Trinity - Hyperion Dynamic IEM

Rating:
4.75/5,
  1. zamorin
    Trinity Hyperion
    Written by zamorin
    Published Jun 14, 2018 at 5:30 AM
    5.0/5,
    This is just a fantastic IEM for Price Vs SQ. It reminds me so much of my 1st Audiophile IEM - the Crossroads Bijou 3 but just better in many aspects. It has good lows and highs and mids. This is very unlike the highly rated T-Peos H100 which I had a big problem with it's piercing treble and almost non-existent mids and that was about 10 times the price. Compared to my GR07BE (which I loved) the imaging seems to be better and the built quality looks much better than GR07BE. GR07BE also lacked something (depth? separation? something I cannot really describe). The only other IEM I got is a CIEM I made (using the TF10 as base). Even compared to it, the Hyperion is close. I actually forgot what the TF10 sounds like but from what I can recall, they were my best IEM ever.

    I tried it with my Cayin N3 DAP. Forgot to add, the Bijou 3 was Malaysian $190 and Hyperion was just $50. Trying to find it to see how remarkably similar they are. The built quality/cable/tips are all better on the Hyperion ofcourse.

    Edit: Sorry, the Bijou 3 is notably bigger than the Hyperion.

    images

    1. Trinity Audio - Hyperion - vs Bijou3.jpg
    1. voxie
      Why write a review when the company no longer for all in tent in purposes no longer exists. One cannot purchase them
      voxie, Jun 15, 2018 at 4:37 PM
    2. Brooko
      Because he wants to write an opinion about a product he owns, and which some people may find useful - especially as these are still available on the 2nd hand market :wink:
      Brooko, Jun 15, 2018 at 6:13 PM
    3. voxie
      That's fair enough Paul and I get your point... just saying if one wants to purchase this iem, directly or indirectly. Please be aware that if a fault accurs on the iem you may not have any comeback due to the ongoing business issues re Trinity. Am just giving heads up to members who are not aware of the situation on hand before they part with there hard earned money.
      voxie, Jun 15, 2018 at 7:12 PM
  2. cleg
    Great entry-level earphones
    Written by cleg
    Published Jan 21, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - fun sound, price, build quality
    Cons - slight microphonics
    1MainPic.jpg

    I can definitely say, that I'm in love with this tiny and inexpensive earphones, made by Trinity Audio Engineering, so once again I need to gather my poor english skills to share my love with you.

    I won't write much about Trinity itself, they are active participants in Head-Fi community, I can only notice, that most of all I like their passion for experiments, necessary for all companies that wants to succeed. If you are interested in getting more information about company, here is excellent thread.

    Also, I won't spend lot of time, describing box, accessories set and other aesthetic stuff. You can definitely see Hyperion's design on pictures, accessories set includes case, shirt clip, 4 pairs of single-flange tips, 1 pair of dual flange and adapter, to change straight jack into 90° one. Hyperion's build is nice, despite being really affordable model, they made of metal, have pretty robust cable and nice sturdy jack. They fit nicely into any ears and sits there without any comfort issues. Only disadvantage I've noticed — slight microphonics, when cable touches your cloth. Luckily, shirt clip and over-ear wearing comes to the rescue.

    3Acessories.jpg

    So, that's all about outlook, main thing here is sound, and it's really nice.

    I've burnt this earphones for 48 hours, not that I believe it can change anything, but just to be sure.

    As lots of small earphones, Hyperion's sound really fit-dependant. You should try different tips to ensure perfect sealing. For me best option became white two-flanges. I've heart good words about foam tips, but I didn't try them.

    4Overview.jpg

    Trinity managed to get nice, "tasty" sound with slight accent on lows and great mids. Earphones sound representation is really nice for their price, and suits almost all genres.

    Bass have a slight emphasis, to create necessary effect of tightness. It's not going really deep, but offers good resolution for this price range. Bass speed greatly depends on source capabilities, so with DAPs that dosn't control lows greatly, Hyperion can be slightly boomy, but with good DAPs, there is no any issues.

    Mids are especially nice for such inexpensive model. Their mids are lively, it's smoothed a little to create more "musical" representation, and it sounds really nice. Stage is a bit wider then average, but not really deep. Instrument separation is also OK.

    6Closeup.jpg

    Highs are rolled off a little, to make sound comfortable and not fatiguing, but there are enough of them to represent treble. Hyperion's sound isn't the most airy one, but it's not harsh and too bright.

    So, if I don't mind the price, there are some slight drawbacks in Hypreion's sound, but price-wise, they are more then good. BTW, if you go to Trinite Audio thread, you can find there coupon for really great discount.

    You can definitely use those earphones with smartphones and tablets (they have microphone with 1-button talk control), but Hyperions can really benefit from nice DAP. They have growth potential and improves sound with mid-tier DAPs. They are pretty OK with almost all music styles (of course, for orchestral classic or technical metal you should consider something much more expensive). Earphones are pretty forgiving, so you can listen to not-audiopiliac recirdings with ease.

    9WithLotoo5000.jpg

    To conclude: if you are looking for inexpensive earphones with balanced and fun sound, Hyperion is really nice option.

    I want to thank to Trinity Audio Engineering for providing me a review unit in exchange of my honest opinion.
      Brooko likes this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. cleg
      cleg, Jan 22, 2016
    3. lukito09
      @cleg there wont be a microphonic problem with the braided cable 
      lukito09, Jan 28, 2016
    4. cleg
      @lukito09 I think so, but I have version with fabric cable
      cleg, Jan 28, 2016
  3. mark2410
    Trinity Hyperion Quick Review by mark2410
    Written by mark2410
    Published Apr 3, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Pretty. Sounds even and accomplished. Great breadth. Bass linearity.
    Cons - Not ass bassy as some would want. Bit of a lower treble spike.
    Trinity Hyperion Quick Review
     
    Thanks to Trinity for the sample and collaboration.
     
    Full review here http://www.head-fi.org/t/761350/trinity-hyperion-review-by-mark2410
     
    Brief:  Teeny tiny baby dynamics
     
    Price:  £30 or about US$45
     
    Specification:      8mm Neodymium Drivers, Impedance: 16Ohm, Sensitivity: 108 +/- 3DB,  Frequency response: 20 - 20000Hz, Gold plated 3.5mm Jack, 1.2M length cable
     
    Accessories:  Some tips and a little case.
     
    Build Quality:  Lovely.  The cable in particularl is a double braided thing, super flexable and good quality.  The buds are pure metal, clean and simple carved aluminium.
     
    Isolation:  Pretty good for a dynamic.  Just fine for normal life, out and about, on a bus stuff.  Not really for lots of flights but hey, would do in a pinch.  Naturally enough to get you run over if you aren’t using your eyes.
     
    Comfort/Fit:  Excellent.  Things are tiny, in the ears they go and all done.  Happy to sit there all day too.
     
    Aesthetics:  I like them.  I’d like more if brushed aluminium but I’m nit picking
     
    Sound:  Great.  I think these have the same driver in them as their siblings, the Techne.  Here though no changeable filters.  For me that means only good things.  First off you don’t have to take three different points into account for tuning and these are half the price.  When you half the price of something that buys you a lot more leeway in terms of my expectations and competition.  These feel much more even tonally, the bass hasn’t the quantity the Techne can put out but it’s most impressively linear as it descends.  The mids have good breadth to them, breathy and highly detailed.  The highs shimmer quite well but do have a little spike in the mid/treble reagon that get a bit attention seeking.  The likes of Nina Simone or Maria Carey’s ballads are highly impressive.  Sure, its’s no PL-50 but the mids don’t feel like they have two giants standing on either side threatening to beat the bejesus out of them if get uppity.  Their only really acoustic flaw is that spike in the lower treble that likes to leap out from time to time but otherwise it’s a highly pleasing, broad soundscape.  Even then I feel like I’m being a little hard on them to make note of it.  Its detail levels are top class, full of delicate background instrumentation, so soft and subtle that it belies its price point.  It’s not going to please everyone though, it’s not especially bassy which is unusual at its price.  Normally low priced stuff lives by more bass means “better” and as such you get a far more composed and even handed sound.  The bass is a might soft and the treble hasn’t the world best extension but most music isn’t at either extreme anyway.  What we have in the Hyperion is a really friendly, really competent, all-rounder.  For the money, I presently believe it to be best value you can get, especially if you’re in the EU as these are already taxed where as its competition from the Far East would not be.
     
    Value:  Great.  Sounds and looks fab.  Would make a great wee gift IEM.
     
    Pro’s:   Pretty. Sounds even and accomplished.  Great breadth. Bass linearity.
     
    Con’s:  Not ass bassy as some would want.  Bit of a lower treble spike.
     
  4. Brooko
    Trinity Hyperion - Perfection On A Budget!
    Written by Brooko
    Published Apr 2, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Build, fit, isolation, sound quality, clarity, value, cable quality, accessories (proposed)
    Cons - Personal - can't use them with Sony Isolation tips (flex), can be a little flat with classical
    hyperion19.jpg
    For larger views of any of the photos (1200 x 800) - please click on the individual images

    INTRODUCTION

    For those who haven’t heard yet, Trinity Audio Engineering (from this point we’ll just call them “Trinity”) is a new company, based in the UK, who is about to come to market with 3 brand new IEMs.  Trinity is the brainchild of the main designer from RockJaw UK (you know him on the forums as RockBob). Bob is starting the new company with RockJaw’s blessing, and as I understand it, the whole reason for the new company is simply so that Bob can pursue his dream to build a range of IEMs purely to his specification. He will also continue to work and design for RockJaw.
     
    The underlying vision and philosophy behind Trinity is that high quality audio should be affordable to everyone – and without compromising on build or materials.  And just because it is high quality – it shouldn’t mean it has to be high cost.
     
    So in the last few months, Bob has been working behind the scenes on his new product line, and along the way has enlisted the help of Mark2410, H20fidelity, and myself, to help him with feedback on what we’ve liked and didn’t like along the design process. One thing I really appreciate with a company like Trinity, and a designer like Bob, is the willingness to involve his consumers in some of the design decisions, so that the end result is (hopefully) exactly what the target audience sis looking for.
     
    83db2fb7_HYPERION_3.jpg 96ac829f_hyperion_tiny_1.jpg 528cdd4d_HYPERION_2.jpg
    Some of Trinity's studio photos of the Hyperion
    Some of Trinity's studio photos of the Hyperion
    Some of Trinity's studio photos of the Hyperion

     

    I count myself incredibly lucky to have been approached to work with Bob on this project – via email, PM and phone – and must admit a little personal pride in what Trinity have achieved. So without further comment – let’s have a look at the Hyperion – the smallest and cheapest entrant to the Trinity range.
     
    DISCLAIMER
     
    I was provided the Hyperion by Trinity as part of development and for final review of the end product.  Apart from my obvious involvement in feedback on the development, I am not otherwise affiliated with Trinity in any way, nor do I make any financial gain from my contributions.
     
    PREAMBLE - 'ABOUT ME'.   (or a base-line for interpreting my thoughts and bias)
     
    I'm a 48 year old music lover.  I don't say audiophile – I just love my music.  Over the last couple of years, I have slowly changed from cheaper listening set-ups to my current set-up.  I vary my listening from portable (Fiio X5, X3ii, X1 and iPhone 5S) to my desk-top's set-up (PC > coax > NFB-12 > LD MKIV > HP).  I also use a portable set-up at work – either X5/X3ii > HP, or PC > Beyer A200p > HP.  My main full sized headphones at the time of writing are the Beyer T1 and Sennheiser HD600.  Most of my portable listening is done with IEMs - and up till now it has mainly been with the Fidue A83, Dunu Titan and Altone200. A full list of the gear I have owned (past and present is listed in my Head-Fi profile).
     
    I have very eclectic music tastes listening to a variety from classical/opera and jazz, to grunge and general rock.   I listen to a lot of blues, jazz, folk music, classic rock, indie and alternative rock.  I am particularly fond of female vocals.  I generally tend toward cans that are relatively neutral/balanced, but I do have a fondness for clarity, and suspect I might have slight ‘treble-head’ preferences.  I am not treble sensitive (at all), and in the past have really enjoyed headphones like the K701, SR325i, and of course the T1 and DT880.
     
    I have extensively tested myself (abx) and I find aac256 or higher to be completely transparent.  I do use exclusively redbook 16/44.1 if space is not an issue.  All of my music is legally purchased (mostly CD – the rest FLAC purchased on-line). I tend to be sceptical about audiophile ‘claims’, don’t generally believe in burn-in, have never heard a difference with different cables, and would rather test myself blind on perceived differences.  I am not a ‘golden eared listener’.  I suffer from mild tinnitus, and at 48, my hearing is less than perfect.
     
    For the purposes of this review - I mainly used the Hyperion straight from the headphone-out socket of my Fiio X1, X3ii, and also used (at different times) my iPhone 5S, and Beyer A200p when at work.  Although I tested them with an amplifier, I do not think they benefit from additional amplification.  In the time I have spent with the Hyperion, I have noticed a slight change in the overall sonic presentation, but am aware that this is simply that I am becoming more used to the signature of the Hyperion as I use them more often (brain burn-in).
     
    This is a purely subjective review - my gear, my ears, and my experience.  Please take it all with a grain of salt - especially if it does not match your own experience.
     

    THE REVIEW

    The Hyperion I am reviewing today is essentially a prototype – but Bob has said that any further changes will be purely cosmetic rather than sonic. As such I do not have complete packaging and accessory information, but I will share with you what I do know, and I can update any missing detail as it comes to light.
     
    PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES
     
    The review sample I have did not come with packaging, and the accessory package is not finalised, so at this stage I’ll show you what it “should” some with.
     
    box01.jpg box02.jpg box03.jpg
    Delta box - front - Hyperion boxing should look similar
    Delta box - rear - Hyperion boxing should look similar
    Delta box - profile - Hyperion boxing should look similar

     
    So for a start I’ll show you the packaging I’ve seen from the Delta – which should be roughly similar to what is being used for the rest of the line. The box is likely to be a “book-style” (fold out top cover) in a grayish slate type design with the name and simple statement about the product on the front cover, and specifications and other details on the rear. Opening the front flap will reveal a foam inner with appropriate cut-outs to house the Hyperions, carry case and provided tips.  A small note here – the photo shown does show a different IEM, and the filter capsule at the top – but the Hyperion doesn’t have removable filters, so none will be provided.
     
    box04.jpg hyperion04.jpg hyperion05.jpg
    Inner cut out from Delta - Hyperion won't have the filter set
    The Trinity case
    Hyperion, case and some of the tips

     

    The accessory package at this stage includes the carry case, 4 sets of silicone filters (1 pr small, 2 pr medium and 1 pr large), and Bob confirmed they will also provide 2 pairs of foams (M, L) and 1 pair of double flange silicone. The Trinity standard case is a nice rich red colour, has an internal mesh pouch for tips etc, is triangular shaped, and zips to open/close.  It is very spacious, has a good mix of both flexibility and strength – so it is comfortably to pocket, but still protects your IEMs really well.
     
    hyperion06.jpg hyperion03.jpg hyperion02.jpg
    The Hyperion carry case
    Silicone tips
    Final will also include foams and dual flange

     

    TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
     
    (From Trinity)
    Type
    Single 8mm neodymium dynamic driver inner ear monitor
    Frequency Range
    19 Hz – 21 Khz
    Impedance
    16 ohm
    Sensitivity
    108 +/-3dB @ 1kHz 1mW
    Plug
    3.5mm gold plated, straight jack
    Cable
    1.2m – OFC
    Weight
    Approx 12g with tips included
    IEM Shell
    CNC polished aluminium

     
    FREQUENCY GRAPH
     
    hyperion01.jpg
     
    At the time of writing, I’m waiting for a frequency response graph from Bob, but just for a bit of fun, I’ve composed my own measurements using my trusty SPL meter. For this recording I used A-weighting in a quiet environment.  While I was at it, I checked for channel matching using 500, 1000, and 5000 Hz tones, and both earpieces were within 0.1 dB on my system for all 3 readings.  Very impressive.
     
    Hz
    60 Hz
    80 Hz
    100 Hz
    150 Hz
    200 Hz
    250 Hz
    300 Hz
    400 Hz
    500 Hz
    600 Hz
    700 Hz
    800 Hz
    900 Hz
    dB
    55.0
    60.7
    64.6
    70.2
    73.2
    77.7
    76.2
    77.6
    78.4
    78.8
    79.1
    79.4
    79.6
    Hz
    1 kHz
    2 kHz
    3 kHz
    4 kHz
    5 kHz
    6 kHz
    7 kHz
    8 kHz
    10 kHz
    12 kHz
    14 kHz
    16 kHz
    20 kHz
    dB
    80.0
    82.6
    87.8
    84.6
    80.6
    79.5
    80.6
    78.5
    64.0
    52.5
    45.7
    43.3
    40.1

     
    I’ve said before to Mark and H20 that I thought the Hyperion sounded just a little like my Altone200.  So I also measured them – and below 1kHz, every measurement was within 0.1-0.2 dB of the Hyperion.  It’s only when you get into the upper mid-range and treble, that the Altone’s hotter tone starts making itself shown fully.
     
    HYPERIONfrequencychartcopy.jpg
     
    Altone graph added from Bob
     
    BUILD QUALITY / DESIGN
     
    The Hyperion is a gorgeous little IEM featuring a practically flawless polished aluminium housing.  It is definitely 2 piece – because you can see the seam – but the join is pretty smooth on the sample I have. At the rear of the housing is a single vent for the dynamic driver (adjacent to the cable exit). The Hyperion is tiny too! It is only 9mm in circumference, and 15mm from the rear of the housing to the tip of the nozzle.  The nozzle itself is approx. 5mm long, has a slight bevel at the end (making it easier to get tips on), and has a generous lip to make sure they stay on.  In terms of width of the nozzle – brand new T400 Comply tips fit perfectly. On my prototype sample there is no L/R markings – but these definitely should be in place for the finished product.
     
    hyperion11.jpg hyperion12.jpg hyperion13.jpg
    Rear view with driver veent
    Side view
    Filter view

     

    The strain relief at the housing is flexible and appears reasonable strong.  Personally I’d prefer something a little more rigid – as they fit so far inside my ear, that the only way to remove them is to gently pull on the relief.  Bob has informed me that the final model will have both sturdier exit relief, and these will also be colour coded for easy L/R identification.  Nice!
     
    hyperion14.jpg hyperion15.jpg hyperion16.jpg
    With standard tips fitted - they are bigger than the Hyperion!
    Rear port + good look at relief and cable
    Front view

     

    The Y-split is a really nice looking aluminium tube, a really good strain relief at the bottom.  The jack is gold plated, and both spring loaded and also covered with Trinity’s heat shrink, so plenty of protection.  Again – personally I’d prefer a right angle jack – but this is built to last and there should be no issues long term.
     
    hyperion07.jpg hyperion08.jpg hyperion09.jpg
    Jack
    Y split
    Cable

     

    The cable is flat out gorgeous. Bob and I talked at length about this in the development phase, and how a lot of “budget” IEMs can have terrible cables. The cable is very different from the original prototypes, and consists of 4 ofc wires – both sets of two tight woven into a spring like weave. These two weaves are then woven again together below the Y-split. The end result is an extremely flexible, and gorgeous looking cable with virtually no memory.  The weave also gives it strength.  So far in my testing (over-ear), cable noise is minimal – unless it comes into contact with a rough surface (zipper etc).  My model does not have a cinch – but the final release will have.  The cable can be slightly tangle prone – but careful winding and storage solves that easily.
     
    So for me, the build quality and attention to detail is among the best I’ve seen at this price point.  Factor in the quality of the cable – and I haven’t seen a design yet of this quality at this price.
     
    FIT / COMFORT / ISOLATION
     
    I have one ear canal slightly different to the other one (my right is very slightly smaller) - so I tend to find that usually single silicon flanges don't fit overly well.  I initially tried the included large silicones and I couldn’t get a consistently decent fit or seal. Not Trinity’s fault – just my weird ears. I next tried Sony Isolation tips, and they sealed beautifully, but caused some driver flex, and every time I swallowed or moved my jaw – I got some pressure problems in my ear drums. Isolation was excellent – but I needed a new solution.  So I switched to the Comply T400s, and it hit the spot for fit, comfort and isolation. Zero driver flex, and no pressure issues. Isolation with the Hyperion is better than average for a dynamic driver (pretty good in fact) – probably due to the single small vent.
     
    hyperion17.jpg hyperion18.jpg hyperion20.jpg
    The Hyperion really is tiny
    Compared to size of Altone200, Havi and even "small" M1
    My preferred T400 tips

     

    Comfort is excellent – they are so light and small that I hardly feel that I’m wearing them.  With their micro size, they stay well within my ears, and it is easy for me to lie down or sleep whilst wearing them.  The cable is very soft, and extremely comfortable in my preferred over-ear position.
     
    The Hyperion looks good, and has a fantastic build – can this tiny IEM deliver where it matters most – the sound?
     
    SOUND QUALITY
     
    The following is what I hear from the Trinity Hyperion.  YMMV – and probably will – as my tastes are likely different to yours (read the preamble I gave earlier for a baseline).  Most of the testing at this point (unless otherwise stated) was done with my Fiio X3ii as source.
     
    hyperion21.jpg
     
     
    Tracks used were across a variety of genres – and can be viewed in this list http://www.head-fi.org/a/brookos-test-tracks.
     
    Thoughts on Default Signature
    I mentioned earlier, my immediate impression listening to the Hyperion the first time was like listening to the Altone200 – with just a little less heat in the upper mid-range and lower treble, and possibly a little more balance overall.
    The other major impression – surprise really – on my first lesson was the really “big sound” I was getting from such a tiny IEM.  I just didn’t expect it. This is the sort of sound I’d expect from a well-tuned dual driver – not a tiny single dynamic!
     
    If I was to describe the Hyperion in a few words, it would be “vivid”, “detailed”, “alive” – yet at the same time, it has its own refinement and balance.  When I first heard the Hyperion I was sure there was a slight V shape – and I guess there still is – but it doesn’t seem out of place (and for someone who like’s overall balance, that is really saying something).  The Hyperion seems to strike a very good match between detail and balance.
     
    Overall Detail / Clarity
    For this I always use both Steely Dan’s “Gaucho” and Dire Strait’s “Sultans of Swing” as there is a lot of micro detail in both tracks, and the recording quality for both is excellent.
     
    The Hyperion’s detail retrieval is brilliant – in both tracks I’m getting everything I’d normally expect to be hearing from both tracks. On Gaucho there isn’t as much cymbal shimmer as my Altones, but the cymbal hits themselves are clear. The brass is gorgeous – especially the sax, and the bass has plenty of depth and definition. Switching to Dire Straits, and cymbal hits come to the fore a little more. Knopfler’s voice has pretty good tone, and the guitar has nice edge and crunch.  Really dynamic portrayal – I like it.
     
    Sound-stage & Imaging
    For this I use Amber Rubarth’s binaural recording “Tundra”.  I use this because it’s a pretty simple way to get comparative data on sound-stage.
     
    It’s usually difficult to get a reasonable stage size from an inner ear monitor.  The stage is often quite small / close – with an average impression of space.  The Hyperion (like most IEMs) has an intimate stage with this track, and the sense of space is not expansive. Again, this is not a bad thing, as few IEMs manage an expansive presentation.
     
    I switched to Loreena McKennitt’s “Dante’s Prayer” and it was an enjoyable listen – wonderful tonality in both piano and cello. Loreena seemed to be quite close, so again very intimate presentation overall.  I always use this track because at the end the applause on a few headphones (HD600, Titan, T1) has been able to literally put me in the audience (it’s a special moment when the applause washes around you). The Hyperion almost managed it (close and still enthralling) – but the overall listening experience was still very good.
     
    I finished this section with Amanda Marshall’s “Let It Rain” – which was recorded in such a way that it can sound quite holographic on many headphones and IEMs.  The Hyperion handled this brilliantly.  The presentation was very 3D – quite close, but still very dynamic and alive. Thoroughly enjoyable.
     
    Bass Quality and Quantity
    I’ve been spoilt recently with impactful and good quality bass from some of my other hybrid IEMs (Altone 200, DN-1000 and A83), and looking at the tiny Hyperion you’d be forgiven for thinking that it might be weak in this area. As I mentioned earlier though, the Hyperion sounded a little like the Altone200 to me from day one – and it is in the sub-bass, bass, and lower mid-range where this really exhibits itself.
     
    The bass on the Hyperion reaches impressively low (even with my hearing, I could easily hear 25Hz). The bass is pretty agile and well defined, and I’ve noticed no real mid-bass bloom, maybe just a little mid-bass hump on some tracks where big hits can get a little boomy. But overall, bass impact, texture and speed so far have been very good.
     
    Amongst my test tracks, one of my go-to test tracks is “Bleeding Muddy Waters” by Mark Lanegan.  This blues rock track is dark and brooding – and exposes any mushiness or imbalance in bass cohesion. The Hyperion was really good with this track, clean and impactful bass, and Mark’s voice also has great tone and texture.
     
    I wanted to see how low the bass would go in real music – so switched to Lorde’s “Royals” – and the Hyperion delivered (massively). When the bass guitar kicks in, there is definite rumble, and yet Ella’s vocals remain clear, and well defined.
     
    Female Vocals
    Around 60-65% of my music revolves around female vocals – be it jazz, pop, rock, electronic, or even opera.  I’m an unabashed fan.  For me a necessary attribute for any IEM is how it renders female vocals.
     
    The one thing I’ve noticed so far has been how well the Hyperion has handled vocalists like McKennitt and Lorde. But how would it handle some of the tougher artists like Agnes Obel – as some of her recordings can become quite strident or shouty if the mids aren’t quite right.  With the Hyperion, her vocals aren’t as perfectly euphonic as the Altone200 (missing some of the upper mid-range maybe) – but the overall presentation is still thoroughly enjoyable, and there is no hollowness or shoutiness present.
     
    I then proceeded to play a medley of my other tracks from artists including London Grammar, Angus & Julia Stone, Christina Perri, Feist, Gabriella Cilmi, Florence and the Machine, and Norah Jones. The first track I played from London Grammar gave me chills – Hannah’s voice was close to perfect – and this continued as I queued up each artist. Again – presentation is not quite as euphonic as the Altone200 – but it’s still captivating, and thoroughly enjoyable. The contrast between the dynamic beat with Feist and FaTM was also brilliant.  The standout for me though was Gabriella Cilmi’s “Safer” – instant chills from the first words, and I know at that stage that the Hyperion is really well tuned for my tastes. Any time I can get this sort of reaction from music I know well – it’s just magical.
     
    Male Vocals
    At the other end of the scale sits a lot of my rock tracks.
     
    The theme here was coherence, balance, clarity and dynamics. The combination of clear vocals and dynamic bass is something the Hyperion presents really well. Factor in a nice crunch from guitar, and you’ve got a great base for most rock tracks.
     
    3 Doors Down, 10CC, Alter Bridge, Green Day, Breaking Benjamin, Eagles, Jethro Tull, Nils Lofgren, Seether – all sound excellent and the vocal quality is superb.  Maybe slightly missing some of the finer nuances of texture (compared to say my A83, or a DN-2000) – but then I have to remind myself that I’m listening to essentially a budget IEM – and then reality hits home, the Hyperion has no right to sound as good as it does at this price point. When I played Diary of Jane (Breaking Benjamin), there was very little guitar distortion (this track can overwhelm some drivers), so I’m pretty impressed. Standouts for me were anything acoustic – the Hyperion nails these big time – Hotel California, Keith Don’t Go, and Immortality were just wonderful with this little IEM.
     
    My litmus test still is Pearl Jam (huge fan). Once again, wonderful overall presentation, and the dynamic contrast was again brilliant. My one critique again (and it is very minor) is that the Hyperion doesn’t quite capture the texture of Vedder’s voice (I know this track really well) – but that is when it is compared to IEMs 5-6 times the price of the Hyperion. It doesn’t stop the track being thoroughly enjoyable – and just shows I’m being overly picky.
     
    Genre Specific Notes
    Again for tracks, albums, artists – please refer to this list:  http://www.head-fi.org/a/brookos-test-tracks
     
    Alt-Rock – I listen to quite a bit of Alt-Rock, so tried my two usual tracks (PF’s “Money” and PT’s “Trains”). “Money” showed good dynamic contrast and clarity – and “Trains” was absolutely brilliant – the tonality of Wilsons voice suits the Hyperion down to a tee.  When the bass kicks in – pure magic. I definitely need to listen to all my Porcupine Tree albums with the Hyperion (note to self)!
     
    Jazz / Blues / Bluegrass – Portico Quartet’s “Ruins” is always a first stop for me when testing a new IEM with Jazz, and the Hyperion didn’t disappoint.  In fact I had to tear myself away from listening to the whole album – great detail, excellent tonality.  In the end I caved and also listened to PQ’s “Steepless” with Cornelia on vocals – another absolutely enchanting interlude – but I need to finish this, so onward …
     
    Switching to female vocal jazz, and Diana Krall’s “Love Me Like A Man” is equally as enthralling –Krall’s voice is clear and clean, and the piano is coming through perfectly. The electric guitar is the perfect accompaniment – the whole track just gels perfectly.
     
    For a change with Blues I used Beth Hart’s “Lift’s You Up”, and for me this one of the top tracks of the entire review. Hugely passionate and thoroughly vivid presentation, with so much dynamism throughout.
     
    Rap / EDM / Pop / Indie – Although so far the Hyperion has been a wonderful all-rounder, all of these genre it seems to absolutely excel with. Eminem’s “Lose Yourself” is amazing with the Hyperion – bass hits incredibly low and hard – and this contrast perfectly with the crystal clear vocals. Switching to EDM and Little Dragon, portrays the same traits – fantastic bass, and crystal clear vocals. Lindsay Stirling almost had me “bopping” in my seat (a good sign), and even milder electronic music (The Flashbulb) had the same overall magic.
     
    Switching to some pure Pop, and first Adele and then Coldplay continued with the Hyperion’s versatility. The presentation of both was hugely enjoyable.
     
    I’ve become quite the Indie fan in the last couple of years. My usual test tracks are Wildlight’s “Dawn To Flight” and Band of Horses “Is There A Ghost”. Probably easiest to say that if for some reason the Hyperion was my only IEM for listening to Indie – I wouldn’t be disappointed.  With my Indie – it’s all about tonality – especially the transition between lower and upper mids. The Hyperion nails it yet again – and especially Ayla Nereo’s voice – euphoric, captivating, brilliant.
     
    Classical / Opera – Ticks all around here – although I have to admit, I prefer something with a little more of an expansive stage (like the Titans). Piano in Kempffs Beethoven Sonatas, and Zoe Keating’s Cello performances were really good – but I would have preferred just a little more space with Opera (Netrebko/Garanca), and especially the full symphony presentations (Fischer / Mutter). It was enjoyable – but just a touch flat.
     
    AMPLIFICATION REQUIREMENTS
     
    The Hyperion is easily powered straight out of the portable devices I have, and I haven’t experienced any issues with the iPhone 5S, or any of the Fiio Daps. With typical pop/rock songs on the iP5S I’m usually at a volume level of around 30-35%, on the X3ii around 35-60/120.  I did try amping with the E11K, but noticed no obvious signs of improvement.
     
    EQUALISATION
     
    I think it’s likely that most people will love these without EQ, but being the tinkerer that I am, I had to give it a go.  The only area (for my own tastes) that I wanted to try and lift was to try and get a little extra sparkle and euphony – especially from my female vocalists.  So on the X3ii I raised the 2K (+6) and 8K (+4) sliders, leading everything else intact. The X3ii automatically drops volume by ~ 4dB to compensate for the cut, so I readjusted volume and then retried my test tracks. To my ears this is practically perfect (for my own peculiar tastes), and the only track that suffered was Beth Hart (which is mastered very hot anyway).  There was no sign of added distortion. I think I’ll keep this as a permanent EQ setting for this little gem.
     
    VALUE
     
    Indications we have from Bob is that the Hyperion (after initial launch) will retail at around £30.00/ $45.00 USD (at today’s rates). This makes the Hyperion incredible value – and I cannot think of another IEM in this price bracket that gives a better combination of sonics and build quality.
     

    HYPERION - SUMMARY

    I’ve pretty much covered everything above, but I’ll try to boil it down into a short summary.
     
    The Trinity Hyperion has no right to be aiming for the price point it is currently being targeted at, and will be a real wake up call for many manufacturers.  There are some great sounding IEMs in this bracket – but I am yet to see an IEM with this level of sound, and of build, and of quality (remember the driver matching!)
     
    You’d be forgiven (looking at its diminutive size) for assuming this is simply another budget offering – but when you look at the total package, you realise how much you are getting. Fully aluminium shell, a cable that you’d normally only find on much higher level IEMs, and SQ that just continues to shine no matter what the genre. They also seem to respond well to EQ – so you can further fine tune them to your liking if desired. The biggest shock for me was the first time I listened to them – how could a sound this “big” be coming from something so tiny?  It still stuns me.
     
    Would I recommend these to my friends and family – unequivocally yes! In fact I’ll be telling them all about the Kickstarter campaign soon to be launched. At its current RRP it’s already a steal.  At the discount that is going to be offered to early adopters (Bob tells me it is likely to be £20.00/ $30.00 USD), it is one you simply can’t turn down. I’ll be one of the first in line for the Hyperion – I’ll be getting 3 of them as Christmas gifts for my immediate family. At this price it would be a crime not to.
     
    I looked back over my reviews to date - and I've only ever given three 5 start ratings - the HD600, the A83 and the Titan.  The Hyperion joins the 5 start brigade because of what it delivers for such a low cost.  It isn't going to match higher end offerings for outright resolution - but I can't think of any other current IEM that delivers this much for so little.
     
    Trinity’s mission was to make high quality audio affordable to everyone – mission accomplished with the Hyperion.
     
    hyperion10.jpg
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Brooko
      Brooko, Apr 6, 2015
    3. Paulus XII
      Great photography skills.
      Paulus XII, Sep 1, 2015
    4. Brooko
      Thanks.  Still need more practise, and a better camera.
      Brooko, Sep 1, 2015