1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Trinity - Delta Dual Hybrid IEM

Rating:
4.5/5,
  1. SyntheticShotz
    A solid start from Trinity Audio
    Written by SyntheticShotz
    Published Dec 27, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Cable, build, accessories, sound (and adjustable tuning filter system), and value over pricier IEMs
    Cons - Cable adapter jack a little finicky, overall sound signature may not fit other people's preferences

    DeltaPic1.jpg
     

     
    Since this would be the second review that I have put a decent amount of effort in, with the Fidue A83 review being the first, I would appreciate any feedback as well as any tips or suggestions so that I can improve the quality for future reviews.
     
            Earlier this year (2015), the Trinity Audio Engineering introduction thread had just opened up, so I decided to take a visit to that thread. Trinity Audio, at the time, was planning a Kickstarter crowdfunding project for three IEMs; the Hyperion, the Techne, and the Delta. Upon hearing that the IEMs were designed with the help of several reputable reviewers, I was interested to what the final result would be. I joined the Kickstarter fundraising project for the Deltas, and had my hands on them after returning from my trip during early August. Initially, the Deltas were often left untouched. However, I came to enjoy and appreciate the Deltas, especially for their price.
     
    About Me
            I am (as of 2015 - 2016) a high school sophomore who listens to music daily. My IEMs usually overtake my headphones for since I move around a lot. I often do casual listening, and listen in both quiet and noisy areas. As of right now, my main portable setup is the Fiio X5 with three IEMs (Fidue A83, Earwerkz Supra 2, Dunu DN2000J, and the Trinity Audio Deltas), although I sometimes use a Samsung Note 5. In my house, I listen from my computer to a Schiit Modi2/Magni2 stack, with either the AKG K7xx or one of my IEMs. My source files include streaming from Youtube/Soundcloud, 320 kbps mp3s, and some other files such as WAV or FLAC. A majority of my music is in the electronic genre (EDM, house, etc.), but there are a few other songs of various genres and a small collection of music score soundtracks of various genres like rock and jazz. My hearing extends only up to 14 khz and I have a mild tinnitus as well. My ability to describe sound is a bit lacking as I do not know all of the terminology that many people use here.
     


    Delta_Box1.jpg Delta_Box2.jpg
    My best attempt to repackage the Delta


    Packaging and Accessories
            The Delta's packing is exceptional. The cardboard box that Trinity Audio sent to me was pretty beat up, but the product box as covered in a plentiful amount of bubble wrap, protecting the product and impressing me. The product box has a magnetic cover and a fabric tag that opens up like a book. Opening it up, the left section contains a small paper of instructions and the right section has a cardboard cover with a small window, showing off the Deltas and the filter carrying case. Lifting the cover up, you are presented with everything placed inside a piece of foam with the proper cut-outs for everything.
     
    Here are the specifications and accessories that come with the Deltas.
     
    Specifications
    Accessories
     
    Driver Type: Balanced Armature Driver and 8 mm Dynamic Driver
    3x Interchangeable Filters (There should be a fourth filter now)
    Impedance: 16 Ohms (Ω)
    Sensitivity: 110 +/- 3 dB
    Frequency response: 20 - 20,000 Khz
    Cord Length: 1.2 Meters
    Jack Type: Gold plated 3.5 mm 
    4 Pairs of Silicon tips (S, M, L)
    2 Pairs of Memory Foam tips (Different Sizes)
    1 Pair of Double Flange Silicon tips
    A Carry Case (That can be zipped up)
    New Deltas will now have 4 pairs of tuning filters
    An angled 3.5 mm adaptor jack
    A shirt clip

     
            The accessories provided are very satisfying. You get a good selection of eartips from the package, along with a carrying case, a shirt clip, and an angled adapter jack. The shirt clip and carry case are very helpful, with the shirt clip being able to reduce microphonics and the carry case having a section for the Deltas and a pocket for various smaller accessories. The angled adapter jack will help with portable use and reduce any possible strain on the cable jack. The one that came with my Deltas needed to have its side pushed down into my X5, or else there would be some channel imbalance. The carry case is not a hard shell case, but should easily protect the Deltas in most situations. It also has a pocket on one side to carry some accessories, but it is pretty loose, so smaller items will fall out. Aside from some minor issues, the packaging and accessories are plentiful and functional.
     


    DeltaPic5.jpg DeltaPic4.jpg
     
    Pictures of the carrying case, angled adapter jack, and shirt clip.


    Design and Build
            Note that I have the Delta version that does not have the microphone, as the microphone version has a different cable.
     
            The Deltas have a barrel-like shape with a cable down design. The cable can be worn over-ear with no problems, and wearing it like so would reduce microphonics as well. If you have the non-microphone version of the Deltas, you will have a dark black, braided cable. This will actually impress many people who usually use mainstream products. I have been used to IEMs with braided cables, but it will feel nice if you have never had one before. The cable cinch of the Delta is a little harder to move up and down the cable, but holds its position very well. The cable is fairly prone to microphonics, so wearing them over the ear and using the shirt clip should lessen problems with cable noise to normal levels.
     
            A more unique design aspect of the Deltas is the tuning filter system. You have different types of filters that can screw in and out of the Delta's housing, and those filters will have an effect on the sound. The sound is adjustable per-filter. As for build quality, the Delta is very impressive. The cable is strong and tough, and the strain reliefs on the housing are small, but they are tougher than they look. The housings, y-splitter, and cable jack are all metal, with the jack having a metal spring in place of a strain relief. The Deltas are plenty strong enough to withstand regular use.
     
            Aside from being tough, the Deltas are also beautiful. The dark grey aluminum housings, black braided cable, and metal build make the Deltas into a very compelling and premium product. The only remark I have for the Deltas would be the cable microphonics, but even the microphonics are easily manageable and not even that significant of an issue to begin with. Otherwise, the Deltas will be hard to beat for its combination of durability and aesthetics, even for higher up tiers of IEMs.
     


    Delta_Cable.jpg
    Delta_Cable2.jpg
    Left: The main cable of the Delta (Below the Y-Splitter) Right: Cable above the Y-Splitter​


    Fit and Isolation
            The Delta's have a barrel-type housing shape, which for me, allows the fit to be simple and easy. However, everyone's ears are different, and fit is more of a personal aspect. My left ear is just a little smaller than the right and has a weirder angle, which makes fit harder for deep-insertion IEMs. The Deltas fit just fine and I can put these in my ear quickly and take them off as well, although the round body made doing that a little harder at first. I use the the large stock silicon tips and have no problems with comfort. In case I want to wear these over the ear to reduce microphonics, that would be easily achievable. The Deltas go into my ears deeper when I do this. So for me, the fit is just plain simple; I could wear these for a long period of time.
     
            The isolation of the Deltas are pretty average due to the vent outside of the housing. I could wear these in noisier environments like the airplane, but I wouldn't be able to drown out the sound too much. However, turning up the volume a little bit should make these work well enough for extremely noisy environments. I would take foam tips to get as much isolation as possible, although some people may not find foam tips convenient. The isolation isn't much of a problem; the Deltas can be enjoyed in most places, just like my other IEMs.
     


    Delta_Last.jpg DeltaPic3.jpg DeltaPic2.jpg
     
     ​
    The Y-Splitter and Cable Jack


    Sound Quality
            Much of this section is composed of various notes made during a few comparison sessions between the Deltas and my other IEMs. Most of the listening was done on the Fiio X5, but the Schiit stack also played a major role in this section, even though I listened less with them. I only have three filters as I have the Kickstarter version, so I will not be able to cover the gold filters. Otherwise, the Deltas that I have should be the same as the newer versions. The gunmetal filters that came pre-installed on the Deltas by default was what I listened to the majority of the time, so I'll cover the sound with the gunmetal filtrs and then talk about how the silver and purple differ from the gunmetal.
     
            The Deltas have, what I think, a natural signature, but has some extra emphasis on the mid-bass. The low end provides good extension and layering, and I liked impact of the mid-bass. The low end works well for EDM and has some fun in it. However, sometimes I find the mid-bass to be a little too much, as it may stand out a little too much depending on what you listen to. During my initial impression, I believed the Deltas to have recessed mids, but that was not the case after comparing the Deltas with my other IEMs. The mids are only a little bit recessed, but are fuller and clearer than what I initially thought. The vocals maintain, for the price, excellent clarity. Female vocals are smooth, but a little less clear compared to male vocals. The treble remains neutral enough and non-fatiguing. Although I'd personally like the highs to have some more sparkle and airiness. 
     
            I find the soundstage of the Deltas without any problems, and it performs well in comparison to the other IEMs I have listened to. The imaging show no faults, and although the Deltas have less extension in the highs, the Deltas are still easily able to create a sense of space. As for instrument separation and details, I found both to be good. Both seemed to keep up to my higher tiered IEMs, although not reaching to their levels. The Deltas are less sensitive and harder to drive, but should work on any capable smartphone or laptop without any issue. I prefer this since the background is blacker with these and I often worry about hiss and sensitivity more than . Source problems should be no issue, and I did not find the Deltas to have any problems being extra picky.
     
    Filters
            So again, I have the Deltas from the Kickstarter project, so I only have three tuning filters, the gunmetal, silver, and purple filters. The gold filter is missing from my collection, although I do not know if I will be covering them in the future. Starting with the silver filter, I found that the silver filter had the largest effect on the low end. The low end receives a boost, and the bass hits harder as well. The midrange stayed pretty similar for me, maybe being a little more recessed at most, and the I didn't notice any significant different in the high range. Instruments that play in the lower frequencies are also more prominent. The silver filter turns the Delta into a fun IEM with the mids sounding more recessed in comparison to the bass.
     
            For both the gunmetal and silver filters, I found myself turning the volume up for more enjoyment, but with the purple filter, I found myself adjusting the volume down to more normal levels. The purple filter adds the airiness to the treble as well as raise the highs up, but the bass is reduced while the mids stay mostly the same. After listening to the gunmetal and silver filters, only touching the purple filters months later, the change to the treble was unexpected for me, and ended up being pleasant. The low-end was tuned down from the filter, which is the only reason I didn't stick with the purple filter. Overall, the filter system does make a significant difference to the music, and while I prefer the gunmetal out of all three, I find myself wishing for a combination of the filters, so the gold filter might appeal to me, as Trinity Audio describes it as a mix between gunmetal and purple.
     
            The sound from the Deltas are impressive, even before factoring the price in. With the price in, whether its the Kickstarter price or MSRP, the Deltas present very great value. The other IEMs in my collection, often categorized in a higher tier than the Deltas and pricier, manage to best the Deltas in more areas with less drawbacks, but they are more difficult to afford. The Delta's sound quality competes with higher tiered IEMs at a lower price. 
     

    Delta_2.jpg
    DeltaPic6.jpg DeltaPic8.jpg
     
     ​
    The three filters side by side.

    Conclusion
            The Trinity Audio Delta, as a whole, contains the majority of the aspects of IEMs of a higher tier (like the cable, accessories, and excellent sound) and does it with good value. Although I find the sound of such IEMs better than the Deltas, the difference is not as significant as the price gap. I consider the Deltas a good job from Trinity Audio and a positive result from the collaboration from the reviewers. Aside from a few minor issues with the angled adapter jack/case, the Delta makes for a solid product. The Trinity Audio Delta is an ace in value, especially because of the similarity belonging to more premium products. If Trinity Audio's future releases feature this kind of quality, especially for the price, then I will be very interested.
     

    DeltaPic7.jpg DeltaPic9.jpg
     

    Thank you for reading my review! Sorry about the placement of pictures and their quality, I had to take them at nighttime with poor lighting conditions, and came up with less results then expected. I'll get better (and more) photos as soon as I can. And again, I'd appreciate some feedback!
     
    Edit (1/1/2016): Added more photos.
      Dany1 likes this.
    1. voxie
      Great review, thanks for sharing. Do concur with your overall assessment. Personally I don't like braided cables as they are prone to unraveling. Purchased mine after the ks campaign and find them excellent value for money. A bit zingy (is that an actual word:flushed:) or sparkly on some music. Stellar customer care from Bob.
      voxie, Dec 28, 2015
  2. NuckinFutz
    Mostly positive with some reservations
    Written by NuckinFutz
    Published Dec 7, 2015
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Build, cable, bass depth, details, great for EDM/Vocals.
    Cons - track dependant, timbre issues, bit too much mid bass for some
    Introduction
    My intention here is to provide as much information about the sound reproduction as possible, going into specifics and providing reference tracks to highlight particular areas of praise or concern.

    I acquired the Trinity Delta through a trade on these forums.

    About me
    I always find it useful to understand a little about the reviewers preferences and music tastes. It provides the reader with a good reference point.

    The majority of my listening revolves around Rock and Metal but I also listen to some EDM and female vocals.

    I would say my preferences are for a mostly flat response with a sub bass lift and smooth but detailed treble. I like a good midrange presence but not too forward. Timbre and instrument realism are very high on my requirement, very important for Rock & Metal. I like a good width to the soundstage but for me bigger isn’t always better, there is a sweet spot here for me, and I love the 3D presentation achieved with good depth.

    The Review

    Packaging & Accessories
    I won’t dwell long here, this has been covered in great detail and far better than I could in other reviews.

    I find the packaging to be mostly excellent. A well put together package with very distinct branding, nice.

    Accessories are also excellent. You get a range of tips, right angle angle 3.5mm adapter, cable clip, distinctive carrying case, and of course the filter system and storage tube.

    DSC01042.jpg
    DSC01045.jpg
    DSC01047.jpg

    Build
    Excellent. Not much else to say here, they are very well put together. The cable is very nice, supple and well made.

    DSC01054.jpg

    Sound
    A quick note about the filters. The Silver and Purple filters are pretty much throw away items for me. Silver = Too much bass and treble, Purple = not enough bass and too much treble.

    Review is done with the Gunmetal filter. This filter vents the bass from the front and has a mesh treble filter. These reduce both bass and treble quantities respectively.

    Bass
    The bass goes deep and is well defined. There is a mid bass lift, probably too much but, due to the multiple driver setup, it doesn’t warm of the mids (more of that in a minute). The bass can be tamed somewhat by using peter123 tape mod (tape over rear vent and prick with a pin) or using the new gold filters (I do not have these test)

    Mids
    A little recessed but not by much. Texture is good but they are a little dry. This is quite interesting considering how much mid bass there is. Normally you would expect a rather warm sounding midrange but that’s not the case here. For me this is unique. The tonality is a on the bright side.

    Treble
    For the most part the Delta has a nice clean and detailed treble with no vocal sibilance. However, there is a troubling peak or resonance at a certain frequency (I’d guess around 10KHz) that makes instruments (normally cymbals) sound ‘tizzy’, slightly metallic, or just off. Example of what I hear are in the reference tracks below. I’m particularly interested in feedback from others if they hear the same.

    Soundstage
    Nice width that I would describe as the ideal amount for me. Depth is very nice and they can produce that wonderful 3D presentation with certain material that’s particularly engaging. Imaging is pretty good, each instrument has a clear place in the stage but don’t necessarily layer particularly well when the track gets busy.

    Dynamics
    Good. They punch nicely but this main presides in the low end.

    Timbre
    Mostly good but, as mentioned in the treble section, not all good. It leads to something of a mixed bag with song reproduction, some tracks sound amazing, some sound really off and bothersome to me. Worse still, now I know of the issue I’m listening for it.

    Vs GR07
    The GR07 is much flatter through the bass, sounds lean in comparison but with better control and detail. The midrange of the GR07 is warmer which highlights just how thin the Delta is. It is noticeably more forward and carries a greater levels of detail and imaging. Treble is an interesting one. Many members have an issue with the GR07 treble, finding it either too bright or sibilant prone. The Delta has more treble presence but it’s less controlled when the track gets busy, it cannot seem to handle layering busy music. Pick a mellow track, however, and the treble reproduction can sound great. If it weren’t for that troubling peak or resonance these would be a far more consistent performer.

    Soundstage width is similar but depth is better on the Delta.
    Timbre is better on the GR07, they sound more realistic.

    Reference Tracks

    Examples the Delta perform well with



    The beginning of this track highlights the very good soundstage depth, sound 3D, pretty awesome! The Delta picks out and highlights some of the percussion nicely with good tonality.



    Again, great depth and showcases some of the vocal abilities of the Delta.


    Examples the Delta perform badly with



    The tonality is just too bright, it sounds washed out. There’s a lot going on in the upper regions and the detail and depth is smeared.



    This a almost in the wrong section as the Delta sounds great with this track except it really highlights the issue I have with them. The crash cymbals sound a little ‘tizzy’ throughout but there are two highlighted parts where it they pop out far too much and become bothersome. 2m 36sec and 2m 43sec.

    Conclusion
    So, mostly positive with some reservations. By and large these sound very good with EDM and vocal stuff. Rock & Metal is a bit of a mixed bag and varies track to track. They don’t have the presence or timbre in the midrange to make guitars bite, and up top they can get a little smeared when the track is busy.
    1. voxie
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Have had the Deltas since their general release. Do concur with your view that they are a bit fussy in what you feed them re music type. Overall they are a great iem from build and price point. Just wondering.. What source where you listening through? (Apologies if I missed this point in your review) cheers.
      voxie, Dec 8, 2015
    2. NuckinFutz
      Hi Voxie, I used both my Xperia Z3C and Meier Porta Corda. Tonight I've also given the Bushmaster MKII a go, the way I hear them doesn't change between any of the sources. They play more tracks well than they don't, that's for sure. It's just really annoying when you randomly come across a track where something up top is just really strident. One thing I've been discussing is listening volume, I do listen to music pretty loud...actually probably a bit more than that!
      NuckinFutz, Dec 8, 2015
  3. JoeDoe
    Delta: A Testament to Quality Engineering
    Written by JoeDoe
    Published Nov 21, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Build quality, cable, accessories, filters, value
    Cons - Housing shape
    It's been a while since I felt compelled to write an IEM review that I purchased on my own. With the steady influx of new 'budget-king' or 'mid-fi champion' IEMs, it's become a little hard separate the cream from the crop. Well, luckily for this head-fier, I found a pair of these touted hybrids on eBay for a steal and decided to pull the trigger. After several hours both at home and in the car, I'm happy to report that these are living up to their hype. Read on for why!
     
     
    The Breakdown 
     
    Test Songs (all FLAC either 16/44 or 24/96):
     
    The Curtain - Snarky Puppy & Metropole Orkest - Sylva
    Hide and Seek - Imogen Heap - Speak for Yourself
    A Good Name - Shad - TSOL
    Mindfields - Toto - The Essential Toto
    Strasbourg/St. Denis - Roy Hargrove Quintet - Earfood
    You Go to My Head - Lauren Desberg ft. Gretchen Parlato - Sideways
     
     
    Sources:
    Rockboxed DX90
    MBP > JRMC > Pan Am 
     
    Before we jump into specifics, I need to clarify something. The Deltas come with three interchangeable filters that tailor the sound signature. The gunmetal filer is called "smooth," the silver is named "fun," and the magenta (which I think is champagne for some places) is named "vivid." I'm past the point in my listening endeavors where I enjoy overly tilted or colored tunings. I enjoy things that sound real and natural the most. That being said, after trying all three filters, I think the gunmetal has the most realistic presentation so I put it in and never looked back. So. Know that almost all of my listening has been done with the 'stock' gunmetal filters.

    Bass: Full and textured. I've learned that my favorite bass presentation is that featuring a present sub-bass sound, with a slight mid-bass boost. This makes kick drums a little more felt than just heard and works better for lower level listening. To give you an idea, my favorite bass belongs to the HE500 with my Grado RS1 as a close second. This is just what the Delta gives me. Electric and upright basses are clean, yet not thin or underrepresented. Kick drums in the Snarky and Toto are very realistic and with Shad's hip hop single, I can't help but to bob my head!

    Mids: Crystal clear albeit slightly recessed. I'll be the first to admit, that I don't think anyone does mids as well as Grado. The midrange is where most vocals and melodic instruments are, and as such, it doesn't matter how fantastic tasty the low end is, or how extended and hyper-detailed the treble is, if the mids aren't at least showing up to the party. Luckily for me, I've got nothing to worry about with the Delta. These vocals are framed nicely by the spectrum extremes, neither forward, nor uber-recessed. They aren't quite as rich or organic as my SM64s, but they ain't no slouch! Check Lauren's stuff (free on bandcamp btw!)

     
    [​IMG]

    Treble: Crisp and clean! Don't let their price tag fool you. The upper end is as natural and clear as I've heard in the sub $300 range. At first listen I found it a little grainy, but at the time I was also adjusting to the DX90 sound. Since then, both seemed to have smoothed and become much more in line with the rest of the natural presentation that the good people at Trinity have so graciously afforded us. The intricate cymbal stuff in "The Curtain" and "Strasbourg" are very clear and I'm hearing little nuances in the upper end of the keyboards on both of those tunes I've not heard before! Good stuff here:

     
    [​IMG]

    Soundstage/Separation: Both are very good. Nice depth and width to the SS and never once has anything appeared blurry or congested with regards to separation. That's all I have to say about that!

     
    Qualms: From an older Brainwavz review, "Nothing major. The shape of the housing is a little awkward. Doesn't affect fit, just look." The round, obstinate housing isn't very low profile, so wearing this while resting on a seat or pillow isn't very easy, not to mention that small strain relief means the only thing I really have to grab onto is the round, slippery housing. 
     
    Other Non-sonic Wins: The accessories and packaging for these guys is excellent. Very modern and clean packaging (that is easy to open!) gives way to a very organized and appropriate selection of tips, carry case, and filters. Oh, and that cable? Definitely lives up to the hype. Nice round weave that cuts down on microphonics that gives way to a sleek 3.5 straight plug (which can be adapted to an included RA-adapter!).

    Conclusion: All in all, you can probably discern that I'm a fan of TA's new hybrid, the Delta. It's sound is very natural and realistic to these ears, never presenting anything that I wouldn't get if I was sitting in front of live instruments. The interchangeable filters make it more marketable to listeners who might have other preferences, and the price tag is nothing to think twice about. I've heard the Dunu DN1000 and Fidue A83, and I think the Delta strikes a nice balance between the two. Better overall presentation than the DN1000, and only slightly behind the more expensive A83. If you're in the market for an IEM that checks all the boxes you'd have to worry about in the sub-$200-300 range, I think the Delta from Trinity Audio is a serious contender! 

  4. goodyfresh
    For this price, practically perfect in every conceivable way
    Written by goodyfresh
    Published Sep 16, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Detail, soundstage and imaging (for in-ears), customizable sound, build, comfort
    Cons - Cable microphonics but not really (see below), a little less clarity than I would perhaps like
    I bought these on Brooko's recommendation, and they arrived earlier today.  I've gotten about six hours of listening with them, and oh boy, I am in love!  Normally I would not be posting this review so soon after getting the earphones, but here's the thing:  There's just about nothing I can say about these which would not already be 100% in agreement with the points in Brooko's excellent review of them, to which I would urge you all to refer!  There are just a few things I feel I can add beyond what Brooko said, mostly based on my own experiences with aspects of these earphones that may differ for others:
     
    --I find that the two options for memory-foam tips included with these earphones are not as good as they could be.  They certainly aren't as good as the Olive Tips which came with my earlier purchased Shure SE215.  I wasn't able to achieve an especially good or comfortable seal using either of the two sizes of memory-foam tips that came with the Deltas.  That being said, I'm okay with that, because they come with three different sizes of silicone tips (which, granted, don't provide as good isolation as foam tips), and, most importantly for me, one pair of double-flange silicone tips which I find are quite comfortable and provide the best possible isolation.  I very much like the double-flange tips.  Moreover, using different tips, as long as the seal is good, does not seem to have any noticable effect on the sound from these.  I have, however, ordered a pair of Sony Isolation Tips (again on Brooko's recommendation) that I am going to use with these once they get here, for maximum comfort and the isolation that comes from a hybrid of foam and a silicone rubber sleeve.
     
    --The filter options are a very nice feature.  I like the stock gunmetal filters best, but the silver filters are also very enjoyable.  Strangely, even though the silver filters are supposed to be the "fun" ones while the gunmetal are "reference," according to Trinity, I actually hear a bit more clarity and detail with the silver filters than with the gunmetal.  This seems to come at the cost, however, of some smoothness. . .the sound from the silver filters tends to be a tad bit harsher and grainier, a bit more prone to stridence, and a tiny bit more prone to sibilance.  Still very nice, though, and for those who want absolute maximum detail resolution without any concern for things like stridence, the silver filters should be awesome.  I cannot stand the champagne filters however.  This has nothing to do with the filters being "bad" or anything.  It's just that they are the bright/treble-leaning filters, and I've never really been able to stand bright sound signatures, as my ears are very sensitive to highs and fatigue quickly from bright sound.  What I can hear from the champagne filters, however, indicates to me that for true treble-heads and those who love a bright sound, they should be a truly excellent choice, as the clarity of the highs with them is top-notch.
     
    --Cable microphonics are actually pretty darn significant with these.  However, I do not count this as a point against the Deltas, as this problem of microphonics is almost completely fixed by wearing them in an over-ear style, which is very easy to do and quite comfortable.
     
    --The clarity is actually a TAD bit less than I would like.  These have less clarity, for example, than my Puro Sound Labs IEM500's.  YMMV, but I feel that while these have a very very nice "smooth" musical timbre, that smoothness does come at the cost of just a bit of clarity.  Not really a major problem, but for those who want MAXIMUM transparency these may not be the budget IEM's for you.
     
    --The speed, mostly in the low-mids and the bass, is also a little bit less than I'd like, and on really really fast material like a lot of Death Metal, the bass notes tend to "blend together" so to speak.
     
    Now, for any further detail on the sound, comfort, build, etc. of these, as I said just refer to Brooko's review.  On the other hand, though, there's one further thing I can offer you guys in my review, which is:
     
    A Comparison with Shure SE215:
    Well, what can I say?  In almost every aspect except isolation, these are a very significant step-up from the SE215.  Which is amazing considering the fact that the SE215 are indeed a very good deal at the $99.99 asking-price they can be found for on places like Amazon, while the Deltas are only 20 or 30 dollars more!  The Deltas have better clarity and separation, vastly better soundstage and imaging, tighter bass and sparklier treble, better (more forward, but not too forward) mids, and slightly better dynamics and attack than the Shure SE215.  They're about the same in-terms of comfort, although a bit more manageable in terms of ease of wearing them.  The included foam tips aren't as nice as the Shure Olive Tips as I mentioned above, but these come with a double-flange tip which is not included with the SE215.  They have customizable sound via the filters, which is not available with the SE215.  With the exception of not having detachable cables like the SE215, their build-quality seems better in every aspect.  The included carrying-case is hard-bodied, rather than soft like the one with the SE215.  Overall, these kick the Shure SE215 IEM's thoroughly in the rear-end (except, again, for having inferior isolation), despite costing only a little bit more.  As a result, I would consider them a SUPERB value!
    1. james444
      Personally, I haven't heard these. But considering you've had your pair for six hours and the particular person you're referring to is an experienced member who's had them for six weeks, I think your final note is pretty superfluous.
       
      As far as I can tell from the pictures, the Deltas have both a front and a rear vent. Which usually means that isolation is no more than average. jm2c.
      james444, Sep 17, 2015
    2. goodyfresh
      Yes, that is why I do say that the isolation is not as good as from the SE215, and I do also refer the reader to Brooko's review in which he states the isolation is only average.  The main reason I posted this review was to give this earphone the marks I believe it deserves. . .in terms of actual impressions of the sound, fit, etc., I believe any reader is best served, as I said, by simply referring to the excellent review which Brooko wrote.
      goodyfresh, Sep 19, 2015
  5. peter123
    Great for electronic music!
    Written by peter123
    Published Sep 12, 2015
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Build, accessories, comfort
    Cons - Too much mid-bass, difficult fit for narrow ear canals
    The Trinity Audio Delta was purchased by me from Trinity Audio Engineering.  I’m not in any way affiliated with Trinity Audio Engineering.
     
    The price was £90 minus a 20% discount for Head-Fi members when I bought them and this is where I ordered them from:
     
    http://trinity-audio-engineering.myshopify.com/products/trinity-delta
    IMG_2775.jpg
     
    IMG_2776.jpg
    About me:
    I’m a 43 year old music and sound lover that changed my focus from speakers to headphones and IEM’s about five years ago. At that time I realized that it wasn’t realistic for me to have all the different setups that I wanted and still house a family of four children and a wife so my interest turned first to full sized headphones and later also IEM’s.
     
    My preferences are towards full sized open headphones and I believe that also says something about what kind of sound signature I prefer (large soundstage in all directions, balanced and organic sound).
     
    My music preferences are pretty much all over the place (only excluding classical music, jazz and really heavy metal). My all-time favorite band is Depeche Mode although I also listen to a lot of grunge/indie, singer/songwriter/acoustical stuff as well as the typical top 40 music.
     
    I do not use EQ, ever.
     
    I’m a sucker for value for money on most things in life, Head-Fi related stuff is no exception.
     
    Built and accessories:
    The Trinity Delta’s are a hybrid construction featuring one 8 mm dynamic neodymium driver and one Balanced Armature in ear monitor. They’re available in two models, one with a universal microphone and remote and one without. I’ve got the version without a microphone. The housing is made from metal and feel very well made.
     
    The 3,5mm connector is straight but the accessories include a 90 degree angled adapter. Using it will make the connecting part clumsy and inconvenient though. To be honest this feel like a not very good last minute solution.  
     
    The cable is one of the best I’ve ever seen in any IEM. It is multi braided and feels very soft and flexible in use. It also has very little microphonics and the small amount that’s there can be easily removed by wearing them over the ear. A chin slider is also in place.
     
    The L/R marking is easy to spot due to its blue and red colors. The strain reliefs are in place but feel a bit small so it will be interesting to see how they hold up in the long run.
     
    The retail package is very nice and could very well have been for a more expensive product.
     
    IMG_2708.jpg
     
    IMG_2787.jpg
     
    IMG_2788.jpg
     
    IMG_2706.jpg
     
    IMG_2707.jpg
     
    IMG_2796.jpg
     
     
    The accessories pack is very good and includes the following:
    2 pairs foam tips (M,L)
    4 pairs narrow bore silicon tips (S,M,L)
    1 pair of double flange tips
    1 L-angled 3,5mm adapter
    1 shirt clip
    2 pairs of extra filters for tuning the sound
    1 zipped case to store them in when not in use
     
    The Delta’s is a bit harder to drive than your average IEM  but still work well even with my weak (in power) Sony Z3 Compact phone.
     
    IMG_2777.jpg
     
     
     
    The specs:
    Housing
    Metal
    Driver Unit
    Hybrid: 1 Dynamic 8mm + 1 BA
    Frequenzy range
    19Hz-21KHz
    Sensitivity
    110 dB
    Impedance
    16Ohm
    Cable lenght
    1.2m
    Weight
    16g

     
    Ergonomics:
    I’ve got very narrow ear canals and unfortunately the Delta’s don’t play well with them. The wide, short nozzles combined with the also wide housing made getting a good seal a big challenge for me. As a matter of fact after one week of usage I was so frustrated with the bad sound on the Delta’s that I just couldn’t understand how anyone could enjoy them then I tried some triple flange tip and realized my seal had not been good enough.
     
    The Delta’s are actually one of the most problematic IEM’s I’ve ever come across when it comes to fitting well in my ears. After a LOT of tip rolling I’ve at least found a couple that seals well for me.
     
    The Delta’s can be worn cable down or over the ear to your liking. There’s no need to switch channels for over the ear use. I prefer to use them with over the ear fit myself.
     
    Although being really hard to get a good seal with for me the Delta’s, once well in place, are very comfortable to wear even for many hours. Due to their pretty short housings I’m also able to wear them when lying with my head on the side on a pillow without any particular discomfort.
     
    I don’t know if it’s the shape of my ear canals or the design on the Delta’s but I find isolation to be really poor with them, even when using double flanges or foam tips.
     
    Sound:
    I’ve used these a lot since I got them about six weeks ago and they’ve played for well over 100 hours. I’ve used them both around the house and when out and about and I haven’t really found any significant weaknesses in the way they’re designed.
     
    I’ve used them with my Sony Xperia Z3 Compact phone (with and without the Elecom LBT-PAR500), FiiO X3/Bluebird 6.0 combo, the Gekk Out 720 and my SHOZY Lancea/Cayin C5 combo and they’ve worked very well with all of them.
     
    The Delta’s comes with three different tuning filters (more about these later) and after a lot of back and forward I’ve ended up with the stock (gun metal) ones as my favorite and this review is with these filters if nothing else in mentioned.
     
     
     
    Demo list:
    Mark Knopfler – Sailing to Philadelphia
    Røyksopp (Feat.Susanne Sundfør) – Save Me
    Ane Brun – These Days
    Michael Jackson – Dirty Diana
    Metallica – Die Die My Darling
    The Peter Malick Group – Immigrant
    Eva Cassidy – Songbird
    Thomas Dybdahl – A Lovestory
    Norah Jones – Don’t Know Why
    Celldweller – Unshakeable
    Jack Johnson – Better Together
    Seinabo Sey – Younger (Kygo remix)
    Dire Straits- So Far Away
    Passenger – Let Her Go
    Lupe Fiasco - Deliver
    Morrissey – Earth Is the Loneliest Planet
     
    The overall sound signature is dark and smooth with a pretty intimate presentation.
     
    The lows have great extension and sub-bass have good impact. The mid- and higher bass is also very forward with good impact. As a matter of fact the mid-bass impact is one of the dominating things in the Delta’s presentation and for my taste it’s just too much of it. The bass is also a bit on the slow and boomy side. Bass-heads would most likely be very happy with the Delta’s.
     
    The midrange is a bit forward and well balanced but unfortunately it’s quite often overshadowed by the higher bass. This is a shame really with a more balanced bass department the Delta’s would have the potential to be a really great IEM. The full midrange and the exaggerated upper bass give a nice weight to male voices and vocal reproduction in general is very good with them.
     
    The treble is nice without any hint of sibilance and extension is quite good. I personally would have liked a bit more sparkle in the higher notes but the overall presentation of the higher regions is still enjoyable. With some music I find the treble to be a bit on the thin side. I enjoy the treble with the silver filter more but that filter also makes the higher bass even more dominating so it didn’t work out to well for me I the long run.
     
    I find the soundstage width and height to be below average for an IEM but the depth is very good. The intimate presentation combined with the intrusive higher bass gives a quite dark and sometimes even dull sounding overall presentation.
     
    Clarity and micro details are good for an IEM in this price range.
     
    EDIT 23/11-15:
    Lately I've been using the Delta's with a small mod simple consisting of putting some tape over the vent on the back of the housing and poking a hole in it with a needle. This makes a smaller bass port than the original one and a much better balanced sound (for my preference). I've also purchased the new gold filters for them. After a lot of back and forward I've find the combination of the gun metal filters and the tape mod to be the most enjoyable for me (with the combintaton og gold filters and tape mod as a very close second). 
     
    In this configuration I like the Delta's a lot more as it gives them reduced mid-bass, more forward vocals and a much better soundstage width in addition to the strong points as clarity, details etc already mentioned in the original review.
     
    The way they sound when modded I'd probably give them 4,5 star and for some music (Joy Williams, Melody Gardot, Jewel etc) I'm just loving them. 
     
    Anyway, I just wanted to add this to my original review in case someone reads it and have the same thoughts about them as I do in its stock form and want to give this very simple mod a try. 
     
     
    Tuning filter system:
    The Trinity Delta’s originally came with three different tuning filters (gun metal, silver and purple) and one more said to sit between the gun metal and the silver will be available shortly.
     
    The way the tuning filters work is that you can easily screw the nozzle off the rest of the housing and replacing it with another that will alter the sound in a different way.
     
    The Delta’s will retain their basic sound signature no matter which filter you put on them but the changes can still easily be heard and this is a great help in tuning the IEM more to your preferred signature.
     
    I’ll give a short description of how the different filters alter the sound:
     
    Gun Metal:
    The gun metal (AKA stock filter) is the most balanced one of the three. Bass still has plenty of impact but the treble is less lively compared to the other two filter options.
     
    Silver:
    The silver filter adds a nice energy to the higher frequencies but unfortunately also adds even more bass to an already bassy presentation.
     
     
    Purple:
    The purple filter reduces both sub- and mii-bass significantly and really pushes the treble forward. To me the Delta’s sound thin and shouty in this configuration.
     
    IMG_2780.jpg
     
    IMG_2790.jpg
     
     
    Comparison:
    Please note that the comments in the comparison section are not in absolute terms but in comparison between subject A and B. This means (as an example) that if subject A is found to be brighter than subject B it does not necessarily mean that subject B is bright sounding in absolute terms. I hope this makes sense.
     
    ATH-CKR10 vs Trinity Delta:
    Compared to the Delta’s the CKR10’s has a pretty similar overall presentation being intimate, smooth and warm. The CKR10’s also have a lift in the higher bass but manage to stay below that magical point where I find it too intrusive a lot more of the time than the Delta’s does. Otherwise the sub-bass depth is quite similar on the two but the bass on the CKR10’s is tighter and has much better layering.
     
    The mids on the CKR10’s are more forward than on the Delta’s and I also find vocals to have a more natural tone with them.
     
    The highs on the CKR10’s extends better and also have more sparkle and fullness to them while still staying equally smooth as the highs on the Delta’s.
     
    Soundstage width and even depth is pretty similar but the CKR10’s has better height. The CKR10’s also has better separation and micro details. Coming from the Delta’s to the CKR10’s the latter feels much more airy and balanced in comparison.
     
    I find them both very comfortable.
     
    The CKR10’s are easier to drive.
     
    Isolation is better on the CKR10’s.
      
    Dunu Titan 1 vs Trinity Delta:
    Compared to the Delta’s the Titan’s has a larger soundstage width and an overall brighter presentation.
     
    Both sub-bass and mid-bass have less impact on the Titans but it’s also more controlled and better quality bass.
     
    The midrange on the Titan’s is a bit more recessed and there’s less bass bleed into the mids on them.
     
    The lower treble on the Titans is more energetic and the overall treble presentation is brighter. The treble on the Titans also extends a bit further up.
    Soundtage width and height is better on the Titans while the Delta’s has better depth. Clarity is pretty similar while the overall presentation on the Titans is much more airy and better balanced.
     
    The Titans are more comfortable.
     
    They’re equally hard to drive.
     
    Isolation is pretty similar on both.
     
    Brainwavz S5 vs Trinity Delta (with silver filters):
    The S5 is another IEM with hard hitting bass. Compared to the Delta’s the S5 has about similar impact in the sub-bass but a bit less mid- and upper bass. The bass on the S5, although being very present, actually feels more controlled and less disturbing in the rest of the frequencies.
     
    The midrange on the S5 is a tad more recessed and also a bit grainy in comparison to the smooth presentation on the Delta’s. The Delta’s also has better clarity.
     
    The treble on the S5 has a lot more energy but also feel a bit thinner and is more prone to sibilance.
     
    The soundstage width and height on the S5 is better while the depth is about similar. The overall presentation on the S5 is more airy and energetic.
     
    I like the ergonomics on both these IEM’s and find them equally comfortable.
     
    They’re equally hard to drive.
     
    Isolation is better on the S5’s.
     
    Summary:
    The Trinity Delta’s are an IEM with good sound and excellent build and accessories. If there’s anything that can make or brake an IEM for me it’s the amount of mid- and upper bass. Unfortunately on the Delta’s there’s just too much of this for my preference. It’s a petty really since I like the build and the rest of the sound on them a lot.  I’d also like to add a warning for people with narrow ear canals (like myself) that it can be a real challange to get a good seal with the Delta’s. For bass lovers who listen mostly to bass driven electronic music the Delta’s would be an excellent alternative.
     
    IMG_2789.jpg
      Baycode and hakushondaimao like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. goodyfresh
      It's my personal opinion (and just my opinion, so please do not take offense at this) that folks with super-duper-narrow, or otherwise extremely unusual ear-canals, should not complain about the fit of IEM's, as this is unfair to the manufacturers: Manufacturers have to try to make earphones so that they will fit the largest possible proportion of people, and if they were to design them to fit those with extremely unusual or small ear-canals, then they wouldn't fit and seal well for the majority of people.  If this is a major issue for you, you should perhaps look into some aftermarket tips, or some custom-molded IEM's.  Or, just give up on IEM's and go for over-ear headphones when you need isolation.

      I also strongly disagree about these having any degree whatsoever of overly-boosted mid-bass.  I've actually played a test-tone of an equal-volume frequency-sweep from 20Hz up to 20Khz on these, and they do not seem to peak at all significantly in the mid-bass.
      goodyfresh, Sep 16, 2015
    3. peter123
      @goodyfresh LOL! I'm really impressed that you know so much about the shape of my ear canals. I don't even know where to start on this comment of yours but I'll try to make it brief. I own close to 100 IEM's and I manage to get a good seal will all of them (including the Delta's), some takes more time than others and as stated in my review the Delta's was among those (if not the ) hardest to find the right tips for but eventually I did find a couple of good ones. As for the mid-bass I think it's enough to take a look at the graph for the Delta's to see what's going on.
       
      As opposed to you I feel that everyone is entiteled to an opinion even people who doesn't share mine.
       
      I also noticed that you posted your own review of them, great initiative and I'm glad you're enjoying them.
      peter123, Sep 17, 2015
    4. goodyfresh
      It seems like we simply have very different ears (both in terms of structure, and how they hear in the bass region) so we'll just have to agree to disagree.  I'm sorry if it seems like I was being hostile or anything!
       
      It should be noted that Brooko has, by his own statement, very unusual ear-canals, but according to him it wasn't much trouble at all to achieve a proper fit and seal with these earphones, and certainly wasn't nearly as difficult as it was to do so with, for example, the Dunu DN-2000.

      Also, from what I can see, the FR-graphs for these DO NOT show any real significant hump or bloat in the mid-to-upper bass region.  Moreover, the bass quantity relative to the rest of the frequencies is quite adjustable using the three different options for filters.  It seems like perhaps our ears just hear very differently in the bass region.
      goodyfresh, Sep 19, 2015
  6. mark2410
    Trinity Delta Quick Review by mark2410
    Written by mark2410
    Published Apr 4, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Truly fine audio quality with a sumptuously black background. Glorious.
    Cons - Plain looks. Gold and silver filters not subtle about the treble.
    Trinity Delta Quick Review
     
    Thanks to Trinity for the sample and collaboration.
     
    Full review here http://www.head-fi.org/t/761495/trinity-delta-review-by-mark2410
     
    Brief:  Yet another new UK firm kicking some serious arse.
     
    Price:  £90 or about US$137
     
    Specification:      Balanced Armature + 8mm neodymium dynamic drivers, 3 x Interchangeable tuning filter system, Impedance 16Ohm, Sensitivity 110 +/- 3DB,   Frequency response 19 - 21000HZ, Gold plated 3.5mm Jack, 1.2M Cable length
     
    Accessories:  Filters, bunch of tips and a wee case.
     
    Build Quality:  Looks great.  The jack is particularly sturdy and the cable is perfect.
     
    Isolation:  It’s a bit filter dependant.  Black, okay.  Silver, okay, about normal for a dynamic.  Gold, meh.  I could live with these for normal out and about but not really Tube stuff.  More than enough to make you road kill if you don’t keep your eyes open though.
     
    Comfort/Fit:  Very good on both accounts. 
     
    Aesthetics:  Bland.  I like the gun metal colouring but it’s very subtle looking overall.
     
    Sound:  Filter dependant.  The golds are the open trebly ones, which if you want bass light and treble I’d always go for a single BA myself and get isolation.  Still it’s an option if you want.  The Silver, it I can see as appealing to some.  It’s big, brash and highly V shaped.  The bass is hard and punchy, the treble dazzling and attention seeking.  The mids get a bit overshadowed but are still clear and detailed.  Though for me the black filters are where these come into their own.  The bass loses it furthest depths and the highs mute themselves considerably.  In short, they grow up.  The bass takes on a nuance and control that was too busy punching you with the silvers.  The highs are refined and detailed superbly for a BA, especially for a single BA doing the mids too!  The mids, they have a darkness, a certain sense of the void about them like your listening to everything in a treated acoustic chamber.  Everything that bit deadened taking away all the little noises that aren’t supposed to be there. Its offers a beautifully dark background to more fully display the fullest range of colour and shading before you like a properly calibrated TV might in a faintly lit room.  The littlest of differences that you might otherwise miss out on in a less controlled environment.  So much detail yet so subtle in its display yet so apparent when you seek it.  In short its price point leading goodness.  Top class bass, mids and dynamics.  Bar setting audio quality.
     
    Value:  Right now as good as it gets. (Kickstarter early bird offers are stupendous value.)
     
    Pro’s:   Truly fine audio quality with a sumptuously black background. Glorious.
     
    Con’s:  Plain looks.  Gold and silver filters not subtle about the treble.
      Brooko likes this.
  7. Brooko
    Trinity Delta - Beautifully Natural Sonic Presentation
    Written by Brooko
    Published Apr 4, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Build, fit, natural sound quality, filter system, clarity, value, cable quality, accessories (proposed)
    Cons - Champagne filter is a little too bass light for my personal taste
    delta09.jpg
    For larger views of any of the photos (1200 x 800) - please click on the individual images

    INTRODUCTION

    For those who haven’t heard yet, Trinity Audio Engineering (from this point we’ll just call them “Trinity”) is a new company, based in the UK, who is about to come to market with 3 brand new IEMs.  Trinity is the brainchild of the main designer from RockJaw UK (you know him on the forums as RockBob). Bob is starting the new company with RockJaw’s blessing, and as I understand it, the whole reason for the new company is simply so that Bob can pursue his dream to build a range of IEMs purely to his specification. He will also continue to work and design for RockJaw.
     
    The underlying vision and philosophy behind Trinity is that high quality audio should be affordable to everyone – and without compromising on build or materials.  And just because it is high quality – it shouldn’t mean it has to be high cost.
     
    So in the last few months, Bob has been working behind the scenes on his new product line, and along the way has enlisted the help of Mark2410, H20fidelity, and myself, to help him with feedback on what we’ve liked and didn’t like along the design process. One thing I really appreciate with a company like Trinity, and a designer like Bob, is the willingness to involve his consumers in some of the design decisions, so that the end result is (hopefully) exactly what the target audience is looking for.
     
    I count myself incredibly lucky to have been approached to work with Bob on this project – via email, PM and phone – and must admit a little personal pride in what Trinity have achieved. So without further comment – let’s have a look at the Delta – the current ‘flagship’ and only hybrid of the new entrants to the Trinity range.
     
    DISCLAIMER
     
    I was provided the Delta by Trinity as part of development and for final review of the end product.  Apart from my obvious involvement in feedback on the development, I am not otherwise affiliated with Trinity in any way, nor do I make any financial gain from my contributions.
     
    PREAMBLE - 'ABOUT ME'.   (or a base-line for interpreting my thoughts and bias)
     
    I'm a 48 year old music lover.  I don't say audiophile – I just love my music.  Over the last couple of years, I have slowly changed from cheaper listening set-ups to my current set-up.  I vary my listening from portable (Fiio X5, X3ii, X1 and iPhone 5S) to my desk-top's set-up (PC > coax > NFB-12 > LD MKIV > HP).  I also use a portable set-up at work – either X5/X3ii > HP, or PC > Beyer A200p > HP.  My main full sized headphones at the time of writing are the Beyer T1 and Sennheiser HD600.  Most of my portable listening is done with IEMs - and up till now it has mainly been with the Fidue A83, Dunu Titan and Altone200. A full list of the gear I have owned (past and present is listed in my Head-Fi profile).
     
    I have very eclectic music tastes listening to a variety from classical/opera and jazz, to grunge and general rock.   I listen to a lot of blues, jazz, folk music, classic rock, indie and alternative rock.  I am particularly fond of female vocals.  I generally tend toward cans that are relatively neutral/balanced, but I do have a fondness for clarity, and suspect I might have slight ‘treble-head’ preferences.  I am not treble sensitive (at all), and in the past have really enjoyed headphones like the K701, SR325i, and of course the T1 and DT880.
     
    I have extensively tested myself (abx) and I find aac256 or higher to be completely transparent.  I do use exclusively redbook 16/44.1 if space is not an issue.  All of my music is legally purchased (mostly CD – the rest FLAC purchased on-line).
     
    I tend to be sceptical about audiophile ‘claims’, don’t generally believe in burn-in, have never heard a difference with different cables, and would rather test myself blind on perceived differences.  I am not a ‘golden eared listener’.  I suffer from mild tinnitus, and at 48, my hearing is less than perfect.
     
    For the purposes of this review - I mainly used the Delta straight from the headphone-out socket of my Fiio X3ii, and also used (at different times) my iPhone 5S, and Beyer A200p when at work.  Although I tested them with an amplifier, I do not think they benefit from additional amplification.  In the time I have spent with the Delta, I have noticed a slight change in the overall sonic presentation, but am aware that this is simply that I am becoming more used to the signature of the Delta as I use them more often (brain burn-in).
     
    This is a purely subjective review - my gear, my ears, and my experience.  Please take it all with a grain of salt - especially if it does not match your own experience.
     
    THE REVIEW
     
    The Delta I am reviewing today is essentially a prototype – but Bob has said that any further changes will be purely cosmetic rather than sonic. As such I do not have complete packaging and accessory information, but I will share with you what I do know, and I can update any missing detail as it comes to light.
     
    PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES          
     
    The review sample I have did not come with packaging, and the accessory package is not finalised, so at this stage I’ll show you what it “should” come with.
     
    So for a start I’ll show you the packaging I’ve seen from an early Delta we sampled – which should be roughly similar to what is being used for the final release. The box is likely to be a “book-style” (fold out top cover) in a grayish slate type design with the name and simple statement about the product on the front cover, and specifications and other details on the rear.
     
    Delta front of box (provisional)
    Delta rear of box (provisional)
    Delta box in profile (provisional)

     
    Opening the front flap will reveal a foam inner with appropriate cut-outs to house the Delta, carry case, provided tips, and filters.
     
    The accessory package at this stage includes the carry case, 4 sets of silicone filters (1 pr small, 2 pr medium and 1 pr large), the filters (3), and Bob confirmed they will also provide 2 pairs of foams (M, L) and 1 pair of double flange silicone.
     
    delta02.jpg delta03.jpg
    Proposed boc interior
    First opening of carry case
    Case, filter tube, tips and the Delta

     

    The Trinity standard case is a nice rich red colour, has an internal mesh pouch for tips etc, is triangular shaped, and zips to open/close.  It is very spacious, has a good mix of both flexibility and strength – so it is comfortably to pocket, but still protects your IEMs really well.
     
    The carry case
    Silicone tips - foams and double flange will also be included
    Silicone tips - foams and double flange will also be included

     

    TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
     
    (From Trinity)
    Type
    Hybrid BA + 8mm Dynamic Driver
    Frequency Range
    19 Hz – 21 Khz
    Impedance
    16 ohm
    Sensitivity
    110 +/-3dB @ 1kHz 1mW
    Plug
    3.5mm gold plated, straight jack
    Cable
    1.2m – OFC
    Weight
    Approx 16g with tips in place
    IEM Shell
    CNC polished aluminium

     
    FREQUENCY GRAPH
     
    At the time of writing, I’m waiting for frequency response graphs from Bob, but just for a bit of fun, I’ve composed my own measurements using my trusty SPL meter. I used A-weighting in a quiet environment.  While I was at it, I checked for channel matching using 500, 1000, and 5000 Hz tones, and both earpieces were within 0.1 dB on my system for all 3 readings (just like the Hyperion). Again very impressive.
     
    Silver filter
    Hz
    60 Hz
    80 Hz
    100 Hz
    150 Hz
    200 Hz
    250 Hz
    300 Hz
    400 Hz
    500 Hz
    600 Hz
    700 Hz
    800 Hz
    900 Hz
    dB
    52.7
    57.7
    61.1
    66.4
    69.6
    71.7
    73.3
    75.5
    77.0
    78.0
    78.8
    79.5
    79.9
    Hz
    1 kHz
    2 kHz
    3 kHz
    4 kHz
    5 kHz
    6 kHz
    7 kHz
    8 kHz
    10 kHz
    12 kHz
    14 kHz
    16 kHz
    20 kHz
    dB
    80.4
    85.4
    90.2
    84.6
    84.1
    84.2
    79.9
    75.2
    69.6
    62.6
    62.8
    47.4
    40.1

     
    Black Filter
    Hz
    60 Hz
    80 Hz
    100 Hz
    150 Hz
    200 Hz
    250 Hz
    300 Hz
    400 Hz
    500 Hz
    600 Hz
    700 Hz
    800 Hz
    900 Hz
    dB
    53.8
    58.7
    62.1
    67.3
    70.4
    72.4
    73.9
    75.8
    77.1
    78.0
    78.7
    79.1
    79.6
    Hz
    1 kHz
    2 kHz
    3 kHz
    4 kHz
    5 kHz
    6 kHz
    7 kHz
    8 kHz
    10 kHz
    12 kHz
    14 kHz
    16 kHz
    20 kHz
    dB
    80.0
    84.6
    88.9
    84.5
    81.9
    80.2
    76.5
    72.9
    68.3
    59.8
    58.7
    47.4
    40.0

     
    Champagne Filter
    Hz
    60 Hz
    80 Hz
    100 Hz
    150 Hz
    200 Hz
    250 Hz
    300 Hz
    400 Hz
    500 Hz
    600 Hz
    700 Hz
    800 Hz
    900 Hz
    dB
    45.0
    49.4
    52.8
    58.4
    62.2
    64.9
    67.1
    70.4
    72.7
    74.3
    75.5
    76.4
    76.9
    Hz
    1 kHz
    2 kHz
    3 kHz
    4 kHz
    5 kHz
    6 kHz
    7 kHz
    8 kHz
    10 kHz
    12 kHz
    14 kHz
    16 kHz
    20 kHz
    dB
    77.5
    82.2
    85.7
    80.9
    74.6
    70.4
    68.5
    68.9
    60.0
    52.1
    55.2
    43.2
    40.2

     
    Couple of points to note – the champagne filter does have visible acoustic dampening – which could explain the lower readings throughout the spectrum. All 3 were taken without touching the volume pot.
     
    Also – the bass on the gun-metal filter shows slightly higher under A-weighting, but I later switched to C and just measured the bass frequencies.  The Silver filter showed more bass than either of the other two filters – especially in the sub-bass frequencies.
     
    EDIT - I've added graphs below from Bob for each of the filters, and also a combined graph showing (rough) an idea of all 3 filters.
     
    DELTA-SILVERfrequencychartscopy.jpg
     
    DELTA-GOLDfrequencychartcopy.jpg
     
    DELTA-BLACKfrequencychartcopy.jpg
     
    Deltaallfilters.jpg
     
     
    BUILD QUALITY / DESIGN
     
    The Delta is once again a very good looking IEM, featuring a beautiful polished gun-metal aluminium housing.  At the rear of the housing is a single vent for the dynamic driver (adjacent to the cable exit). The Delta is approximately 11-12 mm in circumference, and 14-15mm long with filters removed, or 20mm long with filters in place.  The mathematicians among you will be able to work out that the exposed filter measures approx. 5mm long.  It has a slight bevel at the end (making it easier to get tips on), and has a generous lip to make sure they stay on.  In terms of width of the nozzle – again my new T400 Comply tips fit well (tight – but firm). On my prototype sample there is no L/R markings – but these definitely should be in place for the finished product.
     
    delta20.jpg delta21.jpg delta22.jpg
    Delta body - CNC aluminium
    Rear port
    Filter intact

     

    The Delta comes with three screw in filter options, which I’ll go into more detail regarding sonics later in the review. The filters look to be very well made and fit my unit extremely well.
     
    The strain relief at the housing is flexible and appears reasonable strong.  Bob has informed me that the final model will have both sturdier exit reliefs, and these will also be colour coded for easy L/R identification. The Y-split is a really nice looking aluminium tube, a really good strain relief at the bottom.  The jack is gold plated, and both spring loaded and also covered with Trinity’s heat shrink, so plenty of protection.  Again – personally I’d prefer a right angle jack – but this is built to last and there should be no issues long term.
     
    delta23.jpg delta24.jpg delta25.jpg
    Filter from the front
    Chamber with filter removed
    The chassis only

     

    The cable is the same as the one used on the Hyperion and is gorgeous. The cable consists of 4 OFC wires – both sets of two tight woven into a spring like weave. These two weaves are then woven again together below the Y-split. The end result is an extremely flexible, and gorgeous looking cable with virtually no memory.  The weave also gives it strength.  So far in my testing (over-ear), cable noise is minimal – unless it comes into contact with a rough surface (zipper etc).  My model does not have a cinch – but the final release will have.  The cable can be slightly tangle prone – but careful winding and storage solves that easily.
     
    delta10.jpg delta11.jpg delta12.jpg
    Gold plated jack
    Y split
    The gorgeous Trinity cable

     

    So again for me, the build quality and attention to detail is top notch, and befitting the top end of the Trinity line.
     
    FIT / COMFORT / ISOLATION
     
    I have one ear canal slightly different to the other one (my right is very slightly smaller) - so I tend to find that usually single silicon flanges don't fit overly well.  I initially tried the included large silicones and I couldn’t get a consistently decent fit or seal. Like my experience with the Hyperion - not Trinity’s fault – just my weird ears. I next tried Sony Isolation tips, and they sealed beautifully, were very comfortable, and showed no signs of driver flex, or pressure issues at all. The nozzle for the Delta is almost slightly too large for the Sony tips (they do fit – but I have to force them), so I next tried my trusty Comply tips – and for my particular tastes – the T400 sport were ideal.
     
    Isolation with the Delta is average for a hybrid containing a vented dynamic driver.  With music playing you’re isolated pretty well.
     
    4cd37f9e_delta_tiny_1.jpg 73a153f3_DELTA_1.jpg 316a7900_DELTA_2.jpg
    Bob's professional Delta photos
    Bob's professional Delta photos
    Bob's professional Delta photos

     

    Comfort is excellent – and once again they are very light, so that I hardly feel that I’m wearing them.  With their relatively short length, they stay inserted without protruding past my outer ear, and it is easy for me to lie down or sleep whilst wearing them.  The cable is very soft, and extremely comfortable in my preferred over-ear position.
     
    The Delta looks good, and likes its sibling (the Hyperion) has a fantastic build.  Let’s have a look at the filters, and then move onto sonic impressions.
     
    DELTA FILTER SYSTEM
     
    The Delta comes with three exchangeable filters to allow you to tailor the sound to your preference. Whenever I’ve tried most other IEMs with filters, they’ve often just been bass+ / “neutral” / treble+, and depending on the flavour of the “neutral”, sometimes this has been very hit or miss.
     
    The Delta is a bit different in this regard, and we even had a discussion on how to name the filters because they were so different. So here is my take on the three included filters:
    1. Silver = “fun”
    2. Gun metal = “smooth”
    3. Champagne = “vivid”
     
    delta04.jpg delta13.jpg delta14.jpg
    Filters and storage cylinder
    Silver (fun), champagne (vivid) and gun metal (smooth)
    Silver (fun), champagne (vivid) and gun metal (smooth)

     

    The silver “fun” filter is the only one with nothing in the chamber, and no vent. What this filter appears to do is raise both sub-bass and also the upper mid-range and treble response. So it basically creates a more V shaped signature.  I’m not usually a huge bass lover – but I really like this filter. Not only does it give a lot more life in the bottom end – and it can really thump – it also lifts the clarity a notch.  Too many bass filters make the overall sound very warm and quite dark.  The silver filter just adds slam and clarity.  It’s an intoxicating combo – and when you need a lift sometimes, it has the ability to just pick you up and put a huge grin on your face. Thumbs up from me for this one.
     
    The gun metal "smooth" filter is really the default or reference filter. It has a micro vent, and a membrane to give its particular tuning. I call it smooth – because to me that’s exactly what it delivers – beautiful smooth sound.  It is definitely the most balanced of the three filters, and while the sub bass is there – it doesn’t over-power. Nor is there a massive mid-bass hump, but there is enough mid-bass and lower mid-range IMO to sound really natural.  I once commented to Bob that I thought the black filter almost had an HD600 tonality about it. Of course it can’t come close to the timbre and truly natural sonics of the legendary HD600 – but it does deliver a lovely clear, smooth, liquid sound. It’s the sort of sound I can listen to for hours, and although it didn’t wow me at first, it has rapidly become my favourite filter, and one of the most favourite IEMs I own (more on that during the comparisons). If you’ve read my reviews before, you’ll know I tend toward slightly brighter IEMs – and with the “smooth” filter you actually get clarity without being overly bright. But I don’t reach for the EQ with this one. It’s perfect without the hyper clarity. With the tuning of the Delta this is one of the best IEMs I’ve heard to date for long term relaxed listening.
     
    The third filter I’ve called “vivid”, and it’s the only one of the three I don’t tend to listen to a lot. I do think it’s necessary to round out the range – but it’s just not my ideal tuning. The champagne filter has both a vent and acoustic dampening. The biggest change is that a lot of both sub and mid bass has been attenuated – so you are left with more mid-range and treble. The nice thing about this filter though is that the way it’s tuned the treble isn’t overdone at all.  It gives you a very light, but very clear and “vivid” presentation.  Personally I like a little more bass than this filter delivers – but anyone preferring a lighter overall sound will enjoy this filter.
     
    All three filters simply screw off the main body, then screw easily back on again. Possibly the only thing that I’d change would be the addition of a small rubber washer just to make tightening and loosening a little more secure.
    The spare filters are housed in a clever little aluminium tube with a screw on cap.  This is brilliant as the tube fits neatly in the case so that your filters are always with you – and the tube should be big enough so that it won’t get easily lost.
     
    The implementation of the filters on Delta is amongst the best (if not the best) I’ve experienced so far.
     
    SOUND QUALITY
     
    The following is what I hear from the Trinity Delta.  YMMV – and probably will – as my tastes are likely different to yours (read the preamble I gave earlier for a baseline).  Most of the testing at this point (unless otherwise stated) was done with my Fiio X3ii as source, the gunmetal “smooth” filter in place, and Comply T400 sport tips.
     
    Tracks used were across a variety of genres – and can be viewed in this list http://www.head-fi.org/a/brookos-test-tracks.
     
    I’ve also shortened the genre section a little so that I could spend more time on comparisons – as that seems to be what a lot of people have asked for (on the forums and via PM).
     
    Thoughts on Default Signature
    I mentioned earlier, my immediate impression listening to the Delta with the “smooth” filter the first time was like listening to my HD600. The sound is natural, effortless, clear, and velvety without losing any clarity.
     
    One of the things I love about it is the natural progression from bass through lower and upper mids and into the lower treble. It extends pretty well into the sub-bass, and I tested this by using a calibrated 1 kHz test tone at 70 dB, and then switching the same volume to 25 Hz – easily heard, even with my “aged” ears. In the upper end, it’s detailed and clear – but not brash or in your face like some of my other IEMs. Now some may want a little more shimmer – but the funny thing is that I don’t with this IEM (and that is really weird considering my normal tastes).  I know there is roll-off in the upper treble yet despite sounding smooth, the Delta also manages effortless detail. I’m not sure how he achieves it – but I do know I like it.
     
    Overall Detail / Clarity
    Nothing missing with “Gaucho” or “Sultans of Swing”- good balance, great tonality and dynamism. There is crunch to the guitar, shimmer on the cymbals, timbre in the bass guitar. Bass is well defined. Overall cohesion is excellent.
     
    Sound-stage & Imaging
    Much better sense of space than the Hyperion and the imaging during Tundra is really clean, clear and well defined. It’s not hugely “out of head” with this binaural track – but it’s far enough not to qualify as intimate. With McKennitt’s “Dante’s Prayer”, the presentation was stunning – so natural, smooth yet compelling at the same time.  The tonality of piano and cello was gorgeous. With the applause at the end, it was more width than depth – but I was in the audience which is very good for an IEM.
     
    Side note too - Amanda Marshall’s “Let It Rain” – wonderful. Holographic, but so natural sounding too – in a word – magical.
     
    Bass Quality and Quantity
    Goes low (we discussed this above), and has very good impact with “Bleeding Muddy Waters” by Mark Lanegan.  No mushiness or imbalance in the overall bass cohesion. Mark’s voice had great timbre, and the gravel really came though well.  Lorde’s “Royals” took the Delta impressively low and had great impact. Ella’s vocals were clear, well defined, and euphoric.
     
    Female Vocals
    Tick, tick, tick – euphonic, no stridency, no noticeable sibilance. Agnes Obel was dreamy (and that cello tone!), London Grammar was clean, clear and perfect (Hannah - release another album please!), and it didn’t matter what I played – each track eminently enjoyable. Cilmi’s “Safer” once again gave me chills & Norah was sublime (like she was singing just to me). If you get the chance, check out Lianne La Havas – on the Delta she is amazing.
     
    Male Vocals
    Dynamic, clear, balanced, but also delivering vigorous punch and very good guitar attack. Acoustic is brilliant. Even older stuff like 10CC and Jethro had zest. Vocal quality is outstanding and this is one of the few IEMs I’ve heard which does both male and female vocals really well (like the DUNU 2000 for instance). There is something about the tonality with most instruments as well – really cohesive – really involving, but no sign of harshness or grit.
     
    My litmus test is always Pearl Jam. In a word – perfect. All the detail is there, but best of all I can hear the emotion in Vedder’s voice. I’m finding it hard to listen critically at this point.  Too easy to egt lost in the music with the Deltas.
     
    Genre Specific Notes
    Not going to bore you with this section – except to say that the Delta just kept knocking everything out of the park. I’d list the strongpoints, but there were too many.  What the Delta does is portray everything with realism. Tonally I find it magical – especially with well recorded Jazz (Portico Quartet and Miles both shone), and Blues (Bonamassa’s live performances were enthralling). Even EDM and Rap were very good – purists might want a bit more bass, but if you do, simply swap for the silver filter.
     
    I could listen to Indie on the Deltas for hours – again the tonality just seems to hit a spot. And Wildlight’s “Dawn to Flight” for some strange reason was actually better than the Altones normally deliver it!
     
    Classical was light, lively, enthralling – very different from my experience with the Hyperions.  The standout though was Netrebko & Garanca’s duet from Lakme. Soaring vocals – but never peaky, and a real sense of space
    again.
     
    AMPLIFICATION REQUIREMENTS
     
    The Delta is again easily powered straight out of the portable devices I have, and I haven’t experienced any issues with the iPhone 5S, or any of the Fiio Daps. With typical pop/rock songs on the iP5S I’m usually at a volume level of around 40%, on the X3ii around 40-50/120.  Again, I did try amping with the E11K, but noticed no obvious signs of improvement.
     
    EQUALISATION
     
    Didn’t try, doesn’t need it – and if you do, change the filters first.
     
    COMPARISONS
     
    OK – this is the section I was asked about a lot – and this is very subjective. Comparison was once again with the X3ii, gun-metal filter, and Comply tips.  All IEMs were volume matched with a 1 kHz tone and using a proper SPL meter.
     
    Small note though – I’ve been using the Delta a lot in the last 3 days, so I am very used to its signature – more so than some of the IEMs I’ve put it up against tonight.  I also am getting over a dose of influenza, so my ears are unlikely to be 100% (are they ever?). Please take this into account when trying to assimilate my thoughts.
     
    1. Vs Altone200
      Altone is clearly brighter, and bassier, detail is a lot more apparent. Very much more in your face and vivid. Delta still has plenty of detail, but somehow sounds cleaner.  There is more distance and space, and far more balance. Male vocals sound natural – where on the Altone, they are slightly contrived.  Both do female vocals well – but I’m leaning toward Delta as being the more enjoyable of the two. If you prefer V shaped, and leaning toward upper mids than lower – then the Altone is still king.  If you want more balance and realism, the Delta nails it. My preference – Delta (by quite a bit actually).

       
    2. Vs Fidue A83
      This is a lot closer. The Fidues again are bassier, but show a lot more balance than the Altones. The do show more overall detail and have a very vivid presentation.  Deltas still show more distance and separation, and clearly have less grain – despite the slightly lower resolution. Deltas also continue to show a more natural tonality. Another thing I noticed – personally they are more comfortable to wear. The A83 have been my go to for a long time now – they are wonderful earphones, but at this point for my personal tastes, I’m leaning toward the more natural tone of the Delta as preferable to the more vivid tone of the Fidue.  I wasn’t expecting this.

       
    3. Vs DUNU Titan
      Tonality is very similar – surprising as I would have expected the Titan to be a lot brighter than the Delta, and it isn’t. Titan has a bit more mid bass, and might be slightly brighter in the lower treble, where I think the Delta might have a little more upper mid-range. Titan has a slight bit more overall space – but it’s not as much (again) as I’d expect. Vocals are slightly further back on quite a few tracks, where the Delta brings them closer. Titan also has more apparent sub-bass presentation (Lorde Royals)  - and shows its slight V, where the Delta remains very balanced. Hard to pick a preference with these two – but for similar price, the ability to go over-ear, change filters, and the better cable – I’d just about give the nod to Delta.

       
    4. Vs Havi B3 Pro1
      I know there is a bit of a price difference here, but I know it will be asked – so …… Havi is comparatively thin.  Both sound pretty balanced.  Delta sounds cleaner, clearer. Havi struggles a bit on sub-bass where it is more easily heard on the Delta. Havi still has that wider stage, but Delta has the ability to portray a more believable stage (if that makes sense). Although both have a good sense of balance, the Delta sounds a lot more natural, and that plus the overall refinement makes it for me.  The Havi puts up a good fight though.

       
    5. Vs Alclair Curve
      This one really isn’t fair – because I’ve only had the Curve for 3 days and hardly have had a chance to listen to them so far. The Curve is warmer, bassier.  Both are very smooth, and also quite refined – especially in the vocals. Delta is a more natural sound. On comfort – the Curve by a long shot though – easily the most comfortable IEM I’ve ever worn. I won’t pick a preference on this as it’s not fair on the Curve. But the Delta is still probably closer to my default preference as far as sound goes.

       
    VALUE
     
    Indications we have from Bob is that the Delta (after initial launch) will retail at around £90.00/ $135.00 USD (at today’s rates).  This makes it very good value – given (for my tastes) it is on virtually equal footing (or better) than some triple hybrids at much higher pricing.
     
    At the KickStarter introductory price of £60.00/ $90.00 USD, this is daylight robbery, and Trinity is the victim. Don’t stop – go buy one now.  You can thank me for it later.
     

    DELTA - SUMMARY

    Once again, I’ve pretty much covered everything above, but I’ll try to boil it down into a short summary.
     
    The Trinity Delta is the best tuned dual driver earphone I’ve heard to date, and I’d even go so far as to say that it sits up there in SQ with a lot of the triple driver earphones I’ve heard.
     
    It’s playing in a crowded price bracket though – but when you look at what Trinity offers with the Delta, it’s hard not to admire the overall package.
     
    You get the Trinity build promise (quality throughout), with aluminium shells, a fantastic cable, and a really nice filter system that breaks the mould on most typical filter systems I’ve seen. You also get SQ that is balanced, or flavoured, depending on your choice of filter – but more importantly is refined, and (with the “smooth” filter) very natural and non-fatiguing.
     
    The Delta is an easy recommendation due to all of the above – and is now most often the IEM I reach for when I want relaxation (away from the reviews).  The fact that you can pick one up on KS at the moment for under $100 USD makes it possible the best value you may see this year.
     
    I’ve already backed the campaign – and my review should show how much I like the Delta.  5 stars from me. I’d give it 6 if I could.
     
    delta19.jpg   delta18.jpg
      leobigfield, djvkool, d marc0 and 6 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. krelianx
      Got these last week. They are freaking amazing.
      krelianx, Oct 7, 2015
    3. ljnew
      How do they compare to audio-technica ath ckr9 or 10?
      ljnew, Apr 29, 2016
    4. Brooko
      Unfortunately I've never tried either AT IEM.
      Brooko, Apr 29, 2016