ATH-M50 cord replacement?
Feb 11, 2011 at 12:14 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Jackson12106

New Head-Fier
Hi, I just bought a pair of ATH-M50s's, and was planning on recabling them. However, I was thinking more along the lines of installing a 3.5mm jack on the cans themselves, and using a 3.5mm extension cable or similar to connect them. After seeing these posts, though, the whole "microphonics" issue kind of scared me...keep in mind that I'm totally new to this, but would installing a jack and using a separate cable reduce audio quality and create a lot of microphonic interference?

Feb 11, 2011 at 12:17 AM Post #2 of 19
"microphonics" is different from crosstalk, microphonics is when the cable brushes against your shirt and the noise created
crosstalk is when sound that should only should be on the right (or left) and ends up in the left (or right) earphone

Feb 11, 2011 at 12:40 AM Post #3 of 19
So you're saying...that if I use the original cable, it's not likely that I will have any problems? I figured all of the little metal bits in the jack would cause interference or something. If I'm not using the original cable, what kinds would make the least interference? and lastly, why is it that the starquad cable did that?

Feb 11, 2011 at 12:46 AM Post #4 of 19
from what I read in the link provided, it appears the starquad cable actually reduced the crosstalk. a previous poster in the thread is correct in saying that all unbalanced headphones have a bit of crosstalk. not a big issue really, hardly ever noticeable. though I'm not quite sure how you will install/mount the headphone jack into the earcups. 

Feb 11, 2011 at 1:00 AM Post #5 of 19
Alright, I will get right on it! And as a point of clarification, I was thinking that when he said that he was hearing "microphonic" that he didnt hear  beore, it was coming from the starquad cable. That was the problem I was asking about, not crosstalk. Thanks!

Feb 22, 2011 at 6:23 PM Post #6 of 19