Whizzer Kylin HE01

NymPHONOmaniac

Headphoneus Supremus
Energic lushness
Pros: Lush timbre, great female vocal, good tonality, cohesive lively musicality, weighty attack, no boosted sibilance, nice packaging and accessories
Cons: Average technicalities, poor imaging and transparency, average resolution, muddy bass, not very extended-detailed-airy and sparkly treble, very thigh 2pin connector
w3.jpg


TONALITY: 8/10
TECHNICALITIES: 7/10
CONSTRUCTION-DESIGN: 7.5/10
SOUND VALUE: 7.5/10

WHIZZER
has been around for years now with a line-up of mostly hybrid IEM. Their last offering, the HE01, is this time a single dynamic driver earphone. Due to the great reception, it got among audiophiles, I decide to test them to see if the hype is well deserved.

PACKAGING is very impressive for the asking price and more the type we would expect from a pricier product. The accessories are generous enough too and of good quality. It includes a good quality copper cable, a nice carrying case and 6 pairs of eartips.

w6.jpg


CONSTRUCTION is mostly plastic apart metal nozzle and backplate metal ring. The choice of plastic is rather cheap and doesn't promise extremely sturdy durability unlike UIEM made of molded resin plastic. If you drop them on hard floor or step on them, it will surely broke. Still, it doesn't look cheap at all due to elegant design that will be hit or miss depending of your aesthetic taste. To my eyes, they look very good and don't seem to attract attention too much due to their pale color and small size.

w2.jpg
w1.jpg
w7.jpg
w4.jpg


One drawback about design choice is the 2pin connector type, firstly they are extremely tight so it was already hard to use the stock cable with them, secondly, it has a shape that doesn't match well 90% of 2pin cable on the market.

SOUND
(using SMSL SU-9+SH-9, Audirect Beam2)

TONALITY is an energic W shape to V shape balance with well-rounded upper mids and rolled-off upper treble. Everything is warmish apart upper mids and mid-treble that jump at you while avoiding most sibilance issues.

While the HE01 doesn't sound too dark or unresolved, it isn't a crisp or clean-sounding IEM. The tonal balance is cohesive but not very articulate and bass-mids-highs lack proper separation. For those that need lotta air to breathe in their sound space, HE01 isn't the answer. It's thick and saturated with warmed mids and crunchy treble so to me these aren't the most immersive sounding IEM with complex music, but with pop, electronic, R&B, and even some rock they are very addictive...so can we say they are still catchy thumpy pleasure? I think so.

BASS is more about body and slam than extension and separation. It has good chunky punch that will benefit rock. It have more thump and slam than rumble. Extension roll off before 20hz and can be muddy in articulation making sub and kick sometimes mixed-up and hollow. The electric bass line sound great, well-textured and bodied while toms lack natural extension resonance and acoustic bass lack transparency and natural extension.

MIDS are surely the best part of HE01, it's full-bodied, natural and rich in timbre and forwards in presence without problematic sibilance. Female vocal sounds lush and inviting, wide and open but not transparent nor well centered-separated, it's stick on top of darkish resolution. Clarity isn't that good and the attack lack clean definition and edge. Tone of any instrument is realistic and well done, piano is weighty, full and natural but don't have decay to it's attack. Violin has a good body but no attack bite.

TREBLE is colored in a way that permits to extract a specific micro-details section and tame sibilance and harshness of upper highs without sacrificing too much in resolution. It's the crunchy type, not very snappy and rarely sparkly. It can be a bit screechy at high volume with music tracks that have a lot going on in higher pitch. Percussions can get lost in the mix when too diversify in pitch. What the treble cruelly lack is air to expand in decay.

TECHNICALITIES are good enough for the price but nothing mind-blowing. Attack has a good lead but lacks the edge and can go rarely shouty when pushed too far or listening at high volume. Bass has a fast slam but lacks articulation and separation. Treble sustain is crunchy and doesn't have natural decay-sparkle so hit-hat will sound a bit hot and high pitch percussion lacking brilliance and extension. Transient response is fast enough to permit a vivid weighty dynamic experience.

TIMBRE is very nice, natural, realistic but a hint rough in texture. Density is there, giving female vocal natural body. It sits between lushness and dryness.

SOUNDSTAGE is average. It has good wideness but still feels a bit in your head. It's not very open due to a lack of deepness.

IMAGING is average and when the bass is very present it becomes hollow and muddy. Their no spacious instruments separation with the HE01, layers of sounds (while wide) are too close to each other and lack of clean clarity doesn't permit to pinpoint the instruments precisely.

SUBJECTIVE APPRECIATION

I really like the Whizzer HE01 because I'm a big fan of female singers and they are very well rendered both in timbre and wide presence here. While I know the HE01 will never show me something I wasn't aware of in a music track, they will inflict a lively thumpy near mid centric dynamic musicality that makes my feet tapping. More musical than technical, the thick warm aggressive dynamic sound never goes overly harsh and avoids making me too distant from its musicality with a clinical or analytical approach.
If I think of the ARIA as a contemplation of the starry sky, the HE01 would be about undergoing a big firework in 3 primary colors. HE01 isn't about Macro or Micro definition but about living the present moment in excitement. Superficial but charismatic, the HE01 delivers a clear enough sound with vivid weighty dynamic and lush timbre. Sometimes the bass is hit or miss, but when everything is a hit, the HE01 can be very impressive in musical liveliness.

Sidenotes: The HE01 doesn't scale up with powerful amping or a better audio source, but a crisp clean source might help it's resolution. Ear tips can inflict on the soundstage size but will not help imaging.

COMPARISONS
w5.jpg


VS MOONDROP ARIA (80$)


To my ears, the HE01 sound like an ARIA on steroid with a lack of focus for accuracy (due to steroid use?). While ARIA chooses a smooth harman'ish W shape signature, the HE01 go all-in punchy W with more boosted mids and lower treble, still well rounded up but not as smooth and laid back as the calmer ARIA.

BASS doesn't extend as deep as the ARIA but has a more energic weighty punch, yet less clean definition and transition to mid-range.
While sub-bass is notably rolled off, their some mid-bass slam bloom that can occur to mids, but it affects more the macro-resolution than mids presence which in fact gain some pleasant body warmth.

The MIDS are more forwards, but less well resolved and not as accurate and controlled in the attack. Compared to leaner mids of the ARIA, its border line shouty some time. Transparency, layering, and imaging are notably better with the ARIA as well.

TREBLE is where the technical limit of the HE01 is shown compared to the faster transient response of the ARIA. It's less snappy and sparkly, can go splashy more easily than ARIA, and doesn't deliver as many micro-details. In fast busy tracks, HE01 can go muddy while it's isn't the case with the ARIA. HE01 has more emphasis on lower&mid-treble too.
TIMBRE is thicker and more opaque with the HE01.
SOUNDSTAGE is wider-deeper with the ARIA.
IMAGING is more precise in positioning and complex in layering with the ARIA.

All in all, the ARIA is more balanced and refined in tonality as well as cleaner, clearer and more accurate, and articulate in technicalities. But it isn't as fun and lively as the HE01, which will be a big deal for those searching for an IEM that wakes them up with a hefty dynamic sound.

VS FIIO FD1 (70$)

Again another punchy W to V shape signature with a brighter crisper tonality and tighter attack than warmer sloppier HE01.
FIIO FD1 is this time the more exciting version of a similar tuning, with sharper definition and more articulated hefty dynamic.
BASS is thicker and more extended with the FD1, as well as more textured and separated. Both are very punchy, but FD1 seem faster in attack and more refined in timbre.
MIDS are a bit more forwards too, but harsher than HE01. They are thicker, crisper, brighter. Definition-resolution seem better.
TREBLE of both is very similar, but the FD1 is more textured and better articulated.

All in all, FD1 is a brighter HE01 with a faster transient response that permit better layering-imaging.

CONCLUSION

Even if the HE01 offer average technicalities for its price, its tonality is both well balanced and musical. The HE01 is easy to love and its energetic lush sound is all but boring. While far from perfect and more aimed for audio enthusiast than critical audiophiles, the HE01 offer a refreshing take of V shape tuning by boosting the presence of mids and vocal without going too bright. For the female vocal lovers, the HE01 is sure a great bet, both timbre and tonality being spot on. But don't expect crisp clarity and informative imaging with those, it's really to enjoy music as it comes as a whole, not as a puzzle to unsolve.
I do think Whizzer have tremendous potential as an audio company and hope they continue to work on their single dynamic driver offering.


---------
PS: Thanks to Whizzer for sending me the HE01 review sample after I contact them. As always, i'm fully independent and my goal in life isn't to be a hysterical hyper so Big Respect to Whizzer for their courage too.
Last edited:
PhoenixSong
PhoenixSong
I liked my stock Aria and stock HE01 about the same for the reasons you stated above, but the Aria improves tremendously with a few changes. The HE01 does as well, but its limited technicalities clearly holds it back. Now I seldom listen to it other than for occasional comparison purposes
NymPHONOmaniac
NymPHONOmaniac
@PhoenixSong
Your right, the Aria has more upgrade potential, its more sensible to cable and source pairing as well as ear tips. I like both too, even perhaps prefer vocal of HE01 over them...but not overall mids.

chinerino

100+ Head-Fier
Whizzer HE-01 Review: Nice Earrings You Have There
Pros: Warm and Balanced, Aesthetics, Overall Value, Vocal presentation.
Cons: Slight bass bleed, Might not perform well with some genres
Check out our new website for more reviews: https://perrivanaudio.com/

Driver Setup: 1x High magnetic circuit metal composite Dynamic Driver

Price: $79.99

Intro


IMG_6628-1-1024x683.jpg

Disclaimer: The Whizzer HE-01 was provided to us at no charge by Whizzer, however thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.

Whizzer Audio is a company that has been around for some years now and some may remember their pioneer releases such as the A15 and A15 Pro and most would have heard about the Whizzer HE03 that was a hit some time back. Based on the pricing and positioning, it seems like the HE01 serves as a more affordable option for the HE03 while maintaining the strengths of its older brother.

Accessories and Build Quality (Score: 8.5/10)

IMG_6595-1024x658.jpg

To be honest, the packaging and overall looks of the HE01 feels really prestigious and fancy which I was not expecting at this price point. During unboxing, it really felt as if I was unboxing a jewellery box due to the matte black design as well as the perfectly machined cutouts. The cable and the shell of the HE01 seem really polished, premium and aesthetically pleasing to the eyes which is a good sign and a pretty solid plus point here.

Moving on to the accessories, the HE01 comes with 2 sets of ear tips, a nice matte black carrying case that matches the rose gold colourway of the HE01 really well. Accessories wise, I think they got the usuals covered nicely but with a touch of finesse in almost everything in the package and that is really nice to see in this price bracket.

Fit (Score: 6.5/10)

IMG_6617-scaled.jpg

Now the fit is quite tricky, the HE01 just can't seem to fit in my ears nicely which perry did not encounter and that lead me to conclude that it might just be my ear shape. Aside from that, the corners are nicely smoothed out, there are no sharp edges that could prick your tender ears and also, it follows the contours of your ear relatively comfortably. I'm not saying that it has a bad fit, but it might just be me instead of the IEM itself as I also checked other reviews that did not report any obvious design flaws regarding its fit.

Sound (Score: 7.5/10)

image-1-1024x543.png

Frequency Response of Whizzer HE01

Sources used:

  • Ibasso DX120
  • Atom DAC and AMP
Music and Albums, I listened to:

  • Alan Walker – Alone/Faded/Darkside
  • Billie Eilish – When we all fall asleep, where do we go?
  • Tchaikovsky 1812 Overture
  • Chainsmokers – Sickboy
  • Cigarettes After Sex – Cry
  • The White Stripes – Seven Nation Army
  • One Republic – Human
  • Keane – Fears and Hopes
  • Nino Rota – The Godfather OST
  • Osaka Shion Wind Orchestra – 2016 all Japan Band competition
  • Fedde Le Grand – Cinematic
  • ARTY – Rebound
  • ACDC – Highway to hell
Bass (Score: 7.0/10)

Like most dynamic driver transducers, the bass response has depth, good punches, and great impact. It is slightly emphasised but at the same time not overly done such that it becomes sluggish and filled with bloat. The level of clarity and definition displayed here is somewhat okay for something at this price range with hints of bleeding accompanied by its size. Last but not the least, its sub-bass response fills up the empty gap below while steering clear from the extreme mud pools of bass flops. A good balance, but I do wish that the HE01 could handle the bass definition and separation here a little better.

Mids (Score: 8.0/10)

The mids sound broad with a good feel of space and clarity in its overall presentation which I enjoyed greatly. As per many other IEMs, there are some upper mid-range boosts, making it more forward and peaky with the female vocals than the counterparts that sound comparatively recessed. Not really a negative but more of a more female vocal-centric piece that takes the limelight of the stage as compared to the entire piece.

Treble (Score: 7.0/10)

The HE01 is free from any sibilance but comes up short regarding extension and technicalities. It does not sound splashy or undefined but takes a relatively laid-back approach compared to its mid-range and bass. In some tracks, while I could follow the high-hats and ornaments, they are presented relatively backwards as compared to their vocals. While I wished that the treble could have been more extended and balanced out, its treble response may appeal to those looking for a less-treble set to suit their moods.

Overall

The HE01 is a warm-sounding unit with a slight edge to its vocal presentation and bass presence. It also does have a slightly enhanced soundstage which is good but loses some points on detail retrieval. Tuning wise, I think the HE01 can handle most genres with ease except for very bass-heavy tracks it may sound bloaty and it is not doing any favours to the overall presentation being already warm.

Comparison

VS QoA Vesper Review here

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_4843-1024x683.jpg

The HE01 is the warmer set with some boosts to its mid-bass and upper-midrange whereas the Vesper has its focus on its sub-bass and upper-midrange. To me, the Vesper sounds more balanced and has a better detail retrieval ability whereas the HE01 shines more with its soundstage and a pleasant warm presentation of soundtracks. The Vesper in this case will be able to handle more genres as compared to the HE01 where it might sound bloaty depending on the track. Fit/Build/Package wise, I felt the Vesper has a better fit but the HE01 nails the others better with its fancy packaging and a certain kind of aesthetic appeal.

At the end of the day, I lean towards the Vesper given its versatility and superior fit as compared to the HE01 which had given me problems whenever I try to attain that seal every time I listened to it.

Conclusion

IMG_6603-scaled.jpg

Whizzer did a good job in creating something that is somewhat affordable with a great value proposition when considering the entire package itself. It is tricky to come up with a warm-sounding IEM as it has to not sound too bloaty or muddy and I am certain that the HE01 is a good example when it comes to tuning these warm-sounding sets. All in all, it is still a very competent performer with loads of aesthetic appeal to buyers out there who are looking for something fancy and well-tuned.

Overall Grade: B​

Last edited:

baskingshark

Headphoneus Supremus
Whizzer HE01 Review – Whizz Kid
Pros: Well fitting, light, comfortable. Beautiful looks.
Above average isolation.
Great organic timbre and tonality.
Good soundstage and technicalities. Fast transients.
Easy to drive.
Nice accessories.
Cons: Not the most textured bass.
Rare instances of hot upper mids.
Not all aftermarket 2 pin cables can fit this set, due to the round protruding housing design.
e21d506c-20a3-4ee6-99c3-5fef6c4b5c6b.jpg



DISCLAIMER

I would like to thank Whizzer for providing this review unit. It can be gotten here: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005001731358565.html


EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The Whizzer HE01 features a warm mild V shaped tuning, and is an all rounder single DD set that scores good marks in tonality, timbre and technicalities. Transients are a particular standout on this set. Accessories and haptics are nice and I would say it is one of the standout sub $100 CHIFI single DDs of 2021.


SPECIFICATIONS
  • Driver configuration: metal composite moving coil unit with high magnetic circuit
  • Frequency response: 15 hz – 40 kHz
  • Impedance: 18 Ohms
  • Sensitivity: 112 dB SPL / MW
  • Cable: 2 pin
  • Tested at $79.99 USD


ACCESSORIES


Other than the IEM, the Whizzer HE01 packaging comes with:
  • 5N OFC oxygen free copper cable – well braided, very usable OOTB sonic wise. No microphonics. Only thing to note though is that the 2 pin connector here is round and protruding for the housing. So it may not fit all aftermarket cables.
  • Silicone ear tips – I find the narrow bore eartips tend to boost bass, the wider bore ones tend to boost the upper mids/treble, YMMV as we have different ear anatomies.
  • Round metal hard case
  • Cleaning tool
60e0fcec-76f2-479f-ba7d-aed5afafe0b8.jpg



Accessories wise, this is rather generous for a budget single DD, I’ve definitely seen worse in some more expensive CHIFI “flagships” (cough cough TRN). Everything is rather usable OOTB, so no need to mess with getting aftermarket tips and cables (which can add to costs).


d130c4e9-1297-4179-b505-e8d2a70f9cc4.jpg


d34658b8-c2d9-429e-b6d9-bf8289d1ba5b.jpg



For the purposes of this review, the stock cable and tips were used, so as not to change the sound signature with aftermarket gear. In particular, the narrow bore eartips were used for this review.


BUILD/COMFORT

The Whizzer H01 shell is made of plastic and is very light and well fitting. Comfort is top notch, I’ve used this set for marathon listening sessions without an ounce of discomfort.

I didn’t find any driver flex for myself (but YMMV once more as this is somewhat dependent on ear anatomy and types of ear tips used).

I liked that the Whizzer HE01 uses 2 pin connectors, as I’m not a fan of MMCX connectors in general, as they tend to have shorter longevity especially if cables are swapped too much. Only thing to note though is that the 2 pin connector here is round and protruding for the housing. So it may not fit all aftermarket cables, so just a point to note.

The Whizzer HE01’s shell is also quite beautiful looking, my wife would usually glare at me or nag when a new IEM comes in the mail. But this time, she took a look and was quiet for a few seconds. Then she grudgingly said she “wouldn’t mind trying it” LOL. But of course for us in this hobby, most of us value the sound over the looks, so let’s dive into that below.


ISOLATION

The Whizzer HE01 has above average isolation. Not too bad considering it is vented, though some pure BA type IEMs without vents will beat it in the isolation department.


DRIVABILITY

I tested the Whizzer He01 with a Khadas Tone Board -> Topping L30 amp, Sony NW A-55 DAP (DMP-A50 FEv2 Classic Mr Walkman Mod), smartphone, Shanling Q1 DAP, Tempotec Sonata HD Pro, ESS ES9280C PRO DAC/AMP, and a Khadas Tone Board -> Fiio A3 Amp.

At a sensitivity of 112dB/mW, the Whizzer HE01 is easy to drive, but like most other single DD types, it scales with amping. Amping can increase dynamics, soundstage and perhaps microdetails, but no biggie if you do not have an amp on hand with the Whizzer HE01.



SOUND & TECHNICALITIES

In a nutshell, the Whizzer HE01 features a warm mild V shaped tuning, and is an all rounder single DD set that scores good marks in tonality, timbre and technicalities.

For the bass department, the Whizzer HE01 is not a basshead set in terms of quantity, but bass is definitely north of neutral with a great punch in the midbass. Midbass is more pronounced than the subbass, but this set can still extend quite well in subbass extension. Bass quality wise, while there isn’t marked midbass bleed, the bass isn’t the most textured and can be one noted at time, but that’s something I can close one eye considering the rest of the tonality is quite good.

Lower mids are midly recessed, not overly so. Upper mids are at the borderline of spiciness for me for some songs, but otherwise, it doesn’t really get into very banshee shouty territory (cough cough Moondrop SSR) unless one jacks up the volume a lot (Fletcher Munson curve), or on some poorly recorded materials. Mids are very clean and transparent.

Treble is well extended, though there’s mild instances of sibilance. Microdetails are well captured and cymbals ain’t splashy or unnatural.

Technicalities are very good for a budget single DD, soundstage is definitely above average to good in height, depth and width. Clarity, imaging, instrument separation and details are really quite good considering it is a single DD set. One thing that stands out immediately are the very fast transients. Music never sounded congested on the Whizzer HE01 even with complex pieces.

Timbral accuracy is good as per its single DD roots, no complains for this department, it would do well with acoustic instruments and vocals in terms of timbre.



COMPARISONS

Here are some comparisons with some well regarded single DD types below. As hybrids/multi BA have their own strengths and weaknesses compared to single DD types, they were left out of the comparisons.


BLON BL-03 ($25 USD)

The legendary BLON BL-03 is a harmanish set with a midbass bump, boasting superb tonality and timbre at the sub $30 USD region. Compared to the Whizzer HE01, the BLON BL-03 is more analoguish with a thicker note weight and a more nebulous and boomy midbass.

In terms of timbre, the BLON BL-03 shades it a bit, but the Whizzer HE01 beats the BLON BL-03 in accessories, fit, isolation, soundstage, transients, imaging, instrument separation, clarity and details. Basically the Whizzer HE01 is a few levels above the BLON BL-03.

I know they are at different price brackets, but the BLON BL-03 is sort of a milestone CHIFI single DD which many folks have, and I’m sure some would ask for A/B comparisons. But actually, the BLON BL-03 may be closer to $40 – 50 USD if aftermarket tips/cables are factored in to secure a better fit for the BLON BL-03’s atrocious fit with the stock accessories, whereas the Whizzer HE01 is ready to go OOTB, no need to mess around with aftermarket gear for it.


BLON BL-05S ($39 USD)

The BLON BL-05S is a U shaped set. Unfortunately, it comes in a gaudy green colour, which may be a dealbreaker for some (in fact, I got stared at when I tried using it on the subway, so it stays at home nowadays). I’ve had some audiophile friends who refused to buy it, cause of the colour, and also cause they were burnt by the not so stellar BLON BL-05 (non S), which was quite shouty in the upper mids.

Comparing the 2 sets, the BLON BL-05s has worse accessories. The BLON BL-05S is slightly shoutier in the upper mids than the Whizzer HE01. In terms of technical performance the Whizzer HE01 is slightly better, in terms of soundstage, clarity, details, imaging and instrument separation. Once again, they are at different price brackets, and the law of diminishing return kicks in, so the Whizzer HE01 is not 2 times better as the price would suggest, but it is still a slight upgrade over the BLON BL-05S.


iBasso IT00 ($60 USD)

Like the Whizzer HE01, the iBasso IT00 comes with nice accessories, and features a mild V shaped tuning. The iBasso IT00 has very bad driver flex though, so that’s one thing to note as it can be a dealbreaker for some. In terms of tonality, the iBasso IT00 has more subbass rumble/quantity but lesser higher treble extension.

In terms of technical performance, the Whizzer HE01 is better, featuring better clarity, details, imaging and instrument separation. Transients are also faster on the Whizzer HE01.


HZSound Heart Mirror ($49 USD)

The HZSound Heart Mirror is a neutralish bright set, and has a more compressed soundstage than the Whizzer HE01. The HZSound Heart Mirror is also more difficult to drive and has a more neutral bass compared to the iBasso IT00. The HZSound Heart Mirror has a thinner note weight too. Accessories wise, they are both very good.

In terms of timbral accuracy, the HZSound Heart Mirror is a tinge better. In terms of technicalities, they are very close.

Though if one does not have an amp, I would suggest to look elsewhere from the HZSound Heart Mirror, as it sounds meh with a low powered source, with a compressed soundstage, thin note weight and lack of dynamics. The Whizzer HE01 on the other hand, sounds good even from lower powered gear.

I would see these 2 sets as sidegrades, both sets have good transients and technicalities. The HZSound Heart Mirror is more suited for those wanting a neutralish technical and analytical tuning, while the Whizzer HE01 is for those that want a more fun V shaped sound. The Whizzer HE01 by virtue of having more bass quantity, may be more suited for bass forward music genres too, but both are good sets to get, depending on your sonic preferences and usual music genres you listen to.



CONCLUSIONS

The Whizzer HE01 features a warm mild V shaped tuning, and is an all rounder single DD set that scores good marks in tonality, timbre and technicalities. Transients are a particular standout on this set. Accessories and haptics are nice and I would say it is one of the standout sub $100 CHIFI single DDs of 2021.

Definitely recommended for those who are wanting to dive deeper into the rabbithole from the sub $30 USD single DD segment!

PhoenixSong

100+ Head-Fier
Killer sound choices with aftermarket tips
Pros: Fun but balanced tuning, flashy looks, comfortable weight and fit, excellent scaling/tweaking potential
Cons: Quality, design, slightly loose mid bass?
I'll keep this short as other reviewers have *gone really in depth. Compared to the Moondrop Aria, the HE01's size and weight is really desirable. My listening tests were done through a Motu M2 interface using a KBear 8 core limpid pure silver cable as well as the original one. My set had only undergone a few minutes of burn in prior to the testing if this is an important consideration for you.

Pros:
Sound is great, punching above its weight. Out of my incomplete tip arsenal (still waiting to get Final E tips and Acoustune tips), only 3 sets are better than the stock tips imo. First of all, for the most balanced sound and killer mids, the Radius Deep Mount tips. Second, the Azla Xelastec tips if you like excess treble air without overdoing it. Last, the Azla Sedna Short tips if you want to transform this into a literal bass canon. All three of these tips do not upset the balance in vocals, keeping it very natural, while attaining a shockingly clean soundstage surpassing that of the original reference tips. The other tips in my collection, including the Spiral Dot (original and ++) and Sedna Original tips fared way worse though, so I commend them for designing/selecting decent regular tips for the price (the Azla and Radius tips are kind of unique and pricey). The flexibility with these tip combinations basically means 3 different sound signatures (all offering quality sound) can be obtained through this single pair of IEMs, if you're willing to go the extra mile. Otherwise, it is also perfectly likeable as is.

Cons:
However, the HE01 does not come without its flaws. The metallic nozzle of my left earpiece had excess hardened glue all around its base, but not enough to affect tip fitting so it's alright I guess. Next point is also about the metal nozzle, which has a large diameter and flare at the end aiming to keep ear tips secure. This is all fine, but the recurve and sharp edge of the flare meant that they overdid it a little. Changing tips is a hassle in most cases, and the sharp metal recurve managed to start shredding the interior of my Azla Sedna Short tips after a few tip swaps during my testing (I discovered this to my horror after seeing strange rubber/plastic shavings sticking out within the nozzle).

I also do not appreciate the plastic extension holding the 2 pin receptors, for they jut out at an angle more extreme than most, causing them to extend forward beyond the ears, reducing support and increasing unnecessary cable strain. This makes them ideal for C shaped connectors- caveat being that such connectors are hard to find in a 2 pin configuration that can fit these due to the receptor region being circular in shape (most C shaped 2 pin connectors are rectangular), which ultimately makes the plastic extension for the 2 pin connection a major design flaw imo.

Apart from these design flaws regarding the nozzle and 2 pin extension, it is a rare IEM that I can thoroughly love and recommend :thumbsup:

*Edit for spelling

PS: After an initial burn in period, the sound seems to have changed significantly, becoming darker. Only the Xelastec and Spiral Dot ++ tips sound nice at this point. Will continue monitoring
Update: Back to normal after some more burn in, refer to original impressions
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Kris77
dw1narso
dw1narso
would you be able to elaborate more the differences between Aria and HE01?
PhoenixSong
PhoenixSong
Yes, but I can make a rough comparison now as my Aria has 200 hours of burn in while the HE01 only has a few minutes. It wouldn't matter for people who don't believe in burn in though
dw1narso
dw1narso
Ah Ok.. I'll be waiting after it burned then.. 😉

ngoshawk

Headphoneus Supremus
Whizzer Kylin HE01: This ain’t your grandma’s jewelry...
Pros: Gorgeous looks
Single DD
Warmer texture
Vocals are quite good
Very good clarity of note
Hence, good air
Cons: Could use better defined bass note
some do not like the "Grandma look"
Not mainstream, so many will not like it (they should)
Whizzer Kylin HE01 ($79): This ain’t your grandma’s jewelry...

TduDQu7.jpg


HE01

AliExpress link
(Discount code NGOSHAWK, of which I receive no benefit, this is simply a courtesy from Whizzer; in other words, a benefit to you)

Intro: Whizzer contacted me through Instagram to see if I wanted to review the HE01. Having had and reviewed the Kylin HE03, which I liked very much, I agreed. We set up a discounted price, that was amenable to me and roughly two short weeks later the unit arrived. Not bad. I had and have read some of the other HE01 reviews, and most sounded fairly positive to positive. Many also commented on the gorgeous looks, similar to your Grandmother’s older jewelry. That’s all right in my book as I liked the look and knew the fit would be similar to the HE01. Using the new BRIGHT dynamic driver, Whizzer continued to move forward with this new model.

The model is mine to keep but not sell (still really uncool). Other than the unit for a discounted price, I have no incentive regarding anything other than an honest review. The link was asked for by Whizzer (standard) and the discount code provided is a discount provided by Whizzer. I receive no financial gain from the discount code.

*As per all of my reviews, the unit was opened, checked fully for functionality then placed on a unit (Shanling M0) for over 75 hours playing random music. It is my belief that the user wants to know what the unit may sound like after approximately 6 months of use. Any differences are noted in the sound aspect, if I am able to discern any. Sometimes I do. Sometimes I do not.



Specs:
  • Driver: 4th gen BRIGHT series 10.2mm dynamic driver
  • Impedance: 18Ω
  • Earphone sensitivity: 112dB/mW
  • Frequency range: 14-40000Hz
  • Interface: 3.5mm Gilded
  • Cable Length: 1.2m±3cm
  • Earphone interface: 2Pin 0.78mm connector
  • Cable: 5N OFC oxygen-free copper

Gear Compared/Used:

Thinksound in20+ ($99)
CCA CKX ($79)
Whizzer Kylin HE03 ($160)
BQEYZ Spring 2 ($169)

HiBy R3 Pro
EarMen Sparrow/MBP


LUQsMkl.jpg


Songlist:

Dave Matthews
Joey Alexander-Warna album and others
Mark Knopfler-Laughs And Jokes And Drinks And Smokes
Santana w/ Mana- Corazon Espinado
twenty one pilots
Tedeschi Trucks Band
Big Head Todd & The Monsters-Beautiful World
Mark Knopfler-Down The Road Wherever
Elton John-yep, still good, still cool
Tidal MQA (don't care...) playlist



In The Box:

Whizzer Kylin HE01
5N OFC copper cable
2 sets of tips (s, m, l of each): reference & vocal
Aluminum lidded round case
Cleaning brush
Owner’s manual


V7YaKBH.jpg


Unboxing:

The HE01 comes in a book-type opening black box tucked into the proverbial black sleeve. And as per the latest flavors, the lettering is a subtle black glossy print as well. I don’t mind this if the verbiage is readable, but when it isn’t; what’s the point? There is a nice copper tinge to the lettering, but it is all but unreadable under most circumstances. The inside box is of a nice textured flavor, with “Kylin” writing in script.

Opening the cover, you are met with a “secret pocket,” which houses the manual. On the main side are the IEM’s tucked into protective dugouts, replete with curved lines of a large size, which mimics the shape of the driver. I do like the presentation. Simple, direct, yet subtle. Pulling the IEM form out, you have the case of bendable aluminum (?) on one side and a rectangular box housing the cable and brush. Nicely protected in form fitting hard foam. Inside the case are two round paperboard “slides,” which house the tips. My first thought was of HeadPie and his View Master collection (amazing it is, too). Keep the tips in the case and you still have plenty of room. Take them out and you could fairly easily fit a Shanling M0 or equivalent DAP in with the HE01’s. Nice to see this happening more and more.

A nice box presentation, which fits Whizzer from my experience. Nothing too extravagant nor too simplistic.

th


Technicals:

Coming with the 4th generation BRIGHT 10.2mm dynamic driver, virtues include a composite diaphragm and a 1.2 Tesla magnet. The driver itself is combined with a copper ring, said to improve sound density and possibly transparency, creating a cleaner and mellow listening atmosphere (some verbiage here taken from Headfonia’s excellent review, https://www.headfonia.com/whizzer-he01-review/2/). Many dynamic driver units of today stick to either 8mm or 10mm, so size-wise this is a bit larger, yet still fits into a smaller sized shell. Nicely done.

cobipIF.jpg


Build/Fit/Finish:

As per my Whizzer Kylin HE03, the build is very good. Set above typical entry ChiFi the HE03 was, and it had sound to back that build. I would say that even though the HE01 is an acrylic shell, the build might be raised a bit from its big brother. I still really like the HE03 and listen when I can (foreshadowing).

Made of the typical three pieces, the faceplate has that rose gold (love it or hate it, I don’t care) ring, which can be felt over the main shell. The inlaid “W” logo looks like a pearl with etched monogram in it. That main shell is of typical teardrop shape and leads nicely to a slightly angled forward-facing nozzle of good girth. The whole nozzle is in rose gold as well and has a VERY solid lip. One that may be hard for other tips to fit. I used the stock tips, and had little problem placing on/taking off the tips. A vent hole directly on the “backside,” which is at the top of the
“W” allows for breathing of the driver, and you can clearly see that driver through the clear shell. Call it your grandma’s jewelry, I don’t care; I like the look.

In-ear fit is very good, and I had no trouble getting an excellent seal with the stock large-sized “reference” tips. The unit also fit near-flush inside my ear. To say that it is one of the most comfortable IEM’s of late would be an understatement. Combined with the subtle, soft bend of the ear guide and the fit is all-day-long comfortable. Combined with a raised and shielded 2-pin 0.78mm connector and you do not get any pressure on the top of your ear; where rubbing against glasses might exacerbate a pinching. Nope. Nothing there.

A note about that 2-pin connector though. I found the right jack came loose twice before I realized there is a very subtle “click” when fully engaged. Maybe not a click, but a harder push seals over a slight increase in size of the connection point. Either way, once my foggy brain caught on to that I had no trouble at all.

The rose gold cable is of 5N OFC copper variety, and it does lend a nice warmth to the sound. Tightly woven four-strand much like jewelry of old highlights a subtle cable with only a minimal amount of stickiness. The dark gray y-splitter and cable guide add to the classic old school look. Add in a large, but not too large jack on the business end of the 3.5mm se variety and the whole unit exudes quality. Subtle “HE01” lettering highlights on the y-splitter as well; with “Kylin” script on the jack. The presentation is quite good and fitting of a higher priced model.

To sum up: short of the feel of the ring at the faceplate/shell junction and the brain fart at the 2-pin connection; the HE01 is built to very high standards. I am glad the quality of build from the Far East is catching up to the rest of the world. This shows through here.

OFQdwwn.jpg


Sound:

Summary (TLDR):

The Whizzer HE03 came across as a very pleasant sound back in the day when much of what came out of ChFi was a screeching mess. I do not fault those who like a brighter signature, and if that is their pref, good on them. The HE03 came across as mature, detailed and with a good foundation of bass that supported, not overran the sound from within. The HE01 raises that sound again making a mature detailed sound with a bit more bass than the HE03 at its core. Solid sub-bass provides the relationship link to warm and thorough mids, with detailed vocal support. Robert Plant’s aging voice on Bones Of Saints sounds every bit of his 72 years old. But not droll or dull and lifeless. No, it sounds thoroughly engaging with only a hint of lower mid bleed into the nether regions. On top of that, a sparkly stridentless sound emits from above. Treble is tight and clean, adding in a crisp nature that I also find pleasant and not grating. I do sense a bit of complexity issues, but that could stem from a single dynamic driver trying to run the whole show. Not bad mind you, just not as controlled as hybrid or all-BA units can give. A thoroughly fun sound, which can wear the Whizzer badge well.

5Ok1mLN.jpg


Detail:

As stated, bass comes across as reaching and fairly taut. The bass guitar on Jeff Beck’s seminal Brush With The Blues is soulful and forlorn of sound. Deep, rich and down low and dirty, that guitar work is of legendary status. The live version of this song would be worn to bits were it vinyl. String pluck and each push of the bass drum and bass guitar can be felt. Not heart pounding like the Hero or Legend X, but like it is meant to be: solid, foundational and present in enough quantity to keep you engaged and lower your head from side to side as you soulfully swing with the song. Repeat the song, you know you want to. I did. Raise the volume, too. Goosebumps.

This is the reason I love dynamic drivers. Balanced armatures are so very good and catching up to DD’s down low; but they still cannot match that soulful sound, which emanates from Blue’s songs. Period.

The acoustic guitar of Shane Hennessy on Rain Dance sounds sublime, and to me highlight the mids. Strumming along, there is enough air between the notes to give you a good sense of space. This song alone is one that plays on the senses, and I first heard it on Woodsong’s Old Time Radio Hour, where he was simply phenomenal. I am still looking for a decent live version of that. But the album version allows you to judge where the notes are coming from. Near the back to seems. The reverb across the stage add to that sense of spaciousness as well. Roadie Man from the Pretenders highlights the treatment of female vocals as well as snare hits & cymbal hits. Realistic and vibrant with a bit of soul, her voice sounds as good as ever. Snare hit and cymbals also fit the bill with a realism that plays nicely across the board.

Adding to that connectivity, on Pat Benatar’s Love Is A Battlefield, I played this because her voice is saucy, sensuous and just plain dirty (in a really, really good way). Neil’s distinct fret hits giver excellent detail adding to the support of her voice in the treble region. She has such an excellent formally trained voice; we can sit back and marvel at the treatment here. Not quite as distinct as the others here in the comparison, the HE01 nonetheless still plays enough to keep the energy going and your interest. While this may not be the best for rock music, the strength of the Whizzer shows up across multi-genre.

Going back to Shane Hennessy, his works highlight the vibrant nature of the soundstage. Width is good, but not overly wide. You do get excellent spatial recognition here, though. Add in a higher than deeper stage and you get that layering effect of good air between each note. While a single dynamic driver simply cannot give ultimate definition across the whole of the three dimensions (unless you spend $$$$), the Whizzer gives its all in the fight for respectability.

As mentioned indirectly above, spatial definition is good due to all of the aforementioned items. I liked the HE03 quite a lot, so I am impressed with the maturation of the HE01 from big brother. Improvements in dynamic driver technology most definitely show through with the HE01.

pqn7Z68.jpg


Comparisons:

Whizzer HE01 ($79) v Thinksound in20+ ($99):

The new offering (review forthcoming) from the once defunct company is a hearing for sore ears from this reviewer. I am thoroughly in love with my ON2 from Thinksound, so when this showed up as a Kickstarter, I jumped. I am not sad that I did, either. Running a single 8mm dynamic driver the force unit is smaller, and the shell is made from sustainable wood. With an included mic, the in20+ can be worn over ear, but for me the best and easiest was down, much like the CFA Atlas or an earbud. Also, harder to drive, the in20+ comes across with a darker, warmer signature. I prefer that, but do not hesitate to like something with an open and more vibrant signature, such as the HE01.

Here, bass hits harder on the in20+, as I would expect even with the diminutive size of the driver. Known for hard hitting, but fun sounding bass the in20+ does not hesitate. Reach is deeper, and I can definitely feel it. As a result, that does bleed over into the lower mids when called upon, but not to the detriment to me. If you prefer a more open and airier noted signature, you should opt for the Whizzer. The in20+ is near-classic V-shaped, but mids are not forgotten, just not the point of reference here. Treble is politely rolled off with no sibilance or grating. If you can live with a bit of bleed and that deep reach of the bass, then the in20+ is a fine choice. Yet another Thinksound I love.



Whizzer HE01 ($79) v CCA CKX ($79):

On loan from another reviewer, the CKX surprised me (review forthcoming) as did the CS16. While I like the CCA iterations the most of the three KZ in-house brands, they are not my favorite. They do sound quite good and brought a level of maturity to ChiFi of old, when it was much needed. But they did not lose that spunky ChiFi treble-based sound. They simply made it more listenable to me.

Open and airy would describe the CKX nicely. The plunk of Hennessy’s guitar promotes a level of distinctness in the CKX, which belies offerings of yore. There is very good distinction between guitar plucks and the feeling of an open, crisp sound is promoted as such. I am impressed with this latest offering from CCA, and it can certainly go toe to toe with the Whizzer due to the balance armature architecture. I would say that there is even a better definition of the sound here than through the Whizzer. But, it simply cannot match the Whizzer down low. If you value clarity, then the choice would be the CCA. If you appreciate that single dynamic driver and what it can do, then the Whizzer would be a worthy choice here.

I like both and since they are oriented differently, cannot really choose a “favorite.”


Whizzer HE01 ($79) v Whizzer Kylin HE03 ($160):

I will admit that the HE03 does not get the listening privilege from me that is deserves. One of my favorites from days gone by, it still performs really well. A gorgeous cable and build quality of fine jewelry (see how I did that?...) it has the sound to back it up. While it does not quite have the bass reach of the little one, it does present a warmer and richer sound signature. Again, I do not mind this. I will say that to me the airiness of the HE01 is quite good even when comparing the bloodline, here. I would say that maturity of years has paid off and yesterday’s sub-$200 is not the sub-$100 market. Amazing for all of us!


Whizzer HE01 ($79) v BQEYZ Spring 2 ($169):

With a gorgeous look, and a cable, which might look at home on your much more expensive IEM’s, there isn’t a whole lot to dislike on the Spring2. One of my hits from early 2020; it fits nicely with the other wares from BQEYZ. I do have the Summer unit inbound and my hope it that the sound is as good or better than the Spring2. Of all the offerings here, the Spring2 has the furthest forward mids, making it much less V-shaped than the others. As a result, I find it brighter than the others as well. While it does not have the bass reach of the HE01, it does provide enough for a very good foundation. Clarity is easily as good as the Whizzer, and nearly on par with the CCA offering. Not quite as warm as the older Whizzer, the Spring2 still provides a rich warmth to the sound but think of it as that spring blanket instead of the thick winter blanket.

I would be hard pressed to choose here, but if you value bass and an open sound, the HE01 fits the bill. If you want a slightly darker, richer signature the Spring 2 is a breath of well, you get it.

avotOI9.jpg


finale:

I will admit to the peculiarity of how the Whizzer came to me. It was only after talking to other reviewers that they received the same form of contact. The shipping time was a scant short of two weeks, so not bad in this day of shipping eccentricities. During the time, I did read Prime Audio’s review, which came out as positive as did Heafonia’s. I trust both reviewers and their judgements at the top of whom I look to, and if they gave positive notes, then I had my hopes up. Also, I thoroughly liked the Whizzer HE03, so that bode well, too.

And I can say that the HE01 lives up to what the others say. For ½ the price of the original HE03, you get a better bass response, without losing much in the clarity department. While not the cleanest or crispest, but not meant to be; Whizzer has shown that you do not need multi-driver units to succeed. The saying KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) most certainly applies here, and I can say that Whizzer has pulled it off.

I thank Whizzer-Official for making contact with me, and for the discounted price. If you feel the need or urge for another, please use the discount code listed above, of which I receive no benefit.

OQGkzPv.jpg
Last edited:
ngoshawk
ngoshawk
"The bass guitar on Jeff Beck’s seminal Brush With The Blues is soulful and forlorn of sound."

Forlorn: bereft, forsaken, lonely, soulful, lonesome, disconsolate. Me: The song permeates a soulful, mournful, lonesome, isolationist sound.

I'm not sure what else I can say...Play an old Robert Johnson song with all the hiss, pops and crackles of an old 1920's album and that should help.
CT007
CT007
I would remove, "of sound". It's redundant and/or confusing, I think.
ngoshawk
ngoshawk
I would leave it as is, because I like it that way...

gadgetgod

Head-Fier
Whizzer Kylin HE01 Review: A Blast For Just 80$!!
Pros: Stealthy matte black packaging.
The presentation is amazing for its price.
Build & Look is just amazing.
Not a flagship killer but for 80$ it's just brilliant.
Punchy deep bass response.
Warm Tonality.
Vocals are clean and crisp.
Spacious soundstage.
Treble is smooth and sparkly.
Great value for money.
Cons: Cable gets tangled easily.
Whizzer is a china-based HiFi audio earphone manufacturing brand famous for its stunningly beautiful and smooth-sounding earphones. HE01 is their latest single DD IEM featuring a 10.2mm 4th gen dual-cavity dynamic driver with their self-designed HDSS technology. The HE01 belongs to the “Kylin” series of beautiful earphones by Whizzer. HE01 comes in a very competitive entry-level market with a price tag of 80$. The segment is filled with many famous products such as Tin T2 Plus, Moondrop Aria, and more. Where does the HE01 stand in terms of performance and design in its category? Is it worth it? We will find out shortly in this review. So let’s begin without wasting any more time.

14.jpg


Disclaimer:-

KIWI from Whizzer sent me this unit of HE01 in return for my honest opinion on the pair. I am not affiliated or paid by anyone to write positive or negative about the pair, all thoughts in this review are based on my own experience with the HE01 over the past few days. You can purchase the Kylin HE01 from Whizzer’s official store on Aliexpress from the link below.

https://m.aliexpress.com/item/1005001731358565.html

You can also read my full review on Gizaudio from the link below:-

https://gizaudio.com/whizzer-he01-iem-review-blast-for-just-80/

Packaging & Accessories:-


16.jpg


13.jpg


Whizzer packs the Kylin HE01 in a stealthy matte black packaging with glossy Whizzer and HE01 branding on the front. The package has a minimalistic simple approach with nothing but just the basic info on the outer package. On the back, we have technical specifications and basic features of the pair. Inside the package, the contents are arranged in layers with the first layer having nothing but just the beautiful earpieces. The second layer holds the matte carry case that has bundled silicone tips. There is a small cardboard box here that holds the bundled 2-pin cable. The presentation of HE01 is beautiful and has a completely matte black finish. Even the envelope holding documentation such as the user guide and warranty card is also matte black. Also, the presentation has a premium feel, just doesn’t look like this package costs 80$ only.

12.jpg


Package Contents:-


>Pair of HE01 Earphones.

>0.78mm 2-pin cable.

>Carry case.

>Three pairs of vocal ear tips.

>Three pairs of reference ear tips.

>User guide.

>Warranty Card.

Design & Build Quality:-

While the entire package of HE01 has a stealthy matte finish, the pair itself here has a glossy finish with a transparent inner cavity and a shiny Rose Gold and White color scheme. The pair has a small form factor and has a sturdy, neat finish. Face panels have a Whizzer branding logo, the right earpiece has a red dot printed on the inner side to denote the right side. The inner cavity of the earpieces is completely transparent one can see the driver cavity easily. The driver cavity also has a rose gold cover around the cavity. In fact, the nozzle here is also rose gold in color. Build quality wise I have to say, the pair looks stunning with a premium finish and rose gold color.

11.jpg


The bundled cable has good quality but is quite lightweight and prone to tangling. Every time I put it wrapped inside the cable I had to tie the cable tie otherwise whenever I pulled it out it was tangled. The cable also has a red dot on the right-side connector. The 3.5mm connector has a solid metallic cover with a Kylin logo printed on it.

9.jpg


Fit & Noise Isolation:-


Whizzer HE01 has a small form factor and lightweight design. The pair fits perfectly for my medium-sized ears covering the entire ear canal with medium size included vocal ear tips. But with its small form factor, I am sure most users will get a comfortable fit. The pair blocks environmental noises nicely, I find noise isolation to be quite good with the pair.

Driving The HE01:-

HE01 can be powered very easily. I never enjoy using my Hi-Res IEMs on my smartphones, but this right here shines brilliantly even with my Honor View 10 straight out of the 3.5mm port. And I never had to go above 70% volume either on the phone. Its pairing with my N3 Pro is also very decent. Here are my pairing impressions for both of these combos.

6.jpg


With Honor View 10:-

I have tested IEMs before with my smartphone just to check their compatibility and driving power mostly. I was never able to enjoy much of my Hi-res IEMs before with my phone. But the HE01 changed this and it offered a fantastic performance with it. The tonality is pretty good with gapped depth in the lower end and sparkle in the top end of the frequency spectrum.

With Cayin N3 Pro:-

With the tube timbre mode, I find the vocals to have a thick texture and a musical approach with the HE01. Pair sounds brilliant here with a clean, punchy response, and better extensions as compared to the smartphone. Solid-State Timbre also sounds pretty decent without any complaints. Never had to go above 45-50/100 volume level on medium gain here.

5.jpg


As I stated earlier the HE01 is pretty easy to power. Don’t worry even if you don’t have any hi-res player or Portable USB DAC/AMP, the HE01 works perfectly fine with smartphones. Though I always recommend using hi-res players or portable DAC/AMP for better decoding that results in overall better response. Most critical listening for this review is done using N3 Pro on tube timbre.

Sound Quality:-

Whizzer Kylin HE01 has a smooth V-shaped fun sound signature with powerful bass slams, well-detailed slightly-recessed mids, and sparkly non-fatiguing treble response. The pair maintains good clarity throughout the frequency range providing the users with an enjoyable musical experience. It has an overall warm tonality, that gives a rich musical touch to the vocal presentation. The bass slams hit deep with every single punch complementing the other frequencies well with a powerful rumble in sub-bass too. Mids have a slightly-recessed presentation but hold good clarity in the vocals and instruments. Treble is played safe here with good extension and sparkle but doesn’t show sibilance or fatigue in the output. Here’s a frequency-wise description of the sound.

Lower End:-

As mentioned earlier, the lower end hits deep and quick with every single punch in the music. Listening to bass-heavy tracks such as Royals by Lorde, Bad Guy by Billie Eilish presents an amazing experience for its users with punchy mid-bass and powerful rumble in the sub-bass portion. This powerful rumble also adds weight to instruments such as pianos and guitars. The lower end adds a punch of warmth to the output.

Mids:-

Mids have a recessed presentation but with good clarity and detail. Vocals carry a slightly warm tonality that makes them sound smooth and well-textured. With the Whizzer HE01 London Grammar’s lead vocalist has good weight and texture in her voice. Same goes for Damien Rice and Yao Si Ting in their songs, both male and female vocal presentation is great. Though female vocals sound more weighted as compared to male vocals. Acoustic instruments such as guitars have a well-detailed presentation but they sound laid back that might put some people off.

Highs:-

The treble frequencies show good extension with a sparkly response. Detail retrieval is pretty good with well-extended treble frequencies. Cymbal crashes, Electric guitar, Violins show decent clarity with a non-sibilant response. The output doesn’t get fatiguing even at loud volume levels. Even in complex tracks such as Dani California by Red Hot Chilli Peppers, each instrument can be identified clearly and cleanly.

Soundstage And Instrument Separation:-

The soundstage is pretty wide with the HE01 but lacks some sense of depth. Instrument clarity is absolutely amazing with quality layering and imaging characteristics. I find the soundstage to be adequately spacious for any of the music I played such as Rock, Pop, Binaural, live recordings, and more.

Some Comparisons:-

1.jpg


With Moondrop Aria:-

Moondrop Aria is the latest pair from the house of Moondrop featuring again a single DD unit similar to that of HE01 here. Here are my impressions between the Aria and HE01.

>Both the pairs have similarly brilliant build at both their places, Aria having a fantastic matte black design and HE01 having a brilliant Rose gold glossy finish.

>Cable with Aria has a premium fabric coating.

>Bass on HE01 is more punchy and deep.

>Presentation is airier on Aria.

>Vocal clarity is similar on both the pairs, though Aria has a warmer tonality.

>Treble on HE01 is more sparkly but cleaner in Aria, complex tracks have better presentation in Aria.

>Detail retrieval on both the pairs is similar performing.

>Output is more engaging and immersive on HE01.

Both the HE01 and Aria come at the same 80$ price range. Both are pretty good performers at their own places it is very hard to choose one among them. Sometimes I love the immersive performance of the HE01 and sometimes I crave the open and relaxed presentation of the Aria. I am gonna keep both in my collection as both of them serve their own purpose well.

2.jpg


Final Words:-

HE01 is my first encounter with the Whizzer. I am really blown away by their presentation and the sound quality of the pair for just 80$. It is surely gonna be one of my recommended pairs in its own price segment for its easy drivability, beautiful looks, punchy, immersive sound performance with good clarity and tonality. It’s really hard to put the HE01 down once I start music on it, just simply loving it!!
dw1narso
dw1narso
excellent photography... 👍
gadgetgod
gadgetgod
Otto Motor
Otto Motor
Yes, the Whizzer are very good imo, too.

Nimweth

Headphoneus Supremus
Beautifully Balanced
Pros: Powerful and weighty bass
Open mids
Excellent timbre
Extended detailed treble
Large soundstage
Well made
Nice presentation
Cons: Tangly cable
This product was supplied for review by Kiwi from Whizzer Official at AliExpress. Product link:
https://m.aliexpress.com/item/1005001731358565.html

It is also available at Amazon:
HE01 Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/Whizzer-Headphones-Detachable-Noise-Isolating-Smartphones/dp/B08TTPKXY3/

The HE01 is the newest model in the Kylin series from Whizzer. "Kylin" is a mythical Chinese creature embodying both the male essence "ky" and female essence "lin".

The HE01 features a single dynamic driver with a composite metal film/polymer diaphragm 10.2mm in diameter. It is described as a "4th generation" design from the "Bright" series and a flux density of 1.2 Tesla is specified. It also features the HDSS, a tuning system claimed to "improve the sense of sound density and transparency, creating a cleaner and mellow listening atmosphere”. The quoted impedance is 18 ohms and the sensitivity is 112dB/mW and it has "Hi-Res" certification.

The HE01 is attractively presented in a deep, square matt black box embellished with glossy embossed writing. A smart black envelope containing the documentation fits inside the lid and the back of the box features the specifications. The IEMs are displayed in a black tray. Lifting this out reveals the case, in which the supplied eartips are placed in two discs, beside which there is a long black box containing the cable.

The contents comprise:
* Whizzer HE01 IEMs
* 2-pin 4-core 5N OFC detachable cable
* Aluminium carrying case
* Cleaning brush
* 3 pairs silicone eartips "vocal" (S, M, L)
* 3 pairs silicone eartips "reference" (S, M, L)
* Documentation

The build quality is impressive and the appearance very attractive. The earpieces have a silver metal faceplate with a rose gold Whizzer logo in the centre and a rose gold border. The body is formed from a clear resin with the copper-coloured components clearly visible and the nozzle, which has a prominent lip, is also in a matching rose gold colour.

The cable is a 5N OFC 4-core design and is coloured rose gold. The straight 3.5mm plug is finished in a grey metal with a copper accent, as are the chin slider and Y-split. It can be a bit tangly and there was some cable noise. The 2-pin plugs feature a decorative copper ring. A red spot on the right connector matching a similar one on the IEMs, serves as a channel indicator.

The earphones were auditioned using a variety of sources, across a wide selection of musical genres, primarily my Xduoo X20, but also a Huawei smartphone and a CD player. The supplied cable and the medium "reference" tips were used and I obtained a comfortable fit and good isolation. A burn-in period of 100 hours was carried out before evaluation.

First Impressions
The HE01 produced a clean, very transparent sound with excellent detail. The bass was impactful, the mids were clear and forward and the treble was detailed, extended and airy. There was a large, spacious and open soundstage. A notable feature was the "dynamic shading" or ability to display subtle changes in volume. The impression was reminiscent of an all-BA design rather than a single DD, such was the immediacy and speed of the reproduction.

Bass
The bass was deep, resonant and nicely textured with good resolution and possessed a natural tonality and good speed. It was very linear and transitioned into the mids without colouration or bleed.

In Abinoni's famous "Adagio in G minor" performed by the Guildhall String Ensemble, the organ was very naturally portrayed with a clean and fast delivery and plenty of "air". It was easy to distinguish the pedal notes from the lower notes of the keyboard when sounding together which resulted in a very authentic performance. The timbre of the solo violin was unaffected by the bass even in the most dynamic passages.

The bass was powerful and immediate with excellent speed and weight. Jason Edward Dudley's bass-driven "Stargazer" was a perfect example of this with the deep, punchy delivery driving the track along in an entertaining way and the accompanying lead synth and percussive effects remaining clean and precise.

Mids
The midrange possessed excellent timbre, copious detail and an attractive open quality which allowed every detail to come through. Subtle dynamic changes were beautifully rendered, enabling the feeling of the music to be conveyed.

Vocals were very well presented. In "A Great Day for Freedom" from "The Division Bell" by Pink Floyd, David Gilmour's lead vocal was extremely clear with the studio reverb abundantly evident and the double-tracking later in the song was precise and well separated. The balance between the vocals and the keyboards was perfect and the incisive lead guitar solo cut through the production very effectively.

"Forestland" from the album "Purple Sails" by Japanese synthesist Shiho demonstrated the subtlety of the HE01's reproduction. The effect depicted by small changes in volume and dynamics allowed all the emotion of the piece to be appreciated and the excellent layering and separation produced a wonderful atmosphere, with the solo voice set against changing chords and nature effects.

Treble
The HE01's treble was remarkably clean, clear and detailed. There was no trace of harshness and it was very extended, revealing subtle micro-details.

In the conclusion to "Venus" from Holst's "The Planets", performed by the Montreal Symphony Orchestra under Charles Dutoit, a celesta plays descending arpeggios set against rocking string figurations. The clear bell-like tones were perfectly reproduced in perfect balance with the strings and it was even possible to hear the pedal action of the keyboard.

Rossini's "String Sonata No. 1" is a lively and entertaining piece. In the version by the Age of Enlightenment Orchestra, the HE01 showed excellent transient attack with the leading edges incisive and clean and the details of bowing and pizzicato very authentic, endowing the whole performance with a real sense of being there.

Soundstage
The soundstage was exceptionally spacious with precise imaging, separation and layering. The location of instruments was very clear leading to a very natural perspective.

"Mausoleum at Halicarnassus" is the fourth movement of the "Seven Wonders Suite" by Stuart Mitchell. It features a prominent solo flute which was particularly well rendered, floating over an imaginative orchestral backdrop. The hall ambience was nicely reproduced in the recording by the Prague Symphony Orchestra conducted by Mario Klemens, with the percussion section displaying a believable distance and a natural decay in the timpani strikes towards the end of the piece.

"Elsewhere" by Vangelis, from the album "Direct" was very impressive in its depiction of space and stereo imaging. Various electronic effects spiral around in a figure of eight pattern, percussive elements swell and subside and a noble anthemic theme fills the stage. All these were effectively portrayed by the HE01 in a soundstage of prodigious dimensions with a wonderful sense of ambience.

Comparisons

Tin Hifi T4
The T4 employs a 10mm dynamic driver with a carbon nanotube diaphragm within the familiar "bullet" design and MMCX interface. The tonality follows the traditional Tin Hifi neutral/bright profile but with a more powerful sub bass. The soundstage is very spacious and detail retrieval is high. The HE01 is similarly neutral and matches it in detail, but exceeds it in transparency and has a similar treble. It is perhaps better balanced overall although there is not a lot between them.

KBEAR Diamond
The Diamond uses a dynamic driver 10mm in diameter with a DLC coated PET diaphragm. Its profile is strongly V-shaped with powerful bass, somewhat recessed mids which have good timbre and a more relaxed treble which still has good detail. The HE01 is more balanced and neutral with better detail in the mids and a more open and extended treble.

Smabat NCO
The Smabat NCO features an 8mm Graphene diaphragm driver in a very compact housing. Its USP is the Maze system, a mini transmission line labyrinth which produces a deep and powerful bass. The NCO's sound is big, bold and cinematic and is U-shaped with excellent impact. It is warmer than the HE01 which is more detailed and cooler in tonality and arguably more accurate.

Conclusion
The HE01 is impressive in all areas. Well made and beautifully presented, it also achieves sonically. It has a fast tight bass, an open and natural midrange and a clean, detailed and extended treble, and endows music with a "live" quality. Add an expansive and spacious soundstage and it is hard to beat. With its superb coherence, it shows what is possible with a single high quality driver. Highly recommended.

Attachments

  • IMG_20210414_124303.jpg
    IMG_20210414_124303.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20210414_124835.jpg
    IMG_20210414_124835.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20210414_124747.jpg
    IMG_20210414_124747.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20210414_125049.jpg
    IMG_20210414_125049.jpg
    4.9 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20210414_125319.jpg
    IMG_20210414_125319.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20210414_124221.jpg
    IMG_20210414_124221.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 0
Narayan23
Narayan23
Great review Nimweth, I bought the Smabat NCO after reading your opinion (and that of others) on them and I love them, your comparison between the Whizzer and the Smabat and other models is very useful. In my case if I make another purchase I would look for something a tiny bit warmer than the Smabat and reviews such as yours are very helpful.

rev92

100+ Head-Fier
Whizzer HE01
Pros: Great design
Lovely Accessories
Very good value
Your wife might like them
Warm, pleasant sound signature
Fun
Great cable
Cons: Warm and dark sound signature might not suit everybody
dscf2516-1.jpg

Whizzer Kylin HE01 is a single DD IEM with an unusual design and price set at 79,99 USD.

Introduction​

Model HE01 is my first meeting with the Whizzer company in-hand. Before that, I never had a chance to listen to any of their products. All I’ve known about them was my friends’ thoughts. And well, they’re mixed. Some of Whizzer’s products are great, and others have some issues.
How’s that this time? You’ll know everything soon.

Packaging & Build quality​

Two sets of eartips is more than enough.

The first impression is excellent. Earphones come in a well-made double box (but getting one out of the second is kinda tricky), which really impressed me because it’s just a 79$ IEM, and the packaging could hide way more expensive earphones. What’s inside, you would ask, and the list is kinda standard.
  • Two complete sets of silicone eartips (regular and vocal)
  • 5N OCC cable
  • The round case made of metal
Build quality makes a worse impression than the unboxing, that’s for sure. A transparent plastic shell is just feeling cheap in-hand. The faceplate is way better, also in terms of design. It’s plastic too, but way thicker, with a copper outline. The best-made thing in the set, beside the box, is the cable. It doesn’t tangle easily, but the weave is unusual. It’s tightly woven, looking like a chain. Splitter and 3,5mm connector are made of metal, and I think it won’t break unless you’ll put much power into it. 2pin connectors are made of plastic, and no standoff goes around the ear, so some will love that, and the rest will hate it. I’m between those two groups because even if I prefer a flexible standoff, I’m not missing it in there.

dscf2511.jpg
I reeeeaaaly like that cable.

Comfort & Isolation​

Comfort is pretty good, the earphones don’t have any special shape, and are pretty small, so everyone should be satisfied with the fit.
In terms of isolation, things are a little worse. There are two holes for equalizing the pressure, so it’s not a total cut-off, but it’s also better than the isolation that the Bqeyz Spring 2 provides.

Sound​

The cable’s colour is matching perfectly with a copper on the faceplate.

The sound is vivid and highly saturated. The frequency range edges are hardly smoothed, with more texture in the middle, but pushed back vocals because of the solid V-looking graph.

The bass is smoooooooooooth. It’s delicately soft and a little slow. If you’ve heard the beginning of “bad guy” by Billie Eilish, you know how hard and fast it can be there. In HE01, if I had to paint this bass, it’s usually a square, but this time, it’s a solid sinusoid. Besides that, the whole bass part is potent, especially subbass and kickbass. The midbass lacks speed and dynamic. At this price range, it’s acceptable, and some people like that playstyle, but if you prefer a more technical style, you can find better IEMs.

The midrange is well more articulated in terms of any microdetails in singers’ voices. Their hoarseness is almost tangible, and it gets really close to the level of Shozy Form1.1, which still leads in the texture at this price range. The subbass delicately covers low male vocals at some hip-hop music. I didn’t notice that with any other theme. For example, The Weeknd’s higher voice is on the first plan, and nothing bothers his show. Of course, that’s also dependent on the mix and mastering, but I’m always trying to find proper tracks that are greatly produced.

dscf2546.jpg


It’s definitely something big.


As I mentioned before, the treble is smooth. Not as smooth as the bass, but, for sure, it’s a delicate one. I only hear a pick around 4kHz and 6,5Khz that can be pretty irritating, but it doesn’t bother me in music. Because of the treble delicacy, I miss sparkles in there. It doesn’t shine, doesn’t bring a lot to the sound. When I’m listening to classical music, it is a bit boring for me. The double bass is on the first plan, but violins and piano stay in the shadow.
I know that plenty of people hate a more articulated treble, so I think that’s the IEM for them.

Imaging, the width of the stage, and positioning are a substantial part of HE01. As with most single DD constructions, the soundstage is wide and round. It also shows a decent depth. The main topic is set in the average distance, but when needed, it gets closer but doesn’t fly too far away. Positioning is pretty precise, with marked, delicately blurred pinpoints. Whizzer’s lets the listener dive in the music, and that’s really great.
So yeah, I’d like to put a short summary about the sound quality here. It’s a specific earphone, with a V-shaped sound signature, and darkened a little. It’s a head kicker with smooth frequencies’ edges, and personally, I didn’t really enjoy HE01 for music. But I love them for movies! All effects, explosions, car chases, gunshots are making a really good impression. I think I’ll be using them for journeys and watching films on the road.

Comparisons​

dscf2518.jpg
Plastic shell hides inside the 10,2mm dynamic driver.


Whizzer Kylin HE01 vs. Shozy Form1.1

The HE01 is way more fun to listen to. Shozy shows a more natural and calmer performance, so it’s a universal IEM, not like the Whizzer’s set for one target. Form 1.1 has a more technical style, with a lot of texture, faster bass, and better-articulated treble. On the other hand, when both have a decent soundstage, the HE01 performs a little better. It has a broader and delicately deeper soundstage, which shows all the directions correctly.

Whizzer Kylin HE01 vs. Bqeyz Spring 2

Two different worlds. The first one is darker, bassy, with a great soundstage, when the second one is bright, fast, with less space inside. As the Bqeyz IEM is named with the season appropriately, and I’d have to call the Whizzer, I’d say it’s an autumn evening.

Pairing​

Whizzer Kylin HE01 isn’t an IEM that’s changing a lot using different sound sources, but it needs an amp with a truly black background. From all tested sources, only SMSL SH-9 and ddHiFi TC25B provided a proper silence.

Summary​

dscf2516-1.jpg
Even if you don’t enjoy this design, your girlfriend is going to love it.

Whizzer Kylin HE01 is a lovely designed IEM with a specific playstyle but overall decent SQ. A little dark-sounding, smooth, powerful bass and great soundstage. All of that, with a great box and set, you can get for just 79,99$.

Recommended.




Gear used during this review for the sake of comparison and as an accompanying equipment:
  • Headphones – Campfire Audio Vega 2020, Craft Ears Four CIEM, Moondrop SSP, Shozy Form 1.1, KZ ZS6
  • Sources– Cayin N3Pro, SMSL SU-9 + SH-9, EarMen Eagle, EarMen TR-AMP, ddHiFi TC44B, xDuoo XD-05 Plus
  • Like
Reactions: Kris77

Otto Motor

Headphoneus Supremus
Whizzer Kylin HE01 Review
Pros: Great midrange and technicalities; fluid, cohesive tonality; easy to drive; great ergonomics; complete accessories.
Cons: Bass could be more textured; optics not for everybody.
The Whizzer Kylin HE01 is a well designed, well accessorized, warm and fluid sounding single DD earphone with a fast driver that provides hard beats, and excellent midrange and treble articulation and definition. I personally treasure the Whizzer Kylin HE01’s fluid, cohesive presentation. A personal favourite.

I express my thoughts in this video:

F
Ferdze
some people like reading it here instead of being directed outside headfi. anyway will just wait for others to write a review
Otto Motor
Otto Motor
Top