1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

TinAudio T2

Rating:
4.3/5,
  1. Cyanogenmoded
    The hype is real!
    Written by Cyanogenmoded
    Published Dec 16, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - The unboxing experience is one of a kind
    Great build and looks sexy
    Amazing clarity and detail reproduction
    The highs are optimal and lively
    The mids are open and airy
    The bass is about the quality not the quantity here
    Analytical signature
    Great value for money if under 40
    Cons - The bass is pretty barebones and sub bass rolls off very fast
    Bassheads ignore this iem
    The cables are weak and break pretty fast
    Bass mod was a little overhyped, but sounds great after brain burn in and wide bore tips

    TinAudio T2

    Introduction
    TinAudio T2 has taken the audiophile and chi-Fi community by storm for the past 6+ months, but the question is does it stand true for the hype it has created, the overall reception is phenomenal and more than just positive, considering how short lived chi-fi fame is, T2 was able to turn a lot of heads and introduce them to the world of Chi-Fi

    My review will be covering a general impression of T2 and a comparison between T2 Normal, Bass Modded and TRN V80(will review this as well) and for fun my old SoundMagic E50c.

    Unboxing
    The experience is pretty sweet considering the price and the warm feel of a product made with love and dedication.
    But the unboxing shouldn't be the only good thing :wink:
    I am quite thrilled to see their focus in the unboxing, as many chi-fi companies fail to get their game together for originality, designs and quality unboxing.

    *brace for picture spam*
    IMG_20181205_160626.jpg IMG_20181206_172440.jpg

    The box looks great and is pretty awesome presentation great job TinHifi.

    IMG_20181206_172854.jpg IMG_20181206_172820.jpg IMG_20181206_173018.jpg IMG_20181206_173056.jpg

    The box is made of cardboard and covered with a thin faux leather, it is well reinforced and resembles a book yet to embrace the reader.

    +10 cyan points, i like books very much sir.


    IMG_20181206_173331.jpg IMG_20181206_173732.jpg IMG_20181206_173751.jpg

    You are welcomed by a small leaflet from TINHiFi
    under which lies the gun colour beauty, firmly affixed in a foam bed.
    The box also has extra 2x 3 pair of silicone tips, wide and narrow bore.


    SOUND
    Time to get to the matter in hand, how does it sound

    BASS:
    - Tight and well articulated
    - The presence is not feeble nor overly done
    - The mids are free from any bleed or muffling from bass
    - not everyone will dig the bass but there's nothing to hate it for, after all these are neutral iems

    BASS(With Mod and +3/2 to 75 hz, +2/1 to 230 hz):
    - Bass motherf***** cannons, Sub-Bass is overwhelmingly present only if you increase EQ by a slight notch.

    - The bass hits like a truck and is quite well pronounced the richness in the sound is pretty intoxicating but overwhelming
    - After a small brain burn-in i have started to appreciate the bass(at first i was inclining for normal signature which i still do, but i love the bass :0)
    it's not all rosy and has some serious issues with the mod, which i would like to discuss in the conclusion


    MIDS:

    -The mids have a lush rich and vibrant impression, they are the show stoppers and the only reason why it has so many heads turning.
    -The mids don't seem to be too much and are just sufficient, they sound great with a slight sparkle of the highs making this pair one of the finest iems i have used.
    -the mids are pretty forward and seem to have a huge impact in the signature

    MIDS(With Mod and eq tuning):
    -The mids are not getting overwhelmed by the bass and are just as pronounced, the iem becomes slightly V-Shaped but only after a slight tweak to the EQ.
    - The mids are not lost but are not as forward as the neutral tuning
    - The mids are great and detailed, nothing seems to overlap just like in the normal mod

    HIGHS(same for mod and without mod):

    -the treble has an amazing sparkle giving the sound a vibrant life
    -the highs don't feel excessive at all and play a huge role in the airy nature, the instrument separation is great, but doesn't blows my socks away
    - The treble is slightly sharp in normal mod. The bass mods seem to suppress/tame the treble slightly

    Surround-stage:
    The surround stage is pretty good and is comparable to the likes of TRN V80 and slightly better than my old SM e50c. The feel changes significantly on the usage of bass mod, you lose the surround feel and it makes the sound congested which is pretty much not surprising, the bass vent is meant to allow a better surround and air flow. Sadly the all rosy bass mod had to have a con.

    Conclusion

    It isn't as perfect as it was showcased by the community, but damn it's close.
    I was a little over hyped and expected a little too much, but after a little brain burn in, and settling down of expectations, i was able to view the iem with least prejudice.
    The bass mod isn't going to be the end game for you all bass heads out there, so don't be over hyped, it does make the earphone a cannon and make the bass more responsive to the eq so even a slight bump in the eq makes a huge difference, even a single unit increase is enough to make the iem from warm to bass cannon i.e. +3 from 2 in 75 hz, +2 from 1 in 230 hz

    but the side effect is loss in SURROUND, CHANCES FOR DRIVER FLEX, INCREASE IN EAR PRESSURE.

    But giving this mod a shot doesn't cost a penny and wont cause a huge detriment in a short while, the brain burn has made me forget about the loss of surround.

    it's all about experimenting and finding your ideal setup. Tips change the sound a lot(wide bore+ bass mod and narrow bore or a small foam tip with normal mod is a pretty sweet ride) and it is pretty EQ responsive.

    But do i recommend this pair? hell yes, get them if u find a decent steal like me($30) these are just phenomenal for 30 and the bass versatility is a great thing for the bass head in me :p
    i would recommend checking out Final Audio and TFZ T2 as well they seem to be a great buy nonetheless and my top 3 picks for budget iems

    images

    1. IMG_20181205_160705.jpg
    2. IMG_20181206_173103.jpg
    3. IMG_20181206_173301.jpg
    4. IMG_20181206_173742.jpg
      Markolav likes this.
  2. Dobrescu George
    Tin Audio T2 - Open Stage
    Written by Dobrescu George
    Published Nov 13, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Good Build Quality
    - Metallic Body
    - Nice Cable
    - Bright, Open Sound
    - Large Soundstage
    - Fairly good texture reproduction
    - Clarity is very good
    - Midrange is generally well reproduced
    Cons - Cable is slightly Tangle Prone
    - Quite a bit thin and bright
    - Bass is a rolled off in general
    - Fit isn't absolutely the best with small ears
    - Doesn't reach as low as it should, and the solution of covering the bass port to allow for a better bass reproduction causes issues with comfort, making them not ideal for their bass, regardless of the approach used
    Tin Audio T2 Pro - Open Stage

    Tin T2 is the first IEM we are reviewing from the Chinese producer Tin Audio. While the name doesn't say much about them or their product, we'll place it through it paces and see what the guys at Tin Audio have been able to design.

    [​IMG]


    Tin T2 and T2 Pro, next to each other, T2 with blue foam tips, T2Pro with dark silicone tips




    Introduction


    Tin Audio is a newcomer in the Audio industry, but it already has two product, which have many users and lovers all over the world, namely Tin T2 and Tin T2 Pro. The price of the two is rather similar, the Pro version being roughly 10 USD more than the normal version, which, compared to the 50 USD price tag of the original may seem a lot (20%), it is only 10 USD after all. We weren't able to speak with Tin Audio directly quite yet, but we can totally recommend working with Linsoul audio for purchasing Audio products from China. They are an excellent company, with good PR, they speak English well, and they are really responsive to messages. Most of you may have bought products from Linsoul already, as they are one of the biggest seller on Aliexpress and Amazon.

    It should be noted that I have absolutely no affiliation with Tin Audio or Linsoul, I am not receiving any incentive for this review or to sweeten things out. This review is not sponsored nor has been paid for by Tin Audio or Linsoul or anyone else. I'd like to thank Linsoul for providing the sample for this review. The sample was provided along with Linsoul's request for an honest and unbiased review. This review will be as objective as it is humanly possible, and it reflects my personal experience with Tin Audio T2 and T2 Pro. Every opinion expressed is mine and I stand by it, the purpose of this review is to help those interested in Tin Audio T2 and T2 Pro find their next music companion.

    ---

    Purchase Link Tin T2(Linsoul Audio): https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/Tin-Audio-T2-Earphone

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro (Linsoul Audio): https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/TinAudio-T2-PRO-Earphones

    Purchase Link Tin T2 (Amazon): https://www.amazon.com/TIN-Double-Dynamic-Earphone-Headphones/dp/B07DL2FPBL/

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro(Amazon)Pro: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HQQ9T6D

    Purchase Link Tin T2 (Aliexpress): https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...e-Metal-Earbuds-with/2894006_32888633631.html

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro (Aliexpress): https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...sign-Detachable-MMCX/2894006_32931089424.html

    ---


    You can also read the review at Audiophile Heaven: https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.com/2018/11/Tin-T2-T2Pro-Open-Stage.html



    About me

    https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.ro/p/about.html



    Packaging

    First things first, let's get the packaging out of the way:

    [​IMG]


    Tin T2 Pro package


    [​IMG]



    Tin T2 Pro package

    [​IMG]


    Tin T2Pro tips

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The package of T2 and T2Pro is exactly the same, save for the little detail that the Pro version has the word "Pro" written on the face of the package.

    The package is actually quite impressive, those being some of the better packaged IEMs I received from China recently. They come in a white cardboard box, inside which you can find a flappy-style cardboard box. This one is high-quality, and it is smooth to the touch, being something you'd expect more from a high-end IEM, rather than something you'd expect a 50 USD IEM to be shipped in.


    Inside that, you can find the IEM shells seated in a cardboard cutout, with the cables beneath them, as well as a few pairs of tips. They come with a pair of Blue foam tips installed, but there is just one size, and just one pair of those included, so if you enjoy the foam feeling, you may have to purchase additional tips, either from Comply, Tin Audio, or Mandarin, the last one being my favorite pick for getting foam and hybrid tips. There are also no Spinfit tips, which we got to love and enjoy, so if you need a pair, you should order one from Spinfit.

    In all honesty, for 50 USD, the package is fairly good, and there is little space to complain, they included high-quality materials in the package, and they put effort in it, so at the end of the day, it reaches a nice overall level.



    What to look in when purchasing an entry-level In-Ear Monitor

    https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.ro/p/what-to-lookl.html




    Technical Specifications

    Drive unit: Dynameic 10MM woofer + 6MM Tweeter (2DD drive unit)
    Earphone type: In-ear
    Impedance: 16Ω
    Earphone sensitivity: 102dB/mW
    Frequency range: 12-40000Hz
    Plug interface : 3.5mm Gilded
    Plug Type: Line type
    Cable Length: 1.2m±3cm
    Color: Gray
    Cable conductor: 1.25 5N oxygen free copper plating silver
    Earphone interface: MMCX interface




    Build Quality/Aesthetics/Fit/Comfort

    The main IEM is made of metal, with a metallic shell, and with two vents for each IEM. The shape is pretty ergonomic and most of the hard edges are on the outside, rather than being on the inside, so you don't have to deal with any kind of discomfort caused by their design, like say, you have with KZ BA10.

    [​IMG]


    Tin T2 Pro with dark silicone tips

    [​IMG]


    Tin T2 with blue foam tips

    Both T2 and T2Pro look the same and are built the same as far as I can tell, with very few to no differences when it comes to their build.

    The cable is attached to the IEM via a MMCX connector, which is amazing for a IEM priced this low, and a very respectable thought. This being said, most aftermarket cables may be more expensive than the IEM itself, so it is more of a nice thing if you have multiple IEMs based on this connector.


    The default tips are nice and fit well, the IEM has a lip that keeps the tip in place, and the default tips do not get slippery.

    The size of the IEM body is actually pretty large, and the bore size is also on the larger side, making them recommended only for people with average to larger ears, not working quite that well for people who have smaller ears.


    The aesthetics are on the more industrial side, with the metallic build, metallic color, and with the sharp edges combined with curves leading to an industrial and aggressive look, rather than a smoother one.

    They isolate ok, not that well, and they are more open than most IEMs, especially with this much venting, but this helps a lot with the comfort as the vents mean you don't get driver flex, you don't get discomfort when pulling them out, and you don't get discomfort basically at any moment of using them (provided they fit for your ears).




    Sound Quality

    The title may give it away, but the soundstage and openness of the sound are the focal characteristics of Tin T2 and Tin T2 Pro. I'll explore the intricacies of each, and also compare them in the meanwhile, so you get a better view of how each sounds, and which may be a better fit for you.

    Tin T2

    Tin T2 is a very bright and open IEM, with a neutral bass, with a good actuation and impulse response, a clean although bright midrange, and with a sparkly although slightly sibilant treble.


    [​IMG]

    The bass is not very deep, and it doesn't go very low, the large amount of ventilation having to play a role in this, the bass being neutral in amount at best. It is a quicker to natural bass, and where it hits, it hits nicely, it doesn't bleed in the midrange, and it doesn't have a negative impact over the sound, but it doesn't work quite that well with electronic music that relies on a large amount of bass, being rather fit for acoustic music, Jazz, and other styles that do not rely heavily on bass presence.

    The midrange is clear, clean, detailed, and very well-textured, but it is bright and tilted towards a brighter tonality, by the treble, and by their open nature, meaning that it works quite well with female vocals, but that it may sound a bit too light for male voices, especially when it comes to deep male voices. Most other instruments sound natural, and guitars, especially acoustic guitars sound nice and juicy, making them a great entry-level IEM for acoustic music.

    The treble is bright, and sparkly, they are quite open and airy, the treble having a lot of presence and a lot of impact. It may be a little sibilant at times, and it is clearly not a smooth treble in any way, but this means that it gives acoustic music and acoustic instruments the right kind of bite and sparkle, making everything quite vivid and realistic.

    Tin T2 Pro

    Here, things get interesting, because T2 Pro is a more balanced version of T2, with more bass, but with the same treble and the same midrange, and most importantly, with the same open soundstage, and airy sound.

    [​IMG]

    The bass of T2Pro is deeper, slower, and more impactful than that of T2. They have a lower-reaching bass that comes in larger amounts, making them really fit for listening to anything with a bass guitar, including metal, rock, alternative, even some electronic music. Those still won't cut it for Hip-Hop or downtempo, the bass being above neutral, but not by a huge margin.


    The midrange is still a bit bright and tuned in such a way that it sounds happy, clean, clear, detailed and very textured. In fact, Tin T2 Pro has better texture and better impulse response than T2, leading to an even more vivid overall presentation, and this time it works with both female voices, and deep male voices. Other instruments sound clean and vivid, everything fitting rather well in place in terms of tonality.

    The treble is sparkly, airy, bright, and open, with less sibilance than T2, having almost none, save for those few songs where you really have a bad master that was intentionally made to sound sibilant.

    All in all, it is a worthy upgrade from T2 in terms of balance and clairy, being more of an all-rounder, more versatile, more clear, more detailed, and just a more pleasing overall experience.



    Soundstage

    The soundstage is the same between the two, and it is huge, airy, clear, and for 50 USD, fairly well separated. You don't get the crystal clear separation of more expensive IEMs, like IE800, but you get enough instrument separation to enjoy the soundstage size. It extends more in width than it does in depth, you get a pretty large and holographic sound, for both T2 and T2Pro, and it is not diffused, like it was with the old Ie8.



    ADSR / PRaT

    The ADSR and PRaT (Texturization) is slightly different between the two IEMs, with T2Pro having a better overall texture in the midrange, the bass being slower on T2Pro, quicker on T2, with the treble being pretty much the same between the two. In this sense, guitars and other textury instruments sound really nice on T2Pro, and nice on T2. Those impressions hold true even when powered by an entry-level source, like FiiO M3K.



    Portable Usage

    The portable usage is fairly good.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The main IEM is light, or fairly light, the cables are not microphonic, and they isolate ok. This means that you can take a walk with them, and not be bothered by the background noise, if you listen your music a little louder.

    They are driveable from an entry-level source rather well, and they don't eat a lot of juice, being driveable from most smartphones, making them a good choice for the listener who doesn't want to bother with complex setups, and who wants to just plug in and enjoy.

    The tips do not get slippery, and they will sit still in your ears for many hours, but the bore size is on the larger side of things, meaning that if they are too large at first, they are too large. I wouldn't recommend them to people with especially small ear canals.


    There is no interference, there are no issues with the overall comfort, but the cable is slightly prone to tangling, due to its design, so you may want to use a cable separator when storing them. There is no carrying case included, which is why their portability cannot be considered excellent.



    Comparisons

    The market for this price range is incredibly busy and crowded, so every IEM needs to justify its price and quality to sell, so we'll pick a few direct competitors of Tin T2 Pro.

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2 Pro vs Shozy Hibiki - We feel it is fair to start with an obvious one, as Shozy Hibiki is a direct competitor to Tin T2Pro in both price and origins, both being IEMs from China, with a nice story behind. On the packaging level, they are similar, without any obvious differences. The build quality is great on both, but T2Pro is made of metal, while Hibiki is made of plastic. On this note, Hibiki is more comfortable due to a more ergonomic inner design, but they are still fairly large, being not recommended to those with really small ears. The cables are similar between the two, as are the tips included in the package. The sound is actually quite different, and if you can imagine T2Pro as a slightly V-shaped sound with an enhanced bass, with a clear but pulled back midrange, and with a crispy and sparkly treble, then Hibiki is the opposite, with a bass that comes in lower amounts, with a forward midrange (which is the focus of their overall sound), and with a smoother and less present treble. Really, if you want a midrange-forward IEM, Hibiki is a no brainer, while if you prefer a more V-shaped sound, then T2Pro is clearly the winner here. On the details, T2Pro has slightly more details, they present certain instruments more separated, the soundstage is much larger, and the textures are similar in the midrange. By comparison, Hibiki is more intimate, focused on vocals, has slightly less textures, it is smoother on the overall level, and makes for a smoother voice-centric IEM that works really well if you love vocal-centric music. Each is great and easy to recommend, but for different reasons, and to different listeners.

    Tin T2 Pro vs TRN V80 - The most major differences between TRN V80 and T2Pro are in the comfort, where TRN V80 is quite a bit more comfortable, and it is made to be more ergonomic, and in the sound, where TRN V80 has more bass in amounts, with a quicker bass, more textures in the lower registers, more clear and vivid midrange, and a more ideal treble, with more sparkle where it should be, less sibilance, and with similar amounts of air in the higher registers. Even so, while TRN V80 has more instrument separation, T2Pro does a much better job at presenting a huge soundstage, with a much larger overall stage being painted, a much wider and more holographic sound, and similar performance otherwise. In this situation, the decision is simple, if you want less bass, so a more neutral bass, with a larger, wider soundstage, then you should go for T2Pro, while if you're looking for a more IE800 kind of sound, with a classical V/U shaped sound, with more instrument separation, but less overall width, TRN V80 is one of the best there is with this kind of sound.


    Tin T2 Pro vs Final Audio E2000 - This time, T2Pro is placed against a IEM from Japan, rather than from China, but which comes at a similar price. The first difference can be noticed in package, where E2000 comes with better tips, the variety made by final audio, and in the fact that E2000 comes with a carrying pouch. The build quality is great on both, but E2000 has no detachable cable, while T2Pro has a detachable cable, and E2000 has a much smaller IEM body, which means it will be much more comfortable for smaller ears, and work with a larger variety of ears out there. The isolation is similar between the two. The sound is quite different, with E2000 having a thicker sound, with a more satisfying bass, with a more mellow and smoother treble, and with a considerably smoother and more easy treble, while T2Pro has a more sparkly approach, with less bass, but with a quicker bass impulse response, making them better suited for acoustic, or acoustic-sounding types of music, while E2000 is clearly a better IEM for bass lovers, or for those who prefer a thick and satisfying sound, and a smoother one as well. The clarity and detail is slightly better on T2Pro, thing which is inherent to their more revealing and sparkly signature. If you're looking for a clear and detailed sound, with a wide soundstage and a sparkly treble, then T2Pro is quite excellent, while if you're looking for a smoother sound with a lot of treble sparkle, then E2000 will work better for you



    Recommended Pairings

    Tin T2Pro is really easy to pair with virtually anything, it does not require a special source, and it will sound good out of a smartphone or entry-level source. It does not scale with source, so most of its abilities are revealed by something in the affordable range, like the little mighty FiiO M3K.

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2Pro + FiiO M3K - As I said, this one combo hits the sweet spot in many ways, including price. The sound is engaging, vivid, detailed, textury, and they keep their bright and open signature with a wide and holographic soundstage. M3K also has a nice navigation system, is small, affordable, and has good battery life.


    Tin T2Pro + HIDIZS AP80 - This pairing also works quite well, as AP80 is a mini DAP, with a lot of power behind. I tried to match the price of the DAP with the price of the IEM a bit, as they wouldn't scale much with more expensive and better sources. AP80 does a lot for its money, has navigation buttons, the sound is still fairly wide and holographic, but it is slightly warm, meaning that they gain a bit of oomph in the bass. AP80 is also slightly smooth in the treble, so it cuts some of their bite away, making them a bit more versatile, at the cost of some treble sparkle.

    Tin T2Pro + Shanling M0 - M0 is the latest little tech tihngy from Shanling, a DAP so small that I'm actually using it for my car's radio head, being a really comfortable solution to have there as a shuffle player. In fact, this is the way I recommend it the most, as a shuffle player, as the display is small, and doesn't make browsing large lists or complex lists easy, but still, the sound is very impressive, the battery life is pretty good, it is also slightly warm and tones down T2Pro's nature, making them more versatile and more suited for a wider array of tastes.




    Value and Conclusion

    We've been talking about an IEM which costs about 50 USD to 60 USD, which is not a very high amount. Even so, there are so many options in this price range, that every option needs to come with something of their own, to justify their existence.

    [​IMG]

    Starting with the package, we have the basics included, the IEM shells, a cable, and a few sets of high-quality tips, including one blue foam tip, which is very welcome. There are no carrying solutions included though, but for this price range, it is okay.

    The build quality of T2 is quite good, it is made of metal, and it is very vented, with two vents, making sure that you can't get a driver flex, no matter how hard you try. The bore size is on the larger side though, and you'll need to make sure you have a medium to large sized ear, and ear canal, otherwise it may be a tad too large for you.

    The cables are nice, there is no microphonic noise, and although they are slightly tangle-prone, they are high-quality cables and should satisfy most music lovers quite well.

    Tin T2 is easy to pair with many sources, including smartphones, and entry-level sources, it is not very prone to hiss, it doesn't need a lot of power, and it can show its ability even with a more modest source.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now, the sound, is very wide, holographic even, thing which is impressive from such an entry-level priced IEM. The bass is more neutral, so this won't satisfy a basshead, but it is clear, and it has a good texture / PRaT. The midrange is juicy, well toned, although on the happier side of things, and it is slightly bright, with a good tonality for female voices, and for acoustic music. The treble also works well for acoustic music, being crispy, clear, sparkly, and having a good amount of bite, so those won't be the choice for the smooth-music lover, but the choice for the more energetic listener who likes to get some cymbals with his music.

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2Pro makes an excellent choice if you're looking for an open-sounding IEM that is pretty versatile, while its little brother also makes a great choice if you're looking for a more acoustic-tuned IEM from the same vein and taste, both being really good choices for their 50 USD price point, amazing actually. Don't forget to get yours from Linsoul audio for one of the best services, warranties and customer interactions, and don't be afraid to use the links in the review.

    ---

    Purchase Link Tin T2(Linsoul Audio): https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/Tin-Audio-T2-Earphone

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro (Linsoul Audio): https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/TinAudio-T2-PRO-Earphones

    Purchase Link Tin T2 (Amazon): https://www.amazon.com/TIN-Double-Dynamic-Earphone-Headphones/dp/B07DL2FPBL/

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro(Amazon)Pro: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HQQ9T6D

    Purchase Link Tin T2 (Aliexpress): https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...e-Metal-Earbuds-with/2894006_32888633631.html

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro (Aliexpress): https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...sign-Detachable-MMCX/2894006_32931089424.html


    ---


    Playlist used for this review


    While we listened to considerably more songs than those named in this playlist, those are excellent for identifying certain aspects of the sound, like PRaT, Texturization, Detail, Resolution, Dynamics, Impact, and overall tonality. We recommend trying most of the songs from this playlist, especially if you're searching for new most, most of them being rather catchy.

    Bats - Gamma Ray Burst: Second Date
    Eskimo Callboy - Frances
    Incubus - Summer Romance
    Electric Six - Dager! High Voltage
    Kishida Cult - High School Of The Dead
    Dimu Borgir - Dimmu Borgir

    Breakng Benjamin - I Will Not Bow
    Manafest - Impossible
    Thousand Foot Krutch - The Flame In All Of Us
    Gorillz - Feel Good Inc.
    Infected Mushroom - Song Pong
    Doctor P - Bulletproof
    Maxium The Hormone - Rock n Roll Chainsaw
    Rob Zombie - Werewolf, Baby!
    SOAD - Chop Suey
    Ken Ashcorp - Absolute Territory
    Machinae Supremacy - Need For Steve
    Ozzy Osbourne - I Don't Wanna Stop
    Crow'sclaw - Loudness War
    Eminem - Rap God
    Stromae - Humain À L'eau
    Justin Timberlake - Sexy Back
    Metallica - Fuel
    Veil Of Maya - Unbreakable
    Masa Works - Golden Japang
    REOL - Luvoratorrrrry

    Korn - Word Up!
    Papa Roach - ... To be Loved
    Fever The Ghost - Source
    Fall Out Boy - Immortals
    Green Day - Know The Enemy
    Mindless Self Indulgence - London Bridge
    A static Lullaby - Toxic
    Royal Republic - Tommy Gun
    Astronautalis - The River, The Woods
    Skillet - What I Believe




    I hope my review is helpful to you!

    ---

    Contact us!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    ---
      Light - Man and WHO23 like this.
    1. ArlakTheRecluse
      Your review made me make the decision to pick up a pair of the T2s, I'll post my casual opinion of it when I get them in.
      ArlakTheRecluse, Jan 29, 2019
      Dobrescu George and B9Scrambler like this.
    2. Dobrescu George
      Dobrescu George, Jan 29, 2019
      ArlakTheRecluse likes this.
  3. DallaPo
    TIN AUDIO T2 | 2*DD | Rating: 9.5
    Written by DallaPo
    Published Oct 24, 2018
    5.0/5,
    Pros - natural sound
    very balanced in all frequency ranges
    great handling
    Cons - less sub-bass (pressure)
    sound very dependent on the fit
    Intro
    The TIN AUDIO T2 are on everyone's lips and hardly anyone in the Chi-Fi universe knows about it. When it comes to choosing the best IEMs under 50 €, there is hardly a way around them. They are seen as one of the most balanced and high-quality in-ears in the price category. If the hype is justified, of course I was also very interested and now I got the opportunity to check it out. Let's see...

    Handling
    The T2 are made of full metal and can be worn over the ear and classically. The first one is a bit tricky to get the right fit, so I recommend the classic variant, because it is more ergonomic and the supplied silver-plated 8-core cable does not have any reinforcement for the ears.
    Also included in the hinged box, which is covered with artificial leather, are a pair of foam tips and silicone tips in different sizes.

    They are very comfortable to wear, but you should take care that they sit really deep in the ear canal to achieve a better bass, but also a firmer fit.

    The removable and therefore exchangeable cables (MMCX) increase the lifespan of the T2 considerably. The isolation is also very good with a good fit. All around, the first impression makes a high-quality and professional impression.

    Sound
    I prefer a fun, warm and powerful sound, but one that remains "natural" and allows for a lot of detail and atmosphere.

    Well, the T2 go a different way. They are very balanced in all areas, with a slight emphasis on the trebles. Is that why I find them bad? With nieces, because even if the flat, rather cooler and neutral sound signature is not always one of my favorites, I have to say that I am still enthusiastic. The T2 radiate a certain lightness, even if it sounds a bit pressed with loaded rock tracks and can really give pleasure with crystal clear sound and get a lot out of the music.

    The bass is present right down to the low ranges and has an appealing volume, but it bends a bit quickly when it comes to pressure. This doesn't necessarily promote the fun factor, but gives the music back some naturalness that you have quickly become accustomed to and then no longer want to miss. Often we are pumped full with excessive and unclean bass, which wasn't really wanted by the producer of the music. With the T2 you have the feeling that the producer thought of it that way, or at least almost that way.

    The mids are very lively and clear. They are pleasantly present and especially women's voices sound fantastic. They are not the warmest, among other things because the bass doesn't push itself into the foreground, but they still have enough body and above all a great detail range. The separation is very good due to the space between the instruments.

    The highs are not sharp, or unpleasant, despite slight emphasis. They are very bright and have micro details with a lot of brilliance. They also sound very natural and have a very good range. For some this may be too much of a good thing, but I find them very appealing.

    UPDATE:
    If you use slightly larger tips that sit deeper on the tube to cover the bass holes, the T2 will become little beasts of the bass, in a positive sense. Now the fun factor is also there, because the bass gains a lot of volume, but stays punchy, dry and clean. The mids become a little warmer and the trebles remain almost untouched and don't lose their naturalness. So you have two in-Ears in one - Fun & Neutral


    Outro
    What can I say? The T2 are not unjustly held in high esteem in the Chi-Fi community. They have something very special due to their sound and their natural, unagitated nature is rarely found in the price range in this way. Due to their easy handling (classic way of wearing) they are perfect for the audiophile everyday life!

    If the T2 Pro (now also available) now work a little on the bass and smooth out the treble minimally, they would be the ultimate here. The T2 are already close.

    _____________________________________________________________
    TIN AUDIO T2 from LINSOL Audio.
    https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/Tin-Audio-T2-Earphone
      Andrzej Cichy likes this.
  4. dheepak10
    Budget Wonders!
    Written by dheepak10
    Published Oct 2, 2018
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Lustrous Mids rich in texture
    Openness to the sound
    Excellent separation
    Cons - Overdone Brilliance at higher frequencies
    Sub-100 Hz roll off
    Bass speed is not up to the mark
    The Tin Audio T2 has been around for over a year now and is well appreciated in many forums. Since a lot is known about these IEMs, I will only be concentrating on my take on them.
    20181002_213450.jpg

    Build, fit and packaging

    The T2 has a good presentation while unboxing. The IEM housing is made of metal and can be worn cable-over-the-ears or the regular cable-down-the-ears. If you go by the red for right and blue for left terminology, the fit won’t be great.

    I switch the left and right housing (MMCX cable helps) and wear them over-the-ear and the fit is good.

    The cable looks quite industrial, but is sturdy and should last the distance.
    20181002_213711.jpg

    Tip Rolling

    The T2 comes with 3 pairs of silicon tips and a pair of blue foams tips. While the silicon tips are good, I feel that foam tips help improving the lows. The included foam tip is L-sized and doesn’t fit most folks.

    So while I recommend the use of foam tips with the T2, it is better to buy T200/T400 tips that fit you.
    20181002_213808.jpg

    So how does it sound?

    Here's the setup for my evaluation - FLACs (16/44.1, 24/48 and 24/96) on my LG G6 with ES9218p DAC SOC or Tidal Hi-Fi played bit perfect through the UAPP player, along with my laptop paired with the iFi Nano BL through Foobar2000 (ASIO).

    A quick listen to the T2 is enough to acknowledge the nice, forward lower mids with enough texture to make vocals sound lustrous. Rebecca Pidgeon’s The Raven album is a perfect folly for your T2 experience. Rebecca’s rendition of Spanish Harlem comes alive with nice, deep bass notes from the harp and these bass notes continue on a well-rendered layer. The vocals have enough warmth and lifelike texture. The T2 presents the violin, piano and shakers (whatever that is) with excellent separation and nice presentation of the headspace (or soundstage, if you want less fancy). While the presentation of the stage is intimate in the T2, it sounds quite open for a closed back IEM and showcases sufficient width.

    So does that mean, the T2 is perfect? Not so soon.

    Madness by Muse is a test track that I often use in my reviews, so no surprise that it features here as well. The first thing that will strike you is the good balance across the frequency range the T2 offers. While bass lacks weight (kick drums), it doesn’t lack texture; bass attacks and decays faster than most IEMs in its price range, but there is an evident slowness that is exposed in tracks such as these and this has a negative impact on the texture of the dubstep bass loop that plays throughout the track. While many may consider it a bright-sounding pair of IEMs, there is some veil in the upper mid-range; Matt Bellamy’s vocals, while clean for the most part sounds a bit held back. Highs are clear and have a good amount of airiness, but have a slight, artificial nature to them – not as bad as poor BA implementations, but just noticeable. While this does not hamper the listening experience, it can be evident when you try the same tracks on different earphones. More on artificial sounding treble later.

    Layering is decent, not exceptional – after the 3-minute mark when the track unleashed euphoria, the T2 handles well until the 3:45 mark when it get a bit too much for it – layers are not more distinguishable, and the kicks and snare drum beats lack impact. However, the vocals and highs still have a good clarity and airiness present which is the saving grace; could be the second driver.

    Moving over to The Wall by Pink Floyd brings forth the biggest weakness of the T2, the sub-100 Hz notes lack weight. On Goodbye Blue Sky, the distorted bass note (50-60 Hz) that plays around the 40-second mark of the track sets the precedent for the anxious, brooding mood of the track. The T2 cannot give it enough emphasis and in turn cannot portray the track’s mood in its entirety. What saves it are the well-rendered and well-separated acoustic guitar notes, vocals and the decent width on chorus vocals. Same is the case with Another Brick in the Wall Part 2; while the bass guitar (70-80 Hz) has enough texture, it does not have sufficient weight to excite the mood of the track.

    Hey You from the same album, brings forth the second flaw in the T2 – not as big as the first one; the treble sound a bit artificially boosted around the 8 KHz region. While this improves the airiness and brings about a nice sparkle on the ride cymbals, the notes sound slightly artificial, especially around the 3-minute mark. The bass guitar on this track plays around the 90 – 120 Hz range and has enough weight and is enjoyable.

    Contrary to what most people opine, the T2 does not lack in soundstage width. In fact it is sufficient wide for close back IEMs when you pair it with a good source. The title track of Michael Jackson’s Thriller substantiates this fact. Stereo width is good - just extends beyond your head, just enough eidth. The same can be said for depth as well. To give credit to the T2, most of the competition in its price range just offers a 2-dimesional sound stage – you hardly get any sense of depth, while the T2 has enough to offer to make it stand apart.

    What would have been an enjoyable experience is marred by the boosted 8-12 Hz region; the ride cymbals on this track are borderline piercing with noticeable sibilance. While it works on certain genres, it doesn’t work for all.

    Moving on to Cockroach King by Haken, the track starts with a good amount of energy – drums are good, but not quite impactful. Stereo width is good when the vocals start and the airiness is evident when the ride cymbals come in, but the cymbals sound like they are played using the wire-brush instead of the drum stick – you get the sound and presence, but it lacks the sheen. While the bass speed is average, the highs are fast enough – cymbals have a nice decay, evident at the 4:20 mark – there is enough pause between every hit of cymbal.

    While my review of the T2 may sound quite critical, I still like it for what it offers at a price of $35 (discounted during sale period). A slight tuning change would have resulted in a much better-rounded IEM.

    Does the vent mod fix the presence of sub-100Hz frequencies?

    The front vent, near the nozzle can be modded with tape, blue tack to increase the resonance and get more bass out of the T2, but the bass can be boomy. Another alternative is to reduce the vent size by making a hole on the tape. This will increase the base to your desired level without making it too boomy. Sounds good right? There is always a flipside and in this case 2 – it can result in driver flex due to the pressure while plugging them into your ear and the sound stage width and the openness is impacted adversely. So, I don’t recommend it.

    Other significant details:

    The T2 MMCX cable is the one that works best for the T2. With better quality cable, I can see improvement in soundstage but the bass is less pronounced and treble is peakier. The T2 cable controls the treble to some extent while giving it a better low end. The T2 cable when used with my Airman AHE-150 earbuds make them quite bassy, compared to other MMCX cables.
    20181002_213631.jpg

    Conclusion
    Tin Audio T2 is a stepping stone into the audiophile world for those who are used to bassy IEMs. While the T2 has its own share of drawbacks, the beautiful mids and excellent separation offered by them, make them perfect for vocal driven tracks and they are hard to beat at that.
  5. Johnny Mac
    Tin Audio T2, balanced sound and price.
    Written by Johnny Mac
    Published Aug 12, 2018
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Great Balanced sound at its price, Great stock cable, premium build quality
    Cons - Blue foams not the best match
    Intro
    There’s a notion in us when hearing the word Tin, being a metal itself has the “sturdy” linked to it but not the type that will stand some beating. Then there’s the Tin which we all know is associated with cheap and low-end. For a company to use Tin in its company name shows their gamble or they might have a reason for choosing otherwise which we might know soon. What we have now to realview is the Tin Audio T2, the successor to their former audiophile offering, the T1. It can be purchased at Amazon and AliExpress for $49.99. I would like to thank Tin Audio for sending the T2 in exchange for an honest review. The Tin Audio T2 is a dual dynamic IEM in 10mm woofer + 6mm tweeter configuration with an Impedance of 16Ω, 12-40000Hz FR and sporting the comeback of the MMCX interface. Tin Audio’s slogan of “Listen and Enjoy every day” will be put to the test with the T2 as its champion.
    Packaging and Build Quality
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Packaged in a glossy white rectangular cardboard box, printed on the lower left front is the TIN HIFI branding and the T2 model name on the upper front corner. The Tin Audio is also present and is well-thought, one that I would be proud to parade. Opening the cardboard box reveals the matte navy-blue book with a cream palette interior which is very pleasing to the eye, Tin Audio nailed this one. The manual covers the T2 underneath. Laying my eyes on T2 for the 1st time is a very positive experience, only the rounded edges and the color resembles the T1. Checking the manuals description for the T2’s color shows “gun color” which I think is intended to be Gun Metal. The IEM itself has heft to it and feels premium.
    [​IMG]
    It has a vent on the round faceplate and another on the lower portion of the nozzle, using the foams attached on the T2 didn’t block the vent went in use which is unlike other IEMs which is blocked right away when used failing to function as a vent otherwise. The cable is supple and uses the round braid, it is a 1.2M 5N OFC silver-plated wire. The male MMCX interface on the cable is transparent which adds to its sleek look with L and R markings respectively. The 3.5mm Carbon fiber gold-plated straight plug used on this one was already turning silver after a week’s use however the 3.5mm plug itself is still gold-plated which is the important thing. Microphonics is minimal and the Y-split and 3.5mm plug has adequate strain relief, no cable cinch was present and the included silicon tips was left untouched and unopened ever since. No pouch and case were provided as well. The mentioned vents would be put to the test in our Sound analysis.

    Tonality
    [​IMG]
    The Tin Audio T2 fresh off the box was already sounding flat and after the recommended 50-hour burn in period which is observed for this case since the T2 is a dual dynamic IEM. Listening to MJ’s The Girl is Mine in DSD on the Opus 1 was a smooth and easy experience. The lows were defined, the midrange articulate and the highs crisp. Progressing through MJ’s Thriller album supplemented the fact that the T2 is indeed a balanced sounding product.
    Lows
    Get your bass clean and lean, that is true for the seafood and the T2’s bass performance. MJ’s Wanna Be Startin Something in DSD on the Opus 1 delivered a full-bodied bass impact with a non-overbearing subbass. Adding a bump on the T2’s low-end will greatly alter the experience and signature so a controlled bass aspect as appreciated. The lows on the T2 knows when to provide you the clean and lean bass and when not to.

    Mids
    Tin Audio’s Midrange is its cherry on top. MJ’s Heal The World in DSD on the Opus 1 provided a lush outcome specially on the 1:45 to 2:02 part. Vocal range was well pronounced and the male and female vocals were realistic. It is clear that this is made for listening to acoustic music. The midrange of the T2 will be the reason you’d be wanting to add this on your shopping cart.

    Highs
    [​IMG]
    No peaks and no shrills. Lenny Kravitz’s Always On The Run in 16/44 on the Opus 1 was fun way of exploring the T2’s highs, it hovers on borderline bright yet still pleasant to the ears, no piercing highs and the treble is distinct on this. Considering how the highs works coherently with the non-overbearing bass of the T2 ensures the owner to a relaxing experience. This might not satisfy listeners who put a premium on the treble extension and sparkle but for a critical listener who adores their audio all flat, this is a great deal.

    Soundstage and Imaging
    Remember those vents? That is the only time you’d ever get a sense of being airy if there was ever one on the T2. Covering the vents indeed altered the signature which made the soundstage too intimate when covered, I’m glad this a functional design and not some gimmick to add to the aesthetic aspect of the T2. The T2 exhibits a pub-like staging which reinforces the affinity it has for the acoustic genre. Imaging was tight and articulate; each instrument is distinguishable most of the time. Clarity comes a close 2nd to the T2’s midrange for its primary weapon of choice.

    Synergy
    Get a neutral sounding DAP, pair it with the Tin Audio T2 and that is where you will get its optimal performance. The Opus 1 had 90% of the share for this realview for the fact that it compliments the T2 very well. Pairing the T2 with a warm DAP like the Sony ZX1 will make you lose interest on the T2 faster unless you are a guy who uses it on the go and getting an ambience of “Hmmm” is your cup of tea. The T2 when paired with the Hidizs AP200 was a close call between the Opus 1, I just found the highs on the T2 too emphasized.

    Conclusion
    [​IMG]
    The Tin Audio provides a balanced sounding affair, a great stock cable (note that I was able to carefully unscrew the 3.5mm gold plug and see the internal solders it has without the cable breaking apart) and excellent build quality makes at an easy product to love. Adding a cable cinch and a pouch or case and the T2 warrants a “must-buy” recommendation regardless of the competition it is facing on the $49.99 market. It is with joy that we can say Tin Audio T2 proudly embodies Tin Audio’s slogan of “Listen and Enjoy every day”.
      Light - Man and snellemin like this.
  6. antdroid
    Tin Audio T2 : Neutral Awesome.
    Written by antdroid
    Published Jul 30, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Neutral sound signature
    Price is excellent
    Good lightweight Build
    Can be worn up or down
    Good boxing/accessories
    Good cable
    Cons - Missing a touch of warmth but not that big of a deal!
    klvbearx7f711.jpg

    This is a quick review of these budget IEM headphones:

    I've done quite a bit of buying/selling headphones over the past year or so and have been really honing in on a set of open back headphones, closed back headphones, open IEMs, closed IEMs, and ear buds as my arsenal. Through the course of listening to many different headphones/earphones over a large disparity of prices, I've really come to a good set up right now with the Hifiman HE560, Audeze Sine, Unique Melody ME.1, Yincrow X6, and now the Tin Audio T2.

    The closed back IEM was the hardest one to nail down only because I don't usually listen to closed back IEMs since I've been very content with my UM ME.1 for using at work and very rarely do I really need isolation. I actually prefer not to use closed backs as much as possible, except when loud finance lady the cubicle over from me gets on the phone. Then its closed back heaven!

    I had purchased the Campfire Comets recently and was impressively satisfied with them. They sounded great, didnt have any glaring weaknesses, and were well built and attractive. But I found that I didnt use them much for the items mentioned above. Was it really worth keeping a $200 IEM sitting there collecting dust? No. Not really, especially if I wanted to feed my camera hobby. :)

    So I set out to look for a budget IEM again. I tried KZ's offerings and I've previously tried Final Audio's offerings and then recently heard many rave reviews on the T2 and had to try it.

    Well, I'm happy to report, whatever you've heard about these is probably true. They are excellent for the sub $50 price range, and yes, I sold my Comets with these to replace it. These aren't better than the Comets, but they are a close enough. The Comets sound just slightly more detailed and more full-flavored, but the T2 is nearly there.

    The T2 is a very neutral sounding IEM as many have mentioned in the past. It may sound a little bass shy to many folks, but it is well detailed and ever present to my liking. I have gone with both vent mod and without and now I'm happy without the vent mod with foam tips. The detail that is present on these is fabulous at this budget range. I find it more detailed and engaging than the FAD E2000 which was my previous budget champion. The detail level is on-par with the KZ ZS6, however the ZS6 has wider soundstage and better imaging. That's not to say these are lacking, but the KZ pair really nails that part down. Of course, the ZS6 is a treble nightmare, and happily, the Tin Audio T2 has plenty of energy but without the nailbiting peaks and sibilance to go with it.

    Comfort-wise, these are very comfortable for me. They can be worn up or down, and while I prefer it up, I can easily insert them quickly down if I'm lazy. They are lightweight, but still made of a metal housing, The included cable is very attractive and works well. I opted to use my own balanced cable but I'd be quite happy with the stock one.

    TL;DR version:

    Great sounding budget IEMs that have a very clean, neutral sound signature. Works well with every genre. Lightweight and comfortable. Could use slight warmth but happy without it too. Excellent value and purchase highly recommended over it's competitors.

    PS - The best part of this IEM is.... no eq required. comes ready to play.

    UM ME.1 and Tin T2.jpg
  7. Otto Motor
    Unparalleled In Its Class
    Written by Otto Motor
    Published May 22, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Build, neutral sound; vocals reproduction
    Cons - May be somewhat cool sounding for the unsophisticated ear. Not for bassheads.
    You also find this review and much more on my blog audioreviews.org



    Executive Summary:
    The Tinaudio T2 is a very popular rugged dual dynamic-driver earphone with a neutral tuning that is unparalleled in its price category. Vocals are particularly well reproduced.

    Disclaimer: I’ve had the Tinaudio T2 for ½ year at the time of this review. I had paid $33 on sale, the regular price at the time of this review is around $49. One of the housings’ MMCX cable contact got loose after 4 to 5 months so that Tinaudio sent me a replacement through my seller Jim from NiceHCK store after I had contacted them via their Facebook page. I promised to write a quick review in gratitude for the excellent customer service by both Tinaudio and NiceHCK store. My opinion of the T2 earphones had existed prior to this exchange. I tend to call a spade a spade, am skeptical towards window dressing, and won’t beat around the bush. I don’t believe in burn-in/break-in for tens to hundreds of hours and also don’t subscribe to bogus cable-sound discussions. For audio testing, I consult a cross section of music while making sure to include enough naturally produced sounds such as voices and string/wood instruments.

    You can read about the unboxing experience and the accessories or view fancy photos in other reviews. This is not relevant (for me) and would be repetitive at best.

    IMG_6600.jpg

    In my selection of over 60 earphones, the T2 stick out in that they are built like a tank and have a relatively flat sound signature. The earpieces feature a minimalistic industrial design reminiscent of the Bauhaus, and they are made of metal and are attached to the cable by MMCX connectors. This has the (questionable) advantage that the cable can be rotated around the contact but such contacts are prone to failure – even in the most expensive earphone. 2-pin connectors are much more reliable and I had recommended Tinaudio to implement these. The braided cable including the straight 3.5 mm audio jack is rather fancy. The haptic of both earpieces and cable is impeccable.

    The earpieces with the included largest-size, wide-bore rubber tips fit my ears well. The cable can be worn around the ear or under the ear. I drove the T2 easily with my iPhone 5S.

    In terms of sound signature, whereas most earphones in this price category and below have a V-shaped frequency response curve with somewhat weak mids/vocals hidden between dominant bass and treble, the T2 offers more prominent vocals in comparison. Some see a downside in this and block the bass vents with blue tack in order to increase the bass – which drives “audiophiles” up the tree. There is nothing wrong with a somewhat realistic sounding bass, which is actually one of the T2’s strong sides. The bass is just fine for me.

    The mids are the strongest point of the T2. Voices are well rendered and natural sounding without any sibilance.

    Treble is not piercing and cymbals and hi hat are well resolving.

    Soundstage is not the biggest, image is class average and reasonably airy, instrument separation, resolution, and layering are good. The timbre is a bit on the cool and bright side. Clarity, transparency, and detail are ok. There is no real overall weakness in the tonality.

    In conclusion, this is a good sounding and comfortable earphone for people who like a neutral tonality and well reproduced vocals, independent of price. And it is well worth its money. In fact, it has developed into one of the most-liked earphones in its category. The only comparable neutrally tuned, similarly priced earphone I knew were the discontinued Fostex TE-02. If you prefer a warmer and fuzzier sound, I’d point you to the Tinaudio T1 or the Fidue A65.

    I recommend reading the many qualified T2 reviews found on Head-Fi and other blogs such as the contraptionist, aproar, primeaudio, and elsewhere to get the broad body of opinions on the Tinaudio T2.

    P.S. NiceHCK store asked me to add a product link to the Tinaudio T2 after reading the above review. Here it is!
  8. ngoshawk
    The Tin man can and does perform
    Written by ngoshawk
    Published Feb 25, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - THE BOX!!! It is SOOOO COOL!!
    Good neutral sound
    Fit-n-finish is very good
    Very nice looking IEM
    Sound quality is quite good
    Cons - The cable...look for a replacement
    Dearth of accessories, but no big deal, really
    TinAudio T2-$49.90 at Penon Audio: https://penonaudio.com/tin-audio-t2.html

    [​IMG]

    TinAudio is another Chinese company, which is a fairly new to the game. Producing three units; the T1, T2 and T515, all reside south of the $50 USD mark. As such, one can call them “affordable” replacements for standard-issue Smartphone headphones. Not included on the MMCX cable-model is a microphone/audio control, so the T2 could be construed as an “upward movement” from Tin Audio.



    Disclaimer- I want to thank Penon Audio and Tin Audio for the review unit, on which this write up is based. The T2 was provided free of charge, and in return Penon only ask an open honest review. I would not have it any other way.

    [​IMG]

    A bit about me:

    I am older. I am happy that I have rediscovered the joy of music, through personal listening devices. Through this opportunity, I have become exposed to some wonderful kit. Much I now own, much I covet. Much I would never purchase, for various reasons.

    My listening style has changed somewhat over the years…from old time Rock-n-Roll to the Blues to Reggae, to Bluegrass. I cut my teeth on Led Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Outlaws, The Who, Santana, Bob Marley, Eric Clapton, David Bowie, and Pink Floyd. But the music I hold dearest and nearest my soul, is Stevie Ray Vaughan. I was lucky enough to see him perform four times…twice in open air venues, followed by (that evening each time!!!) smoky blues bars, where intimate would be an understatement. Each holds a very special place in my psyche, and I can almost remember the whole of each concert in their entirety…

    I enjoy a warmer signature in my equipment, and listening, with a good bass line (but not basshead), complimented by outstanding vocals. Combine the sweetness of SRV’s guitar and Billy Holiday’s voice, and you get my musical genre.

    Through too much hearing loss of high end (loud car stereo as a teenager with a car…), I cannot quite fathom the differences of sound that those experts on Head-Fi do. So, I try to accommodate with subtle differences…detailed differences wrought from my days banding birds and working bird surveys where it was imperative that I separate what kind of Warbler, or Flycatcher, or Sparrow that was, and from what direction and elevation change the song originated. I used my deficiencies of treble-loss to my benefit; searching for that sound, which was not there a moment before. I got pretty darn good at it. And, I TRY to use that same methodology to separate details enough to offer a modicum of differentiation in the product at hand. I like to think I’m doing OK. But can always improve…


    Gear used:

    Shanling M3s
    Opus #1S
    iPhone X (through Apple Dongle)

    Comparisons:

    Hypersense Hex02
    Tennmak Pro

    Songs used:

    Fake You Out- Twenty One Pilots
    Guns For Hands- Twenty One Pilots
    Trees- Twenty One Pilots
    Dragonfly- Ziggy Marley (of course!)
    Live It Up-Ziggy Marley
    Three Little Birds- Ziggy Marley on Live From Soho
    Running Down the Dream-
    Tom Petty
    Tell Me Why-Los Lonely Boys
    A Message-Coldplay
    The Hardest Part-Coldplay
    What If-Coldplay
    Everything’s Not Lost-Coldplay

    [​IMG]

    Specification

    • Brand: Tin Audio
    • Model: T2
    • Driver: dynamic 10mm woofer + 6mm tweeter
    • Impedance: 16Ω
    • Frequency response range: 12-40000Hz
    • Earphone interface:MMCX
    • Plug: 3.5mm Carbon fiber gold-plated straight plug,
    • Cable: 1.2M 5N oxygen free copper silver-plated wire
    Package

    • Tin Audio T2
    • REALLY cool box in which they came
    • 3 pairs of silicone eartips
    • 1 pair of blue foam eartips (mounted, when unit came in box)

    Packaging:

    I must say that the package in which the T2 came is absolutely brilliant. Opening like a book, from right to left, you are presented first, with the instructions. Under that you find a perfectly divided foam insert. With the gold/carbon 3.5mm jack dividing each half, an IEM to either side there is a certain elegance to the presentation. One in which I do like very much. With the mounted blue foam tips, there is the right amount of color to highlight the IEM’s. Knowing that a company might know of what they do, I left the blue foams on for the burn in period, and initial listen. Overall this is a pretty ingenious presentation, and one that certainly raises the “presentation bar.” I will state that I switched to the silicon ear tips, as the blue foams just didn’t agree with me. And, I usually use Comply’s or the manufacturers equivalents on pretty much everything.

    [​IMG]

    Fit-n-Finish:



    Made of a semi-polished alloy, the IEM has quite the mechanical industrial look to it. Looking like it was forged, could very well have been the intention, and I do approve of the look. The two halves fit together nicely and bely a cost above which this lies. The two “halves” are also of a different gray color, adding to that industrial look. With a blue for left, and red for right rubber gasket, the color again is accented well. Using MMCX connections, the cable attaches quickly and without issue, albeit quite hard if you do it wrong. I found if you do it gently, it was much more approachable. The cable itself an issue, though. While it does look quite “elegant,” the braided silver coated copper cable does tangle quite easily. There is also a certain “stiction” to it, which can hinder untangling. A gold-plated jack, accented by a carbon fiber middle lends a bit of bling to the cable, too. Not bad mind you, just about right. But that cable it not up to par in my book…one might even want to look for an inexpensive replacement.



    As an IEM/earphone, this can be worn either over ear or down like an earbud. There is no memory wire for over ear, and I did have a little bit of trouble making the cable stay behind my ear on occasion. If one wishes to wear them down like a bud, simply switch cables, so the one with the BLUE is now right and RED is now the left bud. Problem solved. I prefer over ear and left them that way. I did try them reversed and down and found no problem what so ever. Not bad either but I just prefer over ear.

    [​IMG]

    Overall sound:

    I would state right off the bat, that this is quite a pleasant listen to me. One where the mids tend to take front stage, but with good support from the treble and bass characteristics. A good bass foundation is there, and while not thunderous or booming, it is there and in about the right amount for me on something of this nature. Treble is a bit hot for me, but for those who prefer that, it is not harsh, just a bit bright for me.


    Bass: As stated, a good foundation is here, just not in enough bass for my tastes. I like a bit of rumble, or a good amount and this is a bit shy of that. With two vents (one front and one on the back), the bass is there, and one modification is to cover the inside vent, which increases quantity and rumble. Some prefer that mod, but I will admit that for this review, I left it stock. I will try the mod, though. I would not call this polite bass, though. There is too much of it to be called that. Let’s call it “slightly on the north side of rumble” bass, providing a decent sound on which to build. Enough to satisfy audiophiles, but not enough for bassheads, or those who like good deep-reaching bass.


    Mids: With good transparency, there is plenty of detail to vocals. Succinct would be a good descriptor. Precise for this price point is an added bonus. With Tyler Joseph’s voice cracking through the T2, one can certainly become involved with the sound and the IEM. That engagement is a definite plus for the T2, and enough to call the mids quite good in my opinion. Followed by Lyle Lovett’s Bears, which can be brittle on some of my IEM’s due to the cymbals and Lyle’s enunciation involved, this is a very good mid to pair. With the bass on some of my IEM’s this song can become sibilant, but not here.


    Treble: Enhanced would be my one-word description. Running a bit too hot for me, I would add that it could be considered bright by some. But with good detail, this can be “covered up” a bit, and brought back into perspective. That said, when I raise the volume, the treble does become a bit much for me. Not overwhelming mind you, but enough for the sound to become tiring for long periods of a decently-volumed listening session. I would call it controlled-detail. That treble dynamic driver can definitely be heard. Think boisterous little sibling who wants attention no matter what, and you get it.

    [​IMG]

    Soundstage/Separation: With a fairly wide presentation, detail retrieval is about average. Not the most detailed, and some songs can become congested, but for this price quite nice. Good clarity is there in all but the busiest of songs. On U2’s wonderful A Man And A Woman, Bono’s voice is simply sublime. With excellent detail, the song only becomes congested at the busiest of parts. A limitation of the price, I am mostly sure. Not bad mind you, but short of more expensive IEM’s. That said, I continue to listen, and enjoy that presentation.

    When Pink Floyd’s The Great Gig in the Sky comes on, all of the above is forgotten, and I just enjoy that sumptuous vocal treat. Truly one of the all-time best solos…stunningly superb. With enough separation, this IEM can certainly be enjoyed.

    [​IMG]

    Detail/Clarity: As mentioned above, there is a good amount of detail present. One, which can certainly be enjoyed in most situations. Going back to Pink Floyd, Keep Talking gives us a vibrant representation of sparkling detail. Not brilliance mind you, but enough sparkle to aid in a detailed presentation. Clarity as a result is enhanced. I enjoy Pink Floyd anyway, but this is a pleasant surprise in which to have. Enough clarity to give a decent depth of sound, but again lacking that finest of details one might hope for in any choosing.



    Comparison:

    Coming off of another review, I am surprised at how close the two were in overall “pleasantness” of sound. Costing half of what the T2 costs, the Hypsersense Hex02 ($25) pairs up very well against the T2. With excellent ingress/egress characteristics, and a better bass line (to me), the Hex02 is a viable choice to the T2. With better clarity and detail retrieval, the T2 is the clear winner there, but the Hex02 has to me, more and a better bass quality. Deeper reach, more rumble gives a good “illusion” of quality. I say illusion, because while the Hex02 is quite good at its price, the T2 wins overall due to the better (to me) sound quality and capabilities in handling complexities of song. One could not go wrong with either. For sheer ease of use, the Hex wins, except that the T2 can also be worn down. In that fashion though isolation is lost. Ingress/egress is equal to the Hex, but for my ears, the fit isn’t as good as wearing them up. There is more bass (as my ear covers the inside vent), but I am simply not as comfortable wearing the T2 down as the Hex02. Moving back to over ear, I lose the bass bump, but gain isolation and better detail.

    One could thusly justify owning both, and for $75 have two very nice IEM’s. And, be happy with both.

    [​IMG]

    Finale: When presented with a cacophony of choices, one must sift through what please thee, and thus focus on those preferences. What with today’s overrun market of affordable IEM/earbuds it can be extremely hard. That is where marketers such as Penon come in. When they send samples out, they try not to flood the market but cover the market such that there is a very good representation of products, choices and price points represented. I consider this a very good positive of being on the receiving end of said products. Beneficial? You bet! Providing a service to the audio-heads of our world? Indeed! But there is a higher purpose here to me. One that can be a bit difficult to define. With so many choices, we can become overwhelmed. So, in that “service” provided we are exposed to what marketers choose to put forward. They do so under the guise of providing good quality at good prices. That is a definite gamble, as not all products end up being on the good end of the spectrum. This usually becomes evident quite quickly. Well, I am happy to report that this is not the case with the Tin Audio T2. It is a very good product, at a decent price. Speaking of which, this to me is at the upper limit of price for the T2. Any higher, and a risk of running into IEM’s of better quality could have ruined a good package. This is no world beater of $200 IEM’s, but it can certainly hold its own in today’s ever increasingly crowded market.

    [​IMG]

    I would recommend a listen to the T2, as it provides all the goods of a decent mid-priced IEM. Excellent quality of build, ease of changing cables and the ability to be worn up or down; the T2 is worth a look if you are in the market for a decent upper low-fi priced IEM.



    I want to thank Penon for the opportunity to provide this service to the community of which I speak. A valuable tool is to get the product out there, so it can be heard, delivering positives when warranted. And so far, it has worked out well.

    [​IMG]
      Otto Motor and harry501501 like this.
    1. treal512
      This is the first review I've seen that says the treble is hot. Could this possible be from the specific recording or is that indeed what you experienced over more than 1 source?
      treal512, Jun 12, 2018
    2. ngoshawk
      For me, it was and over more than one song/one source. I have a treble sensitivity, which I am sure played into that. But, that said, to me it was a bit more than I could take for extended listening sessions. I did enjoy it, though.
      ngoshawk, Jun 13, 2018
  9. crabdog
    Not your usual double dynamic
    Written by crabdog
    Published Oct 31, 2017
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Build quality. Tight, textured bass. Neutral tuning.
    Cons - Only basic accessories provided.
    DSC_0009.jpg

    Usually when I think of Chinese made dual dynamic driver earphones a couple things come to mind because of my past experience with those products - huge bass and a dark sound signature. Nothing wrong with that if it floats your boat but there are a boatload of IEMs that do that already. So when I had a listen to the TinAudio T2 it came as a bit of a shock to hear it was the polar opposite of what I was expecting. So folks, that's what we have today - the TinAudio T2 dual dynamic driven earphone. Onward!

    Disclaimer

    This sample was provided for the purpose of an honest review. I'm not affiliated with the company in any way and all observations and opinions here are my own, based on my experience with the product.

    The TinAudio T2 is listed at $49.90 at the time of writing and is available from Penon Audio: https://penonaudio.com/Tin-Audio-T2

    Specifications
    • Driver: dynamic 10mm woofer + 6mm tweeter
    • Impedance: 16Ω
    • Sensitivity: 102dB/mW
    • Frequency response range: 12-40000Hz
    • Earphone interface:MMCX
    • Plug: 3.5mm Carbon fiber gold-plated straight plug,
    • Cable: 1.2M 5N oxygen free copper silver-plated wire
    Package and accessories

    The T2 arrives in a discreet, little white box with just the TinAudio name, logo and model on the front. Inside the box is another little box that looks like a book with a blue cover - pretty cool! Opening up the "book" the first thing you see is a little user manual. Underneath that is the earphones presented nicely and seated in a black foam cutout. And of course under the foam are the rest of the accessories.

    DSC_0025.jpg DSC_0005.jpg DSC_0007.jpg

    So what's in the box?
    • T2 earphone
    • 1x MMCX cable
    • 3x pairs silicone eartips (S, M, L)
    • 1x pair foam eartips
    • User leaflet
    So very straightforward but unique presentation is what you get here. It would have been nice to see a carry case of course but it looks like the resources were put into making the actual IEM while keeping the cost as low as possible which is great for the consumers.

    DSC_0032.jpg

    Taking a quick look at the cable - it's pretty decent if a little ordinary. The feel of this 5N oxygen free silver-plated copper wire is quite nice even though it's a bit industrial. The beige MMCX connectors look and feel a little cheap but they're functional and seem durable enough. There's a piece of clear plastic tubing that acts as a chin slider and the same tubing is used again for the Y-split. The cable terminates in a large, straight 3.5mm gold plated plug with a carbon fiber-finish. The cable has a few kinks and holds its shape a bit there's very little in the way of microphonics. I found this cable to be fairly prone to tangling as it's pretty thin above the Y-split.

    DSC_0033.jpg DSC_0020.jpg

    Build, comfort and isolation
    The metal housings of the T2 are very nicely crafted and are lightweight. There is a blue or red plastic ring on the MMCX connector on each piece to determine Left and Right - yes! Finish on the metal T2 has a very good finish and you could be forgiven for thinking that these cost more than their selling price. There is a pinhole vent near the base of the nozzle and another on the rear of the housing. Speaking of the nozzles they are fairly short but they have a solid lip on them to hold your eartips securely in place. There is also a metal mesh in place to keep our ear wax and debris.

    The T2 is designed in a way so they can be worn cable down or over ear adding versatility and more options for the listener. Overall build quality is excellent.

    When it comes to comfort the T2 is no slouch here either. It has a mostly generic cylindrical shape with an wider section at the rear to accommodate the MMCX connector. I would have liked the back edges to be a little more rounded but because of the housing's short length it doesn't normally come into contact with the outer ear. All this means the T2 is a very comfortable IEM.

    Noise isolation is about average for a typical earphone making them perfectly suitable for normal situations.

    DSC_0016.jpg DSC_0011.jpg DSC_0019.jpg

    Sound

    Gear used for testing
    • Samsung Galaxy Note 5
    • Acoustic Research AR-M20
    • IQQ C5
    • JRiver/flac > Arcam irDAC-II
    The 16Ω impedance and 102dB/mW sensitivity makes the T2 pretty easy to drive and they sound great even from my smartphone. Having said that though, you can throw extra power at these and they will soak it up and respond in kind with a little more weight in the bass and some added fullness in the midrange. Frequency response is not what we're used to seeing at this segement - after a slight mid-bass hump it flattens right out and remains even all the way to the upper treble.

    In general the sound signature of the T2 is very linear and even from top to bottom giving them a sound that leans towards neutral. Sounds are clear and vibrant making overall presentation very tidy. With brilliant tonality and realism the T2's tuning makes it a true rarity in the sub $50 range.

    Bass is a mixed bag being in parts the most impressive and the most disappointing range of the T2. Mid-bass is fast and tight with excellent texture and punch. It's agile and very well controlled and of a caliber I normally expect from more expensive earphones. Where the T2's Achilles heel resides is in the sub-bass, which can dig deep but it's at a very low level making it unsatisfying. It rolls off heavily below 25Hz where it becomes almost inaudible. At 30Hz and above however, it can be really pleasing and is of excellent quality.

    The T2's midrange is a real treat. The timbre of stringed instruments is fantastic and true to life, as are vocals which can rise up out of the din and present themselves very clearly. There's air and space between elements which help to maintain that clean aspect that the T2 does so well without becoming too thin or analytical. There's no noticeable bleed at all from the bass leaving the midrange free to shine.

    Treble is prominent but it's the good kind that won't induce spikes of terror or annoyance. Extension is good and fairly even throughout. There's enough sheen and sparkle to provide some airiness without being strident. Treble notes sound natural and blend seamlessly with the overall presentation.

    Soundstage on the T2 is fairly average for this price range. It's not vast but neither is it too intimate or closed in. Left and right stereo imaging is a strong point and positional cues are slightly above average. Where the T2 shines is in its separation and ability to spread elements rather than present you with a solid wall of sound.

    Comparisons

    Tennmak Pro ($27 USD)

    The Tennmak Pro is another dual driver IEM that became quite popular in budget enthusiast circles. The Pro has a weightier bass than the T2 but is less textured. It's also warmer and has a thicker midrange. Treble is more subdued on the Pro giving it a slightly darker feel. The T2 in comparison has a lighter and brighter sound with much improved overall clarity. The Pro's sound has a more fun twist while the T2 scores more points in technical ability.

    The Pro is extremely comfortable and has better noise isolation than the T2 but in contrast can only be worn over ear. I feel that either of these is a worthy purchase -the Tennmak for a fun all-rounder budget IEM and the T2 for a more audiophile tuned experience.

    Veedix NC50 ($56 USD)

    The Veedix is in my opinion a largely underrated earphone that deserves more recognition. The NC50's Bass has a lot more weight and impact compared to the T2 and its sub-bass is sublime. Midrange has delightful clarity, as does the T2 but the Veedix carries a slightly warmer tone making it less in your face and thus less fatiguing over time. Treble is less accentuated on the NC50 but the timbre and extension is amazing. Cymbal sheen is exceptional and you can hear the ringing presence fade into blackness with natural decay.

    Both of these are comfortable but the Veedix comes out slightly ahead because of it's more secure fit in the ears and the rubberized coating on the housings. If you're a fan of bass then the Veedix is the way to go here. Those looking for more neutrality would be better suited to the T2.

    DSC_0013.jpg

    Conclusion

    The TinAudio T2 delivers an uncommonly refined tuning in the sub $50 bracket, steering away from the usual bass-heavy and V-shaped sound that is prevalent in this segment. Their well built and classy looking housings reflect the mature sound that they have to offer.

    The T2 has restored my faith in what a dual dynamic solution can bring to the table and I hope to see more like this in the future, as we're already neck deep in budget hybrid IEMs at present. So to sum up - those looking for a solid budget earphone that leans more toward neutrality but is still musical and emotive look no further. The TinAudio T2 has got you covered.
      hqssui, Hitesh, Buzzrat and 13 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Hitesh
      Ah right. Well I don't have any extra tips so I'll most probably buy them separately. Thanks for all thr help!
      Hitesh, Nov 12, 2018
    3. crabdog
      @Hitesh I'd recommend looking at the Spinfit and MandarinEs Simbio W tips, particularly the Simbios as they're a tiny bit larger. They're good in certain IEMs with the foam intact but I prefer them with the foam removed!
      crabdog, Nov 12, 2018
      Dobrescu George likes this.
    4. Dobrescu George
      @crabdog @Hitesh I second using Spinfit tips or Mandarins, both are great tips!
      Dobrescu George, Nov 12, 2018
  10. B9Scrambler
    TinAudio T2: Dual-Dynamics Have Still Got It
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Oct 23, 2017
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Great build and cable - Detailed, neutral signature
    Cons - Lack of accessories
    Greetings!

    Today we're checking out the T2 from TinAudio.

    Before I hopped onto the hybrid bandwagon, I was deep into into dual-dynamics; NarMoo's W1M, B2M, and S1, the JVC HA-FXT90, Tingo's GX12, and Havi's B3 Pro I, just to name a few. Many of these used micro-dynamics which are my favorite drivers, and shrugged off the use of crossovers for old-school tuning. Compared to many similarly priced single driver earphones, I found these dual dynamics offered superior layering and separation in many cases, even if that sometimes came at the cost of driver coherence which wasn't always a bad thing. 2.1 stereo effect anyone?

    While it seems dual-dynamics have faded in popularity in favour of budget hybrids, there are still a few kicking around, including those by TinAudio. My first experience with the brand was of their entry level dual-dynamic, the T515. When I first saw it all I could think was “NarMoo”. Same shell, same cable, same driver layout, same everything. When a fellow Head-fi'er let me give his a go, I was not entirely surprised to find that it was extremely similar to NarMoo's B1M and B2M models which I quite like, B1M in particular. I suspect they shared OEMs for these models. When the T2 arrived on my doorstep I was keen to give them a listen, hoping they would be a significant step up from the T515. They certainly haven't disappointed.

    Let's find out why, shall we?

    20170915_152146.jpg 20170915_152252.jpg 20170915_152322.jpg
    Disclaimer:

    The TinAudio T2 was provided free of charge in exchange for a fair and impartial review. The thoughts within are my own and are not representative of TinAudio, Penon Audio or any other entity. There is no financial incentive for writing this.

    At the time of writing the T2 could be picked up for 49.90 USD: penonaudio.com/Tin-Audio-T2

    Source:

    For at home use the T2 was powered by a TEAC HA-501 desktop amp or straight out of my Asus FX53V laptop. For portable use it was paired with an LG G5, HiFi E.T. MA8, Walnut V2s or Shanling M1, all of which brought it up to listening volume without any effort. I also occasionally ran it through the Walnut F1 which brightened up the signature somewhat.

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. While I enjoy a variety of signatures in my headphones I generally lean towards slightly warm with elevated treble and sub-bass, an even and natural mid-range response, with reduced mid-bass. The HiFiMan RE800, MacaW GT600s, and thinksound On2 offer examples of signatures I enjoy.

    Specifications:

    - Drivers: Dynamic, 10mm Woofer and 6mm Tweeter
    - Impedance: 16Ω
    - Frequency response range: 12-40000Hz
    - Cable: 1.2m, 5N oxygen free copper silver-plated wire

    Packaging and Accessories:

    TinAudio outdid themselves with the T2's beautifully simple and elegant packaging. Initial impressions are nothing special. Just a plain white box with minimal text. The front announces inside is the T2, and shows off TinAudio's logo. The sides show nothing while the rear has some print in Mandarin, a scan-able bar code, and notice that the T2 was made in the People's Republic of China.

    Opening this package you are greeted to a long case coated in a blue and while leatherette material. Flipping the lid back like a book, the instruction pamphlet is the first thing you see. One side is in Mandarin, the other English, and it goes over all the usual basic; specs, safety and case info, burn in instructions, and to my surprise, info pertaining to a fairly generous 12 month warranty. The English translation is predictably wonky, but it's not tough to figure out what they're getting at in most cases.

    Lifting out the manual you see a foam inlay showing off the earpieces, detached from the cable and with bright blue foam tips installed. Below this are the rest of the included items. In all you get;
    • T2 ear pieces
    • cable
    • 1 pair of blue foam tips
    • 3 pairs of single-flange, small bore silicone tips (s/m/l)
    It's not an extensive accessory kit and the silicone tips are the same generic set provided with countless other earphones, but the presentation is top notch. You really do feel like you're opening something special.

    20170915_152533.jpg 20170915_152610.jpg 20170915_152650.jpg
    Build Quality, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The T2's lightweight housings are all-metal minus some blue/red plastic rings denoting left and right channels, around where the MMCX cable plug in. Fit and finish is spectacular with all seams integrated into the design so they are all but invisible. The housing are ventilated, one at the base of the nozzle and another on the back plate. Both vents are quite small yet the T2 displays no driver flex at all. The T2's housings are also completely free of logos and in their gunmetal color are very subdued.

    Also adding to the subdued look is the cable and it's beige plugs. The rest of the cable is tightly coiled and book looks and feel absolutely fantastic. Taking a cue from more expensive gear, the y-split and chin cinch are made from clear heat shrink tubing and from a distance are barely visible. The sheath surrounding the silver-coated wiring within is both stiff yet flexible, and displays some memory holding small kinks and bends. This is mostly apparent above the y-split. Some cable noise transmits, but it's minimal and negated through use of the cinch. Strain relief at the carbon fibre coated straight jack is good, though stiff, and non-existent at the ear piece plugs; a small oversight in my opinion. Despite the few negatives mentioned, this is one of the nicest budget cables I've come across.

    The T2 doesn't do anything too crazy with the design, featuring a standard barrel shape that is expanded on out back to accommodate the removable cable. This protrusion helps with stability should you choose to wear these cable up or down, both of which are completely viable. Cable down wear leads to more noticeable cable noise, though again the chin cinch helps to negate that. Over comfort is quite good, with no sharp edges to cause discomfort or hot spots. Just a straightforward, comfortable design.

    Isolation is merely adequate, and about what you would expect from a ventilated dual-dynamic earphone. Outside noise bleeds in but not enough to drown out your music. If using these while on transit, you will likely need to turn up the volume a bit more than normal.

    20170915_152728.jpg 20170915_153116.jpg 20170915_153136.jpg
    Sound:

    What makes the T2 so special in terms of it's sound is how even it's presentation is from top to bottom. With the exception of the Havi B3 Pro I, I can't think of anything I've heard that is quite as neutral-ish as the T2 in this price range. Using the preinstalled foam tips helps to flatten the signature out even more.

    It's treble presentation is quite linear with an polite uptick in the lower treble giving them an appropriate amount of sparkle and shimmer. Extension is good with a pleasantly mild dip at the tippy top. Even at the very high volumes I tend to avoid the T2 doesn't display harshness or induce listening fatigue. The soundstage isn't anything special, but the T2's treble presentation makes the most of it giving this earphone an open and airy feel.

    The T2's mid-range is where the magic happens. It's tonally very pleasing and quite similar to the Simgot EN700 Pro. Vocals have a breathy, textured presentation with a tendency to cut through and stand out, even if they're recessed on the recording. I wouldn't say the T2's mid-range is forward, but it has the unique ability to retain presence when you would expect it to fall behind. This makes it especially great with live instruments and recordings.

    In terms of bass, fault can be found in the prominence of sub-bass regions. For example, on Ephixa's 'Dubstep Killed Rock and Roll' there is a strong sub-bass line that perpetuates the majority of the length of the track. With the T2 it is present, but not a focal point as it should be and lacks physical presence. That said, what the T2 lacks in quantity it makes up for in speed and impact. It's a punchy, nimble little earphone that can handle some quick transitions.

    While the T2's soundstage is good, it's not overly capacious like the TFZ Exclusive 3. Sounds move just to the edges of your head. Imaging is good with sounds moving smoothly between channels. Layering is above average with the T2 showing a sense of depth to recordings that is generally reserved for more pricey offerings. Separation is also quite good with the T2 handling clustered tracks without becoming congested.

    Overall the T2 makes for a very easygoing and technically proficient listen. Their more technical approach that is somewhat uncommon in budget gear is a refreshing change of pace. I'm glad TinAudio stepped away from the darker, more bass focused signatures or mid/treble focused signatures that seem to be everywhere right now.

    20170915_152937.jpg 20170915_153007.jpg 20170915_153036.jpg
    Select Comparisons:

    Havi B3 Pro 1: The B3 Pro I is a well-known earphone in the Head-fi community, respected for it's neutral and capable sound. Despite being out for years, it is still commonly recommended to those wanting a neutral signature and massive soundstage. The T2 and B3 Pro I share a number of qualities with some key differences. The T2 has tighter, more impactful bass than the Pro I with similar extension. The T2's treble offers up more sparkle and life. The B3's mid-range is a touch smoother, though I find the T2's more detailed and clear. The impression of sheer space goes to the B3, though I find the T2 picks up the slack in terms of depth and layering. Both of these dual-dynamics are killer picks

    E-MI CI880: Earlier this year I ordered the E-MI CI880 blind. There were no impressions of this earphone anywhere that I could find, so fingers crossed they were good. I wasn't disappointed. Like the T2 it is a dual-driver, though in this case it's a hybrid and one of the better budget ones I've come across. They offer similar signatures but with some notable differences making the CI880 a great companion to the T2. The CI880 offers a more treble-focused and vibrant signature offering a level of detail in the upper ranges and mids that the T2 can't match. Chalk one up to the balanced armature. The CI880 has a leaner sound, especially in the treble and mid-range where the T2 has more body. In terms of bass, they are quite similar though the T2 digs deeper into the sub-bass regions where the CI880 is lacking. The T2's dynamic druver offers up more low end texture than the CI880's but falls behind a bit in terms of mid-bass punch. Soundstage is quite similar with the CI880's thinner sound giving the impression of greater space. Both layer and image well, but the CI880 has the upper hand in terms of separation where the T2's thicker sound profile kicks in. I personally love both earphones.

    Final Thoughts:

    The T2 isn't flashy. It doesn't draw your eyes and spark interest with exotic materials or a billion drivers per side. It's simply a well-thought out, fairly priced, and expertly tuned dual-dynamic earphone with a nice cable, great build quality, sparse accessory kit, and a lovely presentation.

    If you're looking for a fairly neutral earphone that doesn't break the bank and are okay with trying something from a lesser known brand, give the T2 a go. It's well worth your time and should be durable enough to stick with you long into the future.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****​

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock – The Impossible Kid (Album)
    Hail Mary Mallon – Are You Going to Eat That? (Album)
    King Crimson – Lark’s Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson – Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp – Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz – Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack – Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels – Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy – The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco – F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt – Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bonet) (Album)
    Michael Jackson – Thriller (Album)
    The Crystal Method – Grace (feat. LeAnn Rimes) (Track)
    Jidenna – Long Live the Chief (Track)
    Skrillex – Ragga Bomb (Track)
    Big Grams – Run for Your Life (Track)
    Funkadelic – Maggot Brain (Track)
    Aesop Rock – Fishtales (Track)

    images

    1. 20170915_152229.jpg
    2. 20170915_152616.jpg
    3. 20170915_153225.jpg
    1. View previous replies...
    2. treal512
      delete
      treal512, Jun 12, 2018
    3. rapoon
      Nice review B9. Heads-up to anyone buying these, the new cable is completely missing a chin cinch.
      rapoon, Jul 2, 2018
      ArlakTheRecluse and B9Scrambler like this.
    4. B9Scrambler
      Thanks man! Good info to know :)
      B9Scrambler, Jul 3, 2018