ASTRO Mixamp x JVC SU-DH1 x Other?
Sep 22, 2010 at 2:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 28

loganirado

100+ Head-Fier
Hello. I'm looking for this kind of gear to hook up to my PS3 and use some headphones. I'm still considering which headphone to buy and I learned that depending on which model I choose, I won't be able to experience everything it has to offer without the so called amp.

I'm new to all this stuff, after some research, I came up with those models: the ASTRO and the JVC amps. I'm not a hardcore FPS player, but I wouldn't mind being able to "pinpoint" people through sound. I'm mostly looking for a good sound quality and being able to use the whole setup with both PS3 (games) and a Computer (movies, series, music), which is connected to my TV through a HDMI cord.

So, what should I do? Basically I'm looking for surround sound headphone usage. My budget is around U$150.

Sep 22, 2010 at 2:26 PM Post #2 of 28
you have to choose between those two, but I think you should buy the astro mixamp if you want to chat online.
If you do really not chat online you can buy the jvc as it has DTS, mixamp supports dolby only.
I bet at some point you'll need chat, so stick with mixamp.

People can tell you this or that, but the true is that mixamp is the way to go.

Sep 22, 2010 at 6:05 PM Post #3 of 28
Thanks for your reply. So, for movies, JVC is better, since it supports DTS, but if I choose it, I won't be able to chat.. This sounds like a big problem. As you said, at some point I'd want to chat, but the main problem lies in the Mixamp's shipping cost.

Ordering it from Astro's website, they want to charge me U$230, just for shipping+taxes. I'll only buy one of these if I go to the US, because paying all this money for shipping sounds a little too much.

I'm trying to get more info about AudioCubes shipping method, since it is quite reasonable for the JVC amp. Would you have some other suggestion, besides these models?

Quote: