1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Trinity - Techne Dynamic IEM

Rating:
4.16667/5,
  1. cleg
    Nice earphones with fun sound
    Written by cleg
    Published Feb 8, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - great accessories set, interesting design, price, sound, cable
    Cons - shallow fit
    1MainPic.jpg

    So, I continue sharing my experience with excellent Trinity audio earphones, and today it's time for Techne. While Trinity prepares to release their top-notch multidriver models, simpler single-driver models are still interesting. There are not much reviews of Techne on Head-Fi, so I've decided to add my 5 cents.

    AFAIK, Techne shares same driver with entry-level model Hyperion, but offers completely different sound presentation. Also Techne introduces Trinity's signature sound tuning filters and offers really great design. It's sold on Trinity's website for $95 (including free shipping worldwide), but Head-Fi users can get really great discount that makes Techne even more interesting.

    2Box.jpg

    This model came in grey box, common for all company's models, inside you'll find earphones themselves, carrying case, 4 pairs of signle-flange tips, pair of dual-flange tips, 2 pairs of foam tips, shirt clip, and adapter to make straight jack 90°-angled. Also you'll get small container with 2 pairs of spare filters. Pretty great set of accessories for this model's price.

    Techne uses unusual body shape that slightly reminds Phonak's models. Due to this shape, Techne offers not so deep insertion, compared with Hyperion and Dalta, so I've used dual flange tips to get proper fit. From other hand, Techne's design allows them to completely avoid cable microphonics.

    3Acessories.jpg

    By the way, Techne's cable is really nice — braided, soft and stylish, it's durable and tangle-prone. Cable splitter and jack are also sturdy, so Techne will serve you long time.

    As for the sound, it greatly depends on used filters. Techne offers 3 options. Red filter offers "fun" sound with V-shaped frequency response, it have really strong bass, which is too much for me. Purple filter is almost neutral, it have pretty balanced representation with slight hint of brightness. Dark grey filter reduces bass and offers bright signature with pseudo-detalisation effect. This sound is interesting, but somewhat fatiguing for me. So, as you can understand, I've chose "average" purple option.

    4Overview.jpg

    Bass in this earphones are pretty fit-dependent. If you don't fit them properly, you'll loose both in quantity and in quality of lows. So, I prefer dual-flange tips. With them you'll gen nice resolving lows, with decent depth, but main accent is made on mid-bass. Resolution is pretty OK for Techne's price.

    Mids are a bit recessed in lower-mids, but not really much. To my ears, Techne also have some accent on upper-mids, that makes their sound "festive" and airy. There is some smoothness on mids to make sound more pleasant, and Techne succeeds here.

    6WithoutFilters.jpg

    Treble is also a bit more then average, so you'll need a source with good treble control, to get the most of this model. If you're treble-sensitive, most probably this model won't fit you, but to my ears, Techne offers good treble with lots of air and light representation.

    7WithCable.jpg

    I've tried this earphones with my iPhone and iPad, and I think they really need better source, that can highlight their strong parts. For example, I've really liked them with Xuelin iHiFi 800 (treble-lower's delight).

    8WithDX80.jpg

    Style-wise Techne is the best option for jazz, classics, vocal, instrumentals — those genres, where details are necessary. But I've listened to metal and classic rock with pleasure too. Techne is sensitive for recordings quality, so bad masters aren't good in them.

    10StylishLook.jpg

    To conclude, Techne offers interesting and unusual sound representation, that is really interesting compared to "typical" V-shaped earphones that flooded market. So, if you like such representation, this earphones are worth paying attention.
      peter123 likes this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Cathcart
      Thanks for the tips!
      Cathcart, Feb 15, 2016
    3. Laura Jia

      excellent review.
      Laura Jia, Feb 16, 2016
    4. Laura Jia
      I am Laura. sorry to interrupt you. Could you review our BT earphones? 
      here is my email: laura@ivafee.com
      I don't know how to get touch with you.
      I look forward to your reply.
      Best Regards,
      Laura
      Laura Jia, Feb 16, 2016
  2. mark2410
    Trinity Techne Quick Review by mark2410
    Written by mark2410
    Published May 27, 2015
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Sound customisable. Heavy bass. All metal construction.
    Cons - You pay for that customisability.

    Trinity Techne Quick Review by mark2410
     
    Thanks to Trinity for the sample and collaboration.
     
    Full review here http://www.head-fi.org/t/769186/trinity-techne-review-by-mark2410
     
    Brief:  Mid ranger with sound altering filters.
     
    Price:  £65 or abouts US$96
     
    Specification:  8mm Neodymium drivers, Impedance: 16 Ohm, Sensitivity: 108 +/- 3DB, Gold plated 3.5mm Jack, 1.2M Cable length
     
    Accessories:  Bunch of ear tips, 3 pairs of filters, a storage tube for the filters and a little case.
     
    Build Quality:  Nice.  The buds are pure metal and the cable is one of the best cables ever.  They look like real metal too, cant really beat that.
     
    Isolation:  Pretty darn good for a dynamic.  Even with an open filter in use they still isolated really well.  Not quite regular flight well but easily enough for a normal, on a bus commute.  Oh and as always enough to get you run over if you aren’t using your eyes.
     
    Comfort/Fit:  Great, I know they look weird as hell a shape but they fit me perfectly.
     
    Aesthetics:  They are a bit shiney so quite visible, I like brushed metal better but hey.  I rather like them visually.
     
    Sound:  Good.  I’m never the words biggest fan of changeable filters because I know me and I can pick out what is going to suit me best from some distance.  However if you are new to the IEM word and your hoping to learn what sound signature is you.  Perhaps it’s for a gift so you don’t know exactly what sound signature the recipient would be most inclined to?  Maybe because you want just one IEM but want to be able to tweak it?  Whatever your reason, the Technie lets you make some pretty significant changes with its filters.  The Silver is the V shaped one, the Gold is the brighter one and the Black one is the flatter, more natural sounding one.  It’s the one I liked best too.  Silver gives you closed, punchy pithy bass with good depth. The highs are vibrant too.  Golds open up and so the bass takes on open characteristics, feels faster but depth drops off rapidly.  Black is a bit less open so you get that faster bass but not quite so reticent as on the Golds.  Treble on them is always pretty crisp.  A hair over prominent but extended well making shimmering decays a bit more noticeable than they maybe should but I like that so I don’t mind.  Mids are always rather open and maybe a smidge dry at times.  Clarity is grand for a dynamic but it’s notably in a trough when using the Silver filters.  Quite lightly prominent with the Gold, more naturally balanced with the Blacks.   It’s always a pretty enjoyable and energetic experience that you can tailor to your source or ears to your heart’s content.
     
     
    Value:  You get a good sounding IEM with a fair degree of sound customisation.  You do pay for that customisation but it takes an element of risk of buying an earphone for those new to buying good quality audio products.
     
    Pro’s:   Sound customisable.  Heavy bass.  All metal construction.
     
    Con’s:  You pay for that customisability.
     
     
  3. Brooko
    Trinity Techne - Robust Build, Flexible Tuning
    Written by Brooko
    Published Apr 12, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Build, fit, changeable sound with filter system, SQ and balance with middle filter, clarity, value, cable quality, accessories (proposed)
    Cons - Shallow fit may be problematic to some, silver filter is now quite bassy - but bass lovers will enjoy this.
    techne15.jpg
    For larger views of any of the photos (1200 x 800) - please click on the individual images

    INTRODUCTION

    For those who haven’t heard yet, Trinity Audio Engineering (from this point we’ll just call them “Trinity”) is a new company, based in the UK, who is about to come to market with 3 brand new IEMs.  Trinity is the brainchild of the main designer from RockJaw UK (you know him on the forums as RockBob). Bob is starting the new company with RockJaw’s blessing, and as I understand it, the whole reason for the new company is simply so that Bob can pursue his dream to build a range of IEMs purely to his specification. He will also continue to work and design for RockJaw.
     
    The underlying vision and philosophy behind Trinity is that high quality audio should be affordable to everyone – and without compromising on build or materials.  And just because it is high quality – it shouldn’t mean it has to be high cost.
     
    So in the last few months, Bob has been working behind the scenes on his new product line, and along the way has enlisted the help of Mark2410, H20fidelity, and myself, to help him with feedback on what we’ve liked and didn’t like along the design process. One thing I really appreciate with a company like Trinity, and a designer like Bob, is the willingness to involve his consumers in some of the design decisions, so that the end result is (hopefully) exactly what the target audience is looking for.
     
    I count myself incredibly lucky to have been approached to work with Bob on this project – via email, PM and phone – and must admit a little personal pride in what Trinity have achieved.  So without further comment – let’s have a look at the Techne – the middle IEM of the current  Trinity range, and the cheapest multiple changeable filter option.
     
    DISCLAIMER
     
    I was provided the Techne by Trinity as part of development and for final review of the end product.  Apart from my obvious involvement in feedback on the development, I am not otherwise affiliated with Trinity in any way, nor do I make any financial gain from my contributions.
     
    PREAMBLE - 'ABOUT ME'.   (or a base-line for interpreting my thoughts and bias)
     
    I'm a 48 year old music lover.  I don't say audiophile – I just love my music.  Over the last couple of years, I have slowly changed from cheaper listening set-ups to my current set-up.  I vary my listening from portable (Fiio X5, X3ii, X1 and iPhone 5S) to my desk-top's set-up (PC > coax > NFB-12 > LD MKIV > HP).  I also use a portable set-up at work – either X5/X3ii > HP, or PC > Beyer A200p > HP.  My main full sized headphones at the time of writing are the Beyer T1 and Sennheiser HD600.  Most of my portable listening is done with IEMs - and up till now it has mainly been with the Fidue A83, Dunu Titan and Altone200. A full list of the gear I have owned (past and present is listed in my Head-Fi profile).
     
    I have very eclectic music tastes listening to a variety from classical/opera and jazz, to grunge and general rock.   I listen to a lot of blues, jazz, folk music, classic rock, indie and alternative rock.  I am particularly fond of female vocals.  I generally tend toward cans that are relatively neutral/balanced, but I do have a fondness for clarity, and suspect I might have slight ‘treble-head’ preferences.  I am not treble sensitive (at all), and in the past have really enjoyed headphones like the K701, SR325i, and of course the T1 and DT880.
     
    I have extensively tested myself (abx) and I find aac256 or higher to be completely transparent.  I do use exclusively redbook 16/44.1 if space is not an issue.  All of my music is legally purchased (mostly CD – the rest FLAC purchased on-line).
     
    I tend to be sceptical about audiophile ‘claims’, don’t generally believe in burn-in, have never heard a difference with different cables, and would rather test myself blind on perceived differences.  I am not a ‘golden eared listener’.  I suffer from mild tinnitus, and at 48, my hearing is less than perfect.
     
    For the purposes of this review - I mainly used the Techne straight from the headphone-out socket of my Fiio X3ii, and also used (at different times) my iPhone 5S, and Beyer A200p when at work.  Although I tested them with an amplifier, I do not think they benefit from additional amplification.  In the time I have spent with the Techne, I have noticed only slight changes in the overall sonic presentation, but am aware that this is simply that I am becoming more used to the signature of the Techne as I use them more often (brain burn-in).
     
    This is a purely subjective review - my gear, my ears, and my experience.  Please take it all with a grain of salt - especially if it does not match your own experience.

    THE REVIEW

    The Techne I am reviewing today is essentially a prototype – but Bob has said that any further changes will be purely cosmetic rather than sonic. As such I do not have complete packaging and accessory information, but I will share with you what I do know, and I can update any missing detail as it comes to light.
     
    PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES
     
    The review sample I have did not come with packaging, and the accessory package is not finalised, so at this stage I’ll show you what it “should” come with. So for a start I’ll show you the packaging I’ve seen from an early Delta we sampled – which should be roughly similar to what is being used for the final release.
     
    Proposed packaging style (Delta box shown) - front
    Proposed packaging style (Delta box shown) - rear
    Proposed packaging style (Delta box shown) - profile

     
    The box is likely to be a “book-style” (fold out top cover) in a grayish slate type design with the name and simple statement about the product on the front cover, and specifications and other details on the rear.
    Opening the front flap will reveal a foam inner with appropriate cut-outs to house the Techne, carry case, provided tips, and filters.
     
    techne04.jpg
    Proposed packaging style (Delta insert shown)
    Opening the Techne carry case
    Techne plus accessories

     
    The accessory package at this stage includes the carry case, 4 sets of silicone tips (1 pr small, 2 pr medium and 1 pr large), the filters (3), and Bob confirmed they will also provide 2 pairs of foams (M, L) and 1 pair of double flange silicone.

     
    techne03.jpg techne05.jpg techne06.jpg
    The Techne carry case
    The changeable tuning filters
    Included tips (more to be added)

     
    The Trinity standard case is a nice rich red colour, has an internal mesh pouch for tips etc, is triangular shaped, and zips to open/close.  It is very spacious, has a good mix of both flexibility and strength – so it is comfortably to pocket, but still protects your IEMs really well.

     
    TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
     
    (From Trinity)
    Type
    8mm Dynamic Driver
    Frequency Range
    19 Hz – 21 Khz
    Impedance
    16 ohm
    Sensitivity
    108 +/-3dB @ 1kHz 1mW
    Plug
    3.5mm gold plated, straight jack
    Cable
    1.2m – OFC
    Weight
    Approx 16g with tips in place
    IEM Shell
    CNC polished aluminium

     
    FREQUENCY GRAPH
     
    Bob sent us three frequency graphs – one for each filter – which I’ve combined so that it highlights the actual changes from filter to filter.  When doing the combined graph, I took a rough mid-point between his L&R measurements and graphed that. This graph should only be used as a rough guide – but it should give you an idea of what changes between filters.
     

     
    As I only got the Techne a little over a week ago, I didn’t get the chance to critique the filters before KS started. Both Mark and I have listened to all 3 – and unlike the Delta, we’ve had reservations.  The silver filter is the bassy one, and it sounds pretty good.
     
    The gold filter was originally supposed to be the middle filter – but Mark, Bob and I have all agreed that if anything it should be the third filter – vivid / detailed / flat – call it what you will.
     
    The black filter is actually too bass light – and we’ve all agreed it needs to be scrapped and replaced. So Bob is currently working on a third filter which will become the middle filter.  It’ll have a little more bass than the current gold, less than the silver, and (if anyone has an Alfa Genus) will actually be closer to the AG middle filter.
     
    So because the filter system is still undergoing change – please take the measurements with a grain of salt. The gold and silver should be accurate – but the black will be replaced by something else.  I have full faith in Bob’s ability to overcome this small speed bump, and everything will be fixed by the time the KS is ready to go to delivery.
     
    I have outlined further thoughts on the filters below.
     
    EDIT 6th May : We found out that one of the issues with the Techne was that the rear vent for the dynamic driver had been partially blocked in the prototype I was sent (and was different to Bob's measurements above).  After clearing the vent, and just receiving a new and improved black filter, the graph now pretty much is obsolete (I'll try and get new ones from Bob).  I'm pretty sure the silver filter (blue line) and gold filter (gold line) are still petty accurate - but the black filter has changed.
     
    I've updated my sound impressions on the filters listed - and this should be pretty much the final sonic changes.
     
    BUILD QUALITY / DESIGN
     
    Before I continue with this, I have one quick note regarding the photos.  You’ll see some black missing from the top of the Techne strain reliefs. I need to stress that my pair are prototypes, and I’ve already talked to Bob about this – and it definitely won’t happen with the final models.  I had the option to retake the photos (retouch them) – but thought it was more authentic showing you all exactly what I’ve been seeing.
     
    The Techne is (like the rest of the Trinity line) a very good looking IEM, featuring a beautiful polished silver aluminium housing. The housing this time is similar in shape to the Phonak PFE series of IEMs, and consists of a normal cylindrical type body with an adjacent “arm” which extends vertically toward the top of the ear. The seam in the body is visible but very smooth – no raised edges – and overall build quality looks to be very good.
     
    techne11.jpg techne10.jpg techne09.jpg
    Rear of Techne showing bass port
    Side of Techne
    Front of Techne showing the filter

     
    At the rear of the housing is a single vent for the dynamic driver (in the center of the cylindrical part of the body. The Techne is approximately 15 mm across at its widest point, approx. 30mm in height from the bottom of the IEM to top of the strain relief, and approx. 12-13 mm in depth (no filter), or 18mm in depth with filters in place.  The mathematicians among you will be able to work out that the exposed filter measures approx. 5mm long.  It has a slight bevel at the end (making it easier to get tips on), and has a generous lip to make sure they stay on.  In terms of width of the nozzle – again my new T400 Comply tips fit well (tight – but firm). On my prototype sample there is no L/R markings – but these should be in place for the finished product – and besides, the arms are only meant to be worn one way (cable over ear), so the shape would not easily allow comfortable fit unless worn correctly.

     
    techne20.jpg techne18.jpg techne19.jpg
    Rear of Techne with Comply sport foams fitted
    Front of Techne with Comply sport foam tips
    Side view of Techne with Comply sport foam tips

     

    The Techne comes with three screw in filter options, which I’ll go into more detail regarding sonics later in the review. The filters look to be very well made and fit my unit extremely well.
     
    The strain relief at the housing is rigid, but I don’t think this would be an issue due to the way the IEMs are usually worn. As I am not familiar with IEM shapes like the Techne, it is difficult to comment on long term reliability of this type of strain relief as I have no experience with them.
     
    The Y-split is (like the rest of th Trinity range) a really nice looking aluminium tube, with a very good strain relief at the bottom.  The jack is gold plated, and both spring loaded and also covered with Trinity’s heat shrink, so plenty of protection.  Once again – personally I’d prefer a right angle jack – but this is built to last and there should be no issues long term.
     
    techne12.jpg techne13.jpg techne14.jpg
    The Trinity Techne straight plug
    Techne Y split
    The brilliant Trinity cabling

     
    The cable is the same as the one used on the Delta and Hyperion, and is gorgeous. The cable consists of 4 OFC wires – both sets of two tight woven into a spring like weave. These two weaves are then woven again together below the Y-split. The end result is an extremely flexible, and handsome looking cable with virtually no memory.  The weave also gives it strength.  So far in my testing cable noise is minimal – unless it comes into contact with a rough surface (zipper etc).  My model does not have a cinch – but the final release will have.  The cable can be slightly tangle prone – but careful winding and storage solves that easily.

     
    So again for me, the build quality and attention to detail is very good
     
    FIT / COMFORT / ISOLATION
     
    I have one ear canal slightly different to the other one (my right is very slightly smaller) - so I tend to find that usually single silicon flanges don't fit overly well.  I initially tried the included large silicones and I couldn’t get a consistently decent fit or seal. Like my experience with the Hyperion and Delta - not Trinity’s fault – just my weird ears. I next tried Sony Isolation tips, and they sealed beautifully, were very comfortable, and showed no signs of driver flex, or pressure issues at all. The nozzle for the Techne is almost slightly too large for the Sony tips (they do fit – but I have to slightly force them).  Normally I’d switch to Comply T400s at this stage but the T400s also seem to be pretty tight, and knowing I was going to be changing filters often for the review – I instead opted to continue with the Sony Isolation tips.  I have several pairs – so it was easier to fit a pair to each set of filters – then simply change the whole unit by removing filters with tips remaining in place.
     
    Because of the arms, insertion depth with the Techne is shallower than either the Delta or Hyperion, and some may need to experiment with larger sized tips than they usually need.
     
    techne23.jpg
    Techne wearing style - courtesy Bob from Trinity
     
    Isolation with the Techne is roughly average for a hybrid containing a vented dynamic driver.  With music playing you’re isolated pretty well. But I would say comparing Hyperion, Delta, and Techne – the Techne’s isolation is very slightly poorer because of the shallower fit.
     
    Comfort is very good.  The Techne is very light, so that I hardly feel that I’m wearing them.  They do sit pretty flush with my ears, and I would have no issues lying down with them in place. The cable is soft, light and extremely comfortable in the over-ear position. The Techne is not designed to be worn cable down.
     
    So like it’s siblings – the Delta and Hyperion, the Techne appears to be comfortable, easy to fit and solidly built.  How are the sonics, and how good is the filter system?
     
    TECHNE FILTER SYSTEM
     
    The Techne, like the Delta, comes with three exchangeable filters to allow you to tailor the sound to your preference.  With the Techne, the filters (IMO) are more based around changes in the bass quantity than mid-range and treble.
     
    As I stated above – the filters are going to change, in that the black will be removed, and replaced with a different third filter.
    Latest info from Bob:
    1. Silver = bass heavy, and will stay – no changes
    2. Purple (new) = balanced/smooth, will be based closer to AG type filter, and will have membrane to further tune to the ideal sound.
    3. Black = reference, and will be equivalent to the current gold we have at the moment.
     
    I will change this section once I have further info – but this should at least give you some insight into how the tuning should sound.
     
    techne07.jpg techne21.jpg
    Techne with filters removed
    Included filters
    Gold Techne filter (R) and dampened AG filter (L)

     

    EDIT 6th May : I have completely changed this section - now that I have the new filter and the rear port is vented the way it should be.
     
    The silver filter is definitely bass heavy – and for bassheads, they will be the filter of choice. The bass is copious, and seems to add a reasonable amount of sub bass lift – especially in the 30-60hz range.  There is a little bass bleed into the mid range now, but vocals still come through pretty clear.  The bass is hitting pretty hard in both sub and mid bass, and on really heavy tracks it can have the tendency of getting a little boomy. There is also a small lift to the brightness (in the 5-7kHz range) as well – which IMO really helps if you are adding a lot of bass. I'm probably not the right person to comment on warmer, darker tuning - as it really isn't my preferred sonic signature. The surprising thing to me is that this filter still sounded pretty good with some of my bass heavier music (Lindsay Stirling, Little Dragon, and for both Trance, and the little bit of Hip-hop I have), but for other tracks (Lorde/Amy Winehouse) it was just a little boomy for my personal tastes.  If you’re in the right mood for a lot of bass – the Techne + silver can really deliver. So not my favourite – but I do think a lot of people will like this one.
     
    The current gold filter will become the third or lean/vivid filter, and as a reference filter, slightly bass light – but very vivid and detailed, it will really appeal to those who like a leaner, and very detailed sound. It has a really nice sense of overall balance, the bass is delicate, light and quick, and the mid-range and lower treble really soars. I’ve found these to excel particularly with acoustic music, and I’ve really enjoyed these with some of my female vocalists.
     
    The third (middle filter) will be purple on release, and is the equivalent of the new black filter Bob has just sent me. This filter has a smoother, mellower, lusher tone - but doesn't lose that sense of detail and clarity.  It doesn't have the added heat up the top (like the silver filter) but it has a really nice sense of overall balance.  Bass is present, but not overpowering.  Of the three it is definitely my most preferred overall signature.
     
    All three filters simply screw off the main body, then screw easily back on again. Again, possibly the only thing that I’d change would be the addition of a small rubber washer just to make tightening and loosening a little more secure.
     
    The spare filters are housed in a clever little aluminium tube with a screw on cap.  This is brilliant as the tube fits neatly in the case so that your filters are always with you – and the tube should be big enough so that it won’t get easily lost.
     
    SOUND QUALITY
     
    Edit - Updated and rewritten 6th May (new middle filter and properly vented rear port)
     
    The following is what I hear from the Trinity Techne.  YMMV – and probably will – as my tastes are likely different to yours (read the preamble I gave earlier for a baseline).  Most of the testing at this point (unless otherwise stated) was done with my Fiio X3ii as source, the new black (middle) filter in place, and Sony Isolation tips.
     
    techne22.jpg
     
    Tracks used were across a variety of genres – and can be viewed in this list http://www.head-fi.org/a/brookos-test-tracksI’ve once again shortened the genre section a little so that I could add a quick comparison to the Delta and Hyperion.
     
    Thoughts on Default Signature
    The Techne with the “new” filter could best be described as clear, but smooth, and slightly lush. The bass is now very close to neutral (sounds really balanced), and sounds more natural than the current gold filter (the extra few dB really helps).
     
    Overall Detail / Clarity
    With both “Gaucho” and “Sultans of Swing”, there is a good level of clarity – but more importantly good tonality through brass, vocals, guitar and bass guitar. The overall presentation is quite smooth and coherent. There is plenty of upper level detail – but it is not sharpened or etched. Guitar has a nice edge to it – and now are just about perfect for my preferences. Cymbals are present – but not overstated. The biggest change here has been with the bass quantity and quality.  Now the bass guitar is perfectly balanced with the rest of the track, and it really is very pleasant. The resolution is very good - but ultimately doesn't match the Trinity Delta.
     
    Sound-stage & Imaging
    The imaging on the Techne is still very good on the new middle filter – everything is clearly defined – especially so when testing with Amber Rubarth’s Tundra. Size of stage overall is more intimate than expansive, and similar in a lot of ways to the Hyperion. The bass coming through on this track is nice and precise - deep but having good speed.
     
    Onto McKennitt’s “Dante’s Prayer”, and the vocals are nicely articulated. The cello and piano are really good – really great tonality. Again imaging is good with the “new” filter, no issues for me with positioning within the stage. The applause at the end, had reasonable width, and a little depth, but ultimately didn’t quite connect.
     
    I finished with Amanda Marshall’s “Let it Rain” which is recorded with an almost holographic sound.  The “new” filter shone with this, glorious vocals, glorious balance – an absolutely brilliant performance. This really manages to highlight how good the Techne is, and I found myself "bopping" in my seat an nodding my head while it was palying.  Always a good sign with any headphone or earphone.  It just sounds right!
     
    Bass Quality and Quantity
    With the “new” filter in place, bass is definitely a lot more present – and there is now some decent thump and impact. “Bleeding Muddy Waters” by Mark Lanegan was dark, brooding and a joy to listen to.  There is very little excess reverb now, and any boom feels like it's supposed to be there.  Marks voice has very good pitch and timbre (important for this track), and manages to convey that rough and raw emotion that is essential for this track. The fact that it does this so well, while not skimoing on the bass (and not bleeding anywhere) is a testament to the tuning of this new middle filter.
     
    It was time to check sub-bass, so I moved on to Lorde’s “Royals”. Impact was brilliant, and when the bass guitar hit, the rumble was definitely present. Ella’s vocals remained clear and well defined. Again - this presentation is everything I look for in this track. Magic.  Likewise, playing Some Trance from AVB - and this is all the bass I'd ever need.  More importantly it really does feel like bass done right.  I love it.
     
    Female Vocals
    This is an interesting one because before the latest filter change, I would have preferred the gold filter. Now with the new filter, the better bass wins out for greater versatility. With the “new” filter there isn’t quite the same articulation and sweetness of tone, but there is more overall balance – especially when instruments needing a bit more lower end (piano, cello, double bass etc) are present. Aventine was perhaps a little hollow, but all of my other artists were hugely enjoyable.  London Grammar was brilliant (Hannah's voice perfectly captured), and Gabriella Cilmi's "Safer" once again brought goose-bumps. Norah was captivating  For tracks with bass impact – Feist, FaTM etc – the new filter was definitely a huge improvement over the gold filter (bass impact was really good). Thumbs up from me.
     
    Male Vocals
    Queueing up my rock tracks with the “new” filter in place was a welcome change from the original gold filter. The added bass and body through the mid-range is what had been missing originally. The dynamism was back – and it was amazing how much a little bit of bass impact can help with rock as a genre. Vocals had good clarity, guitars had enough edge and crunch, and overall the tonal balance was smooth and very easy to listen to.
     
    Acoustic Rock was really good – especially the Eagle’s Hotel California and Nil’s Lofgren’s “Keith Don’t Go” – and the clarity and tonality of stringed instruments in particular is great. If you have a lot of acoustic music in your library, you’ll really enjoy the Techne with this new filter.
     
    My litmus test though is always Pearl Jam. The Techne nailed this track – fantastic overall tonality. Vedders voice had good depth and timbre.  Overall it was a really nice listen - no, better than nice, thoroughly enjoyable. 
     
    Genre Specific Notes
    My original thoughts (before the final filter update) was that I was caught between my preference on filters.  Now I'm firmly behind the middle filter, and it continued to deliver with everything I through at it.
     
    For Alt Rock, the Techne with new filter was very good, and Floyd’s Money and PT’s Trains showed wonderful clarity and articulation. "Money" in particular can be a difficult track to get the right tonality mix between vocals and other instruments.  if the contrast isn't there, the track fails miserably.  The Techne really did deliver. Bass guitar supplied the backdrop, and then everything sort of fell eprfectly in palce from there.  The sax in particular was brilliant.
     
    The new filter worked equally as well on my jazz tracks – Portico Quartet’s Ruins was absolutely sublime, and for my tastes this new filter matches pretty well with jazz – showing great technicality with separation and details. Even better was mixing vocals Portico's "Steepless" was pure brilliance with the Techne.
     
    Blues and bluegrass were also pretty good – again the Techne showing great proficiency with strings.
     
    For EDM and electronic, or any bassier music, the  new filter really shines now, and is perfect for me. Again I find the silver filter slightly too bassy for me personally, but the new middle filter is wonderful. And that is the beauty of the Techne - a filter to match everyone's tastes.
     
    Moving to straight pop, and again the new filter continues to deliver. It's amazing how much of a change overall the perfect amount of bass can make.  it really sets the foundation for the rest of the track.  Add clarity and very good separation and you have a winning combination.  With my Indie tracks, the Techne was practically perfect. The tonal balance hit my own personal preferences wonderfully.  Band of Horses and Wildlight both were hugely enjoyable. 
     
    Finally onto classical and here is where I was slightly torn.  The new filter was a great all rounder with every track I tried, and particularly so with Kempffs rendition of Beethoven’s piano sonatas, and Zoe Keating’s cello.  The new filter manages to capture the deepness and richness of tone that I know is there. At times though - the purity of the gold filter could take my breath away with pure string based ensembles. Again the beauty and versatility of the filter system - choose the right one for your music and preferences.  The best of all worlds.
     
    AMPLIFICATION REQUIREMENTS
     
    The Techne is easily powered straight out of the portable devices I have, and I haven’t experienced any issues with the iPhone 5S, or any of the Fiio Daps. With typical pop/rock songs on the iP5S I’m usually at a volume level of around 30-40%, on the X3ii around 40-50/120.  The one thing an amp can bring to the table though is hardware bass boost – and this can help. I connected the little Brainwavz AP001 which engages an automatic bass boost – and this really helped transform the original gold filter.  If Bob can bring this tonality to the new middle filter, it would be perfect. So basically the Techne doesn’t need amping – but it can be used if that is your preference.
     
    EQUALISATION
     
    Edited 6th May - after addition of new middle filter
    Normally I’d be saying (for a filtered IEM) that EQ should be done with the filters.  But before the new filter arrived, I did have a chance to play around with the original filters, and apply a bass EQ to the golds.  It worked really well - and the Techne (gold filter) did benefit extremely well from an ascending EQ rise from about 250 Hz through to the sub-bass.  However with the new middle filter, I see absolutely no need to apply EQ (I find it perfect "as-is").  It is however nice to know that the Techne is versatile with possible EQ changes as well.
     
    COMPARISONS – TRINITY RANGE
     
    Edited 6th May - after addition of new middle filter
    This one will be rough and very subjective. I’m comparing the Techne with “new” filter vs Hyperion vs Delta with middle gun-metal (smooth) filter
     
    1. Techne vs Hyperion
      Techne (with this filter) is fuller and richer in the mids, while the Hyperion is a little brighter and more etched. Both have a nice bass line.  Hyperion is a little more vivid, slightly more V shaped, and a little more intense/fun – there is also a little more ‘heat’ up top.  The Techne is a little more refined, a little more balanced, and a little smoother.

       
    2. Techne vs Delta
      This is pretty interesting now with the new filter. Techne (with this filter) is slightly deeper in the lower mids – but to me doesn’t have quite the overall refinement or smoothness of the Delta. Both are very clear, and both pretty balanced. They both share a very similar tonality as well. Directly A/Bing, and I'd say subjectively that the Techne has a tiny bit more vividness, and a bit more of an adge to it.  The Delta ahs a little more sub-bass, and is a little smoother - but still remains equally as detailed. 

       
    VALUE
     
    Indications we have from Bob is that the Techne (after initial launch) will retail at around £65.00/ $95.00 USD (at today’s rates).  This makes it very good value – given its overall build quality, and the tuning options with the filters.
    At the KickStarter introductory price of £40.00/ $60.00 USD, again this is an extremely good deal, and represents (to me) an opportunity well worth taking up.

    TECHNE - SUMMARY

    Updated 6th May - (final)
     
    With the Techne, you get the Trinity build promise (quality throughout), with aluminium shells, a fantastic cable, and a very good filter system that gives some very clearly delineated and different options as base for tuning sound to your individual preference.
     
    The silver filter will satisfy the bass lovers among us, and yet still have the retention of the very good Trinity mid-range. At the other end of the spectrum is the original gold filter (which now becomes the third filter) – which has a mid-range and lower treble which I personally really like. This can also be built upon further by use of EQ, or even the addition of you own dampening to further tailor the sound to your individual preference. The new middle filter is the one (for me) that has completed this IEM and made it well worth purchasing. It has a fantastically tuned balance to the overall signature - with a vivid and clear mid-range, and the perfect amount of bass to compliment the overall tonality.
     
    The Techne is a very good IEM – especially at the KS price point.  My preference remains firmly with the Delta, but if your budget doesn’t stretch quite that far, the Techne is an excellent alternative. Very versatile, solid build, and comfortable to wear.  4.5 stars from me.
     
      twister6 likes this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Brooko
      Well that would depend on your own preferences and anatomy :)  But for my preferences - as much as I love the Hyperions, they don't have the tuning filters, so you can't tune to your preferences.  between the Techne and the Vyrus - I prefer the Vyrus.  The filters are better - I guess its an evolution, as the range was developed.  But if you want to go a step better than both - the Deltas are still my pick as best I've heard from Trinity (for the price)
      Brooko, Jan 11, 2017
    3. basefi
      @Brooko sadly the deltas are way above my budget for now :frowning2:.... thats why i narrowed down my choices to those 3 :). so you mean to say the vyrus has better bass and clarity compared to techne?? also i've read that the bassy filters of the vyrus tend to be muddy, is it the same case with the techne's bassy filter??
      basefi, Jan 12, 2017
    4. Brooko
      I think its the same with adding too much bass to any headphone. Muddiness is simply the bass bleeding into the lower mid-range.  Keep it in check, or lat least balanced (frequency), and you won't get those issues.
      Brooko, Jan 25, 2017