Acoustic Research M2 Audiophile-Grade Hi-Res Portable
Oct 14, 2021 at 3:24 PM Post #1,772 of 1,780

Jnyner

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Posts
6
Likes
0
Location
Seattle
Ewetcr, I’m just curious if your M2 looks like mine when streaming from Qobuz. My iphone shows it can stream in high resolution both mobile network and wi-fi. The M2 shows cd quality only. The Qobuz song titles played on the M2 shows high resolution but actual output is in 16 bit (sounds less detailed than on the iphone).

The same high Rez song titles played on
No worries buddy, yes the M2 is one of the best sounding DAPs. If only there was an M3 :D

through my Bluesound Node sounds/are in high resolution though.
No worries buddy, yes the M2 is one of the best sounding DAPs. If only there was an M3 :D
Thank Electrocrytic &
No worries buddy, yes the M2 is one of the best sounding DAPs. If only there was an M3 :D
No worries buddy, yes the M2 is one of the best sounding DAPs. If only there was an M3 :D
Thank you for the info Blotmouse & Electrocrytic. Very informative. I’ll look through previous posts from Nayparm regarding topic for reference.
 
Oct 14, 2021 at 4:43 PM Post #1,773 of 1,780

ewetcr

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 25, 2019
Posts
52
Likes
30
Location
Spain
Ewetcr, I’m just curious if your M2 looks like mine when streaming from Qobuz. My iphone shows it can stream in high resolution both mobile network and wi-fi. The M2 shows cd quality only. The Qobuz song titles played on the M2 shows high resolution but actual output is in 16 bit (sounds less detailed than on the iphone).
hires_player.jpg

I bought it from a fellow headfier last december, I can't tell if he had installed a custom rom (he had Neutron installed however). Now the problem I have is I can't open certain albums at the Qobuz section, plus no images. I sometimes use UAPP at my android phone with a dongle-dac, it's rather nice and iirc the creator is a nice dude. I might send him an email to see if it's possible to solve it. Tidal directly doesn't let me even open my fav albums menu. I Didn't mention, I use the AR-HIRES player only, never even tried to get Tidal or Qobuz apks installed.
 
Oct 14, 2021 at 5:08 PM Post #1,774 of 1,780

Jnyner

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Posts
6
Likes
0
Location
Seattle
hires_player.jpg

I bought it from a fellow headfier last december, I can't tell if he had installed a custom rom (he had Neutron installed however). Now the problem I have is I can't open certain albums at the Qobuz section, plus no images. I sometimes use UAPP at my android phone with a dongle-dac, it's rather nice and iirc the creator is a nice dude. I might send him an email to see if it's possible to solve it. Tidal directly doesn't let me even open my fav albums menu. I Didn't mention, I use the AR-HIRES player only, never even tried to get Tidal or Qobuz apks installed.
That’s very interesting that you cannot open certain albums. I know mine doesn’t show all the album art/images. Nevertheless, the M2 is my pride and joy for listening to my downloads on the AR Music Player. Just a bummer that I cannot take advantage of Qobuz high resolution titles at the moment.
 
Oct 14, 2021 at 6:01 PM Post #1,775 of 1,780

blotmouse

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Posts
1,132
Likes
2,989
Location
Seattle
Count yourself lucky. I can't even log into Qobuz via AR Player, and why I was planning on installing UAPP. Just fails outright.
Must have had some tweaks done to your player prior to your ownership, like you said?

I know Tidal had their API access tokens revoked and updated somewhat recently (A&K threads were alive with all that) and that caused older SW to be unable to access. And since we will not be seeing any updates EVER. It's likely why Tidal isn't fully working for you.
 
Jan 15, 2022 at 6:51 AM Post #1,776 of 1,780

darkarth

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Posts
83
Likes
31
Location
Bremen
I have a very random question here to anyone who buyed this player as "new" condition. Does this player orignally come with a protective foil on the front or back that you could pull off?

I watched some unboxing videos and I wondered that no one has that.
 
Jan 15, 2022 at 8:55 AM Post #1,778 of 1,780

Electrocrytic

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 22, 2021
Posts
108
Likes
197
Location
UK
I have a very random question here to anyone who buyed this player as "new" condition. Does this player orignally come with a protective foil on the front or back that you could pull off?

I watched some unboxing videos and I wondered that no one has that.

I remember it having plastic over the metal strip on the back, I can't remember for the screen though.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top