Audio-GD NFB-11.32 & NFB-11 (2014) (Delivery & Impression Thread)!!!
post-10715193
Post #1,336 of 3,013

Douglaster

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
48
Reaction score
13
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Posts
48
Likes
13
After 3 hours listening to it i have some more impressions:
 
- The audio *pop* is present when listening sessions (1 minute or more without audio)
- Sometimes the start of the track is lost (like the device is being restarted), something like1 second of the music is lost when the NFB-11 is idle for more than 1 minute.
- He really is super neutral
- Amazing sound quality with 32bit FLACs.
 
--- Now the questions !
 
1 - Im using this as my main PC audio source, how can i use windows to control its volume ?
2 - I cant use a lot of programs with the 384khz option ! (skype, ventrilo and lots of others just make a beeeeeeeep noise)
3 - Is there a way to fix the audio pop issue ?
4 - I cant install the Via package =/
 
Thanks for the help guys.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10715233
Post #1,337 of 3,013

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
27,941
Reaction score
1,591
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
27,941
Likes
1,591
  After 3 hours listening to it i have some more impressions:
 
- The audio *pop* is present when listening sessions (1 minute or more without audio)
- Sometimes the start of the track is lost (like the device is being restarted), something like1 second of the music is lost when the NFB-11 is idle for more than 1 minute.
- He really is super neutral
- Amazing sound quality with 32bit FLACs.
 
--- Now the questions !
 
1 - I'm using this as my main PC audio source, how can i use windows to control its volume ?
2 - I cant use a lot of programs with the 32bit option ! (skype, ventrilo and lots of others just make a beeeeeeeep noise)
3 - Is there a way to fix the audio pop issue ?
4 - I can't install the Via package =/
 
Thanks for the help guys.
 
You can have windows control the volume....but.
It's usually best to max (75%-&100) the volume on the source (Your win PC) and use the external's volume knob.
 
Your not the only one with issues with the VIA software package, as VIA writes the software, Audio-GD can only sit and wait, like everyone else, for VIA to issue updates and fixes.
 
You might want to make sure the motherboard's on-board audio is disabled, in the BIOS.
I would assume normally on-board does not cause issues with USB driver installations, but you never know.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10715388
Post #1,338 of 3,013

Douglaster

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
48
Reaction score
13
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Posts
48
Likes
13
Strange, i cant control the volume thru the windows =/
 
Thanks for the help.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10716163
Post #1,339 of 3,013

conquerator2

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
5,636
Reaction score
1,262
Location
Czechia
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Location
Czechia
Posts
5,636
Likes
1,262
Website
www.youtube.com
The one second lost thing is normal and so are the associated pops.
It's the muting relay design.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10716230
Post #1,340 of 3,013

lewis91

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
16
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Posts
16
Likes
10
  Strange, i cant control the volume thru the windows =/
 
Thanks for the help.
this is normal, it works the same way with my NAD D 3020 windows volume has no effect.
 
 
Also I asked Kingwa if he had any updates from VIA, he said they have made a new driver and he has asked them to do more tests before releasing it.
 
Shouldn't be too long now!
 
     Share This Post       
post-10716546
Post #1,341 of 3,013

Douglaster

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
48
Reaction score
13
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Posts
48
Likes
13
  this is normal, it works the same way with my NAD D 3020 windows volume has no effect.
 
 
Also I asked Kingwa if he had any updates from VIA, he said they have made a new driver and he has asked them to do more tests before releasing it.
 
Shouldn't be too long now!
Great to know !
 
Yesterday, playing while listening to Aimp, the sound became metallic and static. After checking every thing associated i find out that if i let the device operate in 32bit 192khz mode, this problem disappears.
 
This is very strange, because it was working normally at 384khz. But when two program start sending sound to the NFB it start to become erratic and metallic.
 
Also, the skype and conference programs alike problem is with the 384khz and not the 32bit feed. Hope this helps Kingwa and VIA.
 
About the volume control in windows, the funny thing is while i cant control thru the windows and the keyboard multimedia buttons, i can control the volume thru the Aimp volume bar ! 
 go figure !?
 
After 8 straight hours of heavy listening the case was barely (33º c) warm.
 
Thanks for the help guys ! 
 
     Share This Post       
post-10717063
Post #1,342 of 3,013

lewis91

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
16
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Posts
16
Likes
10
  Great to know !
 
Yesterday, playing while listening to Aimp, the sound became metallic and static. After checking every thing associated i find out that if i let the device operate in 32bit 192khz mode, this problem disappears.
 
This is very strange, because it was working normally at 384khz. But when two program start sending sound to the NFB it start to become erratic and metallic.
 
Also, the skype and conference programs alike problem is with the 384khz and not the 32bit feed. Hope this helps Kingwa and VIA.
 
About the volume control in windows, the funny thing is while i cant control thru the windows and the keyboard multimedia buttons, i can control the volume thru the Aimp volume bar ! 
 go figure !?
 
After 8 straight hours of heavy listening the case was barely (33º c) warm.
 
Thanks for the help guys ! 

Hey, i saw the new firmware is on the audio gd site now (http://www.audio-gd.com/En%20audio-gd.htm) top of the page so i updated. It fixed the itunes play/pause issue i was having yay
 
 
however, i also have problems with skype audio at 384khz just get a buzz and cant hear any of the audio. again switching to 192khz fixed this.
 
the plot thickens...
 
     Share This Post       
post-10718796
Post #1,343 of 3,013

swannie007

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Messages
942
Reaction score
209
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Posts
942
Likes
209
Sounds like a lot of trouble from a piece of gear that should be plug-n-play! If I had these issues with my gear, it would be sent back for a refund. Manufacturers really should make sure their gear works with no problems before they release it for sale. The customer should not have to do their R&D work for them. I want to spend my free time listening and enjoying, not being frustrated and annoyed by a piece of gear that does not work as it should. Just my 2c worth.  
 
     Share This Post       
post-10719285
Post #1,344 of 3,013

Douglaster

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
48
Reaction score
13
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Posts
48
Likes
13
  Sounds like a lot of trouble from a piece of gear that should be plug-n-play! If I had these issues with my gear, it would be sent back for a refund. Manufacturers really should make sure their gear works with no problems before they release it for sale. The customer should not have to do their R&D work for them. I want to spend my free time listening and enjoying, not being frustrated and annoyed by a piece of gear that does not work as it should. Just my 2c worth.  
Without a doubt.
 
But i knew i was going for some headaches when i bought this.
 
The sound quality makes up for it. And the problem is really only at 384khz.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10720584
Post #1,345 of 3,013

Douglaster

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
48
Reaction score
13
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Posts
48
Likes
13
Another thing i discovered:
 
- If you use an USB cable expander it WILL make the NFB-11 sound crack and produce lots of static
- If you use an USB hub (energized) it will work without problems.
 
 
Hope this help VIA and King Wa.
 
att,
 
     Share This Post       
post-10721379
Post #1,346 of 3,013

swannie007

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Messages
942
Reaction score
209
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Posts
942
Likes
209
  Another thing i discovered:
 
- If you use an USB cable expander it WILL make the NFB-11 sound crack and produce lots of static
- If you use an USB hub (energized) it will work without problems.
 
 
Hope this help VIA and King Wa.
 
att,
Very interesting. I am sure that this little tip will help many of us here using multiple USB devices with limited USB outputs from our computers. Appreciate the heads up on this one. Cheers.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10721448
Post #1,347 of 3,013

Mamurai

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Messages
17
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Posts
17
Likes
10
Hey guys
 
I just got a new PC and I'm now having a problem with getting the NFB 11.32 to work. I have installed the same drivers as on the old PC without any problems but no sound comes from the unit. I also have it plugged it into an USB 2.0 port and have tried swtiching USB ports too but still nothing. If I just start up and try to play something I may hear a sound for 1 second before it cuts off and then I can't make it do that again or hear anything.
 
Hope someone can help with this annoying problem. 
 
Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-10721477
Post #1,348 of 3,013

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
27,941
Reaction score
1,591
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
27,941
Likes
1,591
  Hey guys
 
I just got a new PC and I'm now having a problem with getting the NFB 11.32 to work. I have installed the same drivers as on the old PC without any problems but no sound comes from the unit. I also have it plugged it into an USB 2.0 port and have tried swtiching USB ports too but still nothing. If I just start up and try to play something I may hear a sound for 1 second before it cuts off and then I can't make it do that again or hear anything.
 
Hope someone can help with this annoying problem. 
 
Thanks
 
How old is the NFB-11.32?
Have you ever update the firmware?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10721910
Post #1,350 of 3,013

Douglaster

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
48
Reaction score
13
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Posts
48
Likes
13
Starting with the basics:
 
1 - Are you sure the device is showing normally in the device manager ?
2 - Did you selected it as the default device in the sound reproduction ?
3 - What is the version of the driver in the device manager ?
4 - Youre using wasapi, ASIO or directsound ?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top