Astell&Kern AK380
post-13346277
Post #8,191 of 8,903

Uncle Monty

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 28, 2015
Messages
466
Reaction score
219
Location
UK
Joined
Feb 28, 2015
Location
UK
Posts
466
Likes
219
I had problems using AFT to transfer files from internal memory to SD card - assumed it was AFT issue. I laid my problems bare a couple of weeks ago on this forum. If the issue is with AK, they should get it sorted - I'll bet a great many AK owners use Macs. Thinking of getting a windows laptop for future file movement (it would be useful for some other things - I wouldn't buy one just for this). 
 
     Share This Post       
post-13350163
Post #8,192 of 8,903

bflat

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
3,075
Reaction score
1,422
Location
San Francisco
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Location
San Francisco
Posts
3,075
Likes
1,422
Trying out my CU stack with Oriolus Forsteni, I get slight different sounds with and without amp:
 
No amp - straight from the AK380 CU, the mids have a little more weight and highs are a little laid back
Thru amp - little tighter bass, mids a little leaner, highs more sparkle and edge
 
Both are balanced out.
 
I think I prefer no amp with the Forsteni which is cool since I got these for pure travel purposes. However, with my Laylas it's thru amp or nothing. Just an amazing combo.
 
Why the Forsteni? It suits my listening tastes and happen to fit flush in my ears like a custom. I use sound proof ear muffs (normally used at gun ranges) to slip over my ears with the Forsteni inserted. I estimate this creates -50 dB or more sound deadening which is awesome given the 80+ dB noise on planes. Obviously this is impossible with the Laylas!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13355157
Post #8,193 of 8,903

Eroica4th

Banned: Multiple incomplete trades. Previously known as Exhuman93
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
422
Reaction score
37
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
422
Likes
37
For so many times, whenever i lock the dap and hold it in my hand i sometimes get surprised that it is either playing the next song or into random folder, that is the screen didn't switch off ( locked off ) i always says duh i pressed the lock button twice mistakenly or it is way sensitive. However, today i discovered that if the screen is on and you press the lock button while you are touching the screen, the screen will automatically switch off then on... as far as i remember i have not read something related in the user manual. Which is quite odd!!! If someone experience the same thing please aware me:D

Hope this helps.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13355189
Post #8,194 of 8,903

Eroica4th

Banned: Multiple incomplete trades. Previously known as Exhuman93
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
422
Reaction score
37
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
422
Likes
37
one more odd thing. This time it happened with my ak240ss as well as my ak380cu.
 
sometime whenever i remove the SE cable from the dap i see red light coming from the SE port. which is again veryyyyy odd, especially that none mentioned it :O
 
     Share This Post       
post-13355211
Post #8,195 of 8,903

Dellwolf

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
605
Reaction score
105
Location
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Location
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Posts
605
Likes
105
one more odd thing. This time it happened with my ak240ss as well as my ak380cu.

sometime whenever i remove the SE cable from the dap i see red light coming from the SE port. which is again veryyyyy odd, especially that none mentioned it :O
That's because it also functions as an optical output.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13355235
Post #8,196 of 8,903

Eroica4th

Banned: Multiple incomplete trades. Previously known as Exhuman93
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
422
Reaction score
37
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
422
Likes
37
i cant find any option in the dap that would make it play optical output :frowning2:
 
     Share This Post       
post-13355240
Post #8,197 of 8,903

Eroica4th

Banned: Multiple incomplete trades. Previously known as Exhuman93
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
422
Reaction score
37
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Posts
422
Likes
37
using se846 and ie80 SE cables 
 
     Share This Post       
post-13356668
Post #8,198 of 8,903

LouisArmstrong

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2015
Messages
1,452
Reaction score
329
Joined
Jan 26, 2015
Posts
1,452
Likes
329
  Trying out my CU stack with Oriolus Forsteni, I get slight different sounds with and without amp:
 
No amp - straight from the AK380 CU, the mids have a little more weight and highs are a little laid back
Thru amp - little tighter bass, mids a little leaner, highs more sparkle and edge
 
Both are balanced out.
 
I think I prefer no amp with the Forsteni which is cool since I got these for pure travel purposes. However, with my Laylas it's thru amp or nothing. Just an amazing combo.
 
Why the Forsteni? It suits my listening tastes and happen to fit flush in my ears like a custom. I use sound proof ear muffs (normally used at gun ranges) to slip over my ears with the Forsteni inserted. I estimate this creates -50 dB or more sound deadening which is awesome given the 80+ dB noise on planes. Obviously this is impossible with the Laylas!

Nice. Really nice.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13359395
Post #8,199 of 8,903

Bengkia369

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
1,241
Reaction score
311
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Posts
1,241
Likes
311
i cant find any option in the dap that would make it play optical output :frowning2:

There is no need for any option, it's basically plug and play. The AK will just optical out if you plug a optical cable to a external DAC.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13366825
Post #8,200 of 8,903

bflat

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
3,075
Reaction score
1,422
Location
San Francisco
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Location
San Francisco
Posts
3,075
Likes
1,422
If you want to believe how "small" the AK380 is, just use the AK Amp for about 3 months and then go back to just the AK380. It will seem tiny and so light!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13367639
Post #8,201 of 8,903

TaylorDawe

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 3, 2016
Messages
114
Reaction score
13
Joined
May 3, 2016
Posts
114
Likes
13
  If you want to believe how "small" the AK380 is, just use the AK Amp for about 3 months and then go back to just the AK380. It will seem tiny and so light!
*laughs* yes, that is exactly what I did! I actually love the look and feel of the 380 alone and haven't used the amp since taking it off.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13367690
Post #8,202 of 8,903

catalystcc

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
85
Reaction score
46
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Posts
85
Likes
46
It would be nice for the upcoming AK flagship to have a swappable amp instead of an add on.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13367787
Post #8,203 of 8,903

raypin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
2,516
Reaction score
990
Location
San Fransokyo
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Location
San Fransokyo
Posts
2,516
Likes
990
Mm...ssshhh! Don't give them ideas.........module 1 usd 1500.00, module 2 usd 1800.00.......bad for us!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13368111
Post #8,204 of 8,903

LouisArmstrong

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2015
Messages
1,452
Reaction score
329
Joined
Jan 26, 2015
Posts
1,452
Likes
329
Copper is the King. 
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)

Top