1000$ budget, what to buy?
Sep 12, 2013 at 1:44 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 31

nissen1502

New Head-Fier
I am thinking of spending 1k on audio equipment for use on my stationary computer and cellphone, what are the best i can get, also what do i need? I obviously need some headphones but do i need a dac, amp, or what? I'm totally new at this and really care about the sound of the music so would be nice if you guys was replying in a noob-friendly way! :)

Sep 12, 2013 at 3:42 PM Post #2 of 31
Welcome to the forum nissen1502. If your computer has a dedicated sound card you could plug your headphones directly into it. However if your card is low end or integrated sound then the quality may not be great. You could buy a DAC like a Fiio E17 and combine it with a headphone amplifier like the Fiio E9. Although these are relatively inexpensive. I like Sennheiser headphones HD600 for neutral sound or HD650 if you prefer a more colourful , smoother, bassy sound. Beyerdynamic's DT880 headphones are also very neutral. A cellphone unfortunately won't be able to drive these sorts of headphones, IEMs would be a better choice for a phone.

Sep 12, 2013 at 4:43 PM Post #3 of 31
It certainly depends on what type of music you like, if you have a preference for a certain sound signature, and do you want one headphone/amp/dac or a variety to listen to.

Knowing what I know so far, if someone handed me $1000 to spend I would get a Modi/Magni ($200), Q701 ($233), DT990 ($173), CALs ($79), HA-S400 ($26), GR-07 bass edition ($179), A161 ($69), MH1C ($40) for $999!

That said, the other approach would be the Modi/Magni ($200), a set of HE-500s ($699), and RE-400s ($99)

Either way it'd be fun to spend and then listen!   :)

Sep 12, 2013 at 5:04 PM Post #4 of 31
Why would you buy so many? I'm really new to this but found out that i'll save up a lot so i can get a sample of really good sound as i think i have never heard extremely high quality sound.

Sep 12, 2013 at 6:15 PM Post #5 of 31