for being a gaming headset, which is not very common believe it or not, they are usually crap, but the Hyper X Clouds, are the top of the gaming headset class. Here is Zeo's review of them.