V-MODA Crossfade M-100 - Reviews
Pros: Durability is grand, Bass is present, Looks stunning and mean, Highs are pronounced
Cons: You have two options with these: Sound Quality of Comfort. Pick which one is more important
I really wanted to love these headphones, and boy did they not deliver for me.
 
When I first got these, they sounded pretty good, not great though due to the extremely genre-specific nature. I returned them partly due to this nature they had (leaning towards Hard Rock/Metal, Rap, R&B, Electronic, all the bass-heavy stuff), That's the short review, now onto the long one:
 
I had two different types of earpads for these, the factory and the XL. The reason I feel the need to do this is because the quality is so different between the two that it would be misleading not to compare. So here we go:
 
 
 
 
Factory Earcups:
 
 
Pros
-Highs and Mids quite warm (Not the best with telling which ones are the mids and highs, but compared to my M50x, the mids were surprisingly cleaner.)
-Bass was definitely present, but not extremely booming. Pretty clean as well.
-Sound staging was quite nice, albeit tight, but precise
-Mobile listening as a basshead
 
Cons
-Comfortable... For an hour. It was to the point where I couldn't do what I wanted to with them after two hours, and HAD to take a break.
-Lows are drowned out by bass (I think? Sorry I'm kind of noob at IDing specific)
-Tight sound stage (this is more preference-based, though)
-Unless your sticking to the specific genres, the instruments sound poor
 
 
 
XL Earcups:
 
 
Pros
-Wider sound stage than the basic cups
-Clearer highs
-Even more bass (preference)
-SUPER COMFORTABLE
 
 
Cons
-Mobile Listening is destroyed
-Overpowering bass
-Lows are even more recessed
-Mids become recessed like the lows
 
 
 
Here is an explanation for why I returned these headphones:
Don't get me wrong, these worked great as mainstream mobile cans, which was their intended purpose. Hell they work damn well for gaming with the tight stage. But my main issue with these headphones is, you have two options:
Comfort or Sound Quality
 
Which one do you want to suffer more? Because one must suffer with manufacturer pads, you can't have a nice sound and comfort without making your own pads, and I'm not putting in the time for these things.
Pros: High quality bass, U/V-Shaped sound signature, Industrial looks, and a bang for your buck!
Cons: Uncomfortable for long listening sessions w/ Regular Pads or XL-Pads.
Will be doing a re-review soon, I've had so much time with these cans, and I've learned a lot in the time since I had these. Many parts of this review will be slimmed and observations will be changed. Stay tuned for the time being. -Programmar
 
 


 
I. Introduction - Plenty Of Pictures
 


Hello, this will be my first review on the Head-Fi website, I will try to go in depth on these headphones and I hope I could provide some insight on these sweet cans. -Programmer
 
Please provide feedback on terminologies or spelling/grammar mistakes I have made, this will make future reviews much better and still retain the same amount of details in this review!
 ​
Note: I have multiple silent revisions already, please come check back every now and then to see if I updated important info!
 ​
Note 2: All pictures were shot from my LG G4, they are my pictures.
 

 
II. Impressions
 

I have to say, I was struggling between the Sony MDRXB950BT in blue or red, the Audio-Technica ATH-M50xBL Professional Studio Monitor Headphones, the Sennheiser HD 598 Special Edition Over-Ear Headphones, and the Phantom Chrome V-MODA Crossfade M-100s. Ultimately, I am pretty happy with my purchase of the V-MODA Crossfade M-100 in Phantom Chrome.
 
2015-12-2611.32.081.jpg

 2015-12-2611.32.131.jpg

 
III. Unboxing
 


I am really impressed with the new cover design, more so the color scheme of it. A very unique unboxing experience.
 
 20151226_153111-01.jpg 20151226_153102-01.jpg 20151226_153044-01.jpg

EXTRA: COMPARISON WITH THE WHITE SILVER CROSSFADE M-100 BOX

2015-12-2801.30.271.jpg

2015-12-2801.30.291.jpg

2015-12-2801.30.301.jpg

2015-12-2801.30.311.jpg
 

PACKAGING:

Now once you open the box, here’s what you get:
  1. V-MODA User Manual
  2. Letter From CEO Val Kolton + Immortal Life Activation  
  3. V-MODA Sticker
  4. V-MODA Accessory Handbook
  5. ¼’’ [6.3mm] Pro Plug-In Adapter
  6. New Magnetic Exagonal Screwdriver w/ Grip
  7. 2 V-Corks [Used to cover-up unused ports]
  8. 12 Black Screws
  9. An Extra Shield - Chrome
  10. Crossfade M-100 Hard Exoskeleton Case - Black w/ Black Carabiner Clip and V-STRAP to organize your cables

20160102_164841.jpg
 

EXOSKELETON CASE

Now once you open the Exoskeleton case, which is a deep black color, both outside and inside, that is accompanied with the orange "V-MODA" text on the bottom of it. Nothing too fancy.
 
20160102_165927.jpg

20160102_165943.jpg

INSIDE EXOSKELETON CASE:

Here’s what you get:
  1. Phantom Chrome Crossfade M-100
 
  1. Share-Play Kevlar Black Cable,
  2. 45 Degree 3.5mm Plug, 24k Gold
  3. [79" / 200cm in length]
 
  1. One Button Speak-Easy Black Kevlar Cable
  2. 45 Degree 3.5mm Plug, 24k Gold
  3. [52” / 132 cm in length] [Universal Compatibility]

20160102_165440.jpg 20160102_171435.jpg 

 
IV. The Headphones
 

 
20160102_165440.jpg

20160102_165451.jpg

20160102_165507.jpg
 

 
A. Value - $249.99 USD - Compared to other brands that offer what the M-100’s offer at this price point. You get more here then you get with any other brand. Good value-to-price ratio.
 
You can even find these headphones for as low as $220, keep a lookout for this or similar prices.
 

 
B. Headband - Supposedly the STEELFLEX headband is virtually indestructible. What's present is a nice black color with slightly slanted V-MODA text on top. Headband is capable of bending in any direction, and 10 flat bends. [Not Recommended]
 
Left and Right are also labeled in plain sight. But if you need help remembering which ever port you want to use only, use the V-CORK's provided to cover up the unused port.
 

C. Shields - The headphones come with 2 shields black and chrome. [The chrome shields are a major fingerprint magnet, but the black shields are less noticeably so]

 
  1. With the new Exagonal Screwdriver, you’ll scratch the shields less, meaning more precision when taking out the screws.
  2. The screwdriver is also magnetic so the black screws won’t be lost so easily.
  3. After taking off the shield, you are treated to the M-100’s V-PORT V3 Airflow system. DON’T TAKE THE TAPE OFF!
 

 
D. Cushions - Memory Cushions - Provides a very good seal for very good sound isolation. Not recommended with glasses, because it will ruin the isolation and it will hurt your head. These headphones get really uncomfortable with the standard cushion, I’d recommend a paper towel mod, adjusting the ear cups slightly higher than normal, or just buy the XL-Ear pads.
 
These headphones became comfortable after 2 weeks of almost nonstop use, but honestly, I shouldn't wait 2 weeks to have a comfortable pair of cans. My score for comfort will still stand.
 

 
Crossfade M-100 BLISS Memory Cushions [Included] [Colored Black] [$15 USD]: 2 pads made from Ergosoft Memory Foam.
 

 
Included BLISS Memory Cushion within the hours:
  1. 0-15 Minutes: Very comfortable [2 WEEK BURN-IN] Very comfortable actually, no pain when I first put it on.
  2. 15-30 Minutes: Little force can be felt on the ear, light compression. [2 WEEK BURN-IN] No compression can be felt, still comfortable.
  3. 30-60 Minutes: Some force can be felt on the ear, slight pain ensues. Even more compression. [2 WEEK BURN-IN] No compression still, but heat starts to build up.
  4. 60-120 Minutes: Noticeable stronger compression can be felt. [Recommended to take a 10-15  minute break.] [2 WEEK BURN-IN] Still no compression. Heat still continues to build up.
  5. 120+ Minutes: Ears become numb, ear becomes hot, ears turn red, and pain comes on in full force after you take the headset off. [Recommended 30-60+ minute break.] [2 WEEK BURN-IN] Still comfortable, could honestly go for a few more hours. Ear becomes very hot, and only light pain.
 

 
XL Cushions [$20 USD] [Recommended with purchase of Crossfade M-100]: I had previously bought these with the White Silver M-100s about 8-9 months ago, so they had plenty of usage time. I was also told by fellow Head-Fi'ers that these are not memory cushions.
 

 
XL Cushions within the hours:
  1. 0-15 Minutes: Very comfortable
  2. 15-30 Minutes: Very comfortable still
  3. 30-60* Minutes: Comfortable with very light compression.
  4. 60-120* Minutes: Cushions begins to compress even more.
  5. 120+* Minutes: Ears begin to feel some pain, any longer would make me want to take a break.
 

 
*=The XL-Pads will lose its original structure, after 8-9 months of constant use, the cushions will lose that very comfortable feel within that 30-120 minute marks.
 

 
E. Dual Inputs -  The inputs have a nice locking mechanism in it, but it will lose its locking mechanism quite fast, and the cables will pop out easily. So be weary of that.
 
[2 WEEK BURN-IN] I was right, the locking became much more loose and the cables will detach more easily. This is only when good amount of force is applied, light pulls won't take the cables out so easily, but accidental pulls will.
 

 
  1. This headphone will allows you to daisy chain up to 2 headphones with SharePlay cable. This means you can share your music with others, its feature that's there if you need it.
  1. You can plug in the SpeakEasy cable either side of the headphone inputs and it will work. Make sure you plug in the cable with the 45 Degree jack on the audio source or else the SpeakEasy cable won’t work.
  1. The entry is so narrow and deep that many cables won't be able to fit in it
  2. Use the V-Corks to cover up the unused ports.
 

 
F. Cable Quality - The reinforced Kevlar cable for the SpeakEasy cable and SharePlay cable is amazing on paper, but in person, it's absolutely annoying.
 
The cables will fray within 2-3 weeks, and the cable will twist/kink in certain spots and will put unnecessary stress on the cable, but don't worry about the cables fraying to the point where you will see the internal wiring. I have used these cables for almost a year already with my other M-100s and they still hold strong. They just fray alot.
 
The button on the SpeakEasy cable is serviceable, just make sure to not press the button on the cable too hard, or else it will get stuck and become useless.
 
UPDATE: The black SpeakEasy/SharePlay cable DOES NOT, I repeat, does not fray within 2 weeks of use, still doing further stress tests. Be weary though, it will still twist in many directions. 
 
What I recommend to do if the cable kinks/twist, is to remove the cable from your headphones, or audio source, and unkink/untwist the cable themselves. It will prevent further stress on the cable, help it retain its shape, and quite possibly keep it from fraying.
 

 
G. Weight - Very lightweight for me, this will weigh around 280 grams, and won’t feel heavy on your head at all.
 
But I do have to mention the noticeable down force on the headphones. Sometimes it hurts the top of my head, but it goes away after adjusting the headphones on my head.
 
[2 WEEKS OF USE] No noticeable down-force anymore within an hour of listening. It will begin to creep up after the 1 1/2 - 2+ hour mark.
 

 
H. Design - I love the CLIQFOLD hinge mechanism, it is pure genius. Making the headphone comically small for easy storage, it is a no brainer!
 
I also love the “no-gaps” design of the headphones, gives the headphone some sense of style and sleekness to it. Its suppose to align with the features on your face.
 
The build quality is superb might I add, metal material in all the right places. And I have treated these headphones like @#$% without the case!
 
 
NOTE: The Phantom Chrome variant of the M-100 is a fingerprint magnet, not very noticeable, but look well enough and you can see the finger prints.
 

 
V. Sound Quality - This is based on information given from V-MODA themselves, fellow Head-Fi users, and myself.
 

 
A. Impedance and Sensitivity - 32 Ohms and 103 dB - The Crossfade M-100 falls near the average for impedance and would not require an amp for the regular listening. But if you want, I would recommend the FiiO E6. Its cheap, it works, and it will give you some bass boost features if you want it.
 

 
B. Frequency Response - 5 Hz - 30 kHz- The Crossfade M-100 frequency range of is a little excessive. Given the low bass frequencies, this pair of headphones is a great set of headphones for bass heavy music.
 

 
C. Diaphragm - 50mm Dual-Diaphragm Driver - Inner and outer rings separate the bass from bleeding into the mids and highs. The Crossfade M-100 diaphragm diameter is 1.90 inches, which is a bit higher than the average of 1.60 inches for other over-ear headphones. This makes it slightly better for bass.
 

 
E. Noise Isolation - Analog Noise Isolation: I used these at school and in car rides and they block out the outside noise pretty well, but not as well in in-ear headsets or noise-cancelling headsets. But I find the pretty well isolation to be beneficial, because it makes me aware of my surroundings.
 
At obviously really high volumes these do leak a good amount of sound, it also puts unnecessary stress on the drivers. You shouldn't even be listening that loudly in the first place. At normal listening volumes, leakage is nonexistent.
 
The V-PORT V3 Air Flow System vents on the earcups, allows air to flow through the drivers. This will likely decreases noise isolation, and as a result there is some sound leakage, but it's very minimal.
 
It shouldn't be a problem to people sitting next to you in a quiet classroom or library.
 

 
F. Sound Signature - U/V-Shaped - There is a defining sound signature of these headphones. Overall the headphones had a somewhat of a U/V-Shaped signature. The M-100s is really more prominent in the bass and slight forwardness in the trebles.
 
But the mids are somewhat more neutral/flat however due to the characteristics of the bass and trebles.
 
The U/V-Shaped signature is very desirable for me, but probably not for others.
 

 
G. Sound stage - The sound stage is beautifully textured, the sound stage also has both good depth and width. The sound stage feels large, though not quite on par with open headphones, you will genuinely get a 3D effect of being in a club.
 
Action movies also sound very immersive especially during actions scenes involving weapons discharging and explosions.
 
These factors also make the instrument separation noticeable and increases the ability to focus on instrumental details. This is something you will yearn for when you listen to other types of headphones, different types of music,different types of movies, or playing different types of games.
 

 
H. Vocals - Vocals on the M-100 are intimate, clear and lively. The M-100 provides plenty of clarity and details. A way to illustrate the M-100 sounds; its like you're sitting near the stage at a concert.
 

 
I. Bass -  The bass rendering is the most prominent feature in the M-100's. This was the trait I fell in love with, because honestly I am a bass head.
 
The bass on the M-100 has demonstrated to reached deep [I mean really deep] bass, yet it is well controlled. On tracks that do emphasize on bass, there is this beautiful 3-Dimensional bass rendering that is oh-so crystal clear, high quality and reverberating. The M-100's bass traits have attuned to me on how to appreciate high quality bass. Very tight bass I might add.
 
It has resulted me actively searching for new bass-oriented tracks that excels in this quality. [Especially Trap music, with hard hitting bass]
 
Where as other headphones attempt to reach that deep in these cans, ultimately resulted in boomy fart cannons or bleeding bass into the mids.  
 
I did some more testing and found out that the bass can be quite over powering in some chaotic games, such as Battlefield.
 

 
J. Treble* - The trebles is just above neutral. This in itself is a positive trait. I found the trebles have been creeping up to be a little more above neutral and I'm appreciating it a lot more the longer I use it. It's airy, transparency and micro-detail, is a treat to my ears. Not too sharp or shallow.
 
In more complex/intensive music the treble can become painfully ear piercing, an example can be trap/EDM hybrid music.
 
*=Do some more research on this bit, every person hears things a little differently.
 

 
K. Mids - To my ears the mids are somewhat restraint, it seems to be neutral/flat. For me, I’m alright with this. Because the bass is controlled and doesn't bleed into the mids, my ears can focus pretty well on it if I wanted to and there is clarity and detail to be heard in the mids.
 
The recessed mids can be considered a con for some people.

 

NEVER PUT A SOFTWARE EQ ON THIS HEADPHONE, IT WILL JARBLE UP THE SOUND QUALITY!* 

*=This is from personal experience.
 

 

VI. Video Game Sound Quality:

 

 
For this sound quality test, I will be using a PC equipped with an High Definition sound card with Nivida HD sound drivers.
 

 
Counter Strike: Global Offensive - Weapons sound great, especially the AWP. Footsteps are very audible, which is crucial for a game like this. Get the V-MODA BoomPro gaming mic if you want to use the M-100 as a chat headset, or some other detachable microphone.
 

 
Battlefield 3: Multiplayer - Weapons sound amazing, great sound design. Dialogue from allied and hostile players sound good for tactical play.Vehicles sound pretty good, but the T-90/M1 Abrams sound very bassy. Overall, distant sounds and explosions sound great and you'll be very immersed. 
 

 
Grand Theft Auto V: Single Player - Vehicles sound great, not too bassy when in first person view. Weapons sound good I guess, but I'd recommend a mod that changes the weapon sounds. Character dialogue sounds very good and well done. The radio and ambient soundtrack sounds very good the M-100s.
 

 
Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege: Single Player - Footsteps and speech is very audible and gives you a very good sense of how close or far away they are. Echoing while stepping on certain surfaces sound good and accurate. Weapons sound great and heavy, and pack a serious punch too. 
 

 

VI. Audio Test - FLAC's & 320KPS MP3's

 

 
VIII. Final Verdict + Scores
 


Wrapping up this whole experience, it has been one of the most, if not the most, interesting experiences I have ever experienced.[WOW] Especially the unboxing. The M-100 was developed for the purpose of fulfilling the needs of "Modern audiophiles". For me, the M-100's are the best on-the-go, or stay-at-home headphone I have ever laid my hands upon and so they have a high sentimental value to me.The M-100 provides a mostly balanced sound for my multiple genres of music. The Crossfade M-100 really is the perfect all-around headphones, easily. In comparison, other headphones I've tried can only somewhat meet, but not exceed these standards. These are not analytical, flat headphones, no. These are high quality portable headphones with a sleek look, and exquisitely detailed sound. Seriously, these blow the previous brands I have owned right out of the water.
 

PROS: High Quality Bass, U/V-Shaped Sound Signature, Industrial looks, and bang for your buck!

 

CONS: Uncomfortable for long listening sessions w/ Regular Pads or XL-Pads.


Audio Quality9 

                          8 With more intensive music.

 

Comfort: 6 w/ Regular Pads

                7.5  w/ XL-Pads

 

Design:  9

 

Value:  9


PRICE: [ $220 - $270 ]*
 
*=Be sure to compensate for sales tax and purchase of accessories.
 

"A unique unboxing experience, tasteful industrial look, and unique sound with high quality bass is guaranteed!" -Programmer


2015-12-2611.32.121.jpg
 


Flamess
Flamess
Very unique review format. Great review also :)
Programmer
Programmer
@Flamess Thank you, friend!
Programmer
Programmer
I have moved on from these cans, I will be purchasing the Crossfades II's.
Pros: Thumping and kicking bass without destroying the mids and highs too much. Fun sound, made for contemporary electronic music.
Cons: Stock pads are uncomfortable. Buying XL pads is essential if your listening time exceeds 30 minutes.
This is a quite controversial pair of headphones. You hate it or you love it.

IMG_20150615_105707.jpg
 


People who love it usually come from the crowd with Beats and Apple earphones. These people are very enthusiastic about the M-100s, saying they have never heard this much detail and controlled bass without overshadowing other frequencies.

 "Audiophiles", who prefer high-end opened back hp-s, won't like the M100 too much.  Most of them will complain about the narrow soundstage and bass quantity. They are looking for a natural, lifelike presentation, as they usually listen to acoustic instrumental music like classical or jazz, and for those genres M-100 is not a good choice. Buy a good pair of opened back headphone with a good amp for that purpose. (HD600, etc.)

IMG_20150615_163540.jpg
 

 
M-100 was made for contemporary music, especially for music with any kind of electronic part in it. Not just house or EDM, but ambient, chill, pop. These genres and type of music just sound awesome on these. This kind of music sounds better on the M-100 than it sounds on the HD600 with a good amp. A pair of opened dynamic headphones will never be able to give back as punchy and strong bass as a good closed headphone is able to do.
 The M100 is not the best headphones in the world, but for the above mentioned purposes these are a very good choice for the money.
You also get a very good quality and small carrying case, and 2 very good cables with the M100.

If you want to hear lifelike string instruments or the changed voice of a jazz singer due to a recent flu, than look further.

If you want to enjoy your EDM, and this is your budget, you have found your headphones. (Just make sure you buy a pair of XL pads too.) :)
Pros: Good bass, good overall sound, great sound isolation in even the noisiest of environments
Cons: As purchased they are on ear, need to replace pads at cost to make them over ear, but they're too tight to be on ear
I purchased these headphones about 6 months ago.  The first thing I noticed was not the sound, it was the amount of pressure on my ears.  Within 15 minutes, my ears were sore from wearing them.  A quick look around found that many people had the same problem, and that the answer was to purchase the larger pads and replace the default set.  I did so, but still had issues with the amount of pressure that was now around my ears instead.  It took months to find out that the headband was meant to be bent little bits at a time to set the head size.  Stretching it out a couple times resolved most of the remaining comfort issues without making them loose.  As a result, I can no longer use the nice hard case they came with, because the case forms them back to the original size and shape every time I put them away.
 
On to the sound, these headphones can be driven by just about anything, but will definitely see a marked improvement using a good amp.  I have used them with standard on-board computer sound cards and cell phones and they sound better than your average headphone by far.  Connected to an Asus Xonar STX, they're noticeably improved.  I now have them connected to a Schiit Bifrost/Asgard 2 combo, and it's again a big improvement over the Xonar.  When idle, I would estimate they drown out 75-80% of the surrounding noise.  When playing, they drown out 99%+.  Bass is good with an ordinary amp, almost too hot with a good amp.  Running the "ultimate headphone test" at http://www.audiocheck.net/soundtests_headphones.php demonstrates a clearly audible 10Hz tone.  5Hz sine wave is nearly undetectable, but I suspect that is as much about human hearing as it is about product.  High frequency test, I hear tones starting at 18KHz (Update/edit: I found out after writing this that 18KHz is the highest I can hear, your mileage may vary).  Using the sweep tones, I do notice a couple of drops in volume both going into and leaving the "mid" extremities as it passes each crossover, but they are not large drops, and are well within the abilities of an equalizer to fix should one want to.
 
It is true that when driven hard and when a lot of bass is in the source material, the drivers can generate a little heat, but I have not experienced a scenario where the amount generated was uncomfortable.  Outbound sound leakage is almost non-existent.  If you put your ear up to the outside plate of them, you can hear it, but not without doing so.  Friends stopping in have repeatedly noted this to be true, that they can never tell if I'm actually listening to anything or not when they walk in if I don't tell them.
 
In summary, and with the caveats above that require some listener knowledge of the product to make them ideal, I would recommend these, especially to someone just starting out in headphone audio, as they make a very good stepping stone while you're still deciding on your equipment.
mrmoto050
mrmoto050
The M-100 are not on ear. The M80 are. If the pads are too small for you I would suggest you purchase the XL Pads on V-moda's site they are very comfy.
Pros: Bass Response, uncolored midrange, extended Highs
Cons: Can become uncomfortable over extended periods, a little "hot" around the ears.
I think they're five stars at the price I paid. I might have to trim a piece of a star at the MSRP. My two references are the Sennheiser 650 and the Ultrasone Pro 900's, but these are preferable for portable applications and have virtues of their own.  They have an "immediacy" that I assign to their efficiency, I am encouraged to listen at lower levels on these 'phones rather than turning them up to try to get them to "enunciate" or bloom.  It's an unexpected virtue.  The Pro 900's hit me more like ear "speakers".  The 650's are where I get the most "reference" bang for my buck.  (I vacillate between it and my 600's, which I've had over a decade.  To not sound identical, they both certainly are seductive.) So many Headphones, so little time.  (And cash.....)  Appearances (outside of not looking "cheap") aren't of great importance to me.  I'm definitely a "function" over "form" person.  Nobody likes "plug ugly", but if they're thoughtfully designed and executed I'm pretty easy to please.
Pros: Stylish,
Cons: Bass is a bit bloated, Really recessed mids, Lacks detail, No soundstage to speak of, Overpriced
I tried the v-moda m100 a few months ago when I purchased it and deciding between them and the hd 650. In the end I kept the 650, these headphones are without a doubt pretty overpriced for the sound quality.
 
Pros: The m100 is pretty stylish is it one of the most stylish heaphones out there, build quality seems somewhat solid though I am not a big fan of those metal hinges it just seems a bit delicate for my tastes. These headphones are without a doubt for bass heads they are pretty v-shaped but it also seems like it is lacking or a bit rolled off on the treble. Bass extension is great but just a tad bit farty and uncontrolled (stock pads).
 
Cons: The m100 is pretty overpriced for what it does perhaps not Bose overpriced but around there. My kevlar cable had these little white wires coming out of it, after a week of use and to be honest the sound quality is not that great. The mids are really recessed, with the bass basically overwhelming them bass it is not as controlled or defined as it should be it sounds bloated and slightly farty. The soundstage is extremely closed in there is basically no sound stage with these headphones. Due most likely to the slight roll off on the treble, this headphone is missing a ton of detail and resolution in the mids. The bass doesn't help much as it overpowers them. Basically for what this headphone retails for $300 it is not worth it at all, at that price point you are better off getting a deal on an hd 650 or 600 and if you just care about bass heavy music I would suggest the he-400 instead. If you want something portable the momentum sounds better than this heck even the m50 is better.
  • Like
Reactions: lancevance117
Tacanacy
Tacanacy
How is anyone supposed to take this review into concern when you don't mention if you used it for video games, music or movies?
Pros: Great pounding bass, excellent depth, good sound stage, great headphone for electronicas or hip hop, forgiving of bad source
Cons: mids can be a tad to laid back for some people, slight bleed into lower mids, not a good choice if you're not a bass head

Pros: Oustanding for mobile use, love the non-tangling cord, full bass (witout overpowering), responds well to EQ and very well built
Cons: Ear pads and get hot, slightly recessed mids
First off, I should clarify that I own a number of V-Moda gear, including IEMs, on-ear, over-ear and cables.  I have found that their customer service is really outstanding and if you buy a number of different headphones, you know how important this is.  I own gear from other manufacturers, including Westone, Audio-Technica, Klipsch, Etamonics and at one point or another, I have had service issues that may require several calls or emails.  Not with V-Moda, they get me from my first contact and everything flows just as smoothly from there.
 
On to the Crossfades M-100, here are a few thoughts:
*     Excellent sound presentation, with bass being a little forward but not overly dominant.
*     Very easy to drive and sound great without an DAC/Amp and modulate well with EQ settings
*     Non-tangle cord, which is wrapped in cloth to insure microphonics and are comfortable when rubbing against you as you move around.
*     Comes with "dual" splitter cord that allows you to plug two headphones into one source.
*     Allows for plug on the headphones that also allow you to plug in two headphones in and listen to the same source.
*     Works for multiple types of music
*     Great build quality
*    Amazing value when you compare sound, quality, build and look.
 
Drawbacks, every headphone has them:
*     The pads, they are not awful, just not optimal.  However, I am picky on pads and have switched a lot of my pads out on various headphones I own.
*     Mids are slightly recessed, but I prefer them this way.
 
Overall, I feel they are oustanding for sound and value, something I find in most of the V-Moda line.  I cannot think of a company that gives you more bang for the buck and their customer service is certainly another factor to consider in any purchase.
Incompetency
Incompetency
Nice review, it was thorough and insightful.
May I ask how these would compare to the Audio Technica A900X?
Yelnats Ayochok
Yelnats Ayochok
Great headphones, been using it for more than a year but one day the left side started to have problems, it will connect and disconnect while the right side is still working fine. Twisting the cable or removing and plugging it back to the headphones temporarily solved the problem. I tried plugging the cord to the either side of the headphone but same problem, no sound on left but right still works. Also tried to dismantle and check if wiring inside have disconnected or soldered wires corroded or something. Soldering seems OK still. Lastly I daisy chained another headphone to the M100, the other headphone produced sound on both side but the M100's left side still wont work. Has anybody experienced this?
Yelnats Ayochok
Yelnats Ayochok
Great headphones, been using it for more than a year but one day the left side started to have problems, it will connect and disconnect while the right side is still working fine. Twisting the cable or removing and plugging it back to the headphones temporarily solved the problem. I tried plugging the cord to the either side of the headphone but same problem, no sound on left but right still works. Also tried to dismantle and check if wiring inside have disconnected or soldered wires corroded or something. Soldering seems OK still. Lastly I daisy chained another headphone to the M100, the other headphone produced sound on both side but the M100's left side still wont work. Has anybody experienced this?
Pros: great audio quality (especially if you're a basshead), compact, passive sound isolation
Cons: uncomfortable with stock pads
So I've been doing some research for the past few months and finally decided that I'd make the jump to truly hi-fi audio with these cans and simply put am amazed. First impressions of these cans with the stock cups weren't all that great, but putting on the XL earcups (I highly reccomend buying the extra large earcups for these if you're buying these) they were comfortable. Now after I dealt with switching the earcups (the right one was stuck, so that was fun getting it out) I plugged it into my phone (HTC M8) and played some FLAC EDM and was blown away with what I heard. Lows were kicking, but without overpowering anything else, mids were present (although a bit repressed), and highs sounded perfect. If you're a basshead I would highly reccomend these, especially since they can be driven reltively properly by things like ipods and phones.
Pros: Literally everything about it.
Cons: I can't fault anything, sorry.
The M-100s are seriously THE BEST headphone I have ever owned. I can't fault these things in any way at all. They have held up significantly well with a lot of wear and the occasional tug on the cord or drop (owned them for just under a year now).

They are essentially a ridiculously good looking tank that sits around your ears. Ok so they have great looks and build quality, that must mean the sound takes a hit and isn't as good. Well...I only left the best to last, the bass is perfect, just prominent enough to give you that oomph without sacrificing the mids or highs.
If electronic music would be the majority of music you listen to these cans are for you. And if you don't listen to that much EDM, than I still would recommend them over anything else. I have no problems when I listen to Tool or indie rock. Seriously, these are the best purchase I have ever made out of my entire life of purchasing. 6 out of 5 stars!


Oh wait, I do have one issue about them...It's that I don't have a second pair in the white. Soon...soon...
Pros: Strong and detailed bass. Rock solid build quality. Comfortable (with XL Pads installed).
Cons: Stock pads are really thin
(Note - XL ear pads are installed. The sound will be judged based on that.)
 
These headphones are absolutely fantastic! They have a futuristic look to them that makes any person, in my opinion, look unique. The design and build of these headphones was all made possible by the by the design team of V-MODA, and the vision aspects of CEO Val Kolton. The M100s have a mostly metal construction, mainly in the headband, and the Y- shape connector that is connecting the headband to the earcups. They have plastic built into them, which i assume is to cut down on weight and cost, but it is still very high quality, and i do not see these breaking any time soon. The cables you get are extremely high quality. They are made out of kevlar, and one of them has your one button remote for apple and android devices, while the other one has a built in splitter so you and a friend can listen to the same music source at once. 
 
The headphones come with a very nicely molded hard shell carrying case that has two little pockets inside that you can slide your cables into.
 
In terms of comfort, these are absolutely fantastic when the XL pads are installed. The earcups completely go around my ears, and they kind of conform to my head shape.
 
For a portable around ear headphone, these are really great. The bass quality of these is absolutely fantastic. I was actually shocked when i put the XL pads on and heard the bass. I was able to hear an immediate difference between the XL and stock pads. It is like night and day, for me anyway. The headphones overall have an emphasis on the bass and treble, and the mids take a backseat to those particular frequencies, but it is not to a point where the midrange is nonexistent. They have a slight fullness to them that makes you get lost in your own little realm. Talking about the treble, it is not a bright headphone by any means. V-MODA did not want this headphone to be bright in any way, but the treble gives life to rock music and others that have treble forward sounds. It is very rich and crisp, to my ears, and the rest of the frequencies kind of make the headphone worth the $310 or $299 price tag.
 
Overall, if you are anywhere from, let's say 14 to 35 years old, you will love these headphones. I also highly recommend replacing the stock pads with the XL pads. Thank you for checking out this review!
  • Like
Reactions: Wilashort
Pros: Mobile, Durable, Quality Sound, Classy Design, Comfortable
Cons: Sharp Mids
Great for all types of music specially with bass.
 
If you use an iPod, iPhone or any iDevice, set the Music Setting EQ to Electronic...!!! Perfect sound! Try it to believe.
You can play with the sound by EQ-ing it depending on the type of sound output you like.
This is one of the best thing about the M100, sound output can be adjusted from Equalizer of your music player if you want a different warm smooth sound.
 
Default sound signature for me is a bit high on Midrange...which I find a bit harsh on my ears however when you try EQ-ing according to your sound preference which for me is "Electronic", The best sound so farrrrr....better than the Sennheiser Momentums Over ear.
 
You can also choose the headphone 3 classy colors and since I have big ears, changed the original earpads to XL.....Whewww!! blew me away. Comfort, Sound, Foldable, Durable Design (cannot go out of style)
What else could you ask for.... whether DJ-ing or quality music listening, perfecto!
 
But nothing is better than trying every headphone unit first before buying...choose well!
Pros: Design, build, isolation, accessories, portability, versitility
Cons: Thin pads
The M100 is V-Moda's top of the line over ear headphone for just about everyone, from DJs, to audiophiles, to casual listeners.
 
Accessories - Clamshell case, 6.3mm adapter, V-Moda Crossfade advertisement, owner's manual, extra headphone jack cover, and 2 cables- one orange with mic and single-button, one black with a headphone splitter for shared music listening. Both sleeved in Kevlar. 
 
One thing I must say, though. V-Moda has made the best cases that I've seen so far that come with a headphone. Not only do they look absolutely fantastic in style, but they're extremely rugged. This is no different here. While it is shaped differently than V-Moda's other cases, like the one for the Crossfade LP, it sacrifices nothing in doing so. 
 
Packaging - when the headphone arrived, I was ecstatic. Of course, that's both due to my true want for this headphone, and the package that it came in. Many headphones come in a rectangular box; not these. The M100 comes in a more of a shape that's true to V-Moda's excellent styling. 
The handle to the package is made of an excellent and soft pleather. Before opening, one must cut off a small ribbon that holds the top shut. Then the user can "un-button" the top, and open the case into the world of V-Moda. 
 
100_2821.jpg 
100_2827.jpg 
 
Build/design - Like all of V-Moda's headphones, these are built like a tank. Industrial. 
The cups are high density plastic, and the shields are stainless steel, as is the adjusting frame and folding hinge. It's almost impossible to break these from normal use. 
 
The outer headband is made of a smooth pleather with the standard V-Moda name branded onto it. The inner headband that rests on the head is made of a cloth that is decently cushioning. 
 
The pads are very soft to the touch, but lack a good amount of space. My ears are relatively small and they get cramped pretty easily inside the cups. V-Moda does have their XL memory foam pads, and I plan to try those out sooner or later. 
 
Comfort - I have no issues with comfort. My left ear gets a bit sore after around an hour, but it's hardly noticeable. The headband feels nonexistent, which is surprising, considering the headphone's weight and the headband's lack of good much cushioning. 
 
100_2828.jpg
100_2832.jpg100_2842.jpg
100_2839.jpg
100_2840.jpg
100_2844.jpg
100_2847.jpg
100_2836.jpg
 
100_2837.jpg100_2854.jpg
100_2855.jpg100_2859.jpg
100_2861.jpg
100_2874.jpg
100_2876.jpg
100_2878.jpg
100_2879.jpg
 
Sound - The V-Moda M100 didn't have the initial sound signature that I expected, but nonetheless, it is excellent. It has a V-Shaped frequency response and sound, so bass and treble are boosted. 
 
Bass - Starting with bass, the M100 boasts some of the most excellent bass that I've heard. Of course, it is boosted, but that's beyond the point. The bass gives the headphone a more heavy sound without giving any detriment to the sound in general. Too often, I find a headphone that sounds amazing on some tracks, but when a bass heavy track comes on, they become a muddy tragedy. That's not anything like the M100 whatsoever. The bass is flawless no matter what. When listening to some of my more recent favorite music (Bossa nova, oddly enough), the bass stays where it
needs to, while adding some extra energy to the bass notes as they play. With EDM, most preferably DnB and house, the bass is really energetic and powerful, making many songs much more engaging. 
 
Midrange - I can tell that the M100 was aimed more at consumers than the faithful M80. The midrange is recessed to about the same level that the M50's mids are recessed. This can be a good or bad thing, depending on the user's preference. I don't like it much, personally. To me, it's more noticeable with electronic music over rock and jazz, which is a bit counterintuitive to what I expected. 
 
Treble - Bright and well extended. It's not anything I would call harsh, since it's done very well. Cymbals are highly detailed and energetic. These do make electronic music really fun to listen to. Most notably for me anything from "Furries in a Blender," which is already fun to listen to to begin with. 
 
Soundstage - This region is a bit odd. It's not spacey, nor is it congested. It's immersive to an extent with accurate positioning. It's pretty wide, to say the least. 
 
Overall - The M100 combines tank-like durability, style, portability, and a bass lover's heaven into one package. For DJ applications, I would probably look around before buying this on impulse. Otherwise, take up your impulse and buy it. 
  • Like
Reactions: Wilashort
Pros: Low impedance, size, can daisy chain,and the durability.
Cons: Sound stage, genere specific, and comfort(replaceable ear pads available.)
The V-Moda M100 is a headphone that will please the average consumer but not please audiophiles.
 
(Note:This is my review from someone who has had only a few other headphones.)
 
The V-Moda come with vivid highs and lows with tame but detailed bass.The Mid's could use some work but are not muffled or drowned out and can have this fixed with a simple equalizer. These headphones are not very painful to listen to. Example:when you hear very sharp tss and sis. These headphones come with replaceable shields that you can buy at V-Modas website for 45$ and 20$ replacement ear pads for comfort improvement. This Headphone in my eyes are a good headphone with little or no problems and for the average person this will be a good upgrade and since headphone listening experiences are different for every person because of point of view but to a modern audiophile another good portable headphone but not that great as a home headphone 
 
What the M100s come with
 
*Share play cable
 
*One button cable with mic
 
*M100
 
*2 year warranty 
 
*1/4 millimeter jack
 
*Case
 
*V-Corks
Pros: Durable & fold-able, full mid-range, lots of bass
Cons: Uncomfortable, lack of treble & clarity, too much bass?
Originally published on June 16, 2013
 
Note: this review is an exact cross-post from post #1 of this thread on Head-Fi, which contains some user discussion on the review that may be relevant to read: http://www.head-fi.org/t/668277/review-v-moda-m-100
 

(click for larger pic)
 
- download a printable 4-page PDF version of this review (target goes to a location on my Dropbox)

Intro

I first heard V-MODA's M-100 at CanJam@RMAF 2012 (in October), where it was "unveiled" for the masses following a long period of pre-hype on Head-Fi. I'd previously owned the M-80 so I was interested to hear the new M-100 at the show, and it sounded very promising. I finally got around to buying my own set back in February and this is my review of them. This review is based on approximately 3 months of ownership (Feb-May '13).

Equipment Setup

- Source components: Plinius CD-101 (CD player) (Signal Cable Silver Reference power cord, directly into wall), desktop PC w/ headphone jack on Yamaha YSTMS50 speakers, iAudio X5
- Analog interconnects: Emotiva X-Series RCA
- Headphone amplifiers: Burson Soloist, Schiit Magni
- Headphones: Audio-Technica ATH-AD2000 & ATH-ES7, Beyerdynamic DT1350, Fostex TH900, HiFiMan HE-400

Evaluation Material

Music:
- Alison Krauss & Union Station - Paper Airplane
- Carlos Kleiber & VPO - Beethoven Symphonies 5 & 7
- Coldplay - X&Y
- Dave Brubeck - Time Out [Legacy Edition]
- Diablo Swing Orchestra - Sing-Along Songs for the Damned & Delirious
- Gojira - L'Enfant Sauvage
- Jane Monheit - Surrender
- Julia Fischer - Bach Concertos
- Katy Perry - Teenage Dream
- Lee Morgan - Tom Cat [AudioWave/Blue Note XRCD]
- Massive Attack - Mezzanine
- Megadeth - Countdown To Extinction [MFSL]
- The Crystal Method - Vegas [2007 Deluxe Edition], Tweekend
- The Prodigy - The Fat of the Land
- Tool - Lateralus

PC Games:
- Far Cry, Half-Life 2 [Windows]

Pros & Cons

+ Highly durable construction
+ Highly transportable with a convenient hard-shell molded travel case
+ Fold-able
+ Deep, heavy bass & full mid-range
+ Forgiving of poor-quality recordings

- Very uncomfortable to wear for long periods of time (> 1 hour) due to supra-aural clamping pressure
- Not efficient enough to get loud enough out of portable sources at medium settings
- High lack of clarity, especially in lower mid-range and bass
- Slow impulse response
- Relatively "dark" frequency response due to primarily a lack of treble quantity to counterbalance the mid-range & bass
- Forgiving of poor-quality recordings

Computer & Portable Applications

I briefly tested the M-100 on my PC for Internet video streaming (i.e., YouTube) and some PC gaming (first-person shooters). It turned out to be moderately good for this purpose and provided satisfactory explosions & gunfire effects, though it also had a lack of clarity that affected primarily clarity of multiple simultaneous audio streams, like gunfire on top of ambient effects (water, wind, or other natural/mechanical ambience) with footsteps at the same time (i.e., firing while moving).

I also tested the M-100 on an iAudio X5 DAP (with MP3 files @ 256 kb/s VBR). It sounded ok this way but it was also clearly a step down from my dedicated audio setup, as it lacked general force to the sound in all parts of the frequency spectrum. It also required extra-high volume settings to achieve loud volume—on average 25-28 to sound loud, compared to my JH13 IEMs which were loud at 17-18.

Critical Music Listening

For this review of the M-100, I changed up my usual set of test music CDs and discarded some, replacing them with much newer music from the likes of Coldplay, Diablo Swing Orchestra, Gojira, Tool, and Katy Perry (I'll freely admit to liking her songs, they're catchy and have cool beats!). I did this on purpose for two major reasons: (1) I figured most of the targeted audience for the M-100 would be listening to modern music from the past decade or so, and (2) Too many of my CDs were still stuck in the 90s anyway. They needed updating. I thought it was time to use more recent stuff!

The M-100's sound made me think of it as a consumer-level headphone for the masses. It simply had the sort of sound that I associate as prime for American Top 40-type music—an assertive-sounding signature, with focus on the mid-range & bass, in a somewhat compacted soundstage that placed vocals close-up yet clearly setting up "walls" for some illusion of 3D depth. It was actually really good, probably at its best, with the variety of modern music that I tested it on. It made pop/rock, electronica, & metal sound quite bassy overall, with very good depth, force, and impact. Its mid-range was nicely full-sounding as well, translating to full (but not "forward") vocals & bass guitars, for example. Drums also sounded appropriately "heavy" on it too. The M-100 essentially had a strong, solid, & full/heavy sonic signature overall, with nicely stereo-diverged imaging as well (yet severely lacking in the aspect of an open/airy soundstage). And I just have to say it again, it had bass to spare too!

However, while the M-100 sounded "very good" for general intents & purposes, there was no way that I found it acceptable for "critical listening" or as a serious "audiophile" level headphone. It sounded like a mid-level set of headphones to me and I'd class it as "average", in the company of the $200-$300 mid-level headphones from AKG and Sennheiser, for example. To me its biggest flaws were a lack of clarity, a "slow" impulse response that blurred over fast sequences, plodgy bass (most obvious on fast-paced electronica & metal), and a lack of treble quantity. Add "bloated" bass quantity too—but I viewed this more as a positive than a negative in the case of the M-100, as the high level of bass added to its fun & enjoyment factor. In fact, if it weren't for the bass, I thought the M-100 would've had less going for it.

As far as other types of music, I briefly ran the M-100 through some classical and jazz. Its lack of clarity hurt both genres in particular though, as IMO classical is inevitably dependent on a clear-sounding violin section and jazz is dependent on clearly-audible instrument textures (for brass & bass instruments especially). The M-100's stereo-diverged imaging also made both genres sound the opposite of cohesive, as it effectively took out the "center" part of the sonic image. (This didn't negatively affect any other genres nearly as much.) So while classical & jazz didn't sound ideal on the M-100, they weren't terrible on it either though and were acceptable for non-critical listening. I'd add a caveat here though that vocal jazz (i.e., Jane Monheit) was generally better on the M-100 than instrumental jazz (Dave Brubeck & Lee Morgan), primarily due to the M-100's portrayal of vocals.

Comparison: Beyerdynamic DT1350

The DT1350 wasn't a "better" headphone to me than the M-100, mostly just different. Although it was substantially clearer-sounding compared to the semi-hazy/blurred sound of the M-100, it also had less bass & mid-range quantity that negatively affected electronica, pop/rock, & metal for me. Drums & bass, for example, didn't have as much weight & presence on the DT1350. In fact, when directly comparing the two, I typically found that the DT1350 sounded mid-range- and bass-anemic coming right after the M-100. The M-100, on the other hand, had very emphasized weight, presence, & physicality in comparison.

As far as imaging/soundstage, the M-100 was clearly the more intimate and "forward-sounding" of the two, as it made everything sound close-up, almost in a Grado-like sort of way. It also set up "walls" in the soundstage, which enhanced effects like reverb and helped to make room acoustics stand out, which the DT1350 didn't do as much. Because of this, the M-100 had more consistent illusion of 3D depth between the position of a singer and the back wall of the virtual studio/room. So it had a definite advantage for certain types of music like pop/rock & metal.

I'd be inclined to recommend the M-100 for primarily electric, synthesized, or otherwise "American mainstream" types of music as it had a great type of sonic signature for those, and the DT1350 more for "period" or traditional music like classical, jazz, or acoustic/folk (or even traditional "European" type music to go that far). In other words, general sonic expectations for an American vs German company wouldn't be amiss.

Comparison: Audio-Technica ES7

I've owned the ES7 for a long time (since 2007) and have become so heavily biased to it that it's actually my measuring stick for all other closed portable headphones now. And true to my bias for it, the ES7 was not beaten by the M-100—in fact, I thought the ES7 was superior to the more-expensive M-100! The ES7 had the following aspects in its favor: (1) A "faster" sound, as it had less plodge and faster/cleaner note attack, (2) Higher amount of clarity throughout the spectrum, (3) A more "open" soundstage, and (4) Higher efficiency (or "sensitivity" for the technical term). The ES7 is also my preferred computer headphone, specifically for gaming, as machine guns always sound appropriately "fast" on it. The M-100 simply didn't compare to it in that aspect, as it was just too plodgy-sounding.

For those who also own the ES7 and like how it sounds, I'd recommend keeping it and not "upgrading" to the more-expensive M-100. The M-100 was more of a side-grade (at best) to me than an upgrade. Though the M-100 had a lot more bass than the ES7 and a more full-bodied mid-range, the ES7 was simply more "clean" and "agile" sounding.

Conclusion

I ended up disappointed by the M-100 coming after the M-80. It wasn't really the upgrade I'd been hoping for, and I thought it suffered from the same flaws too. Not to take anything away from it though. At $300, I view the M-100 as great-sounding mid-level closed headphones for listening to any type of mainstream music. Anyone upgrading from iBuds or anything less than about $150 (roughly) will probably find it to be a worthwhile purchase.

I'd probably sum up the M-100 as something of a closed micro-version of the Audeze LCD-x headphones. Not that the M-100 is sonically comparable with the Audeze headphones though, just loosely similar in overall type of sonic signature—i.e., a similar American-type assertive sound skewed towards the mid-range & bass. To put that another way, anyone who likes the M-100 and wants an upgrade without drastically veering away from its sonic signature might want to look into the LCD-2 or LCD-3.

Related Reading

Beyerdynamic DT1350 review: http://www.head-fi.org/products/beyerdynamic-tesla-dt-1350/reviews/10284
V-MODA M-80 vs Audio-Technica ES7 review: http://www.head-fi.org/t/587296/mini-review-v-moda-m-80-vs-audio-technica-es7
Story of my closed portable headphone journey: http://www.head-fi.org/t/235997/how-my-journey-for-closed-portable-bliss-came-to-an-end
Pros: The sound quality and bass is very nice, they are comfortable to wear over long periods of time, the build quality is superb.
Cons: Sometimes vocals get washed out a bit.
I got these headphones off of V-moda's site and i have to say from the second i opened the box to this very moment (i am listening to them as i write this review) i have been very impressed by their over all design and sound quality. I have tested these headphones with all sorts of music and they do perform well across the music spectrum. The bass is very "club-like" so to speak and provides a nice warm feel to most music. The mids are good and the highs flow well with a comfortable and pleasant bass background. I have experienced no distortion at high volumes. In fact, i compared these m100's with my friend's ath-m50's and both sounded very similar with the bass being the major difference (the V-moda's are a little more loose while the audio technicas are more tight). The ear pads are soft and fit well around my ears while doing a spectacular job at isolating outside noise. The accessories the headphones came with include a convenient and cool looking carrying case, extra shields, a mic/button cable and an extra share cable all of which very well made. I am very happy with this product and i highly recommend these headphones to anyone looking for a great looking, great sounding, well built solid headphones with a few extra convenient accessories.
DigitalGrounder
DigitalGrounder
Have you ever owned the crossfade lp?
Pros: Clear sound, strong but not-bleeding bass, distinct highs, sturdy and good looking design
Cons: bass vents leak sound easily, pads warm up your ears a lot,
My first ever 'good' headphones which I bought off ebay for £170. Or in other words, better-than-apple-earbuds-and-better-than-skullcandy's, so I can't write much of a review.
Really fantastic. I'm not a basshead but these are pretty damn good for bass but I use these to listen to all sorts of pop, alternative and classical. If you're in a quiet space then the sound really is very sharp and the audio-imaging (closest i can describe it) is so huge, it genuinely blew me away; played my music in a completely different light.
Not so great for anything active, like walking for more than 30 mins straight or sports etc (duh, they're not sports headphones ;D) but really, the pads do warm up your head and ears quite a lot, which kinda causes a little discomfort and sometimes, even after adjusting, the headphones can feel like they clamp a little, but nothing major.
 
All in all, a great pair of headphones and a good price. (especially for the price I got them for ^^)
  • Like
Reactions: Wilashort
Pros: Comfortable, non-fatiguing, portable w/mic and controls, very enjoyable sonic presentation (musical, w/adequate detail)
Cons: Slightly recessed lower mids.
These are not flat or analytical sounding cans, but they are a pretty good slice of the sonic cake for portables. I'm crowning these cans as Electronic Dance Music (EDM) king contenders for sure.

First off, let me say that I love Head-Fi, and I enjoy reading so many impressions of so many pieces of gear. I've learned so much about portable sound over the years thanks to this place and Head-fi has cost me a lot of money (in a good way) too! Thanks to Head-Fi again, I discovered 2 more treasures to add to my growing collection (V-Moda V80 and M100). I typically read way more than I post, but I felt like giving back a bit and offering my impression of the M100 cans I recently bought.

I was really after a portable headphone that offered an overall sound arrangement that was fun, clean, non-fatiguing, yet not lacking in detail so much as to sound muddy or overly veiled in the mids. I had trouble finding what I was looking for until I stumbled upon the M100, which gave me everything I was looking for.


Bass:

The M100 does NOT have overbearing and fatiguing bass that destroys the rest of your music like Beats do (tried & compared Mixr). The M100's have deep, clean, and plentiful bass WITHOUT over-delivering. I did not find mids and highs getting crushed in the aftermath of bass punch, which was epic relief to me since I like bass, but not the absolutely dominating and overbearing amounts that kill any hope of hearing the rest of your music. I never felt like I was having a sonic tug of war like I did with Beats Mixr headphones, where I know my music well, and I had to struggle to hear subtle pieces I know are supposed to be there. Also here, you get good sub-bass, which is more felt than heard. I absolutely love how these drivers deliver bass frequencies and volume. This bass is not as tight and punchy as the M80, but this is my preference.


Mids:

I'm enjoying the arrangement of the mid emphasis where it is, which seems to be upper mids, with slightly lowered lower mids. I tried the Sony MDR-1R, which sounded horribly forward in the mids, and artificial IMO. I don't feel frustrated trying to discern anything in the lower mids in this arrangement either, but as others pointed out before me, female vocals really stand out with emphasis to upper mids nicely here. Overall, I love the articulation here and clean presentation that lets me effortlessly pick up inflection and great nuances in female vocals, especially.


Highs:

Highs on the M100s are about perfect for a portable, and is rolled off at a sweet spot that still gives me a good taste of effects and instruments in the upper spectrum without the fatigue. I think they got this right for a portable setup, and I love listening to these for hours on end without my ears feeling like they have to throw in the towel.


Value Assessment:

What is interesting about these cans is that I resented paying 300 for them at first, until I discovered that there aren't many other portable choices that offer a combination of competing sound, style, portability, comfort and build quality. These are very good quality cans on the go. I really couldn't find a better pair that offered the same combinations, and I love the inline mic and control buttons on the cable!


Summary:

These are not analytical, flat cans, no. These are high quality portables with warm, clean, adequately detailed and non-fatiguing sound. Seriously, these are what Beats really should have been in my opinion. And to offer more context to my impressions, it should be noted that I listened to Electronic Dance Music (EDM) extensively, contemporary R&B, soul, reggae, some alternative, rock, and some metal. I like so much music (except most country), but EDM is my favorite, and it sounds amazing on these. I use Neutron as my music player on a Samsung GS4 (hence the desire for portable cans), EQ off, dithering on. I rip my own CDs with Exact Audio Copy to 320 CBR using lame as the encoder. The stock Samsung music player sucks and adds noticeable distortion to the sound.

Finally, I was surprised to hear some people feel that the bass was too heavy... These cans never crushed upper frequencies with bass and the bass is not overwhelming either - it's perfect in my opinion since it has good sub-bass and decent punch, and no distortion on anything I put through them, even at max volume.
subfrequenz
subfrequenz
Hi great review. I've just bought some myself. My first impression is that the treble is soft- does Burn In bring out more detail?!  I like bassy headphones and recently demo'd some Denon AH-D600 which had stunning detail and treble but vocals were recessed too much for it to sound natural. I was expecting a bit more detail with the V Moda's if I'm honest, especially for this price and with the dual driver design! How are you finding them after some usage? cheers
Pros: Very powerful headphones, Nice Bass, Crisp Mids and Highs, Great for Djing and listening to music.
Cons: Removable Cable Snaps out easily if pulled, cable could be longer. Not Good for music production.
I bought these to replace a pair of Pioneer HDJ-500 headphones which I mainly used for DJing and everyday music listening. The HDJ's were awesome in terms of sound, but broke in half after less than a year of normal use and hurt my ears if I wore them for too long. So for my next pair I decided I wanted something:
 
a) with good sound
b) comfortable to wear for long periods of time
c) durable
 
The M100's in my opinion nail all three of these pints, plus they look very nice. They also come with a very nice case that you can attach to your dj bag, making them very handy to carry around for gigs. Another plus is the cable which is wrapped with a kevlar enforced fabric making it very durable. 
 
I would deffinitely recommed these headphones for someone who is looking for a good pair that will last. The only thing I don't like using the m100's for is music production. I use a pair of KRK studio monitors during the day, but at night I sometimes resort to my heaphones. The overpowering bass makes mixing confusing with these, which is fair since they are not meant to be studio headphones. I just placed an order for AKG K240's to use with my DAW.  Ill let you guys know how they are.
 
Hope this helps, and if you have a chance please checkout some of our music
 
https://www.soundcloud.com/adaltadc
 
cheers
 
AdAlta
Pros: Bass, durability, look nice
Cons: midrange, comfort
Comfort is not good at all, bass is pretty good, mids are OK but partially hidden behind the bass and feels like bits are missing due to uneven frequency response, treble sounds very uneven as well with a big spike at 8-12khz with everything else almost inaudible behind this. Overall I do not see what all the fuss is about. They are certainly not bad headphones but they are technically pretty flawed and are not really that good for the amount they cost, it sounds like you are missing a large amount of the sound of the original recording. If they were £100 less then I would say they are very good for the money but at this price, the sound quality and POOR COMFORT does not justify the price tag.
Mattess
Mattess
Depends entirely on your ear size, I don't think you can judge the entire pair of cans just by the comfort aspect.
nicholars
nicholars
The comfort on them is very bad and the cups are extremely shallow, I have owned or tried at least 50 pairs of headphones and these are by far the worst comfort I have used.
nicholars
nicholars
I would say that at least 50% of peoples ears, probably more will not fit inside the cups of these.
Top