am I getting stupid for trading T61 for T60?
Oct 6, 2008 at 7:59 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

chesebert

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 17, 2004
Posts
4,838
Likes
199
Trading:

T61:
14in 1440x900 Wide (TN)
T7500 C2D 2.2ghz
3GB
100GB
Intel X3100 integrated
7-cell battery

FOR:

T60:
15in flexview 1400x1050 (IPS)
T2400 C1D 1.83ghz
3GB
300GB HD
ATI X1300
6-cell battery
docking station

Would you have done the trade? am I out of my mind?
 
Oct 6, 2008 at 8:09 PM Post #2 of 17

TheMarchingMule

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Posts
9,158
Likes
21
Location
SoCal
It seems reasonable, although the greatest hit you're taking without a doubt is the processor speed.
 
Oct 6, 2008 at 8:35 PM Post #3 of 17

montell

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Posts
247
Likes
10
I would not have done for the processor speed alone. You are taking a serious hit in that department. The increase in hdd capacity is not worth it either IMO. Since hdd capacity nowadays is pretty cheap. You can easily swap the 100gb HDD in the T61 for a bigger one.

The increase in display size could be a pro or a con. Youre giving up a laptop with a smaller footprint for one with more real estate. I dont know how good that dedicated videocard is but looking at the model number and the processor inside I'm guessing that videocard isn't top of the line either. You can do some mild gaming with it but thats also possible with the X3100 integrated videocard. Neither a pro or a con.

Personally I would say that this is not a good deal. You do get a docking station but ultimately I feel its not worth it.
 
Oct 6, 2008 at 8:56 PM Post #4 of 17

nor_spoon

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Posts
2,158
Likes
11
I would say it depends on the usage. For the usual stuff, you will not notice much of a difference between the two.
 
Oct 6, 2008 at 11:20 PM Post #6 of 17

chesebert

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 17, 2004
Posts
4,838
Likes
199
docking station was not that important to me..and I will probably replace the CPU when I have some free time over the holidays
 
Oct 7, 2008 at 3:30 AM Post #7 of 17

firefox360

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 23, 2005
Posts
765
Likes
10
some might say that the IPS screen alone is worth the trade, although I would have to agree that you are taking an impact in the computing power department.

personally I wouldn't have done it, and would rather stick with the T61.
 
Oct 7, 2008 at 5:33 AM Post #9 of 17

chesebert

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 17, 2004
Posts
4,838
Likes
199
yes...cpu does suck....I am only using it for MS office stuff... and watching some mkv video..I think that 2400 should do ok...until I get around to replace the CPU, that is...

I actually like the T60 keyboard better than the T61..I actually have a 14in T60 so I get a chance to compare....
 
Oct 9, 2008 at 10:08 PM Post #10 of 17

chesebert

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 17, 2004
Posts
4,838
Likes
199
got the laptop.... screen is beautiful!!!! This is better than my temporary desktop monitor...(Samsung TN 19in). I thought T2400 would be slow..but its not really...I can watch all my HD mkv just fine and Aero is pretty quick too. I do have a T7400 on order....but I don't even know if I need it now... oh well...

No regrets whatsoever! and keyboard is better on T60.
 
Oct 10, 2008 at 3:12 PM Post #11 of 17

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,761
Likes
76
A little bit maybe, but it all depends on your usage.
I use a T60 with dock at work and am quite pleased. Would trade it for one with a faster CPU though, cause the Core Duo is not a speed king (mine is 2GHz).

The choice is yours of course.
wink.gif
 
Oct 11, 2008 at 2:02 AM Post #13 of 17

chesebert

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 17, 2004
Posts
4,838
Likes
199
Quote:

Originally Posted by krmathis /img/forum/go_quote.gif
A little bit maybe, but it all depends on your usage.
I use a T60 with dock at work and am quite pleased. Would trade it for one with a faster CPU though, cause the Core Duo is not a speed king (mine is 2GHz).

The choice is yours of course.
wink.gif



3G of RAM will really help. unless you are doing some CPU intensive work.

I use my oc quad for the number crunching jobs
 
Oct 11, 2008 at 4:48 AM Post #15 of 17
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,530
Likes
81
Location
Los Angeles
Quote:

Originally Posted by chesebert /img/forum/go_quote.gif
got the laptop.... screen is beautiful!!!! This is better than my temporary desktop monitor...(Samsung TN 19in).


Super! Again, I'm not shocked that you like the screen so much more. I just wish I hadn't wasted a few years using a non-IPS screen.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top