1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

AKG K701 with Ibasso D4 Mamba

Discussion in 'Portable Headphone Amps' started by hyururi, Oct 6, 2010.
Next

Last
  1. hyururi
    Hi, umm i am new to head-fi. I just bought AKG K701 and was wondering to buy Ibasso D4 mamba.. Do they seems fit? If not, does anyone knows a good portable headphones for AKG K701 maybe less than $300

2. RuiCanela
    Hi there.
    If you want to feed properly K701 I should look other way, forget portable amp, K701 are great cans but they need a lot of power sound good. I use Heed Canamp, its a great match for K701!

3. HiFlight

Quote:

My D4 Mambo can drive my AKG K-340's to a reasonable level with no distortion.  They are probably the most difficult to drive of any dynamic phones next to the K-1000.

My AKG K-501s are driven to a much higher volume than I would ever care to listen.  They are, I believe, about the same efficiency as the K-701's. 

You should have no trouble at all using the Mambo to drive your 701's unless you listen at dangerously high levels.  

hyururi likes this.
  4. hyururi
    Thx for the advice [​IMG]. By the way, if i change the cable does the sound greatly changed or it will more or less stay the same?

5. HiFlight

Quote:

Some profess to be able to hear changes, others do not.  Personally, I think cable changes are subtle at best.  I, myself, would not recable the 701's as the cable used is quite good. 

hyururi likes this.
  6. ProtegeManiac Contributor
    LIstened to this from my laptop, sound is fat - artificially too fat. Bass isn't grossly bloated though, it's just that it was darker than the HD600 with the Mamba. Stage depth wasn't something to write home about, given what the K701 is known to do with other DACs (especially those that were designed primarily for speakers.)

7. hyururi