about the apple's universal doc for ipod
Nov 27, 2008 at 7:57 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

plonter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Posts
3,446
Likes
31
Hi i want to use my ipod as a source for my ultra micro amp.
now..i know the apple's universal doc has a line out but is it a true one?
is the volume beeing controled through the ipod or not...?
i want to know if the docking station is doing the same thing as the "sik ram din" adapteror any other adapter out there.

thx!
 
Nov 27, 2008 at 9:46 AM Post #2 of 9

Eagle_Driver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,450
Likes
26
Quote:

Originally Posted by plonter /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Hi i want to use my ipod as a source for my ultra micro amp.
now..i know the apple's universal doc has a line out but is it a true one?
is the volume beeing controled through the ipod or not...?
i want to know if the docking station is doing the same thing as the "sik ram din" adapteror any other adapter out there.

thx!



The Universal Dock is (IMHO) not the best choice for connecting to a dedicated headphone amp. This is because the volume is being controlled through the iPod - albeit with a separate setting. The line-out volume control does not affect the headphone-out volume control, nor vice versa. And because of the remote volume control, there is more audio-"mangling" circuitry (such as additional op-amps) in the dock to add to the iPod's own line-out, thereby "dirtying" up the sound.

On the other hand, the true LOD adapters such as the "SIK RAM DIN" adapter add no audio-altering circuits at all whatsoever to the iPod's own line-out.
 
Nov 27, 2008 at 9:54 AM Post #3 of 9

plonter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Posts
3,446
Likes
31
thanks....so i guess the sik is a much better option .

lets say i want to plug my ipod to my amp through the headphones jack...
what is the optimal volume setting i need to set in the ipod...is it the maximum?
it will be a timely solution until i will have the sik ram din adapter.
 
Nov 27, 2008 at 10:00 AM Post #4 of 9

Eagle_Driver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,450
Likes
26
Quote:

Originally Posted by plonter /img/forum/go_quote.gif
lets say i want to plug my ipod to my amp through the headphones jack...
what is the optimal volume setting i need to set in the ipod...is it the maximum?
it will be a timely solution until i will have the sik ram din adapter.



The best volume setting to use an amp from the headphone-out jack of an iPod would be just a hair below maximum.
 
Nov 27, 2008 at 10:14 AM Post #5 of 9

plonter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Posts
3,446
Likes
31
that means just one level down the maximum...?

is it so bad to hook up through the ipod's headphones jack...?
is it a big difference between this and a line out.? i mean....concerning sound?
 
Nov 27, 2008 at 10:21 AM Post #6 of 9

plonter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Posts
3,446
Likes
31
can i ask why is it one hair below the max output?
i know that in the cowon's d2 for example...the volume should be at the max(50) for the closest to 0 db output. why is it different in the ipod?
 
Nov 27, 2008 at 3:55 PM Post #7 of 9

Eagle_Driver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,450
Likes
26
Quote:

Originally Posted by plonter /img/forum/go_quote.gif
can i ask why is it one hair below the max output?


This is because most digital audio players use analog op-amps in their headphone outs. And such outputs are notorious for clipping at their maximum volume control settings even with no load.
 
Nov 27, 2008 at 4:38 PM Post #8 of 9

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
76
Yeah, skip the Universal Dock.
Cause as they say above, and mentioned in numerous threads before, it does not have a true line. In the sense that its controllable by the iPod volume control.
 
Nov 27, 2008 at 4:42 PM Post #9 of 9

plonter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Posts
3,446
Likes
31
and the "sik ram din" is not controlled by the ipods volume control?
can it be that in new 6.5g classic ipods there is not a real line out,
no matter what dock or adapter you are using?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top