Astell & Kern SR25: The next A&norma player
Jan 3, 2021 at 4:47 PM Post #1,201 of 1,581

TjFont

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 19, 2020
Posts
50
Likes
25
Location
USA
Santa brought me a SR25 for Christmas. Liking it so far; more listening is required. I feared that the Wifi capability would become an issue when streaming Qobuz in the house, but that hasn't been the case. We have a pretty healthy Wifi signal in most rooms, but I need to be practically sitting on the router for the SR25 Wifi icon to show a maximum strength signal. That said, it has been streaming just fine.

Any recommendations for how to manage playlists? Using the native playlist UI, I only see a way to load individual songs, not albums, to a playlist. That is way too much work - am I missing something? I am thinking my best option is to load foobar2000, which I have used (and liked) in the past.
 
Jan 3, 2021 at 9:15 PM Post #1,202 of 1,581

Puertex

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 12, 2020
Posts
33
Likes
8
Location
Texas
Santa brought me a SR25 for Christmas. Liking it so far; more listening is required. I feared that the Wifi capability would become an issue when streaming Qobuz in the house, but that hasn't been the case. We have a pretty healthy Wifi signal in most rooms, but I need to be practically sitting on the router for the SR25 Wifi icon to show a maximum strength signal. That said, it has been streaming just fine.

Any recommendations for how to manage playlists? Using the native playlist UI, I only see a way to load individual songs, not albums, to a playlist. That is way too much work - am I missing something? I am thinking my best option is to load foobar2000, which I have used (and liked) in the past.
You can build playlists right from the UI. You can download the manual where it is reasonably explained. You have to get familiar with the icons that allow individual selection of tracks, and albums to be added to the playlist. Also, another thing to learn is the "Now Playing" list. You can erase the contents of the NP list and start anew or you can add to the NP list without erasing the list. There are options when you add tracks to the list such as adding to the top or adding below the existing list. I find the process reasonably easy (arguably). Just be careful when you select to delete songs... I have erased songs from the database by mistake. Having a backup of your files is essential. Good Luck with your SR25 !
Puertex
 
Jan 3, 2021 at 9:33 PM Post #1,203 of 1,581

TjFont

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 19, 2020
Posts
50
Likes
25
Location
USA
You can build playlists right from the UI. You can download the manual where it is reasonably explained. You have to get familiar with the icons that allow individual selection of tracks, and albums to be added to the playlist. Also, another thing to learn is the "Now Playing" list. You can erase the contents of the NP list and start anew or you can add to the NP list without erasing the list. There are options when you add tracks to the list such as adding to the top or adding below the existing list. I find the process reasonably easy (arguably). Just be careful when you select to delete songs... I have erased songs from the database by mistake. Having a backup of your files is essential. Good Luck with your SR25 !
Puertex
Thanks for the info! I saw the section on adding songs, but overlooked how to add albums. I need to invest the time to understand the mechanics of it. It seems to be able to read M3U files, which could come in handy, too.
 
Jan 3, 2021 at 9:44 PM Post #1,204 of 1,581

Puertex

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 12, 2020
Posts
33
Likes
8
Location
Texas
Thanks for the info! I saw the section on adding songs, but overlooked how to add albums. I need to invest the time to understand the mechanics of it. It seems to be able to read M3U files, which could come in handy, too.
You can add albums and even individual tracks to the NP list or any playlist...You can even mix playlists by merging them. Its just a bit tricky ! :)
Puertex
 
Jan 5, 2021 at 4:47 AM Post #1,206 of 1,581

Neweymatt

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Posts
286
Likes
308
Location
Newcastle, Australia
Has anyone bought and used this adaptor for the balanced outlet? Does using the balanced outlet make a significant improvement in sound?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005001423423832.html?spm=2114.12010615.8148356.23.1af46d04hI75TX
The balanced output has 2x the power output, which many IEMs and headphones will benefit from. You would get that kind of adapter if you wanted to use a cable with 4.4mm balanced plug instead of 2.5mm plug that already works with the SR25.

What IEMs or headphones do you have to use with the SR25?
 
Jan 5, 2021 at 9:23 AM Post #1,207 of 1,581

Desmnod

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Posts
14
Likes
4
Location
Dublin
The balanced output has 2x the power output, which many IEMs and headphones will benefit from. You would get that kind of adapter if you wanted to use a cable with 4.4mm balanced plug instead of 2.5mm plug that already works with the SR25.

What IEMs or headphones do you have to use with the SR25?

Currently using the Sennheiser Momentum BT 3:

https://www.richersounds.com/sennheiser-momentum-wireless-3-black.html

They have a 3.5 unbalanced plug, so I'd need a this 3.5 female adapter as well:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/400...668#1000022185#1000066059#0_668#3468#15607#31

The cable obviously won't be very long, so I'm wondering if I need to use the balanced output.

PS I notice a significant improvement in sound quality using the cable instead of the wireless bluetooth connection.

Thanks,

D
 
Jan 5, 2021 at 11:24 AM Post #1,209 of 1,581

Puertex

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 12, 2020
Posts
33
Likes
8
Location
Texas
Using aptx HD or LDAC BT connection delivers the best fidelity while using wireless. Do these headphones offer these formats? Wired will always be better than wireless, of course.
Puertex
 
Jan 5, 2021 at 11:50 AM Post #1,210 of 1,581

rlw6534

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 1, 2019
Posts
455
Likes
301
Location
Clemson, SC USA
Last edited:
Jan 5, 2021 at 1:22 PM Post #1,211 of 1,581
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Posts
1,841
Likes
1,496
Location
Irvine, CA
NEVER use an adapter to go from 3.5mm unbalanced to 2.5/4.4 balanced. You can short out your DAP. This goes for any device, not just AK devices. Using an adapter to go from 2.5/4.4 to 3.5 is ok. To go balanced, you will need to replace the cables.
 
Astell&Kern Stay updated on Astell&Kern at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/astellnkern/ https://twitter.com/astell_kern https://instagram.com/astellnkern https://us.astellnkern.com support@theinvixion.com
Jan 5, 2021 at 1:40 PM Post #1,212 of 1,581

emorrison33

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 19, 2020
Posts
63
Likes
78
Location
South Jersey
Using aptx HD or LDAC BT connection delivers the best fidelity while using wireless. Do these headphones offer these formats? Wired will always be better than wireless, of course.
Puertex
Yea, your just not really getting "hi resolution" from a bluetooth connection. The "pipe/bandwidth" just isn't there yet, but technology has advanced enough (Aptx HD, LDAC) where we can get some decent resolution from bluetooth. That's the easy reply without getting into numbers :) Wired is always the way to go, at this point, with high resolution files.
 
Jan 5, 2021 at 1:45 PM Post #1,213 of 1,581

povidlo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Posts
371
Likes
578
Location
Toronto
I'm not sure about the value of the dual pole feature (adds a ground that isn't used in headphones but may be useful using balanced line out), but a normal 4.4mm to 2.5mm balanced pigtail/adapter will work just fine.
Exactly. Primary benefit of this adapter is ability to connect to an amp with 4.4mm balanced analog in, like iFi Zen Can and Oriolus BA20.
 
Jan 5, 2021 at 2:23 PM Post #1,215 of 1,581

Desmnod

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2020
Posts
14
Likes
4
Location
Dublin
I'm not sure about the value of the dual pole feature (adds a ground that isn't used in headphones but may be useful using balanced line out), but a normal 4.4mm to 2.5mm balanced pigtail/adapter will work just fine.

Is a 3.5mm to 2.5mm balanced adaptor available, do you know? And, again, will that give noticeably better sound quality?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top