A Dive off the Deep End: First Head-Fi Setup (and one small problem)
post-7620595
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 10

brycemason

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Posts
4
Likes
0
Music was a big part of my life in high school, but somehow fell out of favor in the college and grad school years when I just never seemed to have time to sit back and listen. It didn't help that the only headphones I had in the last decade were Apple's ear buds and all my music was compressed. Over the last year I've been thinking about making a computer-based music server and last week I finally saw it to completion. Just thought to share and I'd also like your feedback on one problem I have encountered.
 
Headphones are Audez'e LCD-2 (rev. 2).
 
DAC/Amp is Centrance's DACmini CX.
 
The computer is a modified 12" Powerbook G4, near and dear to my heart as the machine on which I wrote a book. It has a 240GB solid state drive to eliminate noise and provide ample room for albums. It's the 1.5 GHz model with 1.25G RAM, running the last version of Leopard (10.5). Use the Midi Audio Setup utility to upsample to 88.2/24. I performed a screen hack from a Thinkpad to give me 1400x1050 resolution, which makes it much more usable. I really like the silver/aluminum theme I've got going on with this and the Centrance.
 
I have one quirk that's developed tonight. When I listen while on battery power, sometimes the music just cuts out. If I unplug the DAC/Amp, the music continues to play through the speakers like it never stopped. It's as if the music just stopped streaming to the DAC. However, this problem seems to go away when I plug in the laptop to the wall. I'm thinking the automatic processor speed reduction when on battery mode might not be able to keep up with the upsampling of ALAC files. Do you guys and gals have any hypotheses? I will continue to test this.
 
 

 
     Share This Post       
post-7620626
Post #2 of 10

Eric_C

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
3,040
Reaction score
76
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Posts
3,040
Likes
76
I've got a FireWire interface connected to my MacBook, and the audio cuts out on occasion. Maybe it's just a quirk of OS X?
 
     Share This Post       
post-7620648
Post #3 of 10

caracara08

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
2,055
Reaction score
75
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Posts
2,055
Likes
75
welcome! beautiful setup.  sorry im no help but just wanted to say hello and welcome. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7620734
Post #4 of 10

brycemason

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Posts
4
Likes
0
By cuts out, I mean permanently until I disconnect the DAC and reconnect it.
 
Quote:
I've got a FireWire interface connected to my MacBook, and the audio cuts out on occasion. Maybe it's just a quirk of OS X?


 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7620758
Post #5 of 10

Eric_C

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
3,040
Reaction score
76
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Posts
3,040
Likes
76
I have the same problem with my audio interface. In fact, reconnecting sometimes doesn't work--I have to reboot.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7621305
Post #6 of 10

brycemason

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Posts
4
Likes
0
Does it only happen when you are on battery power, like me? I'm going to try no upsampling, or upsampling with "Highest Processor" setting in the power section of system preferences. I just have a feeling it was running out of cycles very briefly. That's very odd though, because top never showed iTunes taking that much processor power---so I don't think upsampling requires so much horsepower. Heck, when I turn off the lid's light, I get almost 6 hours of battery life playing music.
 
Odd indeed.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7622416
Post #7 of 10

Eric_C

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
3,040
Reaction score
76
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Posts
3,040
Likes
76
Not that I've noticed. I sometimes run my laptop off battery or AC power, and I think the problem persists.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7622442
Post #8 of 10

a:xus

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
53
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Posts
53
Likes
10
try loooking at the port power management. On windows pc's the powermanagement sometimes shut of the ports wich leads to dropouts. Unless you configure it manually. It may be a similar problem on mac?
 
Regards, poul
 
     Share This Post       
post-7622448
Post #9 of 10

Shredicus

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
114
Reaction score
30
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Posts
114
Likes
30


Quote:
try loooking at the port power management. On windows pc's the powermanagement sometimes shut of the ports wich leads to dropouts. Unless you configure it manually. It may be a similar problem on mac?
 
Regards, poul

 
This. I know in windows under certain power saving profiles the computer will shut down certain ports when it's running on battery. worth looking into
 
     Share This Post       
post-7622784
Post #10 of 10

brycemason

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Posts
4
Likes
0
Interesting link that suggests using specific ports. Indeed, I had fewer problems on battery using the front-most port.
 
http://ts.hercules.com/faqs/eng/her_eng_00363.pdf
 
Also it does say to use higher processor power while on battery, and to use it on power adapter.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top