1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. NymPHONOmaniac
    Vivid bassy earphones with fun look and sound!
    Written by NymPHONOmaniac
    Published Jun 22, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Big bass-clear mids, great all arounder type of sound, no sibilance, clear vocal, nice packaging and accessories, good value
    Cons - dry treble, average imaging, not so well controled bass, proprietary cable that make changeable cable vain or very limited
    VJJB N-30 REVIEW :
    P1010278.JPG
    SOUND: 8/10
    CONSTRUCTION: 7.5/10
    VALUE: 8/10



    I have a soft spot for VJJB earphones, a nostalgic one about chifi old days where this brand represent one of the few trustable budget friendly audio company to buy from. Unlike less serious company, VJJB was offering very affordable earphones that was professionally tuned and have great craftmenship for the little price.

    VJJB K4, for example, are excellent sounding single dynamic earphones with a very appealing wooden housing. As well, they are among the first to have introduce dual dynamic drivers earphones that actually sound balanced and properly tuned.

    Yes, VJJB have good audio engineer in their team even if I guess they aren’t pay alot to do their job because otherwise how could they sell their earphones so cheap?

    P1010281.JPG

    Now, VJJB decide to be very audacious with a new hybrid earphones call N-30. Not only the housing design is from another world or even galaxy and stand appart from any other iem I ever seen, but they use a dual dynamic driver plus one balanced armature implementation too with a pretty complex looking crossover that promise serious tuning work.

    Priced around 22$, this ultra budget friendly earphones promess incredible price value, but what about the sound, did VJJB know how to tune 3 drivers properly or will it be transient response mess like alot of other chifi earphones??

    Let’s see in this review if such a cheaply priced earphones can actually be an interesting choice for budget audiophile.




    SPECS & INFO :


    Model Number: VJJB-N30

    Drivers: 6mm*2 8mm*2

    Impedance: 20 Ohm

    Sensitivity: 96dB

    Maximum power: 15mW

    Frequency range: 20Hz-24000Hz

    Length :1.2m

    Plug: 3.5MM gold-plated



    ACCESSORIES, CONSTRUCTION & DESIGN :

    P1010267.JPG P1010268.JPG P1010270.JPG

    UNBOXING is very nice for such a tiny priced iem and proove that VJJB is a serious brand and not just another knockoff chifi manufacturer. The white suqare box is quite beautifull and make you wonderif its really a 30$ iem in there. For accessories you have a generous amount of silicone eartips (5 pairs) and even a memory foam tips pair. You have the official VJJB earphones pouch too and an instruction manual of great quality that is unfortunately all write in chinese (but who read manual for earphones anyway?).

    P1010274.JPG P1010275.JPG P1010276.JPG P1010277.JPG

    CONSTRUCTION is on par of its price and quite similar to KZ products in term of material used, wich mean : all plastic. All pieces all well put togheter and do not feel particularly cheap, just not high end, wich is normal for 30$. Housing is quite big and have a particular rounded shape that is quite chunky.
    P1010271.JPG

    Only thing i’m not very happy about construction is the proprietary cable connection it use wich is NOT MMCX and make changeable cable features quite vain. The cable is of average quality with an annoying ear hook that tend to not stay properly around my ears.

    DESIGN is audacious to say the least and come most certainly from a sci-fi enthusiast that is obsess by futuristic spaceship. To my eyes, they look quite good but it will sure not please to everyone. In term of comfort, the angled nozzle even if not very long offer a good fit.

    ISOLATION is quite good and sound leakage keep to minimal as the N30 have not a back vented housing.



    SOUND :

    P1010280.JPG

    Out of the box and without any burn in, first impressions was rather underwhelming with the N30, bass lack control, mids was agressively fowards and there were a hint of dryness in treble that was very unpleasant to my ears, so I throw them away and forget about them for some days.

    After I let them burn in for only 20 hours and find the right eartips, my more objective impressions was this time quite positive and I learn to discover the great potential of these entry level iem : the sound was W shape with serious emphasis on bass, mids was extremely clear even if a little thin and treble deliver quite a great amount of details without sounding too harsh.

    Then I wonder about it’s price and look back at N30 with more relativity and conclude : these are pretty pretty good for 20$!

    SOUNDSTAGE isn’t the biggest but still have an above average widness and do not feel stock in your head, as well, their a good sens of deepnest for its price range.

    IMAGING without having a razor sharp clarity can manage to give proper instrument separation, but without lot of space between instrument, just enough for realistic instrument placement. To note that when vocal occur, instruments take back seat and became less accurately layered.

    BASS dig quite deep and I’m impress by the thumping, weight lower end that even have some rumble to it. Without being supremely U shape of basshead monster, the N30 will sure satisfy bass lover that need that bass slam to satisfy their fun musicality. We have quite an important emphasis in lower end that give sub bass a thick and fowards presence. Mid bass have smooth punch and avoid to be to polite and lack energy even if its not a very detailed timbre and feel less thick and rounded than sub bass. This mid bass presentation avoid unwanted bass bleeding so the mid range is keeped clean.

    MID RANGE is what surprise me the most with the N30, its fowards and very clear and do not sound too bright or grainy, quite the opposite in fact as it have hint of dryness. Vocal take front seat even with bass heavy track (if it’s recorded in that way), it avoid upper mids sibilance wich make them sound a little thin and lacking in body, but still, timbre without being thick have good amount of details. Male vocal will have a little more body due to great bass extension but as we have no sibilance, its very pleasant to listen to female too. Instrument like violin or piano will lack proper attack and grip to sound realist and lively, but again, for its price, N30 offer above average clarity and balance in mid range.


    TREBLE is emphased in lower and mid high region, but the N30 are really about bass and mids wich will not satisfy treble head or serious audiophile searching for critical listening earphones. Highs aren’t sparkly and do not have lot of decay, we can even say upper region is a little dark here.

    AMPING isn’t a most, but at 96db sensitivity for 20ohm impendance, an enough powerfull DAP or portable amp is suggested to push N30 at their full potential.




    SUB BASS : 8/10
    MID BASS : 7/10
    MID RANGE : 8/10
    TREBLE : 6.5/10
    SOUNDSTAGE : 7.5/10
    IMAGING : 7.5/10
    TIMBRE : 7/10
    ATTACK-DECAY : 6.5/10



    COMPARISONS:




    VS CCA C10 (30$):
    P1010272.JPG


    The C10 are well tuned multi hybrid drivers IEM that receive quite good reception among audio enthusiast. With its thick, soft U shaped soundsignature, it sure is an important contender in sub-50$ budget earphones world, let’s see how it compare with an hybrid earphones that only have one balanced armature instead of 3 like the C10.

    SOUNDSTAGE is seriously wider and more holographic-around your head with the C10, while the VJJB have a little more deepnest but in a more intimate spaciality.

    IMAGING is better as well with C10 due to a richer sound field, here, the VJJB feel quite fowards and opaque in layering where bass sit back of mid range wall.

    BASS is more prononced with VJJB that have quite intense bump in lower mid bass that make it sound quite punchy and little boomy compared to more linear bass of C10 that have a better sub bass resolution and body. Still, the C10 sound a little too gentle in mid bass punch even if timbre is thicker than VJJB.

    MID RANGE is more upper mids fowarded, brighter and slightly dryier with VJJB. C10 offer a more balanced and detailed mid range without sounding harsh at all. Vocal sound a little artificial and coloured with VJJB compared to thicker, fuller and wider rendered one of C10. Overall mid range sound thinner with VJJB even if level of clarity is quite high.

    TREBLE is more delicate with the VJJB, not far from sounding liquid it soundn light, transparent and a little dryish. C10 feel thicker, richer, more opaque and relaxed in comparaison. We have details in lower and mid treble but less highs sparkle with C10 that mix thicker and more spacious sounds, this make percussions more realist and weighty but less brilliant than VJJB. VJJB have upper highs peak that show micro details more easily. For treble head, VJJB is sure the choice to make.

    All in all, we have here 2 different sounding beasts here and none of them sound bad. The C10 is little more refined in its tuning and warmer while the VJJB is more fun sounding and energic.




    VS FINAL AUDIO E1000 (30$):


    P1010273.JPG

    Another budget king and a personal favorite of mine, the E1000 is a single micro dynamic driver priced at a ridiculous 30$ price from one of the best japanese audio company call Final Audio Design. Let’s see if something this small can compete with the VJJB giant spaceship.

    SOUNDSTAGE is a little wider with E1000, while the VJJB sound taller and deeper and have little more out of your head impression.

    IMAGING is more accurate, clearer than VJJB. E1000 sound more natural and instrument separation is more realist in placement too.

    BASS is more emphased with the VJJB and have heavier punch, it sound immature and more V shape compared to the more balanced E1000 wich dig as low with richer timbre and more controled mid bass emphasis that move less air and feel less boomy. Still, for basshead VJJB is sure the best choice with its weightier, thicker bass reponse.

    MID RANGE have warm lushness, thick rich timbre and a beautifull sens of fullness with the E1000, while the VJJB sound more fowards and brighter as well as more coloured and artificial. Vocal have more presence and a wider presentation with E1000 and feel more transparent too, the VJJB have intimate and centered mid range with more upper mid range emphasis.

    TREBLE have upper highs fowarded with the VJJB so it feel more extended than E1000 wich begin to roll of around 15khz, just at begining of upper treble. This make the VJJB more sparkly and sometime better with decay for classical guitar or harpsichord, but due to inferior lower and mid treble these instrument will still sound less lively and dynamic than E1000. This delicate, sharp and thin sounding treble make the VJJB a less refined and mature sounding earphones than the exceptional E1000.

    All in all, if your a kid that listen to pop and rap, go with the VJJB, if your a budget audiophile: jump on the E1000.




    CONCLUSION :


    VJJB is a very competent chinese audio company that deserve more praise for their budget earphones. Always staying in the very affordable sub 50$ price range, VJJB are sure a leader when it come to value and product presentation.

    The N30 are another winner in term of overall value and sound, it’s a well tuned U shaped sounding earphones that offer impressively clear and vivid mid range without sounding too bright or agressive. With a smooted upper treble, the N30 will please bass lover as much as vocal fan.

    All in all, if you search for a unique looking earphones at a bargain price and don’t really care about changeable (non-mmcx or 2pin) cable dilema, I think that the N30 offer a very fun and potent sound with well balanced tuning that never sound boring.

    For more reviews or audio products impressions and news, give a look at my NO BS REVIEWS BLOG
      B9Scrambler likes this.
    1. B9Scrambler
      Was expecting a much lower score given your initial impressions. Nice to see you warmed up to them.
      B9Scrambler, Jun 22, 2019
  2. nxnje
    VJJB N30 - Alien Rumble!
    Written by nxnje
    Published Jun 7, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - - Huge bass response, well suited for bass maniacs
    - Comfortable
    - Great cable
    - Superb packaging, good variety of tips, alongside with a nice carry bag and a great cable
    - Super fun signature. These are highly market-targeted headphones, offered for a precise segment which includes bassheads
    Cons - - Highs are not as detailed as many of its competitors
    - Technical performance is just average, i expected something better in terms of technical ability
    - Sound signature is what implies many of these things, so this is a kind of sound signature which cannot be an allrounder's one
    Hello everyone!
    This time i’ve received a strange pair of IEMs by AK Audio which i really thank for their trust in my reviewing activity. They said me they would have looked like “aliens” and, in fact, i’ve noticed it as soon as i opened the package. Let’s see if they could be “aliens” even speaking about performance!

    You can buy the VJJB N30 from AK Audio by clicking on the link at the end of the review!

    I wanna remember everyone that you can find me on my website for other reviews: https://www.yourstingyfriend.altervista.org

    photo6041636912697028385.jpg

    Just wanna precise that my impressions are subjective and that listening experience can change depending on source, tips and so on.

    Test were made on:
    – Galaxy S7 Edge Smartphone
    – Presonus AudioBOX iONE connected to my PC with no Enhancements actived
    – AGPTEK M30B/Benjie S8 DAP
    I even connect my Fiio A3 when i need it if i hear some earphones need a little more power.

    Technical specs:
    Drivers: 2 DD + 1 BA
    Sensitivity: 96dB
    Impedance: 20ohm
    Frequency Response: 20 Hz – 24000 Hz
    Cable lenght: 1.2m (MMCX Connectors)
    Plug Type: Straight gold plated 3.5 mm jack

    PACKAGING

    Packaging is really another level: reaching this brand after many reviews of KZ, CCA, TRN products, we have something new.
    The packaging is really premium with a carton box that shows elegance as soon as we open it. Every tip takes his own position while we observe the IEMs on the right side. A real nice presentation of their product. The package cointains 7 pairs of different tips (including a pair of foam tips), IEMs, a cable with MMCX connectors and a very appreciated soft bag in which you can store your IEMs on the go.

    photo6041636912697028391.jpg photo6012575244121911246.jpg photo6041636912697028388.jpg

    CABLE


    Cable feels stiff in the hands, but well built. It doesn’t feel cheap and has rubber ending near the MMCX in order to provide more grip when plugging the connectors in and while removing them.
    It features an appreciated rubberized chin slider and in my case a microphone with a multifunctional button (works well on android, i can answer to calls, play and pause and so on).

    photo6041636912697028393.jpg

    CONSTRUCTION AND INTERNALS


    IEMs are mostly made of plastic but feel solid. There are some little imprecisions here and there but nothing that really changes my opinion of a well built product.
    They’re transparent, so that means you can easily see what hides inside alongside with driver connections and so on. This is a triple driver configuration which is not really common as many of you could think, as many brands prefer going on 4/5 drivers or just hybrid dual drivers configurations.

    photo6041636912697028386.jpg photo6041636912697028389.jpg photo6041636912697028390.jpg

    COMFORT AND ISOLATION

    In my ears, they are very comfortable. Their strange “alien” look and shape justify their rounded shell making them really comfortable for long listening sessions. Imho, one of my most comfortable IEMs (even if not at the level of ZS10PRO, CCA C10’s – and so on- shell, which i really love).
    Isolation is fairly good, but even in this case something like the CCA C10 wins hands down. The metal faceplate is maybe a bit harder for surround noises to be penetrated compared to plastic. Considering the good variety of tips, i guess you’ll not need buying another pair of tips, except the case you have your own favourite tips and wanna put them on these.

    photo6041636912697028387.jpg

    SOUND

    Let’s get into it.
    Now the critical factor that decides if something has to be tried or not: how do they sound?
    I mainly listen to EDM subgenres, Dupstep, Future Bass, Euphoric Hardstyle, Bass House, Midtempo and downtempo, darkwave, drum’n bass, but i even listen to many vocal tracks, moreover female ones.
    I always search for IEMs that have a little bit of emphasis in the lower region, and can sacrifice mids with some recession if they still sound clear and natural. I love vivid and sparkling highs if they’re not at a headache level.
    V-shape signature is usually my favourite one but in the last period i’m appreciating a more balanced presentation with less recessed mids, more of a U shape.

    Lows: great low end! Punchy, agile and fast bass. These DDs do a very good job.
    Kickdrums hit hard maintaining a well textured structure. Sub-bass is extended and rumbles when called. Bass tends to intrude in the midrange in many cases but that’s not necessarily a good thing if you’re used to this kind of sound signature.

    Mids: mids are recessed. Compared to other IEMs that i have, the midrange is more recessed. I would say recession level is at EZ Audio D4 level.
    Male voices have a nice warm touch while female voices are a bit shy and distant and feel too much warm at times. Midrange still sound clear but be aware these have a good amount of recession so if you’re searching for something to listen to instrumental tracks, search elsewhere, maybe something with a more forward midrange.

    Highs: they are not fatiguing at all. Perfect for people who cannot stand treble. Being the bass really powerful, the upper range tends to be warmer, with little sibilance just in some rare cases where songs are prone of being sibilant. Detail is average with plenty of air, nothing outstanding anyway if we compare it to some competitors.

    Soundstage is average being deeper than wider with limited height . I would say these are more suited for a “narrower” or “little” stage experience.
    Instrument separation is a bit below my expectations but imaging is fairly good.

    Now some comparisons:
    vs KZ ZSN PRO

    ZSN PROs are fairly new in KZ’s lineup, and part of their new PRO line which re-offer some old named IEMs by them (ZS10, ZSN and so on) with a renewed tuning and configuration.
    Soundwise, their sound signature is quite different. While the VJJB N30 is super emphasized on the lower end, the ZSN PROs are punchy and boosted but not as much as the N30
    Sub-bass is more extended in the VJJB N30 providing a stronger rumble.
    Midrange is more forward in the ZSN PRO, with little better detail and instrument separation. Imaging is on par. Highs are more fatiguing on the ZSN PRO while the N30 are really pleasant to listen in that region: they’re warmer and do not sound aggressive. Plus, ZSN PROs tend to be more sibilant compared to the N30. Soundstage on the ZSN PRO is wider while it’s deeper on the VJJB N30. Height is on par with little to no advantage for the ZSN PRO.

    vs MEMT x5
    These are included in my first IEMs list that i have bought before diving into the Chi-Fi train.
    They were hyped for their killer value at their time, and many people were speaking well about’em.
    I used them as my daily drivers for more than a year.
    When i received my N30 i instantly got back in the time when i was wearing my MEMT x5.
    I think the N30 are a direct upgrade of the x5 in terms of signature and technical performance. Sound signature is practically the same with strong mid recession, powerfull bass and sub-bass response, not fatiguing and easygoing high end. Soundstage is better on the N30 being wider and deeper with identical height. Technically, N30 are more refined with a more authoritative timbre, but the x5 are a bit better while resolving female voices. Imaging and instrument separation are better on the N30. At the price they’re being sold, i would buy the N30 instead of the x5, except the case you prefer standard bullet earphones. I’d say VJJB showed us they can really dig it when it comes to a precise target and they’re now offering a real deal for bassheads or hip-hop fans out there, with a great package overall.

    SUMMARY

    I didn’t know VJJB brand, which actually impressed me with their great packaging, variety of tips and a very good cable.
    Soundwise, they’re fun, with a very powerful bass response: i would really advice these to some bass maniacs friends as bass here is really punchy and engaging. Performance-wise, they didn’t blow me away. I think there are better choices out there at the same price range: something like the QT5 represent a real killer value in this market segment with actually a few IEMs that can still compete around 20$, but they have another kind of sound signature and could not suit bass maniacs tastes.
    Great job VJJB, can’t wait to try something new from you again.
      hqssui likes this.