Attenuators
Oct 29, 2009 at 3:43 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

teknikal

New Head-Fier
Hey all,
I have a UE SF.5pro, connected to a Macbook Pro just via the audio out.
It's VERY noisy...
so I used the packed-in attenuator. Problem is, the cable on it has gone dodgy and loose! Like, only works when it's bent in a certain way...
I live in Australia and it doesn't look like anyone stocks a replacement!
Can you guys suggest a substitute?
The attenuator worked perfectly, I have no complaint other than the durability, and would like something very similar to that...
Anything?

Thanks all!

tek

Oct 29, 2009 at 3:55 PM Post #2 of 13
You mean the airline attenuator? It is basically just a 100 ohm impedance adapter. You can go on to eBay and find a suitable replacement, like those for Etymotic expect you need to ask the seller for a 100 ohm version (as Ety is 47 ohm 75 ohm, IIRC).

Oct 29, 2009 at 4:20 PM Post #3 of 13
:S lol im a complete noob....do you know like a specific model/number that i can look out for?possibly one that is more durable???I play on stage quite frequently and hence cables tend to break my heart often

EDIT: found one on ebay!!!
ETYMOTIC ER4P TO ER4S RESISTOR ADAPTOR (3.5MM PLUG) - eBay Other, Headphones, Headsets, A V Accessories Cables, Electronics. (end time 10-Nov-09 13:53:01 AEDST)

now, are you sure the attenuator is 100ohm? if my source is just a macbook pro what do you think is the best 'setting', with the SF 5 pro?
thank you for your help...lol I literally have no idea on this stuff..newb lol

Oct 29, 2009 at 6:41 PM Post #4 of 13
The one I have is from TF10, not 5Pro, but I am pretty sure they are all the same thing. Last I measured (via a multimeter), the adapter is 100 ohm. I think It is a bit overkill for what you need, 75 ohm should be more than enough.

Oct 29, 2009 at 7:26 PM Post #5 of 13
I am using a airline attenuator that comes with sony mdr-nc22 or mdr-nc6

Oct 30, 2009 at 1:06 AM Post #7 of 13