10 Biggest Lies in Audio (accidental repost - sorry!)
Jan 19, 2011 at 11:32 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 60

temporaryname

100+ Head-Fier
Hi,

I'm a newbie. I've been lurking Head-fi for months now trying to research the Hifiman HM-801 and UE Reference Monitors to a degree that justifies purchasing them. In that time I've read quite a few threads on IEM's, sources and audio (24bit vs 16bit, the myth exploded! being one of the most educational), but I came across this article on another site which I thought was interesting, and since I haven't seen it on here I thought I'd share it.

http://www.theaudiocritic.com/downloads/article_1.pdf

I'm looking forward to see if anyone agrees or disagrees with any of the points mentioned.

Jan 19, 2011 at 11:38 AM Post #2 of 60
I love this stuff and I love this article - thank you for posting it!

Jan 19, 2011 at 12:08 PM Post #3 of 60
that a doozy of an intro to the forum!  this should be fun
biggrin.gif

Jan 19, 2011 at 12:17 PM Post #4 of 60

Quote:
Hi,

I'm a newbie. I've been lurking Head-fi for months now trying to research the Hifiman HM-801 and UE Reference Monitors to a degree that justifies purchasing them. In that time I've read quite a few threads on IEM's, sources and audio (24bit vs 16bit, the myth exploded! being one of the most educational), but I came across this article on another site which I thought was interesting, and since I haven't seen it on here I thought I'd share it.

I'm looking forward to see if anyone agrees or disagrees with any of the points mentioned.

This has been posted several times already.  Look about 12 posts down in this sub-forum and you will see a thread with the same title.  What I find very amusing is the fact that when this comes up, people ridicule the author by stating something like: "... that article is ridiculous because I have heard differently with my own equipment, some of which was quite expensive."

Jan 19, 2011 at 12:43 PM Post #5 of 60

Quote:
Quote:
Hi,