1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. DallaPo
    TIN AUDIO T2 PRO | 2*DD | Rating: 8
    Written by DallaPo
    Published Dec 8, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - stage
    airiness
    detailed mids
    texted bass
    Cons - extreme trebles
    sibilants
    fatiguing
    INTRO
    After Tin AUDIO enriched the Chi-Fi world with the T2 and established a reference product under the 50 € mark, the long-awaited successor in the form of the T2 Pro is now available. But is the T2 Pro really an upgrade for 10 € more?

    HANDLING
    The T2 Pros differ from the T2s by zero in design and construction. The metal has become a bit lighter, but that was it. That means that we also get extraordinary workmanship, a wonderful cable, very good noise isolation and a noble packaging. This is considerable for the price segment.

    Click here to go to the T2
    https://www.head-fi.org/showcase/tinaudio-t2.22715/reviews#review-21071

    SOUND
    Here I don't have to say so many words, because everything that makes up the T2, the T2 Pro also has in its luggage with a small, but far-reaching difference.
    The sound signature and frequency response is the same, up to the range of 2 - 3 kHz. From that point on, more or less decibels are added. Especially drastic is the weight between 5 and 10 kHz and once again beyond 16 kHz.

    But what does this mean in terms of sound behavior? There is more airiness, slightly more micro details and a greater audible range in the treble region. However, there are also arguments to the contrary that make you doubt the sense of this successor, as hardly anyone can and will ignore this. Depending on the song and source, the highs are almost unbearable and tiring. They are just too bright and the peaks are too heavy to enjoy music for a long time, at least for me. That doesn't even out the extreme richness of detail. What still works very well with the Pro are jazz and acoustic songs, especially with male voices. But if several instruments are added that have a higher proportion in the high range, or high women/men voices, it will be difficult to listen through the song without lowering the volume or simply changing it. That's a shame, because I was really looking forward to the T2 Pro. I wanted the T2 to have a bit more depth and smoothed highs to make it perfect in the price range, but not like that.

    OUTRO
    What a pity, the T2 Pro could have become the new reference class, but it is hindered by the height boost that nobody needed. The same phenomenon already existed with other "updates" from other brands. The T2 Pro combined everything of the wonderful T2 but it got ****ed up by the crass high peaks. On the positive side are the workmanship, the textured bass, the fantastic mids and the depth of detail. But that was already the case with the T2, with minimal compromises. Those who strike here must not be height sensitive. Then you get a neutrally tuned, natural sound with a grandiose stage and separation. For all others, the T2 is currently the best choice if you're not a basshead, although this also applies to the T2 Pro.

    _____________________________________________________________
    More reviews: https://david-hahn.wixsite.com/chi-fiear
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CHIFIEAR/

    AUDIO T2 Pro from LINSOL Audio.
    https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/TinAudio-T2-PRO-Earphones
  2. bogginhead
    Tin Hi-Fi T2 Pro Review...
    Written by bogginhead
    Published Dec 5, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Great mids and highs. Very good build quality. Fantastic detail retrieval. Awesome price.
    Cons - Still needs a little more in the bass department.
    Tin Audio (now Tin Hi-Fi, if I'm not mistaken) is one company among many in the saturated Chinese Hi-Fi scene. Little is known about them; I honestly couldn't find much info at all on Tin (even with my semi-strong Google-fu) net-wise. One thing know for certain, though, is that earlier this year they released one of the biggest hits within the "budget" inner-ear monitor ranks with the T2. Tin had a couple of releases before this (the T515 and the also well-received T1), but neither of these earphones received the herald and popularity that the T2 was given and gained.

    At the time of the T2's release, I was just getting into hi-fi; I was mainly concerned with over-the-ear headphones, digital audio converters, and amplifiers. But that stuff doesn't work very well on-the-go. Not for me, at least. I've carried and used a small Sony MP3 player for years as my musical source for almost everything. Remembering how much I actually use this thing got me thinking about what I'd need to take hi-fidelity sound with me wherever I went, as over-the-ear headphones and the needed equipment are much too cumbersome. Enter IEMs.

    The Tin T2 was the first IEM I purchased, actually; I read tons of great reviews on them and other "best bang for your buck" type earphones and made (what I still believe is) the perfect choice for my first IEM. The T2 is very neutral, meaning the bass, midrange, and treble are all balanced (for the most part). A lot of today's earbuds and earphones feature what's called a more "V" type tuning (as in lots of bass, recessed mids, and lots of treble). I knew from my slight experience already with over-the-ears that this wasn't what I was looking for. I was after a more pronounced mid-range, with great but not overbearing treble. After finding a frequency graph for the T2, I knew it was the one.


    The T2 was a definite solid buy, and I did enjoy many hours blasting some of my favorite lossless albums through it. Build quality was stunning, especially for the price. The included MMCX cable, while a little easy to tangle, was of good quality as well. It had a decently quick, punchy bass; a longer peak throughout the mids, and was capable of great detail retreival and extremely good treble (with little to no sibilance heard). Absolutely a killer first earphone; it made me a believer in IEMs.

    And now Tin Hi-Fi has released their updated version, the T2 Pro. So what have Tin done to the "king" of IEMs at this price bracket to bring it to its new "Pro" status?

    Just looking at the two earphones, you could almost easily mistake them for each other. This time, Tin decided to color the Pro in a darker grey than last time. The IEMs are still made of machined aluminum, and carry the same 10mm woofer and 6mm tweeter dynamic drivers as its predecessor. These things are very well built. Frequency response is the same as well, measuring from 12hz to 40khz. The Pros also use a 3.5mm carbon fiber gold-plated straight plug. The included cable is very similar to the original T2's, being a 5n 1.2m oxygen free copper cable with silver plating. The specs almost match the previous earphones exactly, not that that's a bad thing.

    Soundwise is where the two IEMs begin to differ, although much of their tone is very similar. Their soundstages are almost exact, save for maybe a little more extension and detail from the Pros. One of the only complaints people had about the T2 was that it needed just a tad more bass; some also thought that the treble could be toned down a little. Did Tin Hi-Fi address these things? Yes and no. The treble issue has been tackled, honestly, with adding more. I'm not really sure why this was done, as the original T2 had almost perfectly implemented highs. The biggest issue with adding to the treble in this case is the possibility of adding more sibilance, which is never really a good thing. The mids pretty much stay the same, and are to me still the biggest draw of these earphones. Lush, detailed, and a little forward; they sound fantastic. As for the bass issue, I cannot tell that anything was changed from the T2; a change isnt represented in any frequency graphs, either. I'm not sure why this wasn't looked into, as a little more bass would have made the Pro better all around.

    The T2 Pro is a winner. If you like a detailed, somewhat mid-forward sound and lots of highs you can't go wrong. In my humble opinion, not much touches the Pro at this price point (save for maybe the original T2 itself). Bassheads should probably look elsewhere, though. I honestly cannot wait to see what Tin Hi-Fi does next, especially if they can top the Pro. Here's hoping they do it soon.

    The Tin Hi-Fi T2 Pro is listed at $59.99. This pair was provided by Lillian at Linsoul.com for review purposes only. Thanks, Lillian!

    Review by Lee McDonald (bogginhead)
  3. Dobrescu George
    Tin Audio T2 Pro - Open Stage
    Written by Dobrescu George
    Published Nov 13, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - - Good Build Quality
    - Metallic Body
    - Nice Cable
    - Bright, Open Sound
    - Large Soundstage
    - Fairly good texture reproduction
    - Clarity is very good
    - Midrange is generally well reproduced
    - The Pro version feels better than the T2 original version, for not much more
    Cons - - Cable is slightly Tangle Prone
    - A bit thin and bright
    - Bass is a bit rolled off in general
    - Fit isn't absolutely the best with small ears
    - Doesn't reach as low as it should
    - Upgrading from T2 to T2Pro won't yiled that high of results in the end, although it should be fairly good if you really liked the original
    Tin Audio T2 Pro - Open Stage

    Tin T2 is the first IEM we are reviewing from the Chinese producer Tin Audio. While the name doesn't say much about them or their product, we'll place it through it paces and see what the guys at Tin Audio have been able to design.

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2 and T2 Pro, next to each other, T2 with blue foam tips, T2Pro with dark silicone tips





    Introduction


    Tin Audio is a newcomer in the Audio industry, but it already has two product, which have many users and lovers all over the world, namely Tin T2 and Tin T2 Pro. The price of the two is rather similar, the Pro version being roughly 10 USD more than the normal version, which, compared to the 50 USD price tag of the original may seem a lot (20%), it is only 10 USD after all. We weren't able to speak with Tin Audio directly quite yet, but we can totally recommend working with Linsoul audio for purchasing Audio products from China. They are an excellent company, with good PR, they speak English well, and they are really responsive to messages. Most of you may have bought products from Linsoul already, as they are one of the biggest seller on Aliexpress and Amazon.

    It should be noted that I have absolutely no affiliation with Tin Audio or Linsoul, I am not receiving any incentive for this review or to sweeten things out. This review is not sponsored nor has been paid for by Tin Audio or Linsoul or anyone else. I'd like to thank Linsoul for providing the sample for this review. The sample was provided along with Linsoul's request for an honest and unbiased review. This review will be as objective as it is humanly possible, and it reflects my personal experience with Tin Audio T2 and T2 Pro. Every opinion expressed is mine and I stand by it, the purpose of this review is to help those interested in Tin Audio T2 and T2 Pro find their next music companion.

    ---

    Purchase Link Tin T2(Linsoul Audio): https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/Tin-Audio-T2-Earphone

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro (Linsoul Audio): https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/TinAudio-T2-PRO-Earphones

    Purchase Link Tin T2 (Amazon): https://www.amazon.com/TIN-Double-Dynamic-Earphone-Headphones/dp/B07DL2FPBL/

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro(Amazon)Pro: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HQQ9T6D

    Purchase Link Tin T2 (Aliexpress): https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...e-Metal-Earbuds-with/2894006_32888633631.html

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro (Aliexpress): https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...sign-Detachable-MMCX/2894006_32931089424.html

    ---


    You can also read the review at Audiophile Heaven: https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.com/2018/11/Tin-T2-T2Pro-Open-Stage.html



    About me

    https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.ro/p/about.html



    Packaging

    First things first, let's get the packaging out of the way:

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2 Pro package

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2 Pro package


    [​IMG]

    Tin T2Pro tips


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The package of T2 and T2Pro is exactly the same, save for the little detail that the Pro version has the word "Pro" written on the face of the package.

    The package is actually quite impressive, those being some of the better packaged IEMs I received from China recently. They come in a white cardboard box, inside which you can find a flappy-style cardboard box. This one is high-quality, and it is smooth to the touch, being something you'd expect more from a high-end IEM, rather than something you'd expect a 50 USD IEM to be shipped in.


    Inside that, you can find the IEM shells seated in a cardboard cutout, with the cables beneath them, as well as a few pairs of tips. They come with a pair of Blue foam tips installed, but there is just one size, and just one pair of those included, so if you enjoy the foam feeling, you may have to purchase additional tips, either from Comply, Tin Audio, or Mandarin, the last one being my favorite pick for getting foam and hybrid tips. There are also no Spinfit tips, which we got to love and enjoy, so if you need a pair, you should order one from Spinfit.

    In all honesty, for 50 USD, the package is fairly good, and there is little space to complain, they included high-quality materials in the package, and they put effort in it, so at the end of the day, it reaches a nice overall level.



    What to look in when purchasing an entry-level In-Ear Monitor

    https://audiophile-heaven.blogspot.ro/p/what-to-lookl.html




    Technical Specifications

    Drive unit: Dynameic 10MM woofer + 6MM Tweeter (2DD drive unit)
    Earphone type: In-ear
    Impedance: 16Ω
    Earphone sensitivity: 102dB/mW
    Frequency range: 12-40000Hz
    Plug interface : 3.5mm Gilded
    Plug Type: Line type
    Cable Length: 1.2m±3cm
    Color: Gray
    Cable conductor: 1.25 5N oxygen free copper plating silver
    Earphone interface: MMCX interface




    Build Quality/Aesthetics/Fit/Comfort

    The main IEM is made of metal, with a metallic shell, and with two vents for each IEM. The shape is pretty ergonomic and most of the hard edges are on the outside, rather than being on the inside, so you don't have to deal with any kind of discomfort caused by their design, like say, you have with KZ BA10.

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2 Pro with dark silicone tips


    [​IMG]

    Tin T2 with blue foam tips


    Both T2 and T2Pro look the same and are built the same as far as I can tell, with very few to no differences when it comes to their build.

    The cable is attached to the IEM via a MMCX connector, which is amazing for a IEM priced this low, and a very respectable thought. This being said, most aftermarket cables may be more expensive than the IEM itself, so it is more of a nice thing if you have multiple IEMs based on this connector.


    The default tips are nice and fit well, the IEM has a lip that keeps the tip in place, and the default tips do not get slippery.

    The size of the IEM body is actually pretty large, and the bore size is also on the larger side, making them recommended only for people with average to larger ears, not working quite that well for people who have smaller ears.


    The aesthetics are on the more industrial side, with the metallic build, metallic color, and with the sharp edges combined with curves leading to an industrial and aggressive look, rather than a smoother one.

    They isolate ok, not that well, and they are more open than most IEMs, especially with this much venting, but this helps a lot with the comfort as the vents mean you don't get driver flex, you don't get discomfort when pulling them out, and you don't get discomfort basically at any moment of using them (provided they fit for your ears).




    Sound Quality

    The title may give it away, but the soundstage and openness of the sound are the focal characteristics of Tin T2 and Tin T2 Pro. I'll explore the intricacies of each, and also compare them in the meanwhile, so you get a better view of how each sounds, and which may be a better fit for you.

    Tin T2

    Tin T2 is a very bright and open IEM, with a neutral bass, with a good actuation and impulse response, a clean although bright midrange, and with a sparkly although slightly sibilant treble.


    [​IMG]

    The bass is not very deep, and it doesn't go very low, the large amount of ventilation having to play a role in this, the bass being neutral in amount at best. It is a quicker to natural bass, and where it hits, it hits nicely, it doesn't bleed in the midrange, and it doesn't have a negative impact over the sound, but it doesn't work quite that well with electronic music that relies on a large amount of bass, being rather fit for acoustic music, Jazz, and other styles that do not rely heavily on bass presence.

    The midrange is clear, clean, detailed, and very well-textured, but it is bright and tilted towards a brighter tonality, by the treble, and by their open nature, meaning that it works quite well with female vocals, but that it may sound a bit too light for male voices, especially when it comes to deep male voices. Most other instruments sound natural, and guitars, especially acoustic guitars sound nice and juicy, making them a great entry-level IEM for acoustic music.

    The treble is bright, and sparkly, they are quite open and airy, the treble having a lot of presence and a lot of impact. It may be a little sibilant at times, and it is clearly not a smooth treble in any way, but this means that it gives acoustic music and acoustic instruments the right kind of bite and sparkle, making everything quite vivid and realistic.

    Tin T2 Pro

    Here, things get interesting, because T2 Pro is a more balanced version of T2, with more bass, but with the same treble and the same midrange, and most importantly, with the same open soundstage, and airy sound.

    [​IMG]

    The bass of T2Pro is deeper, slower, and more impactful than that of T2. They have a lower-reaching bass that comes in larger amounts, making them really fit for listening to anything with a bass guitar, including metal, rock, alternative, even some electronic music. Those still won't cut it for Hip-Hop or downtempo, the bass being above neutral, but not by a huge margin.


    The midrange is still a bit bright and tuned in such a way that it sounds happy, clean, clear, detailed and very textured. In fact, Tin T2 Pro has better texture and better impulse response than T2, leading to an even more vivid overall presentation, and this time it works with both female voices, and deep male voices. Other instruments sound clean and vivid, everything fitting rather well in place in terms of tonality.

    The treble is sparkly, airy, bright, and open, with less sibilance than T2, having almost none, save for those few songs where you really have a bad master that was intentionally made to sound sibilant.

    All in all, it is a worthy upgrade from T2 in terms of balance and clairy, being more of an all-rounder, more versatile, more clear, more detailed, and just a more pleasing overall experience.



    Soundstage

    The soundstage is the same between the two, and it is huge, airy, clear, and for 50 USD, fairly well separated. You don't get the crystal clear separation of more expensive IEMs, like IE800, but you get enough instrument separation to enjoy the soundstage size. It extends more in width than it does in depth, you get a pretty large and holographic sound, for both T2 and T2Pro, and it is not diffused, like it was with the old Ie8.



    ADSR / PRaT

    The ADSR and PRaT (Texturization) is slightly different between the two IEMs, with T2Pro having a better overall texture in the midrange, the bass being slower on T2Pro, quicker on T2, with the treble being pretty much the same between the two. In this sense, guitars and other textury instruments sound really nice on T2Pro, and nice on T2. Those impressions hold true even when powered by an entry-level source, like FiiO M3K.



    Portable Usage

    The portable usage is fairly good.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The main IEM is light, or fairly light, the cables are not microphonic, and they isolate ok. This means that you can take a walk with them, and not be bothered by the background noise, if you listen your music a little louder.

    They are driveable from an entry-level source rather well, and they don't eat a lot of juice, being driveable from most smartphones, making them a good choice for the listener who doesn't want to bother with complex setups, and who wants to just plug in and enjoy.

    The tips do not get slippery, and they will sit still in your ears for many hours, but the bore size is on the larger side of things, meaning that if they are too large at first, they are too large. I wouldn't recommend them to people with especially small ear canals.


    There is no interference, there are no issues with the overall comfort, but the cable is slightly prone to tangling, due to its design, so you may want to use a cable separator when storing them. There is no carrying case included, which is why their portability cannot be considered excellent.



    Comparisons

    The market for this price range is incredibly busy and crowded, so every IEM needs to justify its price and quality to sell, so we'll pick a few direct competitors of Tin T2 Pro.

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2 Pro vs Shozy Hibiki - We feel it is fair to start with an obvious one, as Shozy Hibiki is a direct competitor to Tin T2Pro in both price and origins, both being IEMs from China, with a nice story behind. On the packaging level, they are similar, without any obvious differences. The build quality is great on both, but T2Pro is made of metal, while Hibiki is made of plastic. On this note, Hibiki is more comfortable due to a more ergonomic inner design, but they are still fairly large, being not recommended to those with really small ears. The cables are similar between the two, as are the tips included in the package. The sound is actually quite different, and if you can imagine T2Pro as a slightly V-shaped sound with an enhanced bass, with a clear but pulled back midrange, and with a crispy and sparkly treble, then Hibiki is the opposite, with a bass that comes in lower amounts, with a forward midrange (which is the focus of their overall sound), and with a smoother and less present treble. Really, if you want a midrange-forward IEM, Hibiki is a no brainer, while if you prefer a more V-shaped sound, then T2Pro is clearly the winner here. On the details, T2Pro has slightly more details, they present certain instruments more separated, the soundstage is much larger, and the textures are similar in the midrange. By comparison, Hibiki is more intimate, focused on vocals, has slightly less textures, it is smoother on the overall level, and makes for a smoother voice-centric IEM that works really well if you love vocal-centric music. Each is great and easy to recommend, but for different reasons, and to different listeners.

    Tin T2 Pro vs TRN V80 - The most major differences between TRN V80 and T2Pro are in the comfort, where TRN V80 is quite a bit more comfortable, and it is made to be more ergonomic, and in the sound, where TRN V80 has more bass in amounts, with a quicker bass, more textures in the lower registers, more clear and vivid midrange, and a more ideal treble, with more sparkle where it should be, less sibilance, and with similar amounts of air in the higher registers. Even so, while TRN V80 has more instrument separation, T2Pro does a much better job at presenting a huge soundstage, with a much larger overall stage being painted, a much wider and more holographic sound, and similar performance otherwise. In this situation, the decision is simple, if you want less bass, so a more neutral bass, with a larger, wider soundstage, then you should go for T2Pro, while if you're looking for a more IE800 kind of sound, with a classical V/U shaped sound, with more instrument separation, but less overall width, TRN V80 is one of the best there is with this kind of sound.


    Tin T2 Pro vs Final Audio E2000 - This time, T2Pro is placed against a IEM from Japan, rather than from China, but which comes at a similar price. The first difference can be noticed in package, where E2000 comes with better tips, the variety made by final audio, and in the fact that E2000 comes with a carrying pouch. The build quality is great on both, but E2000 has no detachable cable, while T2Pro has a detachable cable, and E2000 has a much smaller IEM body, which means it will be much more comfortable for smaller ears, and work with a larger variety of ears out there. The isolation is similar between the two. The sound is quite different, with E2000 having a thicker sound, with a more satisfying bass, with a more mellow and smoother treble, and with a considerably smoother and more easy treble, while T2Pro has a more sparkly approach, with less bass, but with a quicker bass impulse response, making them better suited for acoustic, or acoustic-sounding types of music, while E2000 is clearly a better IEM for bass lovers, or for those who prefer a thick and satisfying sound, and a smoother one as well. The clarity and detail is slightly better on T2Pro, thing which is inherent to their more revealing and sparkly signature. If you're looking for a clear and detailed sound, with a wide soundstage and a sparkly treble, then T2Pro is quite excellent, while if you're looking for a smoother sound with a lot of treble sparkle, then E2000 will work better for you



    Recommended Pairings

    Tin T2Pro is really easy to pair with virtually anything, it does not require a special source, and it will sound good out of a smartphone or entry-level source. It does not scale with source, so most of its abilities are revealed by something in the affordable range, like the little mighty FiiO M3K.

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2Pro + FiiO M3K - As I said, this one combo hits the sweet spot in many ways, including price. The sound is engaging, vivid, detailed, textury, and they keep their bright and open signature with a wide and holographic soundstage. M3K also has a nice navigation system, is small, affordable, and has good battery life.


    Tin T2Pro + HIDIZS AP80 - This pairing also works quite well, as AP80 is a mini DAP, with a lot of power behind. I tried to match the price of the DAP with the price of the IEM a bit, as they wouldn't scale much with more expensive and better sources. AP80 does a lot for its money, has navigation buttons, the sound is still fairly wide and holographic, but it is slightly warm, meaning that they gain a bit of oomph in the bass. AP80 is also slightly smooth in the treble, so it cuts some of their bite away, making them a bit more versatile, at the cost of some treble sparkle.

    Tin T2Pro + Shanling M0 - M0 is the latest little tech tihngy from Shanling, a DAP so small that I'm actually using it for my car's radio head, being a really comfortable solution to have there as a shuffle player. In fact, this is the way I recommend it the most, as a shuffle player, as the display is small, and doesn't make browsing large lists or complex lists easy, but still, the sound is very impressive, the battery life is pretty good, it is also slightly warm and tones down T2Pro's nature, making them more versatile and more suited for a wider array of tastes.




    Value and Conclusion

    We've been talking about an IEM which costs about 50 USD to 60 USD, which is not a very high amount. Even so, there are so many options in this price range, that every option needs to come with something of their own, to justify their existence.

    [​IMG]

    Starting with the package, we have the basics included, the IEM shells, a cable, and a few sets of high-quality tips, including one blue foam tip, which is very welcome. There are no carrying solutions included though, but for this price range, it is okay.

    The build quality of T2 is quite good, it is made of metal, and it is very vented, with two vents, making sure that you can't get a driver flex, no matter how hard you try. The bore size is on the larger side though, and you'll need to make sure you have a medium to large sized ear, and ear canal, otherwise it may be a tad too large for you.

    The cables are nice, there is no microphonic noise, and although they are slightly tangle-prone, they are high-quality cables and should satisfy most music lovers quite well.

    Tin T2 is easy to pair with many sources, including smartphones, and entry-level sources, it is not very prone to hiss, it doesn't need a lot of power, and it can show its ability even with a more modest source.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now, the sound, is very wide, holographic even, thing which is impressive from such an entry-level priced IEM. The bass is more neutral, so this won't satisfy a basshead, but it is clear, and it has a good texture / PRaT. The midrange is juicy, well toned, although on the happier side of things, and it is slightly bright, with a good tonality for female voices, and for acoustic music. The treble also works well for acoustic music, being crispy, clear, sparkly, and having a good amount of bite, so those won't be the choice for the smooth-music lover, but the choice for the more energetic listener who likes to get some cymbals with his music.

    [​IMG]

    Tin T2Pro makes an excellent choice if you're looking for an open-sounding IEM that is pretty versatile, while its little brother also makes a great choice if you're looking for a more acoustic-tuned IEM from the same vein and taste, both being really good choices for their 50 USD price point, amazing actually. Don't forget to get yours from Linsoul audio for one of the best services, warranties and customer interactions, and don't be afraid to use the links in the review.

    ---

    Purchase Link Tin T2(Linsoul Audio): https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/Tin-Audio-T2-Earphone

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro (Linsoul Audio): https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/TinAudio-T2-PRO-Earphones

    Purchase Link Tin T2 (Amazon): https://www.amazon.com/TIN-Double-Dynamic-Earphone-Headphones/dp/B07DL2FPBL/

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro(Amazon)Pro: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HQQ9T6D

    Purchase Link Tin T2 (Aliexpress): https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...e-Metal-Earbuds-with/2894006_32888633631.html

    Purchase Link Tin T2 Pro (Aliexpress): https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...sign-Detachable-MMCX/2894006_32931089424.html


    ---


    Playlist used for this review


    While we listened to considerably more songs than those named in this playlist, those are excellent for identifying certain aspects of the sound, like PRaT, Texturization, Detail, Resolution, Dynamics, Impact, and overall tonality. We recommend trying most of the songs from this playlist, especially if you're searching for new most, most of them being rather catchy.

    Bats - Gamma Ray Burst: Second Date
    Eskimo Callboy - Frances
    Incubus - Summer Romance
    Electric Six - Dager! High Voltage
    Kishida Cult - High School Of The Dead
    Dimu Borgir - Dimmu Borgir

    Breakng Benjamin - I Will Not Bow
    Manafest - Impossible
    Thousand Foot Krutch - The Flame In All Of Us
    Gorillz - Feel Good Inc.
    Infected Mushroom - Song Pong
    Doctor P - Bulletproof
    Maxium The Hormone - Rock n Roll Chainsaw
    Rob Zombie - Werewolf, Baby!
    SOAD - Chop Suey
    Ken Ashcorp - Absolute Territory
    Machinae Supremacy - Need For Steve
    Ozzy Osbourne - I Don't Wanna Stop
    Crow'sclaw - Loudness War
    Eminem - Rap God
    Stromae - Humain À L'eau
    Justin Timberlake - Sexy Back
    Metallica - Fuel
    Veil Of Maya - Unbreakable
    Masa Works - Golden Japang
    REOL - Luvoratorrrrry

    Korn - Word Up!
    Papa Roach - ... To be Loved
    Fever The Ghost - Source
    Fall Out Boy - Immortals
    Green Day - Know The Enemy
    Mindless Self Indulgence - London Bridge
    A static Lullaby - Toxic
    Royal Republic - Tommy Gun
    Astronautalis - The River, The Woods
    Skillet - What I Believe


    Audiophile-Heaven Link: https://www.audiophile-heaven.com/2018/11/Tin-T2-T2Pro-Open-Stage.html

    I hope my review is helpful to you!

    ---

    Contact us!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ---
  4. B9Scrambler
    TinHiFi T2 Pro: Update to a modern classic
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Oct 29, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Build and accessories - Clarity and detail - Imaging
    Cons - Very bright and lean - Occasional sibilance
    Greetings!

    In 2017, TinAudio (now TinHiFi) confidently took over the budget market with the T2. It was an affordable, well-built dual-dynamic earphone that brought to the segment a near-neutral signature which was quite uncommon for 50 USD. Once the word got out, it became a fan favorite and a go to recommendation for many.

    When I heard TinHiFi was prepping to release an updated T2 called the T2 Pro, I reached out to find out more about what they were intending to change. Bass was the answer. It was to be fleshed out and more powerful to satisfy those that found the regular T2 lacking low end, something I was excited to hear. Bass extension was one of the few sore spots when it came to the T2, for me at least. When the T2 Pro started showing up in the hands of reviewers, I was disheartened to hear that the changes were exactly the opposite of what was discussed. Bass and mids were mostly left alone and treble was boosted, something I really don't think the T2 needed. Regardless, after spending some time with the T2 Pro it has shown itself to be a worthy follow up to the original T2.

    Let's take a closer look.

    Disclaimer:

    Thanks to Lillian with Linsoul/DD Audio for arranging a sample of the T2 Pro, free of charge. The thoughts within this review are my own and do not represent TinHiFi, Linsoul, or any other entity. No financial incentive was provided to write this review. At the time of writing, the T2 Pro was retailing for 59.99 USD: https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/TinAudio-T2-PRO-Earphones

    You can also check it out on Massdrop where it has been dropping fairly routinely: https://www.massdrop.com/buy/tin-audio-t2-pro#overview

    Source and Amping:

    For at home use the T2 was powered by a TEAC HA-501 desktop amp or straight out of my Asus FX53V laptop. For portable use it was paired with an LG G6, HiFi E.T. MA8, or Shanling M0, all of which brought it up to listening volume without any effort.

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. While I enjoy a variety of signatures in my headphones I generally lean towards slightly warm with elevated treble and sub-bass, an even and natural mid-range response, with reduced mid-bass. The HiFiMan RE800, Brainwavz B400, and thinksound On2 offer varied examples of signatures I enjoy. I generally listen at very low volumes, so keep this in mind when reading my thoughts on how an earphone sounds.

    IMG_0003.JPG IMG_0004.JPG

    Packaging and Accessories:

    If you've purchased either the T1 or T2 in the past, the T2 Pro's unboxing experience will be nothing new. It's still quite nice though.

    The plain white cardboard box imbued with the TinHiFi brand and model information still looks low key and classy. Opening it you're greeted to a blue case coated in a nicely texture faux-leather. It opens like a book to the T2 Pro's manual. Beneath that is the T2 Pro's ear pieces nestled in a foam insert with the new straight jack between them. The new jack is really nice, forgoing the traditional black carbon-fibre look for a shimmery silver fibre. It looks much more premium than the already attractive jack on the original T2. Under the foam insert are the rest of the accessories, those being a slew of tips. In all you get:

    - T2 Pro earphones
    - MMCX equipped, silver-plated cable
    - Sony hybrid look-a-like silicone tips (s/m/l)
    - Wide bore single flange tips (s/m/l)
    - small bore single flange tips (s/m/l)

    I love the addition of many new and varied tips, something the original T2 was sorely lacking. All three sets are different and are of a decent level of quality. Most should find exactly when they need to get a good fit without resorting to third party tips.

    IMG_0006.JPG IMG_0008.JPG

    Build, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The T2 Pro is build exactly the same as the regular T2, minus a mild color change. The all-metal shells are flawlessly machined with great fit and finish. All component parts fit together tightly and line up as they should. The color coded MMCX ports make a welcome return, allowing you to easily discern left and right channels. The nozzles have a prominent lip and are of a standard size letting you swap a wide variety of tips should you find the stock options insufficient.

    The cable is a nice upgrade over the one included with the original T2. As mentioned earlier, the straight jack has been upgraded with a new look. Its also a bit bulkier, but there is an extension to permit compatibility with cellphone cases so the additional girth shouldn't be an issue. The cable has a proper y-split, made from a very compact metal cylinder. Like the original cable, within the y-split the four strand braid divides into two twisted strands leading up to the ear pieces. This ensures the y-split isn't a week spot. The MMCX plugs are very small and made with a clear plastic this time around, a nice change over the puke green/tan plugs found on the T2's original cable.

    Comfort is good but not amazing. The T2 Pro's housings are a traditional barrel shape with a small protrusion at the end to accommodate the MMCX ports. They are fairly long and weighty, though should you choose to wear them cable over ear as is intended, the weight is fairly evenly distributed around the ear. I can wear them for long periods no problem, but they do require adjustment every once in a while to reset the seal.

    Isolation is merely adequate, and about what you would expect from a ventilated dual-dynamic earphone. Outside noise bleeds in but not enough to drown out your music. If using these while on transit, you will likely need to turn up the volume a bit more than normal or make sure you're using foam tips which restricts the outside noise bleeding in.

    IMG_0009.JPG IMG_0012.JPG

    Sound:

    The original T2 was a near-perfect budget earphone. It didn't resort to any cheap tricks to wow listeners, like blasting the bass to mask a lack of technical ability or driving up the treble to artificially boost the perception of clarity. It provided a very transparent listening experience that was simply beautiful. While I think the T2 Pro is an excellent earphone in it's own right, I wouldn't classify it as an upgrade over the T2. The changes to the treble certainly have their positive effects, but it throws off the T2's balanced signature turning it into another forgettable, bright earphone. A very good one, but forgettable none-the-less. And that's coming from someone that enjoys a bright earphone.

    Starting with the treble where TinHiFi made all the changes, you'll immediately notice the T2 Pro has excellent extension but is bright. Very bright. Whereas the T2's treble had a mild lift, it was quite pleasant for all but the most treble sensitive. For the T2 Pro you'll need to be tolerant of the upper ranges. For example, balance is harmed on Broken Bell's “Mongrel Hearts” The cymbals are way too loud and overpower the track. Were there any benefits of this change? For sure.

    First off, it makes the T2 Pro a leaner sounding earphone which to my ears legitimately improves clarity. It also makes the presentation more open and airy, addressing the average sound stage I felt the T2 had. This also allows the T2 pro's excellent imaging to show off. Lastly, it gives the T2 Pro some sparkle where the regular T2 could be a touch dull.

    The other side effect of the increase to the treble quantity is a leaner mid-range. I consider this a negative as the T2 had a near-perfect mid-range for a budget offering. It had good weight and a natural tonality, providing a very sweet experience with the vast majority of vocalists. Timbre was spot on too. The T2 Pro ends up being lighter and leaner with a bit more detail, but that organic feel of the original is mostly gone. Sibilance was also introduced in areas the T2 had none, ending up being quite prominent with some of my favorite artists like Aesop Rock.

    Bass remains untouched to my ear, so I'll just copy in that section from my original T2 review, with some mild edits. Fault can be found in the prominence of sub-bass regions. For example, on Ephixa's 'Dubstep Killed Rock and Roll' there is a strong sub-bass line that perpetuates the majority of the length of the track. With the T2 Pro it is present, but not a focal point as it should be and lacks physical presence. That said, what the T2 Pro lacks in quantity it makes up for in speed and impact. It's a punchy, nimble little earphone that can handle some quick transitions.

    In my opinion, bass extension and an increase in texture were the areas that most need to be addressed by the T2 Pro. While the heavily boosted treble had some positive effects on the signature, I feel it was unnecessary and unbalances an otherwise beautiful signature. Don't get me wrong, I like the T2 Pro and still think it is one of the better offerings at it's price point, I simply don't feel that it was a necessary update to the T2. Maybe TinHiFi felt the original plan of fleshing out the low end would result in something too close to the T1. Or, maybe user feedback provided during testing favored a brighter signature. Maybe the T2 Pro would have been better off with a completely new model name. On the plus side, it does ensure TinHiFi's lineup is varied. You've got the T2 Pro for something bright, the T2 for something neutral, and the T1 for something warm. An earphone for almost every listener.

    IMG_0011.JPG IMG_0013.JPG

    Select Comparisons:

    Kinera SEED: The SEED is notoriously under appreciated in my opinion. It was Kinera's follow up to the H3 which saw extremely mixed opinions. Along with a couple other mishaps, such as a retune prior to release and an issue with the cable blackening that resulted in a recall, it faded into relative obscurity very quickly. Too bad, because it's a really nice product.

    Compared to the T2 Pro, the SEED has a meatier, fuller sound to it. The T2 Pro is much more emphasized in the upper treble regions giving cymbals more shimmer than you'd get from the SEED. Treble clarity is slightly better on the T2 Pro, but I found the SEED's armature to be more controlled. The SEED's mid-range is more textured and forward with some added warmth and body. SEED's bass is slightly slower but has better extension and texture. The sub-bass it outputs can be quite unexpected and is vastly more visceral than the T2 Pro's, just know it's not “always on” and only shows up when the song demands. Both can come across somewhat bass-lite to those used to more common, bassy earphones. Sound stage is similar in size but the T2 Pro has a clear the edge. The lean presentation and air between sounds results in something that feels larger and more open.

    Build goes to the T2 Pro with it's metal shells and lithe but durable braided cable. The SEED's plastic, Shure-like shells are more comfortable and the cable much pricier looking than the actual cost, but the plug don't really fit the earphone and look like an afterthought.

    While I like the regular T2 more than the SEED, I prefer the SEED to the T2 Pro since it is more balanced and provides a more satisfying sub-bass experience.

    EarNiNE EN120: The EN120 uses EarNiNE's own, in-house developed full-range balanced armatures. It provides a neutral-bright signature along the lines of the T2 Pro.

    The T2 Pro's dual-dynamic provide improved end-to-end extension over the EN120. Treble on the T2 Pro is elevated over the EN120 and provides a more airy, crisp presentation. The EN120's mids are thicker and more bodied with similar clarity and detail, but more texture and depth. The T2 Pro's bass isn't quite as quick but better separates individual instruments and tones and is more balanced. The EN120 sticks mainly to mid- and upper-bass. Sound stage easily goes to the T2 Pro which is much more open than the relatively intimate EN120.

    While I love the T2 Pros build quality, the EN120 has my vote. The polished, stainless steel shells feel way more expensive than the EN120's low price would suggest, and while fixed, the cable is one of my favorites. It is very thin but as a result is super light, flexible, and simply feels amazing.Their top model, the EN2J, features the same cable with MMCX terminations. I like it so much, I swapped out the Campfire Audio Polaris' stock cable for it. Getting this same cable on a budget offering like the EN120 is awesome. Comfort goes to the EN120 too. It's traditional, bullet shaped housings provide a no-fuss fit regardless of cable up or down wear.

    While I think the T2 Pro is the better earphone, I can't deny the EN120's proprietary drivers have a certain charm that the T2 Pro is lacking.

    Final Thoughts:

    TinHiFi clearly has some talent behind the team tuning their products. First there was the T2 which is more or less a modern classic. Then came the T1 which is a great alternative for those wanting a warmer sound. Now we have the T2 Pro. While I think the changes made were unnecessary, it doesn't make it any less competent of an earphone. It is bright, airy, detailed, with a mostly neutral bass and mid-range tune, all matched up with strong technical competence. As long as you're okay with a treble focused sound, I suspect you'll be quite happy with the T2 Pro.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****​

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock – The Impossible Kid (Album)
    Hail Mary Mallon – Are You Going to Eat That? (Album)
    King Crimson – Lark’s Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson – Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp – Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz – Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack – Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels – Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy – The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco – F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt – Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bonet) (Album)
    Michael Jackson – Thriller (Album)
    The Crystal Method – Grace (feat. LeAnn Rimes) (Track)
    Jidenna – Long Live the Chief (Track)
    Skrillex – Ragga Bomb (Track)
    Big Grams – Run for Your Life (Track)
    Funkadelic – Maggot Brain (Track)
    Aesop Rock – Fishtales (Track)
    1. dhruvmeena96
      Agree completely... I think they should have upgraded the specof driver and should have addressed the roll off. I think they did this mistake with T515 gold when we compared to black
      dhruvmeena96, Nov 3, 2018
      Dobrescu George and B9Scrambler like this.
    2. dhruvmeena96
      T515 gold was treble boosted(so called v2) and they did it again with t2 pro
      dhruvmeena96, Nov 3, 2018
      B9Scrambler likes this.
  5. antdroid
    T2 Pros: The New King
    Written by antdroid
    Published Sep 19, 2018
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Improved Treble
    Neutral Sound Signature
    Linear Clean Bass response
    Highly detailed
    Can be worn up or down
    Improved cable
    Cons - Fit can be tough for some ears
    Tin Audio T2 Pro Review

    P1020231.JPG

    Earlier this year, I purchased the Tin Audio T2 in-ear monitor earphone based on a bunch of hype on reddit over it. After waiting the two or so weeks for it to come from Hong Kong, I was treated with a pleasantly detailed and neutral sound signature that I heavily enjoyed. At the time of my review, I had written about it being a budget king, and I meant it.

    When they came to me, I had a Massdrop Plus and a Campfire Comet, both substantially more expensive IEMs. The problem was, I don’t typically use closed IEMs very often. They both were legitimately better IEMs than the Tin Audio T2, but the T2 was close enough. And they were 6X and 4X, respectively, cheaper than the higher end ones I already owned. So, I ended up selling them both. This, again, was not due to the T2 being better, it isn’t. Let’s make that clear. It was a value vs performance vs needs proposition, and the T2 did enough for me that allowed me to save money to spend on other hobbies.


    The T2 was better than the Noble X that I had owned already too. That’s how much I thought highly of this sub $50 earphone. So, when Tin HiFi announced some teasers about a T2 Pro model, I was very excited. Another budget king to dethrone their previous king?

    P1020190.JPG

    Linsoul Tech, who market the Tin Audio products, offered to send me a set of T2 Pros in exchange for an early review of the item in anticipation of their exclusive Massdrop launch on 09/17. They didn’t require my review to be positive or negative, and only asked for an honest unbiased opinion. I was not offered any additional incentives, money, or perks besides getting a chance to listen to a review sample before it hit the market.


    Over the weekend, I posted my initial measurements and 24-48 hour impressions of the T2 Pro and I was pretty happy with what I heard. This more in-depth review will go over the product as a whole, with a lot of back and forth between the original T2 and the T2 Pro.

    P1020181.JPG

    Packaging/Accessories/Build:

    The presentation between the T2 Pro and the T2 is essentially the same. The earphone comes packaged in a clean white box with the only major difference being the branding being Tin HiFi vs Tin Audio and the Pro designator.


    P1020177.JPG

    Inside is the same beautiful faux leather blue book-style box that contains the product and its accessories. The T2 Pro comes with the same selection of silicone tips and the same pre-installed sky-blue colored foam tips, which are extras squishy and sticky. Besides a couple product cards, the one major difference that is quickly noticeable is the change in the cable.

    P1020179.JPG

    The new cable features a silver-carbon fabric 3.5mm stereo barrel that is larger in diameter than the T2’s black carbon weave connector. The cable material looks aesthetically the same, however Tin Audio has stated this is an upgraded copper. The connectors are still mmcx, with a note that Tin Audio says they have fixed any issues with mmcx connections in a recent twitter post.

    P1020229.JPG

    The T2 Pro IEMs, themselves, have the same exact styling and build material as the original. The Gunmetal gray color scheme is indistinguishable. The only thing I noticed different externally was that my T2 Pro came without a screen. This actually helped me figure out which one was which, but just note that this was an actual defect. The final released product does have the same screen as on the original T2. Sonically, this should not impact sound at all. It is only there to prevent ear wax and debris from getting into the driver. Many higher end IEMs don’t even have protection in this area and provide a cleaning brush.


    Comfort-wise – they are the same as the T2s, obviously. They can be worn both cable-down and cable up. I prefer to wear them with the cable up and over my ears, but I have been able to get good fit in either orientation.


    As before, the isolation on these is medium-at-best. They will isolate some noise at low-moderate volumes, but if isolation is critical to you, there are better IEMs suited for that. I did not find isolation to be a real issue for me, however I mostly use this in quieter settings like at home, and in the office. These do not leak any sound, as they are closed back, except for a small pinhole vent.


    Sound

    T2 Pro vs Harman.jpg

    When I think of neutral sound signatures, the T2 Pro is that. I thought the T2 was a very good IEM, however the T2 Pro takes the base sound of the T2, and elevates the treble and makes this IEM a very detailed and articulate earphone that I really enjoyed.


    After I got the T2 Pro out of it’s shell, and got it setup, I actually reached for the original T2 and listened to a track on them first to give myself a baseline sound. I popped in Real Estate’s Past Lives. After listening to it first with the T2 and then popping in the T2 Pro, I immediately noticed the change in how cymbals crashed, and how the lead singer’s vocals sounded more open, airy, and natural. The energy of the song was lifted and gave an overall larger soundstage than the previous T2. It’s not huge but it’s noticeable.


    T2 Pro vs Flat Speaker.jpg


    After a few more A-B tracks from a selection of Post-Rock, country, and rock songs – all of which gave me the same initial impressions – I performed measurements on the MiniDSP EARS measurement rig I have at home. The data matched my impressions.


    First, some background.

    The T2 I purchased and own was bought roughly in the Spring of 2018. I’ve heard that some of the early units had very weak and anemic bass. When I got mine, I didn’t feel like the bass was super anemic, but as a non-basshead and used to a linear bass response of planar magnetics, I thought the bass sound close to perfect, with a slight roll-off on low-sub 30Hz frequencies.

    In an interesting back and forth discussion on Head-Fi between users Slater, VladStef and I (and a few others), it seems like Slater’s older T2 had blue “gunk” (as he calls it) underneath the screen at the tip of the nozzle. This gunk seems to have impeded bass response, as when he removed it, it opened up the low end in his opinion. VladStef, then looked up some early review measurements and found that AudioBudget and other older reviews showed a large low-end frequency response drop off, which was different than the units that him and I have, which did not have blue stuff underneath the screen. My initial measurements for the T2 has a relatively linear bass and lower mids response from 1KHz down to about 30Hz.

    We are wondering if T2 noticed this and removed it in a revision to the T2. Either way, the bass sounds really good. Detailed and textured, although, not as rich as something with a warmer response. The bass and low mids are rather neutral and cold, especially if you are coming from a V-Shaped, warm or bass heavy headphone. The reward is in the details.

    T2 Pro vs T2  Raw FR.jpg

    So, back to the T2 Pro.


    The Bass and mids pretty much match exactly as the T2. What has changed in measurements, is the upper mids and treble/treble extension. The IEM still has a massive drop off in the further audible treble region, but what has changed is a good boost from about 1.5KHz and beyond. This is where vocals and the higher frequency instruments come into play, as well as the extra clarity, detail and air impressions come in.


    Some may freak since the T2 may have sounded already a bit harsh and bright, and only adding more treble may scare people. But really, the area that was peaky on the original T2 stays the same but it’s the frequencies after that that are boosted. This actually helps round out the treble response and actually puts the T2 Pro closer to the Target response curve; both the Harman Target and the older Speaker Compensation ideology.


    I am probably repeating myself here, but the vocals sound more clean, natural, and open. There’s a sense of air and depth to the sound that is more noticeable when A-Bing back and forth. The T2 sounds congested and grainy in comparison. Soundstage sounds slightly wider because of this, and imaging is relatively the same.

    T2 Pro THD.jpg T2 Pro Waterfall.jpg


    Conclusions

    Overall, the current introductory price of $49.99 on Massdrop seems like a no-brainer to me. I believe the actual MSRP will be around $60, which is still a no-brainer. If you have the T2 already, it may be a tough choice. I prefer the Pro over the T2 and would gladly pay the $50 to get the Pro, despite already owning the T2. It’s an overall better headphone.


    The T2 is good in it’s own right, but it has been dethroned by it’s younger brother.

    This IEM can be purchased exclusively right now on Massdrop using this LINK!

    The original review was posted on my website, http://www.Antdroid.net
      Otto Motor, Johnny Mac and St3ven like this.
  6. Johnny Mac
    Tin Audio T2 Pro, not a con coz its a Pro.
    Written by Johnny Mac
    Published Sep 17, 2018
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Balanced sound that renders sparkle(as compared to the T2), updated 3.5mm housing, non-fatiguing.
    Cons - Accessory set still minimal, Looks 99% similar with the Tin Audio T2.
    [​IMG]

    It wasn’t long when I reviewed the Tin Audio T2 and only after approximately 2 months later, Tin Audio has decided to release a refreshed version of it in the form of the Tin Audio T2 Pro which we will tinker and see if it warrants the Pro in its name. The T2 had positive feedback from its users especially due to its balanced sound along with its exceptional build quality capping it off on a price that doesn’t break the bank. Some have even dared mod the vents it had on the faceplate, guess the price wasn’t a thing to worry on the T2 for them. The Tin Audio T2 Pro however is priced at $59.99 which is a $20 price difference, it is however recently released on Massdrop for a pre-order price of $49.99, feel free to check it out. The T2 Pro sports dual dynamic drivers in 10mm woofer + 6mm tweeter configuration but is tuned to please even more, the T2 Pro still comes with an Impedance of 16Ω, 12-40000Hz FR and still on the MMCX interface albeit with a higher quality component of which is not stated in the manual. With all these configurations and price difference, is the Tin Audio T2 Pro really a Pro to cop or a Con?

    Note: Part of this realview might be similar as well with my T2 realview especially regarding the packaging, build quality, the stock cable and the accessory set.

    Packaging and Build Quality

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Packaged in the same white glossy white cardboard box as the T2, the T2 Pro package only differs with the Tin HiFi branding placement and of course the Tin Audio T2 Pro model name on the upper front corner. The Tin Audio logo is also present and is well-thought, one that I would be proud to parade. Opening the cardboard box reveals the matte navy-blue book with a cream palette interior which is very pleasing to the eye, Tin Audio nailed this one, again. The manual covers the T2 Pro underneath. Seeing the T2 Pro initially is kind of a letdown with how similar it looks with the T2 which is almost identical. Checking the manuals description for the T2 Pro's color shows "gun color" which I think is intended to be Gun Metal, at this point though, the shade of the metal used on the T2 Pro has lighter hue which made identifying the T2 Pro easier despite having the T2 and T2 Pro being put side by side. The IEM itself has heft to it and feels premium.

    [​IMG]

    The T2 Pro still has a vent on the round faceplate and another on the lower portion of the nozzle, using the foams attached on the T2 didn't block the vent when in use which is unlike other IEMs which is blocked right away when used failing to function as a vent otherwise. The cable is supple and uses the round braid, it is a 1.2M 5N OFC silver-plated wire. The male MMCX interface on the cable is transparent which adds to its sleek look with L and R markings respectively. The 3.5mm Carbon fiber gold-plated straight plug used on the T2 Pro now has a bigger housing and is silver with digitized camo on them as opposed to the T2’s gold housing with black digitized camo which is the T2 and T2 Pro’s biggest aesthetic difference. Microphonics is minimal and the Y-split and 3.5mm plug has adequate strain relief, no cable cinch was present and the included silicon tips was left untouched and unopened ever since. No pouch and case were provided as well again which would have been a welcome accessory with the price increase it had. The mentioned vents would be put to the test in our Sound analysis once again.

    Tonality

    [​IMG]

    The Tin Audio T2 Pro underwent the “recommended” 50-hour burn in period “necessary” for dynamic drivers. I used the same tracks that I had used with the T2 which was MJ's The Girl is Mine in DSD on the Opus 1 and indeed still provided the smooth experience but there is noticeable bump on the upper midrange and treble on the T2 Pro. The lows were still defined, the midrange articulate and the highs crisp with greater extension than the T2 ever had. Progressing through MJ's Thriller album supplemented the fact that the T2 Pro is still indeed a balanced sounding product.

    Lows

    [​IMG]

    Tin Audio stayed true to its sound from the T2 especially on the low-end, T2 Pro’s bass is still clean and lean. MJ's “Wanna Be Starting Something” in DSD on the Opus 1 delivered a full-bodied bass impact with a non-overbearing sub bass. There are no major changes on the low-end performance of the T2 Pro against the T2 except for a subtle depth on the mid bass impact. The lows on the T2 Pro still knows when to provide you the clean and lean bass and when not to.

    Midrange

    The T2’s midrange is its cherry on top and while that can still be said of the T2 Pro, it is clear that there is a new king in town for Tin Audio’s new T2 Pro. MJ's “Heal the World” in DSD on the Opus 1 still gives that lush outcome especially on the 1:45 to 2:02 part. Vocal range was well pronounced and the male and female vocals were still natural and still on point in clarity. The T2 Pro retains the aspect that made the T2 great and by doing so, users that would opt to get the T2 Pro over the T2 would not be losing out and having second thoughts about it.

    Highs

    My oh my, Tin Audio gave the T2 Pro the one thing that would complement it very well, a great upper frequency kick, what a kicker I’d say. Lenny Kravitz's “Always on The Run” in 16/44 on the Opus 1 was used to once again check the T2 Pro’s highs, the T2 was already hovering on being borderline sibilant and yet with the T2 Pro, Tin Audio still managed to add a little bump on the highs that still didn’t induce sibilance, the treble is still distinct and detail retrieval excellent. The T2 pro was able to give out great upper frequency extension and the lacking sparkle that isn’t found on the T2 when it came to town.

    Soundstage and Imaging

    The vents on the T2 Pro still does the job just like the T2 does which is a good thing for those once again ready to mod their T2 Pro’s. Covering the vents indeed altered the signature which made the soundstage too intimate when covered. The T2 Pro still showcases intimate staging which reinforces the affinity it has for the acoustic genre but pans out better than the T2. Imaging was not too tight on the T2 Pro and yet still articulate; each instrument is distinguishable most of the time. With sparkle being present and the upper frequencies having the extra bump, imaging greatly benefited from these configurations.

    Conclusion

    The Tin Audio T2 Pro is released at a rather abrupt timeline considering the previous release cycles of the T2 and the T1 which makes users quite uneasy but as some say, why fix what isn’t broken, right? Then and there, that quote is highly embodied by the Tin Audio T2 Pro in relevance with the Tin Audio T2. The Tin Audio T2 was already an excellent audiophile product in itself and the minor changes the T2 Pro underwent were for me, good enough to warrant the price increase. I had previously gone about how the T2 3.5mm housing lost its gold luster after a week’s use and that is addressed by the T2 Pro with the bigger silver digitized camo 3.5mm housing, a pouch or a cable cinch is however still welcome. Although the overall look and feel of the T2 Pro is similar to the regular T2, those that are hesitant of picking up the T2 which might be a little lifeless for them would find that the excellent choice to add a minor bump in the upper frequency resulting in a still balanced sounding T2 Pro but capable of easily spicing the signature with a much-needed sparkle is in itself a great upgrade worthy of being called a Pro.

    More reviews at http://audiorealviews.site/
      antdroid likes this.