1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. antdroid
    Tripowin TP10: Bright and Mediocre.
    Written by antdroid
    Published Jul 5, 2019
    2.0/5,
    Pros - Clean, decent clarity
    Cons - Large fit
    Poor bass response
    Not great for price
    [​IMG]
    Review of the Knowledge Zenith AS16 and Tripowin TP10


    The latest IEMs from Knowledge Zenith and KZ-Spinoff Tripowin are the AS16 and the TP10 models. These two models have a lot of similarities so I’ll be comparing them together in this comparision review. Both of these models were provided for review by Linsoul (http://www.Linsoul.com) and both items can be found on their website directly, or through Amazon.

    The AS16 features 8 balanced armatures per shell with 2 designated for bass, 2 for mids, and 4 for treble. The TP10 reduces the count to 5 BAs with 1 bass, 2 mids and 2 treble. Both share the same shell design, which is very large, has a translucent inner shell, and a metallic faceplate. Within the shells are the BA drivers as well as a white cover, which I assume is a dampener of some sort right below the nozzle. The layout is identical for both shells internally, sans the 2 additional drivers in the AS16.

    The shell design is quite big, and is even larger than my Campfire Solaris. This makes the fit quite uncomfortable to wear for me for long periods of time. I never really found a tip combination I felt comfortable in with this design, and therefore had a frustrating time using these two.

    Both share the same KZ-style cable, though the TP10 comes with a straight 3.5mm connector, while the AS16 comes with a right angle connector. Accessories are identical, as well as box packaging, and even the manual wording.

    [​IMG]


    Neutral-like Sound
    Both of these IEMs seem to be targeting a diffuse-field target, similar to how Etymotics approaches sound signature. The glaring differences in both of these is the lack of bass quantity, and overly extended treble, making them rather lean, bright, and pretty dull and boring sounding.

    [​IMG]


    The TP10 actually has a more extended subbass and bass quantity in general, but also more elevated treble peaks. The KZ AS16, on the other hand, does have pretty glaringly missing bass response but a much smoother upper-mids and treble experience. The TP10’s bass is more weight and impactful than the AS16, but both fall well short of anything else I’ve tried, ever. They’re bass response is more reminiscent of classic ear bud designs.

    The mids are recessed on both models, but I’d say a little less so than more KZ models. Both the mids and treble region are surprisingly detailed and clean. Imaging isn’t super great but soundstage is wide and open. They both present a very bright, airy sound signature, which is noticeably brighter and airy than the Etymotics Studio series. Even when compared to Tin Audio T2, or KZ ZSN’s or some other popular budget IEMs, these still seem quite bright. That said, I never found either of these to be sibilant, which is a bit of a surprise.

    I found that these two do well for very specific genres, and I’d recommend staying clear from anything that needs a proper bassline, punch, impact, or anything with any semblance of bass required. That really kicks off the island anything EDM, most rock, pop, hip hop, rap, and a slew of other genres. It does do well for piano music, and some lighter jazz fares. It also isn’t bad for acoustic songs where bass and impactful drums are needed. You will still get a slightly brighter than normal presentation, but the lack of the low end is less effective here.

    In the end, I find that neither of these are good all-around IEMS.

    The AS16 is massively overpriced at $149, and you really are paying for marketing fluff and driver count. They do bring out a lot of detail and actually sound very clean, but at the asking price, I’d highly recommend at Etymotics ER2 or ER3 series, the Moondrop Kanas Pro, or a variety of other IEMs that do it better.

    The Tripowin TP10 is priced more reasonable. It actually has better bass performance than the AS16 and in general, sounds similarly spacious and detailed, however it may have some occasional spikes of harshness. But at the $69 asking price, it can become a little more acceptable if you’re looking for a genre specific IEM or really like a bright diffuse tuning. But again, there are much better all-arounder options at this price point, starting with the Tin Audio T3 and the lower priced T2 and KZ ZS10 Pro.
      slapo likes this.
  2. Wiljen
    Tripowin TP10 - good effort but needs tuning
    Written by Wiljen
    Published Jul 4, 2019
    3.0/5,
    Pros - A 5 Driver in ear for sub-$50 – prices just keep falling
    Cons - Very bright signature that gets harsh fast.
    [​IMG]

    Tripowin TP10

    disclaimer: arrived 6/25. I was approached by Tripowin to review the new TP10 model. I was provided the TP10 and an upgrade cable for it by Tripowin for purposes of this review and have no other affiliation or financial interest in Tripowin. If you are interested, the TP10 can be purchased on Amazon here and the upgrade cable is available at this link.



    Unboxing / Accessories:

    Ok, lets just start with the elephant in the room, Tripowin is obviously either another offshoot of the KZ family, or is having KZ OEM for them as everything from the packaging to the drivers used is KZ. No, they have not come out and said as much, but you could not have copied KZ stylistically with any more precision if you had set out to clone one. We start with the slip cover style white box with graphics on front and data on back. Inside the clear plastic shield with the earpieces shown and the bagged cable and tips underneath great us. All very familiar somehow, albeit with a different brand name. The package includes 3 sets of tips, the cable, warranty card, and earpieces. Pretty standard at this price level. No case is provided.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Build/Fit:

    The TP10 uses a metal outer shell with a clear plastic inner shell allowing the user to see some of the internals. Size wise, the shells are fairly large so may cause fit issues for small ears. I found them to be roughly the same size as the As06 or Zs10. the main body is fairly thin, although the nozzle is on a peaked portion of the shell which fits into the ear canal and means I end up using a size smaller tip than usual because of the shape. Connectors are the raised bi-pin design as has become common recently and when paired with the provided cable, tip up wear is the only option.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Internals:

    The TP10 uses 5 BA drivers with a 3dd printed “sound guide” instead of using sound bores. This is becoming popular as less fitting and handwork is required with this design. The Drivers are a 22955 for low frequencies, and a pair of 29689 for mids, with a pair of 30095 high frequency drivers rounding out the group. Nominal impedance is listed as 15Ω with a sensitivity of 98dB/mW. I suspect the sensitivity is rated a bit low as I had no trouble getting the TP10 to perform without external amplification from a phone and didn’t detect much of any scaling when it was used with higher power sources.

    [​IMG]

    Cable:

    Here we hit a real dichotomy. The standard cable is again pretty standard KZ. Not bad, but nothing out of the ordinary with a tendency to tangle and some corners were obviously cut to save cost. Strain reliefs are minimal, the one button mic is passable, but again not anything out of the ordinary and susceptible to wind noise and rubbing on clothing. The hooded bi-pin is a nice touch but semi-proprietary. The Upgrade cable on the other hand is exactly what I have been hoping for. Well made, quality materials, and very pliable, with the hooded bi-pin connectors, this has a lot to like. I had been hoping manufacturers would come out with some solid upgrade options for the hooded style connectors and this the first I’ve had the pleasure of getting my hands on. If the rest of the package were as good as the upgrade cable, I’d be shouting from the rafters. As it stands, this would be a great upgrade cable for any of the hooded bi-pin style KZs or CCAs and I recommend purchasing the upgraded cable for sure.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Sound:

    [​IMG]



    Bass:

    Sub-bass is present but well behind mid-bass in the overall and comes off feeling fairly lean as roll off is fairly pronounced below about 75Hz. s Mid-bass has good thump with quick attack and decay to help keep it clean and more texture than expected. I think this is common for BA bass drivers as they tend to trade low end extension for cleaner, tighter, mid-bass. The upside is there is no tendency to get muddy as tracks get faster and more complex. The downside is bassheads will probably want to look elsewhere as bass is near neutral and certainly wont please that crowd.



    Mids:

    The lower mids transition smoothly and linearly from the mid-bass and then begin to climb forward as you move up. True mids are forward of the bass and upper mids and lower treble are both very forward. Vocals cut through the rest of the signature quite easily as a result, but come across as strident at times and do show a tendency to sibilance if given and provocation at all. Guitar comes across with an almost assault like quality that while fun at times, is unrealistic at others. Overall, timbre is not quite on and as a result the TP10 sounds unnatural at times.



    Treble:

    The overly aggressive nature of the mids continues into the Treble and comes across as splashy and harsh. I found the TP10 to be quite fatiguing which limited listening time even at modest volumes. The upside is the detail level in the treble is really quite good, the downside, the TP10 comes across as having too much top end and sparkle turns to metallic quickly. The treble shy will want to avoid the TP10 as even with EQ its signature remains bright as it is simply tuned that way.



    Soundstage / Imaging:

    Sound stage is wider than deep with limited height as is very typical of items at this price point. Imaging is solid with good instrument separation and seating the orchestra is fairly good although at times things that should be front/back are beside. Layering is also quite good and I found no tendency to get muddy or congested as complexity increased.



    Thoughts / Conclusion:

    The TP10 is a great example of a good effort that is marred by a singular flaw. In this case, the flaw is tuning. Starting with the upper mids, the TP10 is way too forward and the treble gets outright harsh at times. Diligent EQ can help, but does not completely remedy this and as such unless you just really like an aggressively bright sound, these are probably best left on the shelf. The upgrade cable on the other hand, I highly recommend for anyone looking for an improved design for iems with the now popular hooded bi-pin style connector.

    [​IMG]
      slapo and B9Scrambler like this.
  3. darmanastartes
    Clarity, but at what cost?
    Written by darmanastartes
    Published Jun 29, 2019
    3.0/5,
    Pros - detail retrieval, speed, build quality
    Cons - unbalanced tuning, tangle-prone cable with no chin-slider, lackluster accessory set
    INTRODUCTION/DISCLAIMER:
    DSC02812.jpg
    The Tripowin TP10 is an in-ear monitor with five balanced armature drivers per side. Tripowin is a KZ-affiliated brand and bears more than a passing resemblance to the CCA-A10. The TP10 retails for $69.99 on Amazon at the time of this review. The TP10 was provided to me by Linsoul Audio in exchange for a fair and objective review.

    SOURCES:

    I have used the Tripowin TP10 with the following sources:

    Windows 10 PC > JDS Labs The Element > Tripowin TP10
    Pixel 3 > Fiio BTR1K (Bluetooth Apt-X) > Tripowin TP10
    Windows 10 PC > Fiio BTR1K (USB-DAC) > Tripowin TP10
    Pixel 3 > Apple USB-C to 3.5mm dongle > Tripowin TP10
    Mlais M52 Red Note > Tripowin TP10
    Kingone 2-in-1 USB-C to 3.5mm Audio/Charge Adapter > Tripowin TP10

    I have tested these headphones with local FLAC and Spotify Premium. Visit my last.fm page to get an idea of what I listen to.

    PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES:
    DSC02765.jpg DSC02802.jpg

    The Tripowin TP10 comes in a small rectangular white box, very similar to the one the CCA-C10 came in. The slip cover pictures the TP10 on the front and gives the manufacturer’s contact information and technical specifications for the IEM on the back. The IEMs are held in a white foam mounting sheet underneath a clear plastic cover. Behind the mounting sheet are translucent white plastic bags containing the detachable .75mm 2-pin cable, 3 pairs of KZ Starline-type eartips (S, M, L), a user guide, and a warranty card. The TP10 does not come with a carry bag or case.

    BUILD QUALITY / DESIGN:

    The Tripowin TP10 is similar to the CCA-C10 and other recent KZ-affiliated IEMs in its design, identical to the KZ ZSN in design, with a metal faceplate and a clear acrylic body. The housing is a crescent-wedge shape. The inner acrylic face of the housing gently slopes into the nozzle. The TRIPOWIN logo is printed on the faceplate along with the total driver count. “10 Units balanced armature” are printed on the top of each housing. The nozzles are metal, with a small lip for securing eartips.

    Each earpiece has one tiny circular vent on the inner face of the housing, and one slightly larger circular vent on the metal faceplate in the bottom corner. As this is an all-BA design, there are no issues with driver flex.
    DSC02867.jpg
    The 2-pin connectors use the latest KZ “type-C” recessed connector. The cable is braided copper with clear plastic housings for the 2-pin connections and a straight black metal housing for the 3.5mm jack. The 2-pin connectors have raised markings to indicate left and right. The cable has pre-formed ear-guides without memory wire. There is no chin-adjustment choker. The cable is less tangle-prone than the CCA-C10’s cable, but still tangles easily. While there is some strain-relief above the 3.5mm jack, there is none at the Y-split.

    COMFORT / FIT / ISOLATION:

    The Tripowin TP10 is intended to be worn cable-up only. Comfort is good despite the large housings, but I experienced the same nozzle migration I encountered with the C10s. That said, getting a good initial seal is easier than with the CCA-C10 because the nozzle is at a more natural angle. Isolation is very good.

    SOUND:

    The TP10 has a bright tuning with a strong upper-mid emphasis.

    Sub-bass has excellent extension, but the bass region as a whole is de-emphasized. There is a hint of rumble and no slam. Despite this, the bass is well articulated and quite textured.

    There is not enough bass to bleed into the lower mids, and the lower mids themselves are strongly recessed. Upper mids are front-and-center. There is too much presence for comfort and sibilance is a constant risk.

    Treble is intense, with an aggressive lower-treble region. Clarity is outstanding and detail retrieval is exceptional for a sub-$100 IEM. There is a good amount of air, and transients are quick and agile. There an over-emphasis on sparkle. Timbre is less artificial and plasticky than the KZ AS10, but not as natural as the CCA-C10.

    The tuning is unforgiving to poorly recorded music, emphasizing the harshest production elements.

    Imaging is okay. Instrument separation is above average. Soundstage is average for a multi-BA design.

    MEASUREMENTS:
    TP10.jpg
    My measurements were conducted with a Dayton iMM-6 microphone using a vinyl tubing coupler and a calibrated USB sound interface. The measurements use a compensation file derived from comparing my raw measurements with Crinacle’s published measurements. The measurements are presented with 1/24th smoothing. There is a resonant peak at 8k. Measurements above 10k are not reliable.

    EQ:

    The following EQ settings will give the bass more weight and take the edge off the upper midrange while preserving detail and clarity.
    2019-06-29 (1).jpg
    TP10 EQ.jpg
    AMPLIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND SOURCE PAIRING:

    Despite a sensitivity of 98dB, I do not feel the TP10 benefits noticeably from dedicated amplification. I found it very easy to drive even with smartphone headphone jacks and dongles. However, thanks to an impedance of 15ohms, the TP10 will hiss with noisy source devices.

    COMPARISONS:

    Tripowin TP10 (5BA) [$70 on Amazon] vs CCA-C10 (1DD+4BA) [$40 on Amazon]
    TP10 vs CCA-C10.jpg

    The CCA-C10 is a more balanced-sounding IEM. The two IEMs have similar sub-bass extension, but the C10 has more bass out of the box. The TP10 has quicker bass articulation but the C10 has better bass texture. The C10 avoids mid-bass bleed despite having more bass and a less recessed lower midrange. The C10 has a warmer, more natural sounding lower midrange. The TP10 has a more forward upper midrange. The C10 has a much smoother treble response while retaining a good amount of air. The TP10 is more sibilant and unforgiving. The TP10 has much more clarity and more impressive detail retrieval. The C10 has a more natural timbre. The C10’s soundstage is larger. The TP10 has slightly better instrument separation. The C10 is slightly more comfortable but a secure fit and good seal are more difficult to achieve. The TP10’s cable is slightly less tangle-prone and does not accumulate static electricity like the C10’s cable.

    Tripowin TP10 (5BA) [$70] vs Simgot MT3 (1 DD) [$70]
    TP10 vs MT3.jpg

    The MT3 is a more balanced-sounding IEM. The two IEMs have similar sub-bass extension, but the MT3 has more bass out of the box. The TP10 has better bass articulation. The MT3 has a less recessed lower midrange and a less forward upper midrange. The TP10 has a much more aggressive lower treble region and faster treble transients. The TP10 has much more clarity and more impressive detail retrieval. The MT3 has more air. The TP10 has a larger soundstage and better instrument separation. The MT3 is slightly harder to drive but does not hiss. The MT3 is more comfortable and is easier to get a good seal and secure fit with. The MT3 has more premium packaging and a more expansive accessory selection, including a better detachable cable.

    CLOSING WORDS:
    DSC02864.jpg
    Though fast and detailed, the TP10 is hard to recommend because of its harsh, unbalanced tuning. The lackluster accessory selection is also difficult to accept at this price point.
      archdawg likes this.
  4. B9Scrambler
    Tripowin TP10: Why?
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Jun 25, 2019
    3.0/5,
    Pros - Good clarity - Lots of detail - Quality build
    Cons - Peaky, harsh treble - Shouty mids - Tangly cable
    Greetings,

    Today we're check out a release from yet another KZ spinoff brand, the Tripowin TP10.

    So what is the TP10 all about? Well, it features a pure balanced armature driver line up, five per side. It uses the same shell we recently saw with the AS16, though the ornate face plate has been replaced with something much more plain. I'm a little confused as to why KZ is diluting their already complicated brand like this, and by “like this” I mean releasing competing products under different brand names. The TP10 doesn't help since on a surface level it brings literally nothing new to the table.

    Let's take a closer look.

    Disclaimer:

    Thanks to Lillian with Linsoul Audio for providing a sample of the TP10 for the purposes of review. The thoughts within are my own subjective impressions based on time listening to the product. They do not represent Tripowin, Linsoul, or any other entity. At the time of writing the TP10 was retailing for 69.99 USD: https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/Tripowin-TP10-IEM

    Personal Preference:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. My preferences for earphone tuning are quite relaxed and as such their is no one signature I look for. The HiFiMAN RE800, Brainwavz B400, and Massdrop x MeeAudio Planamic are examples of earphones with wildly varied signatures that are enjoyable for different reasons. I generally listen at very low volumes, so keep this in mind when perusing my thoughts on how an earphone sounds.

    Sources:

    Mobile: Shanling M0 with the Periodic Audio Nickel amp, or, ZiShan DSD by itself
    @home: ZiShan DSD or Asus FX53V laptop plugged into a TEAC HA-501 desktop amp

    While it has lower than average sensitivity (i.e. below 100dB), I never found the TP10 difficult to bring up to volume. Adding in an amplifier does really seem to do anything to boost performance either.

    Specifications:
    • Driver: 5 balanced armatures per side
    • Impedance: 15 ohms
    • Sensitivity: 98dB/mW
    • Frequency Response: 20Hz to 40kHz
    IMG_4345.JPG IMG_4346.JPG IMG_4347.JPG

    Packaging and Accessories:


    If the TP10's packaging looks familiar to you, you're not alone. Swap out KZ or CCA branding, toss on Tripowin, and you're got yourself the TP10's box. The white exterior sleeve has a nice colour image of the TP10 on the front showing off the ear pieces and 2-pin setup, as well as the usual branding and model details. On the back you have contact information for Tripowin as well as specification info.

    Slide off the sleeve and you find the earpieces nestled in a cardboard coated foam insert, protected by a transparent plastic cover. Thankfully the Tripowin version of this cover has a plastic pull tab built in, something commonly missing on the KZ versions. It's a real pain to lift out without that tab, unless you have long nails. Lifting out the plastic cover and foam insert you find a manual and included accessories. In all you get:
    • TP10 earphones
    • Copper braided cable
    • Single flange 'Starline” silicone tips (s/m/l)
    Yup, this is the same accessory kit pretty much all KZ and CCA models come with. Enough to get you going and nothing more. I don't understand why Tripowin needs to exist when even the packaging and accessories are redundant with it's parent brand. CCA already does that.

    Build, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The build is virtually identical to the KZ AS16, therefore, it is outstanding. High quality acrylics. A weight aluminum alloy faceplate. A neatly integrated metal nozzle with an oddly stylish protective steel screen. A protruding 2-pin 0.75mm input that is screwed in place, not glued. A wonderful 3D printed insert that holds the drivers securely in place and acts as directional tubes for the sound. There is a well-soldered crossover present out back too, somewhat hidden by '10 Units Balanced Armature' printed on the shell. Sub 100 USD earphones simply aren't built like this, but KZ/CCA/Tripowins are.

    The cable is the same braided option KZ has been using for a while now. It's flexible, doesn't transmit much noise when rubbing against your clothing, and has been proven quite durable. The hardware used by Tripowin is probably my least favourite of that used by the KZ trifecta. The preformed ear guides and 2-pin plugs are fine since they're shared with the ZSN. The y-split is a tiny, completely unrelieved aluminum and plastic cylinder and I suspect will be a weak point. The jack is a simple straight cylinder as well with a small rubber relief. It is quite still and short, and as such offers a level of protection that falls well short of what KZ and CCA provide for essentially the same cable. And then of course the y-split is still set way too low resulting in the slender wires above tangling way too easily.

    Comfort is pretty good. The TP10 is heavier than your average plastic bodied iem, but it doesn’t do anything to hinder fit. Neither do all the smooth curves and rounded edges. All this combined with the nicely formed ear guides leads to something I can wear for quite a while without experiencing discomfort.

    Isolation is solid as well, and reminiscent of the experience provided by the AS06. Right now we still have quite a bit of construction going on in the area as they are resurfacing a number of parking lots. The TP10 effectively dulls the constant rumbling going on outside, even without any music playing. These should be fine for those planning to take them on the bus or subway.

    IMG_4348.JPG IMG_4359.JPG IMG_4362.JPG

    Sound Quality:

    Tips: To my borked ears the TP10 benefits from small to medium bore tips with a very soft silicone, such as Sony's Hybrid tips or Spinfit's CP100. Foam tips are also great because they soften the peaks slightly and make the TP10 more listenable. Not a fan of the stock Starlines with this earphone. The stiff silicone and medium bore do nothing to hide the peaks in the mids and treble.

    The TP10 is a bright, mid-rangy earphone with a fairly reserved low end and a lean, airy nature.

    Treble is peaky and aggressive which makes it quite a tiring listen, even at the low volumes my listening sessions inhabit. It feels like there are fairly aggressive peaks in both presence and brilliance regions because the TP10 can come across both quite harsh and overly sizzly and sparkly. In the TP10's favour, it is a very detailed listen with excellent clarity and plenty of space between notes. These drivers are quick too with notes decaying quite rapidly. Not going to be everyone's cup of tea, especially if you prefer the typically weighty, slower decay of a dynamic driver.

    The mid-range, upper mid-range especially, is plenty forward. This is great for keeping vocals at the forefront and away from any mid/upepr-bass bleed, but unfortunately has the side effect of making them shouty and sibilant. Timbre is also off, lighter and leaner than it should be. Instruments simply sound off. That said, I really like how aggressive guitars are as they display plenty of attack and aggression. You also don't have to worry about lyrical coherence.

    The TP10's low end is set back and plays a clear supporting role in the overall signature. Listeners wanting deep, thundering sub-bass or full, punchy mid-bass will certainly be left wanting. That said, the quality of bass is quite good. I am routinely impressed with KZ's low range armatures and while I'm not always a fan of the tuning, you can't deny they give Knowles and others a run for their money. Extension is pretty decent with some roll off present as is common with armatures. Texture is stellar with grungy basslines having the right attitude. It is well controlled and quite quick too, easily tackling rapid bass notes with ease.

    The TP10 has a fairly intimate default presentation set within a decent sound stage. Imaging is sharp and accurate with clean channel to channel transitions that are free of dead zones or any vague spots. Tracks sound layered keeping instruments and staging dynamic. Instrument separation is quite good too with the TP10 taking on congested tracks with ease.

    Overall I'm not really a fan of this tune. It is too harsh, too sibilant, and overall just not that enjoyable... at least for my current preferences. I appreciate the clarity and detail it can output and find the bass quite accomplished. The underlying issue, with the exception of the low range drivers, is they feel like they are tuned to play right at their upper limits. This gives the TP10 a strained presentation at every volume and that can be quite distracting. It's the opposite of effortless.

    IMG_4363.JPG IMG_4364.JPG IMG_4365.JPG

    Select Comparisons (volumes matched with Dayton iMM-6):

    TinHiFi T3 (69.99 USD): Where the TP10 is a five driver, armature-only earphone, the T3 is a dual-driver hybrid. Like the TP10, the T3 has elevated treble but it is less peaky, smoother, and better controlled. The TP10 has a more forward midrange. The T3's is more natural sounding and lacks the shouty qualities of the TP10. Bass on the T3 digs deeper and is slightly more impactful, but lacks the speed and texture of the TP10. It's not far off though. The T3 has a wider and deeper sound stage, but it's imaging qualities lack the immediacy of the the TP10's. TP10 also feels slightly better layered and on congested tracks does a better job of separating instruments and effects. Overall I prefer the T3. It's tune feels more balanced and refined, it doesn't display the TP10's sibilance, it's bass is more satisfying, and in general it just sound like the all-round better earphone. Build quality is about on par, though the edge goes to the T3; all-metal shells for durability and Tin's cable is vastly superior.

    KZ AS16 (~125 USD: The TP10 and AS16 show of the two brand's familial background beyond more than just how they look. While they have a similar sound, to my ears the TP10 is brighter, has more aggressive mids, is more sibilant, and has a more pronounced low end with better extension and a hint more presence. The AS16 has a wider, deeper sound stage with improved technicals, but not by much. Decay and speed is basically the same. Timbre is improved on the AS16. Personally I think the AS16 is the better product, and it should be given the price, but it's not to the point that I'd say it is worth the extra cost over the TP10. Though if we're being blunt I wouldn't recommend either.

    Final Thoughts:

    The TP10 isn't a terrible earphone, but it's not a good one either. All positives, like the tight bass and sharp imaging, are countered by undesirable qualities, like sibilance and general treble harshness. It's biggest fault to me though is that it has no identity to call it's own.

    This is a KZ in all but name, from the packaging, to the shell, to the drivers, to the KZ-esque sound. It's a further dilution of a brand I held in fairly high regard for their ability to bring good sound to those who traditionally could not afford it. But, ever since the ZST their prices have been increasing, products becoming more complicated, and the lineup ever more confusing, redundant, and congested. CCA appearing didn't help much since it brought little in the way of something new to the market, continuing the trend of tweaking the same basic signature in a refaced package. Tripowin and the TP10 do it again, but not nearly as well.

    If you're a treble head and don't mind EQing or modding products to get the most out of them, you might enjoy the TP10. There is a good earphone hidden in there, it's just not that apparent out of the box. For everyone else, there are other, better products to spend your money on.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****​

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock – The Impossible Kid (Album)
    Hail Mary Mallon – Are You Going to Eat That? (Album)
    King Crimson – Lark’s Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson – Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp – Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz – Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack – Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels – Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy – The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco – F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt – Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bonet) (Album)
    Michael Jackson – Thriller (Album)
    The Crystal Method – Grace (feat. LeAnn Rimes) (Track)
    Jidenna – Long Live the Chief (Track)
    Skrillex – Ragga Bomb (Track)
    Big Grams – Run for Your Life (Track)
    Funkadelic – Maggot Brain (Track)
    Aesop Rock – Fishtales (Track)
      archdawg likes this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. B9Scrambler
      @cheapbastard Glad you enjoyed the review. I will not be reviewing the A10. The four upcoming items listed in my signature will be my last reviews. Then I'm taking a much needed break from the hobby.
      B9Scrambler, Jun 26, 2019
      DocHoliday likes this.
    3. cheapbastard
      Ok, I was planning to take a break after the A10 and Moondrop crescent too, it seems that my sound characteristics will be covered pretty nicely after those 2.
      cheapbastard, Jun 26, 2019
      B9Scrambler likes this.
    4. DocHoliday
      I've been, silently, taking a bit of a break as well. Too many new in-ears.....things seem to have gone off the rails despite the incremental improvements.

      I'll probably pick up an A10, a couple of ZS7's and a new DAP.
      In the meantime I'll enjoy what I have.

      .....and more importantly I'll spend more time enjoying a massive music collection
      DocHoliday, Jun 26, 2019
      B9Scrambler and archdawg like this.