Astell & Kern SR15: A&norma Impressions & Reviews
post-15129701
Post #1,891 of 2,400

spikeyw

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Joined
May 10, 2014
Posts
11
Likes
2
Installing Spotify causes a parse error. Downloaded this from apkpure and get the same problem with previous versions.

By the way, I have successfully installed Foobar and Tidal.

Can someone please advise which version and source to download that works.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15130372
Post #1,892 of 2,400

Levanter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
2,620
Reaction score
367
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Posts
2,620
Likes
367
Installing Spotify causes a parse error. Downloaded this from apkpure and get the same problem with previous versions.

By the way, I have successfully installed Foobar and Tidal.

Can someone please advise which version and source to download that works.
Spotify files in apkpure is corrupted, try a different app website.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15130404
Post #1,893 of 2,400

VegasC

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Shanghai
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Location
Shanghai
Posts
8
Likes
1
Installing Spotify causes a parse error. Downloaded this from apkpure and get the same problem with previous versions.

By the way, I have successfully installed Foobar and Tidal.

Can someone please advise which version and source to download that works.
SR15 has a 32bit cpu, so we can only use spotify armeabi-v7a version on apkpure(Previous versions>Version w/ two variants>armeabi-v7a)

some old version may have both 32bit and 64bit lib, so.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: spikeyw
post-15130911
Post #1,895 of 2,400

spikeyw

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Joined
May 10, 2014
Posts
11
Likes
2
SR15 has a 32bit cpu, so we can only use spotify armeabi-v7a version on apkpure(Previous versions>Version w/ two variants>armeabi-v7a)

some old version may have both 32bit and 64bit lib, so.
Thank you so much, that was the cause as downloading the armeabi-v7a version instead it installed and ran successfully.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15137536
Post #1,896 of 2,400

spikeyw

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Joined
May 10, 2014
Posts
11
Likes
2
Is a sad day today, my SR15 has died.

I believe it started when I was streaming Tidal and connected to my bluetooth headphones, when the unit got very hot because of the extra work it had to support.Since then the unit cuts out and dies and even when fully charged it dies again when the battery falls below 70%.

I guess the high operating temperature harmed the battery as they don't like heat. It looks like a design fault and do wonder if A&K did any realistic soak test before release.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15138099
Post #1,897 of 2,400

nekromantik

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
1,307
Reaction score
75
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Posts
1,307
Likes
75
Is a sad day today, my SR15 has died.

I believe it started when I was streaming Tidal and connected to my bluetooth headphones, when the unit got very hot because of the extra work it had to support.Since then the unit cuts out and dies and even when fully charged it dies again when the battery falls below 70%.

I guess the high operating temperature harmed the battery as they don't like heat. It looks like a design fault and do wonder if A&K did any realistic soak test before release.
OMG they should replace for free for life as it does sound like design flaw
 
     Share This Post       
post-15142565
Post #1,899 of 2,400
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
1,519
Reaction score
1,057
Location
Irvine, CA
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Location
Irvine, CA
Posts
1,519
Likes
1,057
@JasonNYC I just had another audio retailer contact me on behalf of a customer who is concerned about external playlists on the AK series.

What is the latest with support for copying external playlists to the AK?
I have not gotten an update since the last one a few weeks ago saying they are still working on it. I will speak to our dev team in Korea when they are back in the office on Monday.
 
Astell&Kern Stay updated on Astell&Kern at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/astellnkern/ https://twitter.com/astell_kern https://instagram.com/astellnkern https://us.astellnkern.com support.inc@iriver.com
     Share This Post       
post-15143059
Post #1,900 of 2,400

JeremyLaurenson

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
1,245
Reaction score
484
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Posts
1,245
Likes
484
Website
www.map-pin.com
I have not gotten an update since the last one a few weeks ago saying they are still working on it. I will speak to our dev team in Korea when they are back in the office on Monday.
So, maybe this isn't obvious, and maybe it is...

Its crazy to assume that music lovers are going to "manage their libraries and playlists" on the portable devices no matter how badass they may be.
Conversely just about everyone manages these externally.

This means that basically AK players are currently not compatible with playlists at all. It's beyond ridiculous that we're months in now with no support.

I am certainly not a dealer, but I am getting multiple folks opting out of Astell and Kern devices for others as a result.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15144767
Post #1,901 of 2,400

PeterPan55

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
6
Location
NYC
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Location
NYC
Posts
6
Likes
6
@JasonNYC - is there anything on the roadmap to better facilitate tag handling? I'm really enjoying my newly purchased SR15 aside from the way the 'Album Artist' tag under the 'Artist' field is ignored. For example, a record by one artist that contains many features can add a tonne of 'Artists' to the 'Artist' sorting.

An ideal state would be for one to be able to select which tag is observed (or better yet, a tag hierarchy) for 'Artist'. Alternatively, it would stand to reason that where a 'Sort Artist' is present in the ID3 tag, the player displays this in the 'Artist' view.

Look forward to hearing your thoughts / anyone elses view on this one.

Cheers
 
     Share This Post       
post-15151173
Post #1,903 of 2,400

hammer time

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
47
Reaction score
6
Location
Houston Texas
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Location
Houston Texas
Posts
47
Likes
6
newbie with new Norma. Can i load music directly onto sd card then load in device
or must i go the plug into computer and drag files to load onto device?
Prefer to load onto SD card directly but am not sure.
Cab someone give me some guidance
Many tahnsk
HT
 
     Share This Post       
post-15151464
Post #1,904 of 2,400

NovaFlyer

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
566
Reaction score
457
Location
Washington, DC
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Location
Washington, DC
Posts
566
Likes
457
newbie with new Norma. Can i load music directly onto sd card then load in device
or must i go the plug into computer and drag files to load onto device?
Prefer to load onto SD card directly but am not sure.
Cab someone give me some guidance
Many tahnsk
HT
I typically just load music directly onto my SD card. Aside from it being much faster, it's also easier if you have a Mac to transfer directly to the card. I only connect my A&K DAPs to the computer, using Windows, when I need to sideload any apps such as Tidal.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15151470
Post #1,905 of 2,400

MadDane

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
1,549
Reaction score
193
Location
Napa Dapa Doo.
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Location
Napa Dapa Doo.
Posts
1,549
Likes
193
I typically just load music directly onto my SD card. Aside from it being much faster, it's also easier if you have a Mac to transfer directly to the card. I only connect my A&K DAPs to the computer, using Windows, when I need to sideload any apps such as Tidal.
Ditto
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 5)

Top