1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

thinksound rain2 Wooden In-Ear Headphone (Gunmetal Chocolate)

Rating:
3.41667/5,
  1. Cinder
    A Natural Sound in a Natural Package
    Written by Cinder
    Published Jun 13, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Excelent build quality, sustainable build materials, smooth sound. Easy to EQ to a near-flat sound signature.
    Cons - Warm sound signature can wash out finer details.
    IMG_9839.jpg
     
    When I first discovered Thinksound, it was on my quest to find a good, full sounding replacement for my Macaw GT100s. However, given the high quality sound that I was already used to, I couldn’t get just any pair of IEMs. After doing some investigating, I found that not only does the Rain2 provide the level of sound quality I need, it also does so in a eco-friendly way. For $99 dollars, these were a steal. You can also often find them on sale on Amazon for $89.
    Thinksound makes all of its headphones out of wood. This serves two purposes: one, to take advantage of the natural sounds that wooden earphones can make, and two: so that its earphones are recyclable. That’s pretty cool.
    As an added bonus, you can send in your old pair of Thinksound earphones for recycling, and get 25% off your next purchase. That’s some pretty hefty savings, especially if you are looking to get a flagship pair of earphones.

    Sound Signature

    Highs are decent. They mesh well with the rest of the sound, without getting lost or muddied which is partly what makes the Rain2 have such a smooth sound. However, compared to titanium-driver IEMs, the highs a pretty recessed. When using a regular DAC, such as that inside a Nexus 6P or laptop, there is a pretty noticeable sibilance (harsh “s” sound in vocals). Equalization can somewhat fix this, but the problem persists regardless of the device I used. Only when using a proper DAC/amp combo could I fully remedy the issue.
    Mids are good as well. Full sounding, and accurate. They have a very warm feeling to them and are balanced well with the rest of the sound, as they have a rather flat signature to them.
    Lows are tight and controlled, while being defined and present, which is surprising for IEMs with an 8mm driver. Even in songs with active and complex lows, such as Recognizer by Daft Punk, they never became overblown.
    Bass is just right. There is no extra sound, or sloppy reproduction. The bass lends depth and impact to songs that is hard to come by. Rock and Electric music is accentuated nicely by the sound signature of the Rain2.
    Sound Isolation is good. Thinksound did a good job with the Rain2, as they are capable of blocking the noise of a hairdryer, loud children, and the screams of my enemies pretty nicely. No matter how good of a seal I got though, people talking loudly next to me tended to penetrate into the music I was listening to. Raising the volume fixed this.
    Sound Staging is about as good as I could ask for from 8mm drivers. There is definitely a wideness to it, with defined directions that instruments can take on. A good example of this would be Outlands, by Daft Punk. There is also a decent amount of depth, with instruments also being able to take on a distance, as well as a position. I will update this section to reflect how well the Rain2 does on an airplane at a later date.
    Sound Type: Warm

    Comfort

    Comfort is superb with the Rain2. The included earbuds fit just right, and created a seal that didn't feel like a suction cup on the inside of my ear. The light construction of these IEMs also made them hold up well in extended listening sessions, as well as while walking or jogging. Unfortunately, it’s going to be pretty difficult to sleep or lay on your side while wearing the Rain2, as they will press inwards very hard.

    Portability

    The Rain2 is pretty portable. It is slick, and doesn’t have any weird extrusions. The relatively small size of the driver housing makes it easy to slip into my pocket, even when wearing tighter pants. There also an included carrying pouch made out of recycled materials.
    IMG_9841.jpg
     

    Durability

    While I can’t speak for long term durability, as I’ve had these earbuds for about a week at this point, I can say that they appear to be pretty sturdy. Drops won’t pose an issue, simply because of how light the Rain2 is. It won’t gain much momentum on the way down, and the wooden casing is very hard, and won’t scratch easily. Thinksound put a lot of time and attention into the cable connections. They are all covered with an extra layer of stress-relieving plastic. The 3.5mm jack is very well constructed. This is the best stress-relieving job I’ve seen on a pair of earphones to date. If anything, it will be the last part of the cable to break.
    Thinksound also claims that the Rain2 is “sweat resistant”. No specification is mentioned, but the casing and cables are rather easy to clean.

    Mic

    There is no mic on the Rain2. If you are someone who really uses it, you may wish to consider a different pair of IEMs.

    Accessories

    The Rain2 comes with a carrying pouch made from recycled materials, a shirt clip, and some extra earbuds. The carrying pouch feels solid, and the earbuds are decent.
    IMG_9840.jpg
     

    Conclusion

    If you are looking for a good pair of earphones with a nice soundstage, detailed and a warm sound signature, that happens to be eco-friendly, and is under $100, then these are for you. However, if you want earth-shattering bass, or are a heavy user of inline-controls, then you may wish to look elsewhere.
  2. Xtralglactic
    Well built but for sound is for specific genres only
    Written by Xtralglactic
    Published May 9, 2015
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Build, Aesthetics, female vocals gets a touch or warmth to them
    Cons - Not for modern music, too smooth and laid back
    Impressions with the Thinksound Rain 2
     
    Thanks @d marc0 for including me in the Australian Thinksound Rain 2 Tour
     
    Source: Itunes downloaded music - Equaliser Player app by Audio Forge (EQ set to neutral) - Ipad 3rd Gen Wifi+cell - Line out cable - Just Audio AHA 120 Portable Class A headamp set to 32 ohm- Think Sound Rain 2
     

     

     
     
    The Thinksounds are a well built set of earphones. Wooden housings capped by a metal ring (aluminum?), sturdy tangle free cable, angled connector, but no inline mic or remote controls. It also comes with various sized silicone tips and a cable clip. They all come in a small white packaging, packed in compressed cardboard and a hessian bag carry pouch. Simple functional and ecologically sustainable.
     
     
      
     
     
    SOUND:
     
    Well I must say these are picky with amp pairings. I also have a C&C BH but that just made these sibilant in my opinion and the best pairing was to be found with with Just Audio's. It just seems to amplify whats good about these headphones namely the warm sound signature, the smoothness and the soundstage.
     
    Songs listened to: Emeli Sande Maybe (Live at the Royal Albert Hall) Micheal Buble Me and Mrs Jones (Live from Madison Square Garden) and just for kicks How Low by Ludacris (MAAAAD BASSY Track)
     
    Ludacris HOW LOOOOOwwwww: Well I must say thinksounds performed well in this track. The bass presentation is certainly what Im looking for here and it does go quite low. It has good bass impact and good decay. Texture is also quite nice. Vocals seem to be smooth and present, not drowned out by the bass, although i think its abit recessed but not by much. The highs are non fatiguing but it could use more sparkle and airyness. Its just not resolving in my opinion. (not that there is anything to resolve. This is a club dance track after all) PRAT seems to be just abit off so these I would think are more suited to accoustic music hence the next two songs.
     
    Emeli Sande Maybe:  Now were more into what these Thinksounds are about! This is totally the perfect genre for the Thinksounds. Simple accoustic music, female vocals, a long listening session. Totally goes with the relaxed and smooth sound sig. Since this track is recorded live, there seems to be a huuge sound stage and its just seems that Im on stage with Emeli and the claps the shouts and other sounds from the crowd are portrayed clearly. Instrument separations is also excellent with each having room to breathe. Emeli does not sound sibilant here at all. Again the guitar and and other instruments could use more resolution/detail but I can forgive this shortcoming as Im totally enjoying what Im hearing.
     
    Michael Buble Me and Mrs Jones: Now for some male vocals. This track has a lot of wind instruments and percussion and I must say it underwhelmed me a bit. This track starts out slow and slowly builds into a crescendo towards the end when everything is playing at once and then slowly fades . Perhaps the thinksounds are too smooth. Michaels Vocals are fine, soundstage is fine but when everything is playing at once, to me it just seemed unexciting. I had no emotional connection. With the Emeli track, I felt like I was standing there on stage with her. With Michael it seemed I am front row and the crowd is behind me (perhaps the differing way the tracks are recorded?) 
     
    COMPARISON with my current favourite in ears Phonak PFE 122 Grey Neutral filter
     

     
     
    Michael Buble Me and Mrs Jones: Now the first thing I noticed is that the Phonaks have a brighter signature, more detailed, less bassy but its still there and just right for me. Its just totally at a different level. I can hear more of the crowd, the texture of the individual instruments. Michael's vocals seem to get back the energy and forwardness that the song deserves. In a short word my emotional connection is back. The Phonaks just seem to be more dynamically alive with this track and its a pleasure to listen to.
     
    Emeli Sande Maybe:  This is such an emotional song and it connects with me if the presentation is correct. On my favourite headphones (He400, HD 650, Fidelio L2) and earphones (Phonaks), when she starts singing, I get goosebumps. I did not get the goosebumps with the Thinksounds but with the Phonaks its just amazing. The details of her voice, the nuances, the vocalizations and pain that should radiate from her voice is just portrayed so well (and thats why I get the goosebumps) with the Phonaks. Every instrument is heard clearly and resolutely. Simply amazing for me. Now let me sit back and put the track on repeat a few times and recline my chair......................
     
    AFTER 10 mins...
     
     
    Ludacris HOW LOOOOOwwwww: I must say the bass goes deeper on the Phonaks but not a lot impact but its well textured. I wish it has more bass (but thats what the black and green filter are for, Included in the Phonaks packaging for a V shaped sound and finally a U Shaped sound, a definite plus for the Phonak user, its customisable). While PRAT was missing from the Thinksounds, its back with the Phonaks. It certainly got my head bopping. The track just seemed more alive dynamically. There are parts of the song that has a heartbeat sound it occurs about 3 times, that goes on for about 3 seconds. On the Thinksounds, I dont think I ever heard ít. It just shows the Phonaks are more resolving in the bass texture if not in quantity.
     
    Final thoughts:
     
    I think the Thinksounds specialize in a specific genre or type of music. Simple. Earthy. Accoustic vocals. Perhaps in its next iteration, they can make it more resolving and more exciting so it would pair with most types of music.
      d marc0 and DJScope like this.
  3. DJScope
    Nature's friend!
    Written by DJScope
    Published Apr 24, 2015
    2.0/5,
    Pros - Good build quality, eco-friendly materials.
    Cons - Elevated bass ruins the sound signature, driver flex

    thinksound rain2 - A mini Review

     
    Firstly, I'd like to thank @d marc0 for including me on this tour. It's always a great experience and privilege to be a part of such a great community which organises these tours for members like myself to try out new gear that we may not have a chance to audition. I do feel very lucky to be a part of it.
    Disclaimer: I did not purchase these earphones and do not own them. I've had 1 week with them and the Philips Fidelio L2. So please take what I have to say with a grain of salt, or two.
     
     

    A little about the thinksound rain2:

    The thinksound rain2 has a sustainable approach to the market. This is visible throughout. Everything here is designed to be made from eco-friendly materials and you can definitely see this with the packaging, and chosen materials. Not sure about the rest of it. 
     
     

    Specifications (taken from the thinksound website)

     
    1. Wooden housing for crisp, accurate music reproduction
    2. Frequency Response: 18 Hz – 20 kHz
    3. Sensitivity: 96 ±3 dB @ 1KHz 1mW
    4. Impedance: 16 ohms
    5. 45˚angled 3.5mm gold plated stereo plug for increased sound clarity
    6. Driver Size: Acoustically enhanced 8mm driver
    7. Weight (Approximate): 9.5g Ultra-lightweight design
    8. Kevlar-reinforced, tangle-resistant 4 foot long cable
    9. Passive Noise Isolation minimizes ambient sounds
    10. Sweat-resistant design, perfect for the gym


     

     

     

     

    Packaging and Accessories

    Packaging looks cheap. It's a simple white outer box, nothing special, it has some of the information about the rain2 on the back. The inner carton is made from cut cardboard, looks like it was hand cut too, as it's not the neatest job but it's a nice touch. 
    Including in the box is the earphones (obviously), 4 pairs of black silicone tips, a shirt clip and a cotton carry sack. Nothing more, nothing less.
    I do think that for the price tag there could be some extra tips to choose from. I personally think that it would do with a set of wide bore tips.
     

    Build quality

    The build is actually quite nice. It's light and made from good materials. The wood is lovely and meshes well with the dark smoky steel front portion of the body. The strain reliefs and the cable is made from a nice, supple rubber which is very tangle resistant. The jack terminates at the 45 degree 3.5mm connector which is gold plated. 
    Presentation and build quality is something that is done very right here.
     
    Isolation is average as this is a ported design. There is one single port on the back of the housing. You do get some mechanical cable noise when wearing it cable down.
     
    I do get some pretty bad driver flex with all the ear tips I've tried. Seems like something one will need to get used to with these.
     

    Sound

    I used the rain2 with the following gear: FiiO E17, FiiO X1, xDuoo X2, HUM Pervasion, Audio-gd NFB-15.32 and straight from my Moto G XT1033. Using them for various genres and watching videos on YouTube.
     
    The box states that these earphones are "High definition... a smooth sound signature." Which is a statement I cannot agree on. The sound signature is my least favourite aspect here.
    The thinksound rain2 is a very dark earphone. The best word I can describe them with is "Brash".
    Soundstage is actually quite good and imaging is above par.
     

    Bass

    The bass is very elevated. It is the most pronounced and overwhelming part of the signature. It resonates through the whole spectrum and on some (and mostly everything I listened to) tracks and it distorts quite a bit. It extends quite low and is very deep, visceral and is bloated and muddy.
     

    Mids

    Male vocals are brash indeed. Some sound like there is an eco in the background and every song I've noticed sounds like it is recorded in a large and empty room. The bass completely overwhelms everything that has even a little bit of mid or upper bass in it and amplifies it quite dramatically. It's something I really did not enjoy all that much.
     

    Treble

    This is an aspect that is actually really good on the rain2. It's not recessed, it's not the most refined treble you'll hear, but it's quite smooth and coherent and keeps all the major elements in vocals and percussions audible and this is something that balances out the sound quite well. This could be a saviour for some people. Especially those who do love a lot of bass and clarity in one package.
     

     
     
     
     
     
     
     

    Conclusion

    While I do applaud thinksound for creating sustainable and eco-friendly products, I don't think that they have gotten the sound signature right. Of course this is a personal preference and I'm sure that some people will love the way they sound. But for me, I didn't enjoy them very much, unfortunately.
     
    Cheers! [​IMG] 

     
      d marc0 likes this.
    1. d marc0
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Great work mate.
      d marc0, Apr 27, 2015
  4. Brooko
    thinksound™ rain2 - Eco-friendly, but organically dull default signature
    Written by Brooko
    Published Mar 28, 2015
    3.0/5,
    Pros - Build, fit, eco-aware packaging and materials, beautiful aethetics, good cable, sound sig can be VERY good after EQ
    Cons - Default sound is too warm, veiled and dull, minimal driver ventilation (causing flex)
    rain219.jpg
    For larger views of any photo - please click for access to 1200 x 800 images
    INTRODUCTION

    I’ve only recently heard about thinksound™ audio, and before Head-Fi user d marc0 contacted me, I’d never heard any of their products. So always keen to hear something new, I agreed to be part of a mini tour.
    thinksound™ audio is the brainchild of Aaron Fournier and Mike Tunney. They are a small company started in 2009, and based in Somersworth, New Hampshire (USA). They formed the company to (and this is from their website):

    Their current catalogue encompasses 4 base IEMs (ranging from USD 75 – 120), and one full sized set of headphones – the On1 @ USD 300. Today I’ll be reviewing the rain2 – which is described by thinksound™ as “having a clean, clear and warm sound for the average listener”. The rain2 arrived 2 weeks ago, and since it arrived, I’ve spent as much time as I could manage coming to grips with its signature – for me that has been around 20 hours of listening time.

    DISCLAIMER

    I was provided the rain2 (as part of a tour) from d marc0. I am in no way affiliated with thinksound™ - and this review is my subjective opinion of the rain2. I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Mark for giving me the opportunity. It’s great that we have such a wonderful community here at Head-Fi - able to share our gear so as enthusiasts we can experience a lot more audio gear than many of us could otherwise afford.

    PREAMBLE - 'ABOUT ME'. (or a base-line for interpreting my thoughts and bias)

    I'm a 48 year old music lover. I don't say audiophile – I just love my music. Over the last couple of years, I have slowly changed from cheaper listening set-ups to my current set-up. I vary my listening from portable (Fiio X5, X3ii and iPhone 5S) to my desk-top's set-up (PC > coax > NFB-12 > LD MKIV > HP). I also use a portable set-up at work – either X5/X3ii > HP, or PC > Beyer A200p > HP. My main full sized headphones at the time of writing are the Beyer T1 and Sennheiser HD600. Most of my portable listening is done with IEMs - and up till now it has mainly been with the Fidue A83, Dunu Titan and Altone200. A full list of the gear I have owned (past and present is listed in my Head-Fi profile).

    I have very eclectic music tastes listening to a variety from classical/opera and jazz, to grunge and general rock. I listen to a lot of blues, jazz, folk music, classic rock, indie and alternative rock. I am particularly fond of female vocals. I generally tend toward cans that are relatively neutral/balanced, but I do have a fondness for clarity, and suspect I might have slight ‘treble-head’ preferences. I am not treble sensitive (at all), and in the past have really enjoyed headphones like the K701, SR325i, and of course the T1 and DT880.

    I have extensively tested myself (abx) and I find aac256 or higher completely transparent. I do use exclusively redbook 16/44.1 if space is not an issue. All of my music is legally purchased (mostly CD – the rest FLAC purchased on-line).

    I tend to be sceptical about audiophile ‘claims’, don’t generally believe in burn-in, have never heard a difference with different cables, and would rather test myself blind on perceived differences. I am not a ‘golden eared listener’. I suffer from mild tinnitus, and at 48, my hearing is less than perfect.

    For the purposes of this review - I mainly used the rain2 straight from the headphone-out socket of my Fiio X3ii, but also used (at different times) my iPhone 5S, and Beyer A200p when at work. I did not further amp them, as IMO they do not benefit from additional amplification. In the time I have spent with the rain2, I have noticed a significant change in the overall sonic presentation, but am aware that this is simply that I am becoming more used to the signature of the rain2 as I use them more often (brain burn-in).

    This is a purely subjective review - my gear, my ears, and my experience. Please take it all with a grain of salt - especially if it does not match your own experience.

    THE REVIEW

    PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES

    The rain2 arrived in a small to medium sized retail box/sleeve – with a picture of the rain2 on the front, and information on the rain2, and about thinksound™ on the rear. The box is very clean, clear, and the subtle use of the green print does give a hint of the environmentally friendly position of the company.

    rain201.jpg rain202.jpg rain203.jpg

    Front of retail box

    Rear of retail box

    Retail box in profile


    Opening the sleeve and sliding out the inner container was a revelation. The first thing I noticed was the use of recycled cardboard to house the rain2. This is really clever – and shows commitment to their mission statement. These guys do walk the talk.

    rain204.jpg rain205.jpg rain206.jpg

    Inside the box = first impression

    Eco friendly packaging

    Wonderful idea for walking the "green" talk



    The next thing I noticed was the cotton carry pouch and the gorgeous rain2 themselves – but on to them shortly. The accessory package is a little spartan – simply including the cotton drawstring pouch, a cord clip, and 4 sets of silicone tips.

    rain207.jpg rain211.jpg rain212.jpg

    Cotton carrying bag, tip package and rain2 IEMs

    Included tips

    Included tips



    TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

    (From thinksound™)
    Type
    Single 8mm dynamic driver inner ear monitor
    Frequency Range
    18 Hz – 20 Khz
    Impedance
    16 ohm
    Sensitivity
    96 +/-3dB @ 1kHz 1mW
    Plug
    3.5mm gold plated, angled jack (45 deg)
    Cable
    1.35m
    Weight
    Approx 13g with tips included
    IEM Shell
    Gun metal aluminium mated to chocolate brown stained wood


    FREQUENCY GRAPH

    At the time of writing, I’ve been unable to find a frequency response graph for the rain2 – but what I’m hearing is pretty much what thinksound™ have advertised – a very warm sounding IEM with smooth vocals. For the record – using an spl meter and frequency tones – here’s what I recorded.

    Hz

    60 Hz

    80 Hz

    100 Hz

    150 Hz

    200 Hz

    250 Hz

    300 Hz

    400 Hz

    500 Hz

    600 Hz

    700 Hz

    800 Hz

    900 Hz
    dB

    55.1

    61.4

    65.7

    72.1

    75.6

    77.7

    79.1

    80.6

    81.2

    81.4

    81.3

    81.0

    80.6
    Hz

    1 kHz

    2 kHz

    3 kHz

    4 kHz

    5 kHz

    6 kHz

    7 kHz

    8 kHz

    10 kHz

    12 kHz

    14 kHz

    16 kHz

    20 kHz
    dB

    80.0

    79.6

    80.3

    81.4

    80.6

    80.7

    76.5

    70.6

    61.3

    55.3

    50.4

    45.0

    40.4


    rain221.jpg

    The noise floor during the recording was 39.2 dB

    BUILD QUALITY / DESIGN

    The rain2 is a beautiful looking IEM featuring a practically flawless polished wood rear housing joined to an aluminium front end. At the centre of the rear of the wood housing (partially hidden by the thinksound™ logo) is a single vent for the driver. The aluminium is gun metal in colour, nicely rounded, and has a generous nozzle and lip. The nozzle has a mesh filter. The rain2 is approximately 52mm in length from rear to tip, and has a circumference of marginally under 10mm. The nozzle is approximately 6mm long.

    rain209.jpg rain215.jpg rain214.jpg

    Really solid build quality. Rear port just visible

    Fit and finish is really good

    Nozzle has mesh filter in place



    There is generous strain relief at the housing, the Y split is a simple aluminium tube, and the jack is set at 45 degrees, and has a robust build and very good relief. There is a cable clip included – but I would have also liked to have seen some sort of cable cinch. The cable is PVC free, very smooth and very flexible. It is very easy to wear – either straight down or over ear.

    rain217.jpg rain216.jpg rain210.jpg

    rain2 with default tips fitted

    Default tips - the rain2 does look stunning

    Jack and Y-split



    So for me, the build quality and attention to detail is very good.

    FIT / COMFORT / ISOLATION

    I have one ear canal slightly different to the other one (my right is very slightly smaller) - so I tend to find that usually single silicon flanges don't fit overly well. I initially tried the included XL and L silicone tips, and I couldn’t get a decent fit or seal. Not thinksound’s™ fault – just my weird ears. I next tried Sony Isolation tips, and they sealed beautifully, but caused massive driver flex, and every time I swallowed or moved my jaw – I got constant pressure problems in my ear drums. Evidently the driver venting may not quite be enough to cope with a tight seal. This is good for isolation – but for me, limited my tip choice. Eventually I settled on Comply T400 sport foam tips – which gave me a good seal, no flex, and a very comfortable fit.

    Isolation with the rain2 is better than average for a dynamic driver (pretty good in fact) – but I do wish that they had better venting to allow me to use the Sony tips.

    Comfort is excellent – they are so light that I hardly feel that I’m wearing them. With their small size, they don’t protrude past my ears, and it would be easy for me to lie down or sleep whilst wearing them. The cable is soft, and very comfortable in my preferred over-ear position.

    So the rain2 looks good and has good build – how does it sound?

    SOUND QUALITY

    The following is what I hear from the thinksound™ rain2. YMMV – and probably will – as my tastes are likely different to yours (read the preamble I gave earlier for a baseline). Most of the testing at this point (unless otherwise stated) was done with my Fiio X3ii as source.

    Tracks used were across a variety of genres – and can be viewed in this list http://www.head-fi.org/a/brookos-test-tracks.

    Thoughts on Default Signature

    I need to state this one early, so you can then factor in my bias. This is not my type of signature – I don’t really like the rain2's default signature.

    If we look at some of the descriptors thinksound™ gave for the rain2 (clean, clear and warm sound), then they’ve hit some of their intended sound signature – although for my tastes I’d question the “clean and clear” more than a little. If I was to describe the default signature in a few words – I’d choose the words “very warm”, “very smooth” and (subjective speak coming up) “organically dull”. Their problem is simply that there is not enough sparkle, and the lower mid-range and upper bass is so thick that for a lot of my music there is no contrast, and it becomes so non-descript as to be unenjoyable. Like I said – it’s simply not my type of signature.

    My very first impressions of the rain2 were very negative (really overpoweringly warm) – but I persevered with them, and gradually became used to their signature – and on some tracks it is actually pretty good (as long as I listen to it, and only it). If I come from a brighter IEM (the Titan, Altone or A83), then I have to go through an adjustment period again – because first impression always resorts back to the very warm and dull impression again.

    Overall Detail / Clarity

    For this I always use both Steely Dan’s “Gaucho” and Dire Strait’s “Sultans of Swing” as there is a lot of micro detail in both tracks, and the recording quality for both is excellent.

    The rain2’s detail retrieval is OK – but I have to listen hard to get all the detail which IEMs like the Titan show easily. Gaucho actually doesn’t sound too bad – smooth sax, a little too much bass coming through, but the shimmer on cymbal hits is AWOL and a lot of the dynamic contrast I’m used to from this track is gone. Sultans of Swing is a little better – but darker than I’m used to – and there is no bite or crunch from guitars. It’s smooth, claustrophobic, uninspiring. These are descriptors I never thought I’d use with this track. It’s clear enough – there just isn’t any dynamic contrast.

    Sound-stage & Imaging

    For this I use Amber Rubarth’s binaural recording “Tundra”. I use this because it’s a pretty simple way to get comparative data on sound-stage.
    It’s usually difficult to get a reasonable stage size from an inner ear monitor. The stage is often quite small / close – with an average impression of space. The rain2 has an intimate stage with this track, and the sense of space is not expansive.

    I switched to Loreena McKennitt’s “Dante’s Prayer” but I only got through about 30 seconds of the track. Piano was really nice, as was the Cello, but Loreena’s voice was actually muffled – so in the end I gave up.

    Genre Specific Notes

    Again for tracks, albums, artists – please refer to this list: http://www.head-fi.org/a/brookos-test-tracks

    Rock / Alt-Rock – The rain2 was actually Ok with most rock tracks. Too smooth for my liking – but I could see some people enjoying this presentation. Vocals are relatively clear, and the bass is present enough to give a good beat. The rain2 is once again weak in guitar edge and upper mid-range detail, although acoustic rock did sound pretty good. Seether’s cover of Immortality sounded nicely balanced (again too smooth) – but again cymbals were a flat tap – no air or shimmer. I tried my two usual Alt-rock tracks (PF’s Money and PT’s Trains) – but I can’t say I was impressed with either. Money is supposed to have a lot of changing dynamic contrast – but once again the rain2’s cloying smoothness just pasted a shade of bland over both tracks. Vocals were good and bass was OK – but things shouldn’t stop with the mid-range.

    The funny thing was that one of my litmus tests (Pearl Jam) actually sounded pretty good. The rain2 did nail Vedders voice really well – and there was enough detail through the track (including cymbals) to make it a really enjoyable track to listen to.

    Jazz / Blues / Bluegrass – Portico Quartet’s “Ruins” is always a first stop for me when testing a new IEM with Jazz, but the rain2has a little too much double bass for my tastes, and the sax just didn’t have the compelling timbre and warble that I know is there in the track. Once again – smooth, smooth, smooth – no real contrast – and it’s just bland.

    Switching to female vocal jazz, and Diana Krall’s “Love Me Like A Man” is actually pretty good – the rain2 handles piano pretty well – and Krall’s voice is clear and clean. There is a little contrast with the electric guitar this time – not bad at all.

    Onto a bit of Bluegrass, and Dust Bowl Children is OK. Not great – still too smooth, but OK. The banjo doesn’t have its magic – but the mid-range is covering vocals and most instrument fundamentals OK. Blues with Joe Bonamassa’s “India/Mountain Time” was again pleasant, but once again missing something. The normal “bite” from Joe’s guitar was again a casualty – although the rain2 did portray Joe’s vocals pretty well.

    Rap / EDM / Pop – Eminem’s “Lose Yourself” is really good with the rain2 – bass hits low and hard – and the vocals this time are very clear. This is the first track I’m genuinely enjoying. Time to switch to some pop and this time Coldplay’s “Speed of Sound”. Again the presentation is mildly enjoyable – I’d prefer more upper end – but I could listen to this type of music portrayal without feeling too claustrophobic.

    With electronic – I queued up The Flashbulb, Little Dragon and Lindsey Stirling. Stirling was brilliant with the rain2 – dynamic, fun, a touch boomy – but enjoyable. Likewise Little Dragon’s “Little Man” really hit the spot too – and I think we’ve found a niche with the rain2 that really works rather well.

    Classical / Opera – Kempffs Beethoven Sonatas were quite enjoyable, as was Zoe Keating’s Cello performances, but anything else I tried just didn’t gel at all. And the attempt at opera (Netrebko/Garanca) was simply flat – no dynamics, no magic. Avoid.

    Indie / Female Vocals – Although this covers a couple of different genres, they make up a lot of my library current listening. First up was Agnes Obel’s Aventine, and I expected the worst (this track needs some reasonable upper mid-range or it sounds hollow). Fears realised – it was horrible – strident, hollow – unenjoyable. London Grammar fared a little better, but still too dark for my tastes, and Gabriella Cilmi’s Safer was actually pretty good.
    I finished with Wildlight and Band of Horses. Both Indie groups were actually pretty good. Ayla Nereo’s voice still had some magic – but again a little too warm and smooth. Band of Horses was pretty good though – it’s a brighter sounding track by default which probably helped the rain2. All in all, some hits, some misses.

    AMPLIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

    The rain2 is easily powered straight out of the portable devices I have, and I haven’t experienced any issues with the iPhone 5S, or any of the Fiio Daps. With typical pop/rock songs on the iP5S I’m usually at a volume level of around 45%. I did try amping with the E11K, but noticed no obvious signs of improvement.

    EQUALISATION?

    The easiest way to apply quick equalisation for me is with the iPhone 5S and the Accudio Pro app. When I’ve had this problem with excessive mid-bass and lack of treble before, I usually just load the correction for the Sennheiser CX300 (which is one of the worst IEMs I’ve heard for excessive warmth). All of a sudden the rain2 had a veil lifted. It was articulate, nimble, detailed, and clear. I replayed Aventine, and the hollowness was gone. Sultans of Swing had the guitar crunch and its dynamism back. The difference was huge. If this was the default signature, I’d recommend it in a heartbeat.

    RAIN2 - SUMMARY


    rain218.jpg

    I like the direction Fournier and Tunney have gone with the thinksound™ rain2. It's a very well built, stunning looking IEM which stays true to their eco-friendly ideals and goals. It fits really well, and is extremely comfortable to wear, and for a dynamic driver isolates pretty well.

    Unfortunately for me - the rain2 just goes overboard on the warmth, smoothness, and mid-bass, and under performs in the upper mid-range and treble. The end result is an earphone which IMO is very genre dependent, and unfortunately misses the mark on most of the music I listen to. Interestingly, I asked my 13 yo son and 11 yo daughter to have a quick listen - and (maybe because they've both been exposed to more neutral sound headphones) neither were wowed by it.

    However, the rain2 responds incredibly well to EQ, and this really transforms it to a pleasant sounding IEM. In fact - whilst I was editing this review, I left the Accudio EQ in place, and spent the next 3 hours listening to the rain2, and it was a very enjoyable experience.

    The question is how to rank it? On fit, build, comfort, and ideals (I truly believe we all should be looking after the planet more) - the rain2 would rank really highly. The problem is that for about USD 45.00, I can buy RockJaw's Arcana V2 - another earphone with a gorgeous wooden housing, and warmish signature. The Arcana V2 (without EQ) has what the rain2 is missing - contrast, sparkle, "life".

    So for me a 3 star review. I can't recommend it unless you might be very much tied to EDM and Hip-hop/Rap, and like a warm and cloyingly smooth signature. There is better out there. If thinksound™ change the signature for rain3 - I'd definitely be interested to see what they come up with - because the drivers definitely have potential.


    rain220.jpg
      d marc0 likes this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Brooko
      Ooooh - the Stage Diver - sign me up!
      Brooko, Apr 11, 2015
    3. BGRoberts
      Good review. 
      Very thorough and we'll stated. 
      You mention EQ helps.   Could you tell what you changed? 
      Thanks! 
      BG
      BGRoberts, Jun 1, 2015
    4. Brooko
      Hi Bob - I cheated by using the Accudio app and my iPhone 5S.  I preloaded the CX300 preset - which will basically cut mid-bass, and added some upper mid range and lower treble.  If you wanted to do it with an EQ setting on a DAP - think of an S lying on it's side - scoop some of the mid bass - and then start a shallow rise starting around 1-2 kHz.
      Brooko, Jun 2, 2015
  5. Delance26
    Mother Natures Choice in Headphone
    Written by Delance26
    Published Feb 26, 2015
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Great look, excellent build, Eco Friendly
    Cons - Bass heavy, Sensitive to static
    Disclaimer: I am in not associated with any company; my views are mine, and my own. 
     
    The Thinksound Rain2 is the newest IEM produced and designed by the environmentally friendly company Thinksound.  It is the successor to their older Rain model which has critically acclaimed.  I have not heard the original Rain but my assumption is that the Rain2 is improved (only logical assumption).   In fact this is my first Thinksound product, and I am pretty impressed so far.
     
    Pros: The Rain2 creates a buttery smooth sound that is refreshingly addicting.  It presents lifelikeness in the music giving the feel of an intimate performance from your favorite artists.
    Cons: Some listeners my find them to have too much weight in the low end, and the non-removable cord is a potential lifetime concern.
    Overall: Creating an alluring intimate-organic feel and overall stylish presentation the Thinksound Rain2 easily wins my vote of approval despite occasionally overpowering bass and a lacking a user replaceable cable.
    ThinksoundPouch.jpg ThinksoundFront.jpg
     
     
     
     
    Build (8.5/10): In today’s headphone market there is no shortage of cheap plastic molds for headphones, the Rain2 decides to break this mold.  The housing is made entirely of wood.  It is described as a chocolate finish, but it is not really a deep brown which is how I generally think of chocolate. It is instead has a little bit of a more reddish hue.  My disagreement of color descriptor aside this headphone is quite stunning.  The baffle is made of aluminum, along with the screen to prevent debris from entering the chamber.
    The cable is nice quality.  It treads the fine line of being robust and strong, but also flexible and pliable. It is about 4 feet long (122cm).  It is terminated by a 3.5mm plug, but it is no ordinary plug.  What makes this one special is that it is at a 45 degree angle (see picture).  You may be asking “why all the fuss over this?” Well ordinarily there are two types of terminations, the strait, and the 90 degree.  Strait is generally best for stationary use, while the 90 degree is good for mobile use as it holds the termination flush to your music player (phone, Ipod, Mp3, etc…).  The 45 degree incorporates both of these allowing for less strain to be put in the termination.  In the long term this can make a difference.
    The only qualm I have with the build is that I wish the cable was replaceable.  It is just a good piece of mind that if something happens to the cord I don’t need to trash the entire headphone.  On a bright note Thinksound, being sustainable, offers a recycle program in which you can recycle headphones giving you 15-25% off your next purchase (the amount varies on if it is Thinksound brand or not).
    One issue I have experienced with these headphones is static.  I don’t mean this as the sound being staticy, I mean it in the sense that when I am on the go with them they seems to be sensitive to static generated by cloths.  It creates a weird popping noise.  It does not occur when I am not moving.  Truth be told I am unsure what causes it.  I will sit and wiggle the cable and bend it and simulate moving, but nothing happens.  It is something I have never experienced with a headphone before.  It is really strange, but not too big an issue honestly.
     
    DSCN1404.jpg
     
     
    Comfort/fit (9/10): This is an important aspect that is often over looked.  The fit especially is important for IEM’s as a poor fit can cause an excellent headphone sound like 5 dollars.  Luckily with the Rain2 the fit is not much of an issue.  There are 4 different sizes (s,m,l,xl) of silicon tips.  They are very easy to put on and you can find your fit in a matter of minutes.  Another benefit is these don’t seem to be too picky as far as “perfect seal.” Some IEM’s are very sensitive to how they are orientated, but these are not, at least in my experience which is nice.  They are also prey comfortable.  I actually have forgotten I have had them on a couple times.
     
    Sound(8.5/10): And here we arrive at the meat and bones of the review… the sound.  Of course these could be the coolest, best built headphones on the market, but if they sound like a squirrel squealing in your ear then there is little point.  Ironically the best way I can describe how they sound is organic.  I can only assume this is due to the wooden chamber the driver is housed in.  The sound is very realistic in the sense that music takes on the dynamic of an intimate performance.  This is especially present in music that has instruments made of wood (go figure).  It seems only natural that a headphone made of wood presents instruments made of wood the best.  Acoustic music sounds sublime, pulling you in.
    For those of you who enjoy a hefty low end then you will not be disappoint with these IEM’s either.  While it is not a bass canon, it certainly makes an announcement.  Luckily it is usually pretty well controlled and not overwhelming.  On some tracks I did find it a bit to front and center, but this issue can be common in many IEM’s.  I will say that the extra weight on the low end, especially sub bass (well done for an IEM) it adds a nice dynamic to orchestral music.  Cellos come alive and the overall dynamic is quite powerful.  In general it is not terrible, although I do tend to like a stronger presence in my low end.   If you are a neutral head then these are not for you.
    The imaging and sound stage is about average.  It is neither superb nor bad.  For and IEM I would say it does a solid job, but it cannot compete with full sized headphones.  Although one thing I was rather blown away with was vocal separation.  IEM’s are notorious for congested vocals causing a cramped feel to the sound.  The Rain2 has separation that floored me.  This is part of the “addicting” sound I described.  It is unique and pure bliss to listen to a melody of vocals coming to life.
    I have no major issues with the sound.  If you enjoy a warmer sound, but still appreciate some clarity then these should suite you just fine.  The sound is certainly unique due to the wooden housing, but it is also safe.  What I mean by this is that I feel there will be a very small margin of people who dislike these all together.
     
     
    Conclusion: As you may have figured out I am a fan of these headphones.  They embody a nearly perfect headphone.  They only changes I would make are a user-replaceable cable and maybe a tad less bass.  But then again I am splitting hairs because at times that extra mid-bass hump sounds really great adding excellent dynamics to pieces.  My personal opinion, it is hard to go wrong with these headphones.  They manage to hit the target range of a safe sound, but being unique enough to set them apart from the competition.  I would easily place them in the top three of their price bracket. On top of everything they help reduce needless waste on the environment, which is the only headphone company I know and I personally love that. 
  6. thatBeatsguy
    Rainy Days
    Written by thatBeatsguy
    Published Feb 6, 2015
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Beautiful looks. Beautiful build. Easy-going sound signature.
    Cons - Warmth is too much for my tastes.

    Intro​

    [​IMG]
     
    TL;DR: Thinksound's Rain 2 provides a pretty solid package with a smooth sound signature that should appeal to most listeners, but I find them too warm to be pleasing to my ears.
     
    Before I begin, I would like to sincerely thank Aaron Fournier at Thinksound for giving me the opportunity to write this review and for providing the Rain 2 sample in exchange for my honest opinion. Please note that I am neither affiliated with Thinksound or any of its staff, nor am I being compensated in any form (other than the provided review sample) by writing this review. All opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own unless otherwise specified, and all pictures are taken and owned by me. Before I go any further, please take all the opinions in this review with a grain of salt. Thanks!

     

    Thinksound is a relatively new company which specializes in giving you great sound without making a huge impact on the environment. Their eco-friendly vision seems to be following in with the likes of House of Marley, but it seems clear to the members of Head-Fi that Thinksound is aiming to become much, much bigger than that.

     

    Anyways, Thinksound has recently released another IEM into their growing catalogue, named the Rain 2. As you can tell from the name, it is an update to an older model which, upon the release of this one, will be discontinued. Judging from impressions form other Head-Fi’ers, the Rain 2 seems to be another hit with the audiophiles, with one making some pretty bold statements. This week, we’re taking a closer look at this wooden IEM and see if they live up to the hype.
     
     


    ~~ Aesthetics ~~​

    Packaging, Accessories​

    [​IMG]
     
    If I were to use one word to describe Thinksound's products, it would be "conservative." And that doesn't only apply to their products' designs, but pretty much everything concerned with their products -- the fit, the sound, everything. Why do I say this? Well, let's take a look at the Rain 2.


     

    The packaging for the Rain 2 is conservative. Very conservative. When Thinksound says “eco-friendly,” they mean eco-friendly. Everything in the packaging is made out of recycled materials. The outer box is made of recycled cardboard; the inner box which houses the IEMs and its accessories is also made of recycled cardboard; the concise manual and warranty is made out of recycled paper, and even the cotton carrying pouch is recycled. Taking everything out, you get the earphones, 2 extra pairs of eartips, a shirt clip, a cotton carry pouch, an instruction manual, a letter from Thinksound, and a business card (which probably won’t be included if you buy it retail). The included accessory package is pretty good, to be honest, although it's still pretty conservative when you compare them to, say, Brainwavz' offerings.

     

     

    Design, Build, Microphonics​

    [​IMG]
     
    Its design is pretty conservative -- no funky form factors or eye-catching elements from what I'm seeing here. Okay, maybe the half-wood, half-metal look is an exception -- it's really quite the looker. The Rain 2's shape is simple and conventional, and is little more than a cylindrical, barrel-shaped housing. But despite its simple shape, the wooden housings are so masterfully crafted that each earpiece is identical almost to a fault. Like I said, it looks stunning, and feels great in the hand.


     

    Even the build of the Rain 2 is conservative. Sure, the housings are really solid and the angled 3.5mm connector is built for heavy-duty use, but beyond that...not so much. The cable is nice and supple, but is a little thin for my liking. The housings and the connector are relieved well, but the Y-split is worrying and could use a lot more strain relief. Overall the Rain 2's build quality is far from heavy-duty, but is more than enough to hold up with regular daily use. If the Rain 2 is any indication of Thinksound’s other IEMs, then you can rest assured that they will look and feel amazing.

     

     

    Fit, Comfort, Isolation​

    The Rain 2’s simple shape allows for a simple fit, and should fit most ears without any problems. With the stock tips, I found them to not seal very well when worn around-the-ear and prefer simply wearing straight-down. Of course, tip rolling (audiophile fancy-speak for changing out the eartips) will fix that right up. With the tips I used on the Rain 2, they were consistently comfortable and stayed securely in my ears. Comply tips (specifically T-series tips) were especially comfortable, and boosted the already great isolation.
     

     

    ~~ Sound ~~​

    Specs​

     
    Headphone Type
    Closed-back in-ear monitor (straight-down, around-the-ear)
    Driver Type
    1x 8mm dynamic driver
    Frequency Response
    18 – 20,000 Hz
    Max. Input Power
    N/A
    Sensitivity
    96 ± 3 dB @ 1,000 Hz / 1 mW
    Impedance
    16 Ω
    Weight
    N/A
    Cable
    Round PVC-free cable
    Connector
    45-degree angled 3.5mm (1/8”) gold-plated connector
    Accessories
    4x sets black silicone ear tips (S/M/L/XL)​
    Shirt clip Cotton carrying pouch​
    Instruction manual and warranty card (12 months)​

     

     

    Equipment, Burn-in​

    The sources I used for this review is a 5th generation iPod Touch, an iPad 3, and my PC with no amps or DACs in between. The EQ software used in the review is EQu for the iDevices and Electri-Q for the PC. (Note: I excluded the amp test in this review and will do so for all future reviews until I get myself a proper headphone amp.) As always, the test tracks I use can be viewed here, although I will note and link particular songs for a more specific reference point.

     

    The Rain 2 was burned-in for at least 50 hours prior to the writing of this review. There were some noticeable changes over time, but I think they could be just me adjusting to their sound and will leave them out. The eartips used in the review are the stock medium-size tips and a pair of Comply T-400 foam eartips. Before I go any further, please take the opinions in the following sections with a grain of salt.

     

    Now that we’ve got everything else covered, let’s get to it!

     

     

    Sound Quality​

    [​IMG]
    My first impression of the Rain 2 wasn’t very promising. Its overall signature was a warm, V-shaped signature with an excessively thick midrange that I really couldn’t bring myself to like. And as at that time I was also reviewing the Master & Dynamic ME03, I pretty much just left it burning-in until the ME03 was finished. But these past few days, my opinion on the Rain 2 radically changed once I started analysing the Rain 2’s sound more closely.

     

    The first thing I noticed was how the Rain 2 is notably source-dependent. During my initial tests, the Rain 2 was being driven out of my computer with nothing but onboard audio -- and that translates to a high-impedance output. But when I tested it on the iPod and iPad (both with low-impedance outputs), all of my first impressions were thrown out the window. Let's take a look.

     

    [​IMG]
    The low-end of the Rain 2 is big, warm, but relatively balanced. They have particularly great extension and a satisfying amount of punch to please the more bass-oriented listeners. However, they do tend to get a tad too warm for my tastes, with bass lines at times sounding messy and bunched-up (Test Track). They also have a rather soft impact, which is a little underwhelming for an IEM with this much bass. On the iPod the Rain 2 takes a different turn – everything sounds smoother and more balanced. The warmth is still there, but bass lines now sound faster and flow nicely from one note to the next. Probably its best improvement is how they sound much, much cleaner, which really crushes my initial impressions. Very, very promising so far.

     

    [​IMG]
    The midrange isn’t very far off from the bass, and shares some of their notable characteristics, like their warmth, thickness, and overall just how mediocre they sound out of an onboard soundcard. Guitars sound okay, vocals sound excessively thick, and pianos sound downright horrible. At least, until I used it with the iPod. The night I did, I was just randomly listening to the Rain 2 at night, with some of my favourite piano tracks (Test Track). And I was pretty surprised. Yes, they are still way too warm and too thick to be considered ‘natural,’ but for some reason, it just sounded listenable. Guitars and vocals sounded even better. They became this very different IEM that caught me off-guard.


     

    The treble is very lively, and tilts the whole signature into a slight V-shape. It’s a very welcome quality, however, since it does nicely to balance out the very warm low-end. It’s crisp, smooth, and adds a nice amount of air into the soundstage. Speaking of which, the Rain 2'a soundstage is honestly pretty good for a bassy IEM, with a decent amount of size and air. It's akin to that of a studio, except with some resonances still left over. In short, it's great for an IEM in its category.

     

    Regarding its genre proficiency, I feel the Rain 2's fun, bassy signature fits pop, rock, and electronic music very well. Otherwise I would advise staying away from them if you primarily listen to pianos and classical music – they really just aren't up to the task for that.

     

     

    Other Media​

    [​IMG]
     
    As a bass-heavy IEM, the Rain 2 does pretty poorly in this regard. Its bass quantity overemphasizes explosions and gunfire, dulling down the softer details that competitive gamers need to hear to stay in the game. Imaging is honestly pretty good, but with its bass the Rain 2 is something to avoid if you want to game competitively. (Note the word ‘competitively.’ If you play stuff like Diner Dash or Bejeweled, then the Rain 2 will be more than enough. Seriously. I used to play those games with Apple earbuds.)

     

    I judge my movie experience with IEMs pretty similarly to that with music – with my biggest selling points being midrange clarity and overall balance. And in this regard, the Rain 2 performs just as well in this aspect as it does with music. Vocals are very warm and thick, and its bass emphasis lends unnecessary emphasis to sound effects like explosions and other things that are already loud. Overall I probably wouldn’t watch movies with the Rain 2 – not that I watch movies much anyway.

     

     

    EQ Response

    Now this is where things get interesting. The Rain 2 happens to be pretty adaptive to EQ, and with a reduction in the bass (-5 dB centered at 100 Hz), the whole signature sounds much more pleasing to the ears. The midrange is still warm, but not excessively so, and it also loosens up and takes more control over the whole signature. Overall a very big improvement in my book, with a sound that I would like to hear from the Rain 2. (I’m pretty sure Thinksound has something like this in store.)

     

     

    Value

    The Thinksound Rain 2 retails for $100, which is a very good deal on a very good IEM. For a bass-emphasized, consumer-oriented IEM the Rain 2 has very little faults in what it does. If anything, I’m really just criticizing the Rain 2 for not doing everything I want it to do. I mean, with a package like this for an eco-friendly IEM, what more could you ask for?

     

     

    Comparison

    Versus Brainwavz S5 ($100)

    [​IMG]
    It's pretty clear that this matchup will eventually come around, especially after fellow Head-Fi'er @Dsnuts stated how they sound better than the S5. That statement really got me interested in getting the Rain 2, as I loved the Brainwavz S5 a lot. So I took the time to get the two together for a head-to-head comparison, and here's what I got.

     

    The Brainwavz S5 has bass. Lots and lots of it. It's heavy, it’s sluggish, and it’s warm, but it’s big, loud, and a lot of fun to listen to. The Rain 2…not so much. Sure, it’s more balanced and accurate, but to me, when you have bass emphasis like this, you either go hard or go home. The bass impact sounds noticeably dumbed down compared to the sheer force of the S5. As for the midrange, the Rain 2 easily gets the upper hand, but is still too warm to play every basic genre in the book anyway, so I’m going to leave it at that. The treble and soundstage also goes to the Rain 2, since it has a decent amount of space compared to the intimate, almost congested S5.

     

    But overall, which would I pick over the other? Well, if I were me with all of my other IEMs, I would easily pick neither and go back to my Heaven 2 or ME03, that’s for sure. But supposing that I had only these two IEMs and had to pick only one to keep, I would probably keep the Rain 2 because of its better all-around ability. As much as I hate both IEMs with instrumental and classical music, the Rain 2 is just slightly more tolerable with those genres and for that reason I pick these woodies over the Brainwavz S5 – although only by a hair.

     

     

    Versus Brainwavz S0 ($50)

    [​IMG]
    The first thing I noticed when I compared the two is how they sound almost exactly the same. Everything from the low-end, to the midrange, to the soundstage...they’re 95% identical. &Okay, so I may be over exaggerating that last part, but it was a pretty big surprise to see just how similar they sounded. Let’s break it down a bit.

     

    The bass is very similar in terms of quantity and tonality. Both are warm, a little flabby, and have a similarly soft impact. The S0, however, seems to have more quantity because of its darker signature, but otherwise, it and the Rain 2 sound like brothers. The two also share lots of similarities in the midrange – they’re warm, they’re thick, and they don’t sound very good with pianos and classical music. However, the Rain 2 edges the other out with its slightly cleaner and clearer tone. Otherwise not much difference here, either. The Rain 2 also has slightly more treble than the S0, improving its balance, but again they sound similar nonetheless. As for the soundstage, I really can’t pick apart any difference between the two – they sound too similar to make out any distinctions.

     
     

    ~~ Conclusion ~~​

     ​

    [​IMG]

    The Rain 2 for me is a hit-and-miss, to put it in short. At one time I would really like it, and the other I would really hate it. But all personal opinion aside, the Rain 2 is a very good IEM if you’re in the market for a smooth, fun sound in a package that will last. &&
     
    Category
    Score
    Comment
    Packaging, Accessories
    7/10​
    100% of the Rain 2’s packaging is 100% recyclable; although either way it doesn’t really feel like you’re contributing to the planet or anything like that. The included accessories are notably generous for a Western IEM at $100, leaving a lesson other Western manufacturers could – rather, need to – learn from.
    Design, Build, Microphonics
    8/10​
    The solid wood/metal composite housings feel absolutely amazing. Overall the build isn’t heavy-duty, but the non-microphonic cable and the conservative design makes for a very good daily IEM.
    Fit, Comfort, Isolation
    7/10​
    Their conventional shape allows for an easy and comfortable fit with most ears. Even with stock tips, the Rain 2 isolates pretty well.
    Microphone
    N/A​
     
    Bass
    7/10​
    The Rain 2’s low-end extends well and has a nice amount of punch; however, it has a rather soft impact and bleeds into the midrange a good amount.
    Midrange
    5/10​
    The smooth, warm midrange is good for rock, pop, and EDM, but I would stay very far away from these if I were to listen to anything beyond that.
    Treble
    7.5/10​
    Crisp, lively, and nicely balances out the whole signature. Probably my favourite point of the Rain 2.
    Presentation
    7/10​
    The Rain 2’s soundstage is decently-sized and has a good amount of air. However, its presentation feels a little congested.
    Other Media
    6.5/10​
    Despite their pretty good sound signature, I wouldn’t think of using the Rain 2 as an IEM for either gaming or movies.
    EQ Response
    8/10​
    With a cut in the midbass the Rain 2 sounds more in-line with an IEM that I would like to hear from a company called Thinksound.
    Value
    7/10​
    For $100 retail they’re very much worth their price if you’re looking for a smooth, bassy IEM for pop and electronic music.
    Total
    7/10​
    I can’t say I like the Rain 2’s sound signature, but they are more than capable of pleasing the consumer crowd without any trouble.


     

    Shout-Outs, Gallery

    Again I just want to thank Aaron Fournier for giving me the opportunity to write this review. I really hope you enjoyed reading this little article of sorts; I had lots of fun writing it and am really looking forward to seeing Thinksound’s future products. As always, the rest of the pictures taken in this review can be viewed here.
     
    As always, this is thatBeatsguy signing off; thanks for reading!

     

     
    Changelog
    04/20/2015: Changed scores on some of my reviews.