ATH-W3000 ANV cable advise, please
post-8388771
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 13

musicday

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
6,926
Reaction score
1,522
Location
South London, UK
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Location
South London, UK
Posts
6,926
Likes
1,522
Hi , now my ATH-W3000ANV have around 120 h burn in and sound better then ever, very datailed sound and big soundstage, beautiful clear bass.My only cons if i can say that will be the cable for beeing too long.I know is standard 3 m, but i will be more happy with 1,5 m cable.
Any advise, where i can go to authorized AT, to make the calbe shorter or replace it.
Many thanks,Musicday
 
     Share This Post       
post-8389242
Post #2 of 13

Redrider469

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
464
Reaction score
24
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Posts
464
Likes
24
Have you considered tying or braiding it in some way? I think that it looks pretty cool and hey, it's free.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8389962
Post #3 of 13

musicday

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
6,926
Reaction score
1,522
Location
South London, UK
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Location
South London, UK
Posts
6,926
Likes
1,522
Quote:
Have you considered tying or braiding it in some way? I think that it looks pretty cool and hey, it's free.
Sorry, but what do you mean by tiding it? To keep it as long as it it put some tape on it?
 
     Share This Post       
post-8390057
Post #4 of 13

Dyaems

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
1,591
Reaction score
64
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Posts
1,591
Likes
64
you can do something like the link below but not exactly like what but the idea of 'tying' the long cable is there. can find the exact wordings in youtube so pardon me.
 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DaXcNzxAB00
 
     Share This Post       
post-8391033
Post #5 of 13

Redrider469

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
464
Reaction score
24
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Posts
464
Likes
24
Sorry, but what do you mean by tiding it? To keep it as long as it it put some tape on it?

I mean to say to keep it the same length, just tie knots in the cord to make it shorter. No tape needed
 
     Share This Post       
post-8391061
Post #6 of 13

musicday

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
6,926
Reaction score
1,522
Location
South London, UK
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Location
South London, UK
Posts
6,926
Likes
1,522
Quote:
you can do something like the link below but not exactly like what but the idea of 'tying' the long cable is there. can find the exact wordings in youtube so pardon me.
 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DaXcNzxAB00
Sorry man but that is plain silly and will not work with the ATH cable becouse is too long and thick.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8391415
Post #7 of 13

Dyaems

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
1,591
Reaction score
64
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Posts
1,591
Likes
64
I did similar 'tying' of cables with my k240m before, those cables are thick as well, but it sure looks ugly though :frowning2:
I guess youre better off having it reterminated. :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-8400770
Post #8 of 13

musicday

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
6,926
Reaction score
1,522
Location
South London, UK
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Location
South London, UK
Posts
6,926
Likes
1,522
Quote:
I did similar 'tying' of cables with my k240m before, those cables are thick as well, but it sure looks ugly though :frowning2:
I guess youre better off having it reterminated. :)
Any advice where i can get the cable relaced with 48''?Maybe a 3,5 mini jack too?
 
     Share This Post       
post-8400786
Post #9 of 13

MattTCG

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
15,450
Reaction score
3,181
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Posts
15,450
Likes
3,181
Send Chris_himself a pm. He does good work around here...
 
     Share This Post       
post-8401202
Post #10 of 13

Zombie_X

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 3, 2008
Messages
4,630
Reaction score
327
Joined
Sep 3, 2008
Posts
4,630
Likes
327
I can help as well. I could easily chop the cable down a bit and put on a nice 1/4" plug.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8401235
Post #11 of 13

lmswjm

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
653
Reaction score
27
Joined
May 1, 2008
Posts
653
Likes
27
I also have the W3000ANV. It has the nicest stock cable with the most beautiful plug I have ever seen. There is no aftermarket cable that could replace it without diminishing its value. If you chop the stock cable in half, you probably will also chop its value in half as well. Just my 2 cents. If you’re good with that, happy choppin’ then!
 
     Share This Post       
post-8401385
Post #12 of 13

nanaholic

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
2,156
Reaction score
1,869
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Posts
2,156
Likes
1,869
I second not cutting the cable.  
What's wrong with curling it around a bit and then use a valcro or plastic tie to hold it together? I do that with my old W1000x at the plug end so the bundle of the cable rests on the table and leave enough slack for normal use.  If you only have a rack and no horizontal flat surface then stick a plastic hook on the rack and hang the bundle of cable there, much less surgery (which can't be undone either) involve.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8418591
Post #13 of 13

khoi14021993

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
234
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Posts
234
Likes
17
Quote:
I also have the W3000ANV. It has the nicest stock cable with the most beautiful plug I have ever seen. There is no aftermarket cable that could replace it without diminishing its value. If you chop the stock cable in half, you probably will also chop its value in half as well. Just my 2 cents. If you’re good with that, happy choppin’ then!
Third. It's long indeed but isn't the cable originally tied together with a cheap band? I keep it there with every headphones with 3.0m cable I buy, so the cable length is only about 1.5m or so.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top