Audio-gd Digital Interface
Jul 25, 2012 at 7:44 PM Post #3,166 of 4,156

somestranger26

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Posts
1,257
Likes
48
Quote:
good news to those who have Olimex usb isolator.
 
it works actually.
i was able to install drivers and use DI after i've connected a second power supply to the isolator. (Audio-gd's PSU on DI and a 7.5v PSU from my router on the Olimex isolator)
it was identified as a TE8022 device and i had to manually install the Audio-gd's drivers.
i guess that isolators didn't work without the PSU only because the te8802 chip + adum isolator eat more than the 500ma a usb port can provide

Maybe for you. Mine had chronic dropouts (multiple per second) when hooked up like this.
 
Jul 26, 2012 at 12:48 AM Post #3,167 of 4,156

drez

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 7, 2009
Posts
2,921
Likes
182
I don't like anything touching the D+ and D- of any digital connection, no galvanic isolation, no chokes, no adapters etc.  I might consider galvanic isolation only for the V+ and ground with a Y-cable or something, but honestly with my system I only ever hear degradation with anything extra placed in the USB digital connection (lesson learnt again with the Vaunix hub)
 
Jul 26, 2012 at 4:04 PM Post #3,168 of 4,156

log0

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Posts
120
Likes
11
Hi All,
I have a Digital Interface with PSU I bought over a year ago with the TE7702 chip. It is connected to a Reference One DAC with DSP-1 v5. I've been out of head-fi for a while and haven't kept up on the latest offerings in terms of the DI. I see now there are two different versions, one with and without a DSP3 and with I2S. I don't feel like I'm being robbed of any sonic detail or musicality with my current setup (I feel no need to upgrade), but would I benefit at all from getting a newer DI? Would be it redundant to have the DI up-sample the stream with the DSP3 if the DSP1 v5 will do so anyways? Is one DSP better then the other? Apologies if this has been posted elsewhere.
 
Jul 26, 2012 at 6:15 PM Post #3,170 of 4,156

JulienM

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Posts
114
Likes
12
Hi All,
I have a Digital Interface with PSU I bought over a year ago with the TE7702 chip. It is connected to a Reference One DAC with DSP-1 v5. I've been out of head-fi for a while and haven't kept up on the latest offerings in terms of the DI. I see now there are two different versions, one with and without a DSP3 and with I2S. I don't feel like I'm being robbed of any sonic detail or musicality with my current setup (I feel no need to upgrade), but would I benefit at all from getting a newer DI? Would be it redundant to have the DI up-sample the stream with the DSP3 if the DSP1 v5 will do so anyways? Is one DSP better then the other? Apologies if this has been posted elsewhere.


I find the latest version with the asynchronous TE8802 chip to sound significant better than the original version. I got mine with both TCXO upgrades. Better clocks usually mean better sound... My sistem is sounding better than ever!!
 
Jul 27, 2012 at 2:24 PM Post #3,172 of 4,156

kr0gg

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Posts
439
Likes
17
i have a 24.576 Tentlabs clock and it sounded better when upsampled to 96khz that the upgraded Audio-gd clock.
but i tested it only on the old DI.
on the new one - i've put the Tentlabs one and didn't care to compare
 
Jul 28, 2012 at 8:30 AM Post #3,173 of 4,156

artoist

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Posts
5
Likes
0
Hello
 
I have a DAC from audio gd Reference 5 no dsp version / 96k-max /.
I would like to purchase the DI + PSU. I see there are now new models. I understand that the V2 version is bad for my DAC. So I want buy the DI DSP ​​+ PSU.
I would like you to advise me what to choose in addition. Better clock? What? 12.24?
In what else I should invest? Shipping is expensive and niechciałbym pay 2x then.
 
Please help.
 
Regards
Art
 
Jul 28, 2012 at 9:52 PM Post #3,175 of 4,156

DarknightDK

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Posts
665
Likes
27
Has anyone tried using their DI-DSP with an external battery supply? Could you recommend me which battery produces the best results for the DI-DSP?
 
Also, does an external battery improve the SQ over the DI-PSU?
 
Jul 29, 2012 at 12:06 AM Post #3,176 of 4,156

kr0gg

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Posts
439
Likes
17
Quote:
Has anyone tried using their DI-DSP with an external battery supply? Could you recommend me which battery produces the best results for the DI-DSP?
 
Also, does an external battery improve the SQ over the DI-PSU?

 
i'm using this battery: http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-Sanyo-18650-2S2P-Li-ion-Battery-pack-7-4V-5-2Ah-4-Wheel-Alignment-W-PCM-Plug-/220969435546?pt=US_Rechargeable_Batteries&hash=item3372ce019a
there is an improvement in clarity over the audio-gd's PSU,but it is minor.
 
Quote:
Krogg,thanks for your advice,it's the XO or the VCXO  Tentlabs clock that you have.

it's an XO.
 
Jul 29, 2012 at 12:14 PM Post #3,177 of 4,156

DarknightDK

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Posts
665
Likes
27
Quote:
 
i'm using this battery: http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-Sanyo-18650-2S2P-Li-ion-Battery-pack-7-4V-5-2Ah-4-Wheel-Alignment-W-PCM-Plug-/220969435546?pt=US_Rechargeable_Batteries&hash=item3372ce019a
there is an improvement in clarity over the audio-gd's PSU,but it is minor.
 

 
Thanks! Exactly what I'm looking for. How long does the battery last with the DI-DSP on a single charge?
 
Jul 29, 2012 at 12:59 PM Post #3,178 of 4,156

kr0gg

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Posts
439
Likes
17
there's a circuit which automatically disables it when it drops its voltage due to low charge, so DI  never consumes  a full charge actually.
i guess it keeps my DI-DSP running for about 7 hours.
 
Jul 29, 2012 at 2:02 PM Post #3,179 of 4,156

clsidxxl

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Posts
32
Likes
0
Krogg,I would like to change the 2 clocks,one for the 8802 is 12mhz and the upsampling is 24,576mhz,the voltage of 3,3 volt is good ? VCXO needs 5volt.
 
Jul 29, 2012 at 2:13 PM Post #3,180 of 4,156

kr0gg

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Posts
439
Likes
17
you have to understand, that although TCXO and XO 5v clocks usually may work with 3.3v, but is not optimal.
also, i'm not sure if VCXO clocks can work with lower voltage.
 
i guess you'd better order upgraded clocks from Kingwa
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top