Audio-gd Digital Interface
Apr 17, 2013 at 2:09 AM Post #3,721 of 4,156

angel72

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Posts
76
Likes
14
thanks clsidxxl
I'll try to do that
 
Apr 17, 2013 at 5:26 AM Post #3,722 of 4,156

rdsu

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Posts
207
Likes
21
Quote:
I got this long winded response from VIA but it does end with good news for us Windows 8 users.
 
"Hello,
 
VIA provides Windows 8 audio drivers for VIA audio chips that meet the Windows Logo Premium requirements, which can be found at the driver portal. These are general sound effects drivers with common functions. System manufacturers and motherboard vendors customize audio hardware and software, so to ensure optimal sound quality and compatibility, we strongly recommend you obtain the system-validated and certified audio drivers directly from your system manufacturer or motherboard manufacturer, not from VIA.
The following VIA audio solutions do not meet the Windows Logo Premium requirements and therefore are supported by Microsoft's in-box audio support:
  1. VIA Vinyl HD audio: VT1708, VT1708A 
  2. VIA Vinyl AC'97 audio codecs: VT1612A, VT1613, VT1616/B, VT1617/A, VT1618
  3. VIA AC'97 integrated solutions in the following VIA South Bridge chips: VT82C686A/B, VT8231, VT8233/AC, VT8235 & VT8237/R, VT8251
If your system uses one of these VIA audio solutions and you are having audio issues using Windows 8 (32- or 64-bit), it is recommended that you install a sound card which has Windows Logo Premium driver support under Windows 8.
Note: Later versions of the VIA Vinyl VT1708 family of HD audio codecs, denoted by letter suffixes e.g. VT1708B, VT1708S, do meet Windows Logo Premium, and drivers for Windows 8 can be downloaded from this site.
Windows 8 drivers for the Envy24 line of audio chips (Envy24 MT/DT/GT/PT/HT-S and VT1723) are under development.
 
[size=small][size=10pt]Thanks in advance,[/size][/size]
 
[size=small][size=10pt]VIA Marketing [/size][/size]
[size=10pt]Taiwan[/size]"
 
The VT1731 is curiously absent from the list but it is  Envy chip so hopefully that list is not exclusive.  


Thanks for this info! :wink:
 
Maybe Kingwa can make some force to VT1731 be included...
 
This kind of stuff makes me...
angry_face.gif

 
Apr 17, 2013 at 6:05 AM Post #3,723 of 4,156

ktm777

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Posts
18
Likes
11
Thanks for this info! :wink:

Maybe Kingwa can make some force to VT1731 be included...

This kind of stuff makes me... :angry_face:


I`ve bought DI-V3 to work with USB+EDO, after weeks gave up and plug it by coax. Then decided to buy a laptop, new one, touch screen - to replace SBT - and you know how the story ended :frowning2:
But DI-V3 has - as it's said on their website - the lowest jitter in the world. I must have bad luck :frowning2:
 
Apr 17, 2013 at 6:24 AM Post #3,725 of 4,156

rdsu

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Posts
207
Likes
21
Quote:
I`ve bought DI-V3 to work with USB+EDO, after weeks gave up and plug it by coax. Then decided to buy a laptop, new one, touch screen - to replace SBT - and you know how the story ended :frowning2:
But DI-V3 has - as it's said on their website - the lowest jitter in the world. I must have bad luck :frowning2:

DI-V3 is my first converter, but I like it a lot.
 
The problem is the VIA driver that doesn't support Win 8 and must be optimized to support lower buffers...
 
It seems Kingwa have bad luck with other company drivers... This must be corrected in the future...
 
Apr 17, 2013 at 6:33 AM Post #3,726 of 4,156

kr0gg

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Posts
439
Likes
17
my DI v3 works in Win8/64 on usb3.0  TI chipset perfectly.
 
but, yes, being unable to set a low buffer is a problem for me :frowning2:
 
Apr 17, 2013 at 6:58 AM Post #3,731 of 4,156

davidfrombxl

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Posts
10
Likes
11
Dear,
 
Do you know where I can found the software that read the version of the firmware chip?
I have two version of the firmware, and I don't know which version they are.
 
Thanks in advance and good listening :)
 
AnHappyOwnerFromBelgium :)
 
Apr 17, 2013 at 7:17 AM Post #3,732 of 4,156

Clemmaster

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 20, 2009
Posts
3,029
Likes
712
I didn't have issue on Windows 8 64bits as soon as I installed the correct driver for my firmware (1.22).
ASIO worked flawlessly on JRiver using the VIA "ASIO emulator".
 
Apr 17, 2013 at 8:07 AM Post #3,735 of 4,156

kr0gg

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Posts
439
Likes
17
you know that ASIO doesn't work in your case too, but you write that it does.
seems kinda strange to me
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top