41Hz amp questions
Oct 10, 2008 at 6:59 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 23

pinkfloyd4ever

500+ Head-Fier
Ok so I'm putting together my first real speaker setup, and it's gotta be on a budget since I'm a college student. I bought some Insignia bookshelfs and I have an Alien I plan to use for a source. I think I'm going to get the Amp 10, if I'm reading things correctly it's just an updated version of the 5? Are there any reasons one might get the 5 instead? Why doesn't the regular 10 have a relay? Is it that big of a deal? I can simply hook up a 2-channel pot to the input and I won't need a preamp, correct? I know the Amp10 has an onboard PS, just have to add a transformer. Does that mean it's ok to put AC into it? The 41Hz site says the max DC supply voltage for the Amp10 is +/-35V. Other than noticing that most people use a toroidal for 41Hz builds, I'm clueless about transformers. Could someone direct me to a good one? Hammonds don't seem like they would make good heatsinks; what kind of enclosures out there do?

Arrrghh, part of me still wants to check out a chipamp / gainclone too. Btw, where does dual mono lie between stereo and balanced?

And what about speaker wire? What gauge, etc? Are partsexpress' or markertek's house brands good? What about monoprice? I had never heard of monoprice before but I saw somebody on the diyaudio.com forums recommend their speaker wire. It is ALOT cheaper than Markertek's & partsexpress'

Oct 11, 2008 at 12:00 AM Post #2 of 23