1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. Animagus
    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 PRO - Recommended!
    Written by Animagus
    Published Mar 26, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Great sound quality for the price
    Good bass definition and instrument separation
    Wider soundstage than TSMR-3
    Updated faceplates look beautiful
    Cons - Should include a better cable in the package
    None besides that

    Nitpicking- Slight 3kHz dominant emphasis
    My background- I am a professional musician, producer and audio engineer with experience in the performing, recording and pro-audio industry. I test products on a technical and musical level and try to write reviews as simple as possible from a music fan's perspective.

    Disclaimer- I would like to thank Tansio Mirai for sending me a review sample of TSMR-3 PRO for testing and a review. I am not affiliated with Tansio Mirai or any of their sellers in any way and write this review with my best unbiased opinion regardless of how the review turns out.

    Blue 1.jpg Blue 5.jpg
    Picture courtesy - Tansio Mirai

    Genre preferences- I majorly listen to rock, acoustic, pop and metal genres and occasionally checkout EDM music which is doing the rounds on the radio and charts.

    Reference Songs list-
    1. Foo Fighters- The Pretender, Best of You & Everlong
    2. Imagine Dragons- Radioactive & It’s Time
    3. Coldplay- Paradise, Up in Flames & Everglow
    4. Ed Sheeran- Thinking out loud, Bloodstream & Galway Girl
    5. Gavin James- Always & Hearts on Fire
    6. John Mayer- Slow Dancing in a Burning Room, Stop this Train, Who Says & Say
    7. Switchfoot- Meant to live & Dare You to Move
    8. Linkin Park- Papercut, One Step Closer & Somewhere I belong
    9. Maroon 5- She will be loved, Payphone & Lost Stars
    10. Lifehouse- All in All & Come Back Down
    11. Karnivool- Simple Boy & Goliath
    12. Dead Letter Circus- Real You
    13. I Am Giant- Purple Heart, City Limits & Transmission

    Specifications-

    1. 3 Knowles Balanced Armature drivers
    2. Frequency range - 15Hz-20kHz
    3. Impedance - 15ohm
    4. Sensitivity - 113dBL/mW
    5. Reduce noise - 26dB
    6. Connector - 2pin 0.78mm

    TSMR-3 has 3 Knowles Balanced Armatures (1 Knowles ED 29689 & 2 CI low frequency drivers) with 3 crossover, 7 tuning switches, 12 frequency division components on both sides which all use high quality USA and Japan components. You can alter the bass, mids and highs with the combination of three switches. The Switch combination chart for your reference is provided below.

    1. Mode 1:
      100: Bass enhancement mode
      120: Mixed tuning
    2. Mode 2:
      020: All balanced mode
      103: Mixed tuning
    3. Mode 3:
      003: Mid-treble enhancement mode
      023: Mixed tuning
      123: Mixed tuning (lowest impedance)

    Build Quality, Fit and Comfort is the same as its predecessor, TSMR-3.
    So I'm going to take some of the content from my TSMR-3 review and mention whatever updates have been made.

    Included in the box-
    TSMR-3, 0.78mm 2-pin cable, hard disk carry case, 1 packet with an assortment of ear tips, 1 pouch, 1 cleaning tool and 1 switch changing tool.The IEMs came in an extremely simple cardboard box packaging. I don’t really care much about the packaging till they arrive safely as my main concentration is on the quality of the IEMs.

    Main 4.jpg Main 2.jpg Main 5.jpg

    Build Quality-
    The shells of the TSMR-3 are made up of resin. The fit and finish is amongst the best I've seen in this price range. The seam isn't visible and there aren't any bubbles in the body. The nozzle is finished in matte so that the eartips don't slip away as it isn't a traditional lip design.

    Sadly, the 2-pin cable doesn't look all that premium but it isn't microphonic, feels decently rugged and does its job. Also, nowadays a lot of very well-made cables can be bought for very little money.

    Main 1.jpg Main 3.jpg

    Fit and Comfort-
    TSMR-3 PRO have a very comfortable fit. The shells are light and well-shaped for my ears. They also block quite a lot of outside noise, so much that my friends got tired of ringing my house bell while I was listening to music and had to call me on my phone to let me know. The nozzles will fit any kind of ear tips with a bore width of 5mm. I would highly suggest using wide bore opening eartips with medium soft bore for best results.

    Below are the updates made in the 3 PRO.

    • Aesthetic Update- TSMR-3 PRO has updated faceplate designs. There are multiple faceplate color options to choose from with no additional charges.
    • Internal Update- As far as I know, Tansio Mirai switched to a different Knowles driver for bass and also made adjustments to the internal circuitry to accommodate the sound signature changes they had in mind.

    SOUND ANALYSIS – Default mode 020 as reference.


    BASS- The sub-bass extends deep low, mid bass has a neutral presentation and upper bass has good definition too. It is well balanced along with the rest of the frequency range. Now all of this can be explained better with some reference songs, so here are some songs which are driven by good bass playing or an impactful kick drum.
    • Gavin James’s Always – The sub-bass prominent bass kicks in from the second verse. It is felt well but does not dominate the track or make it sound boomy.

    • Coldplay’s Up in Flames- The song has an 808 kinda kick and the sub-bass again is heard well. The mid-bass has good attack too.

    • Karnivool’s Simple Boy- In this song, the mid-bass and upper bass steal the spotlight. Jon Stockman's overdriven bass tone sounds brilliant! Out of all the IEMs I have in this price range, this song sounds the best in TSMR-3 PRO. The bass sounds well balanced with the drums and guitars, and nothing jumps out abnormally anywhere. This shows that 3 PRO's bass has very good definition and texture and it helps portray Karnivool's fantastic bass tone in their songs excellently.

    • Imagine Dragon’s Radioactive – The massive kick drum they've used in the track has been mixed to be in the background. It does not dominate the track but it’s impact is heard very well, as intended. The synth wobble bass that plays throughout the verses is well defined in the center with good sub-bass and mid-bass impact.

    MIDS-
    The midrange is well presented too. Upper midrange has more dominance than lower midrange and that is how I like it (IEMs should not have too much of the 500Hz range because that is where all the muddiness lies. Prominence in that area can quickly take away the clarity in an IEM). 3 Pro have a boost around 3kHz which helps vocals, guitars and orchestral instruments with good definition. It also gives 3Pro its primary tonal character.
    • Vocals- 3 PRO portrays vocals very well. They sound clear, natural and well defined in the track.
      Ed Sheeran’s voice in Thinking Out Loud sounds nice and intimate, and the reverb trail is also heard clearly. John Mayer sounds earthy and natural in ‘Who Says’ as well as ‘Stop this train’ whereas Dave Grohl’s voice in ‘Best of you’ sounds natural and powerful with good clarity, panned in the center.

    • Acoustic Guitars- Ed Sheeran’s acoustic in ‘Galway Girl’ has good attack, timbre as well as sustain which are all heard well even though they are panned in the center right behind the vocals. John Mayer’s acoustic in ‘Who says’ and ‘Stop this train’ sounds warm bodied with good string definition, like how an old well aged acoustic guitar sounds like.

    • Distorted guitars in Linkin Park tracks like 'Papercut' and 'One Step Closer' are more defined by the upper midrange and as a result sound prominent in track but never harsh and ear piercing. Switchfoot’s ‘Meant to live’ has two distinct guitar tones playing together. Both are heard clearly and are well defined in the track.

    TREBLE-
    The treble in the 3 Pro is clear and crisp. It does not sound harsh and the sibilance region is well under control. Orchestral instruments in tracks like ‘Paradise’, ‘Up in Flames’ and ‘Galway Girl’ have good clarity and a nice top end sheen to them which makes them very interesting to listen to. Falsettos and high-pitched vocals of singers like Gavin James and Adam Levine sound natural and never ear piercing. They are a joy to listen to.


    Soundstage, Imaging and Separation-
    3 Pro’s soundstage is noticeably wider than TSMR-3. I would rate it more than average size. Imaging is done well and songs never sound claustrophobic. Because the treble is clean and clear, separation of instruments is also good.


    COMPARISONS-


    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro vs TSMR-3 - The battle of the siblings


    Here are the differences I heard right off the bat. They are certainly not night and day. The 3 Pro is a tasteful refinement and update to the 3.
    1. Bass definition is slightly better and more defined on the 3 PRO.
    2. 3 PRO has slightly better separation between instruments and the soundstage is wider too.
    3. Treble is slightly cleaner and sounds airier in the 3 PRO. Some users had reported slight sibilance in sibilance prone tracks in the TSMR-3 earlier, which I never had as a problem but in the case of 3Pro, it surely is non-existent. Tracks which have sibilant vocals will always sound sibilant as the treble is very revealing rather than smoothened out.
    4. Mids tonality is more natural now, in the 3 PRO. Initially in TSMR-3, I felt that the 3kHz peak occasionally made some instruments containing that frequency, sound a bit peaky (Alert: This is me nitpicking now). Well that peak is now better balanced on the 3 Pro and gives guitars a nice character. As a result, upper middle frequencies have better tonality, therefore sounding more natural.
    3Pro Vs 3.jpg

    TSMR-3 PRO vs Toneking T4


    TSMR-3 PRO has more bass presence and sub-bass goes lower than T4. 3 PRO’s mids sound fuller than T4’s. 3 PRO has a peak in the upper mids around 3kHz and T4 has it around 4.5kHz, which give them their respective tonal character. T4’s treble is thinner and airier whereas TSMR-3’s is relatively towards the neutral side. T4 on the other hand has a slightly wider soundstage if not similar.


    Conclusion-
    All in all, Tansio Mirai have added some good upgrades to the TSMR-3 to make the TSMR-3 PRO, for just a little more money. 3 PRO’s added advantages can mainly be felt with the updated faceplate colors, better bass definition, better separation and a slightly wider soundstage.

    As for the TSMR-3, it had its own nice character, charm and sounded absolutely fine. Unless you have them both and sit down to compare them intensely back to back, I think you will be happy with either of the two for listening to music in detail.

    So, I would advise the existing TSMR-3 owners to upgrade to one of Tansio Mirai’s higher driver count IEMs instead. It will be a better investment as you would get more for your money and a bigger jump in sound quality.
    1. hakuzen
      superb review, as usual. thanks!
      hakuzen, Mar 26, 2019
      hqssui likes this.
    2. Animagus
      Animagus, Mar 26, 2019
  2. audio123
    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro - Clarity
    Written by audio123
    Published Apr 1, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Clear, Engaging, Switches
    Cons - Cable can be improved
    Introduction

    Tansio Mirai is a Chinese company that produces in-ear monitors. I would like to thank Tansio Mirai and Penon for the review unit of the TSMR-3 Pro. At the moment, you can purchase the Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro from Penon Audio.

    [​IMG]

    Specifications

    • Driver Configuration: 3 Balanced Armature
    • Frequency Response: 15Hz-20kHz
    • Impedance: 15 Ohm
    • Sensitivity: 113dBL/mW
    Unboxing & Accessories

    The TSMR-3 Pro comes in a white package which sports the brand logo and name. Inside the package, there is a carrying case which contains the TSMR-3 Pro, detachable 2 pins 0.78mm cable, 2 packs of tips, cleaning tool, metal pin, soft pouch and instruction manual.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    IEM Build & Design


    The TSMR-3 Pro has transparent clear acrylic shells and the faceplates have black/silver design. At the back of the shells, there are switches. The left and right faceplates have the brand name and brand logo printed in silver respectively. The nozzle is slightly angled with 2 bores. The TSMR 3 utilizes 2 pins 0.78mm connectors and it has an ergonomic design.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Cable Build & Design

    The cable is a detachable 4 core cable with 2 pins 0.78mm connectors. On the connectors, there are L & R markings on the left and right respectively. The connectors have black housing. The cable has a memory wire section that is enclosed in a transparent heat shrink tube. The chin slider is translucent. The y-splitter has a black housing and there is strain relief. The jack is 3.5mm gold plated right angled with strain relief.

    [​IMG]

    Sound Analysis (Balanced Mode)


    Lows

    The TSMR-3 Pro has moderate amount of sub-bass quantity and it is extended well. The sub-bass reproduction is expressed with cleanliness and the rumble is not too deep. Bass decay is quick and there is a speedy performance. Bass texture is rendered in a generally smooth manner. The mid-bass has fair quantity and the slam is delivered in an agile manner without being heavy. Each bass note is articulated with a robust hit.

    Mids

    The midrange of the TSMR-3 Pro has a detailed presentation and it boasts good transparency level. Vocals are belted out with presence in a clear manner. The lower midrange has an apt quantity without sounding too thick and male vocals are expressed well. The upper midrange is boosted and the forwardness provides an engaging female vocals display. The midrange showcases clear and present vocals.

    Highs

    The treble on the TSMR-3 Pro is extended well and it has a good details retrieval. There is no sibilance and harshness. The treble has fair body and it is articulated precisely. The amount of air rendered is good and it creates an open feeling. There is moderate sparkle at the top to inject some liveliness. The crisp on the the treble is well-defined. The presentation is engaging and controlled.

    Soundstage

    The TSMR-3 Pro excels in its soundstage. There is an open feeling with no congestion. The width magnitude is great with accurate positioning of vocals and instruments. The depth is not too closed in.

    Switches

    There are 3 switches for lows, mids and highs which provides a total of 7 different sound signatures.

    3 main modes:

    • Bass (Up, Down, Down)
    • Balanced (Down, Up, Down)
    • Treble (Down, Down, Up)
    Comparisons

    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro (Balanced) vs TSMR-3 (Balanced)

    The TSMR-3 Pro has less sub-bass quantity than the the TSMR-3 and the extension on the TSMR-3 Pro is greater. The bass decay on the TSMR-3 Pro is quicker and the nimbleness contributes to an agile performance. The bass texture on the TSMR-3 is rendered with slightly more smoothness. The mid-bass on the TSMR-3 has more body and the slam is delivered with extra weight. Each bass note on the TSMR-3 Pro is articulated with more precision. There is a tighter presentation on the TSMR-3 Pro. The midrange on the TSMR-3 Pro has better clarity and it boasts higher transparency level. The lower midrange on the TSMR-3 Pro has less body but male vocals are expressed with additional presence. The upper midrange on the TSMR-3 Pro is more forward and the greater emphasis enhances the presentation of female vocals. There is a livelier vocals performance on the TSMR-3 Pro. For the treble, the TSMR-3 Pro has better extension and there is a brighter presentation. There is no sibilance and harshness. The treble on the TSMR-3 Pro has defined crisp with extra sparkle. In terms of soundstage, the expansion on both is natural. For the soundstage, the TSMR-3 Pro has greater width magnitude. The depth on the TSMR-3 Pro is less closed in. There is a more holographic feeling on the TSMR-3 Pro.

    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro (Balanced) vs TFZ Secret Garden 3 (Balanced)

    The TSMR-3 Pro has more sub-bass quantity than the Secret Garden 3 and the Secret Garden 3 has slightly greater extension than the TSMR-3 Pro. The sub-bass reproduction on the TSMR-3 is able to bring rumble. The mid-bass on the Seret Garden 3 has slightly more body than the TSMR-3 Pro and it is slightly denser than the TSMR-3 Pro. The Secret Garden 3 has quicker bass decay. The bass texture is rendered more smoothly on the TSMR-3 Pro. Each bass note on the TSMR-3 Pro is articulated with a robust hit. The midrange on the TSMR-3 Pro has a higher engagement level and it is more enjoyable to listen to. The Secret Garden 3 takes on a leaner approach. Vocals are executed better on the TSMR- 3 Pro with musicality. The lower midrange on the TSMR-3 Pro has more body and male vocals are expressed with presence. The upper midrange on the TSMR-3 Pro is more forward and female vocals have higher intimacy level. Next, for the treble section, the Secret Garden 3 has slightly more extension. There is a smoother presentation on TSMR-3 Pro. The amount of air rendered is greater on the Secret Garden 3 with defined crisp. The sparkle on Secret Garden 3 is more apparent. Lastly, for the soundstage, the TSMR-3 Pro expands more naturally with less width magnitude. The Secret Garden 3 has better depth.

    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro (Balanced) vs iBasso IT03

    The IT03 has more sub-bass quantity than the TSMR-3 Pro and the IT03 commands a greater extension. The sub-bass reproduction on the IT03 is fuller and provides a stronger rumble. The bass texture on the IT03 is rendered with additional smoothness. Bass decay on the IT03 is quicker with slightly more agility. The mid-bass quantity on the TSMR-3 Pro is less and the slam is expressed nimbly. Each bass note on the TSMR-3 Pro is articulated in a more incisive manner than the IT03. The midrange of the TSMR-3 Pro is clearer than the IT03 and vocals are expressed with a higher level of definition. The lower midrange on the IT03 has more body and male vocals are presented with lushness. There is extra presence on the TSMR-3 Pro. The upper midrange on the TSMR-3 Pro is enhanced with greater intimacy. Female vocals sound more energetic on the TSMR-3 Pro. In the treble section, the TSMR-3 Pro is extended better and there is greater amount of air rendered which creates an open feeling. The crisp is more defined and there is additional sparkle on the TSMR-3 Pro. Lastly, in terms of soundstage, there is a more natural expansion with the IT03. The width magnitude is greater on the IT03 and the depth of the TSMR-3 Pro is less closed in.

    [​IMG]

    Conclusion

    The TSMR-3 Pro is a clear sounding iem that provides a tight bass performance, engaging midrange and extended yet controlled treble in its balanced mode. In addition, its versatility is showcased with 3 switches that can allow the user to experience a total of 7 sound signatures. The Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro builds on the foundation of TSMR-3 with an improved sonic performance and it is another winner from Tansio Mirai.

    [​IMG]

    For more reviews, visit http://audio123reviews.com.
      Light - Man and hqssui like this.
  3. justrest
    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro
    Written by justrest
    Published May 3, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Clear and detailed sound. Price performance ratio, material and build quality, tuning switches
    Cons - Bass light for some, carrying case might be better
    I would like to thanks to Penon Audio for this great opportunity. Here is the TSMR-3PRO’s link:

    https://penonaudio.com/tansio-mirai-tsmr-3.html

    IMG_2087-1.jpg

    Specifications:

    Unit driver:3 balanced armature

    Color:9 colors available (for faceplate) transparent clear color cavity.

    Frequency range: 15Hz-20kHz

    Impedance: 15ohm

    Sensitivity:113dBL/mW

    Reduce noise:26dB

    Connector: 2pin 0.78mm

    3 independent drivers each side

    6 independent drivers on both sides

    1 Knowles ED29689 and 2 Knowles CI series customized low frequency driver

    3 crossover, 7 tuning switches, 12 frequency division components on both sides (USA and Japan imported high quality components)

    Low frequency sound tube channel combination + high frequency independent catheter + damping and other physical tuning technology

    IMG_2088-1.jpg

    Package Details:

    Earphone

    5 pairs of Eartips

    Earphone case

    IMG_2089-1.jpg

    Test Equipment:

    Lotoo Paw Gold

    Astell & Kern AK120

    Opus #1

    IMG_2091-1.jpg


    Package, Design & Isolation;

    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3Pro comes with simple white cartoon box. There is a big black case inside the cardboard box and the entire package is in this case. The package content is not bad at this price. There are lots of tips, a magnetized carrying case, cleaning tools, tuning switch pin. I would prefer hard case instead of that magnetic soft rubber case, but that’s fine.

    The earphone design is very stylish. White faceplate and transparent body color are quite beautiful. You can make custom faceplate as well as many different color options. There are silver color brand name and logo on the faceplate but as I said, you can choose different customization options. TSMR-3Pro uses industry standard 2 pin (0.78mm) pin socket. You can use stock cable or you can upgrade it. The shape of the TSMR-3Pro is extremely ergonomic and it has a like ear-shaped design. I did not have any complaints for long periods of use. There are switches on the back of the earphones and they are pretty solid and not flimsy. Stock cable looks good and the cable itself is black 4 braided with 2 pin connectors. There are Left and Right marks on the connectors. Thanks god there is no memory wire and it is easy to use it. The isolation is also very successful and sound is not leaking outside. But like all other earphones, it depends on what kind of tips you are using.

    IMG_2096-1.jpg
    IMG_2097-1.jpg

    Sound:

    There are 3 switches and you can select from 7 different sound tunings with lows, mids and high switches. TSMR-3Pro has slightly warm bass, with smooth and slightly laid back mid and relatively prominent trebles. All switches have some affect on their frequencies but the difference between them is not drastic. Differences were mostly just a nuance and I listened mostly all the switches are down.

    Probably treble is the best part of the TSMR-3Pro. The detail and the resolution level of the upper frequencies are impressive at this price. The sparkle and the extension are quite high. It is airy and spacious which makes the positioning of the instrument easy to hear. I have not come across any sibilance or harshness and never noticed any uncontrolled tones in the fast passages or multi stringed instrument parts on the music. Detail and resolution level are pretty impressive. TSMR is source sensitive and its sound character is drastically changing with the sources. In my listening with the AK120, the tops were slightly muddy and grainy, but when I listened with Opus # 1, I got a great clear clean performance. It is quite successful and natural when it is combined with the right source. It doesn't make any mixing in the music and keeping its control. Overall, lively and airy presentation of the high frequencies is quite good, especially for its retail price.

    The mid-frequencies are slightly leaned back and the overall presentation is lively and dynamic. The details are quite good and the presentation is musical. Even though the mids are slightly back into the overall frequency, the vocals are relatively forward. The vocals are smooth and realistic. I find it more successful especially in women vocals. The lower mids are a little lack in quantity, but with their success in other areas it doesn't bothered me. Overall, the quality of mid is pretty successful but slightly missing in low-mid quantity makes the sound little bit thin.

    The bass is not dominant and it has a nice authority in overall presentation, but this is not for bass-head level that's for sure. Bass frequencies are sufficient in quantity and I can say that it is ideal for many types of genres. Some people may still want more in quantity for sure. Basses are not dry and it doesn't feel artificial, timber is relatively natural. Lack of power and boomy type of beats offer advantages such as speed and recovery time. Sub-bass is not too deep and relatively rolled off, but this is not a problem for many types of music. Although it's not good for EDM genres, it does well with other genres. In general, bass is quite successful with a quick and tight presentation and a relatively adequate detail and resolution.

    IMG_2099-1.jpg
    IMG_2104-1.jpg

    Soundstage:

    TSMR-3Pro has a spacious soundstage and there is no problem either horizontally or in depth. It is airy and roomy enough to perform successfully on stage. With its clean background, the instruments are quite comfortably located on the stage, and are listenable without mixing and losing their resolution.

    IMG_2108-1.jpg
    IMG_2112-1.jpg

    Verdict:

    At 200$ - 300$ level competition is pretty tough in the market and there are many good earphones in this price range, and TSMR-3Pro is one of them. If you want it to get slightly warm, musical with highly detailed earphone, you might want to look at TSMR-3Pro. This is a great sounding earphone for its price. And also 7 different tuning option is great for whoever wants to play with various sound signature.

    images

    1. IMG_2112-1.jpg
      Light - Man and Aegruin like this.
  4. peter123
    Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro A romantic esquire
    Written by peter123
    Published Aug 13, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Vocal reproduction, treble, built quality, comfort, isolation and accessories
    Cons - Bass extension and cable
    The Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro was sent to me by Penon Audio for the purpose of this review, I would like to thank them for the opportunity.

    The price at the time for this review is $219 and you can purchase them here:

    https://penonaudio.com/tansio-mirai-tsmr-3.html

    I’m not in any way affiliated with Penon Audio.


    I’m a 47 years old music and sound lover that changed my focus from speakers to headphones and IEM’s about seven years ago. At that time I realized that it wasn’t realistic for me to have all the different setups that I wanted and still house a family of four children and a wife so my interest turned first to full sized headphones and later also IEM’s.

    My preferences are towards full sized open headphones and I believe that also says something about what kind of sound signature I prefer (large soundstage in all directions, balanced and organic sound).

    My music preferences are pretty much all over the place (only excluding classical music, jazz and really heavy metal). My all-time favorite band is Depeche Mode although I also listen to a lot of grunge/indie, singer/songwriter/acoustical stuff as well as the typical top 40 music.

    I do not use EQ, ever.

    I’m a sucker for value for money on most things in life Head-Fi related stuff is no exception.

    Mark Knopfler – Back to Tupelo

    Ane Brun – One

    Michael Jackson – Liberian Girl

    Metallica – Die Die My Darling

    The Peter Malick Group – Immigrant

    Eva Cassidy – Songbird

    Thomas Dybdahl – A Lovestory

    Norah Jones – Don’t Know Why

    Celldweller – Unshakeable

    Jack Johnson – Better Together

    Dire Straits- You and Your Friend

    Lupe Fiasco – Deliver

    Sade- The Big Unknown

    Yello – Out of Dawn

    Diana Krall – Temptation

    Of course I’ve listened to a lot of other music with them as well but this is my kind of regular check list for new gear and very familiar with these tunes.

    Built and accessories:
    The Tansio Mirai TSMR-3 Pro is a very well built pair of IEM’s that features three balanced armature (BA) drivers on each side. The house is made of resin and doesn’t fall short in quality from other much more expensive IEM’s in my collection that’s made from the same material such as the Aurisonics ASG-1PLUS and the LZ Big Dipper.

    The TSMR-3 Pro comes in a myriad of customization options (for an extra charge depending on the option), from different face plates to a full custom version. Check out the initial purchase link for all details. The pair I received has a beautiful deep blue face plate that I like a lot.

    20190811_121317.jpg
    The TSMR-3 Pro has three switches for tuning the sound located on the housings (exactly in the same way as the Big Dipper), this solution work great in my experience. More about the tuning options later in the sound section.

    The accessories are also great, even for this price point, and includes the following:

    9 pairs silicon tips (S,M,L)
    1 pair bi-flange tips
    1 cleaning tool
    1 tool to change the tuning switches
    1 carrying pouch
    1 pair of ear hooks
    1 large zippered case to store them in when not in use

    Not much more to say about it really other than that I find the tips with the grren core to be fantastic and I really love the oversized case that can even hold my Opus #1(S).

    What you see is what you get:

    20190811_121429.jpg 20190811_121400.jpg

    The only ting I don’t like in the package is the cable that I don’t think match the asking price for the product. It feels a bit disappointing and I don’t care much for permanent earguides on my cables but that's only my preference and others may have a different opinion. Because of this combined with the fact that I prefer to use most of my sources from their balanced output the rest of this review is made with a cheap balanced third party cable. It shouild also be noticed that the TSMR-3 Pro uses 2-pin 0,78 mm connectors.

    The TSMR-3 Pro is very easy to drive and pretty much any device that put out sound will be able to drive them to loud enough volume.

    Specification
    Unit driver:1 Knowles BA ED29689 + 2 Knowles BA 22955

    Frequency range: 15Hz-20kHz

    Features: 3-way crossover 2 tubes
    Impedance: 15ohm

    Sensitivity:113dBL/mW

    Reduce noise:26dB

    Connector: 2pin 0.78mm

    Fit and ergonomics:
    I find the TSMR-3 Pro to be extremely comfortable and got no problem wearing them for several hours. I’d even fo as far as saying that they’re among the most comfortable IE’s I’ve ever worn. I do prefer resin housing in genereal so these are right down my alley. One thing worth mentioning though is that the nozzles are quite large. As I’ve got narrow ear canals this got me a little bit worried when I first saw them but i practical use they fit me very well as soon as I found the right pair of tips for them. I can even sleep on my side with them in my ears.

    Isolation is also excellent and up there with the best I’ve experienced so far. I’ve been able to test them on a couple of flights with good result. I’m usually not crazy about using IEM’s on planes due to the cabin pressure but the isolation on these combined with the BA drivers made it a perfectly fine experience.

    Sound:
    I’ve used the TSMR-3 Pro back and forth in the last month or so and they’ve played for well over 100 hours. I’ve used them both around the house and when out and about and I haven’t really found any significant weaknesses in the way they’re designed.

    I’ve used them mostly with my Galaxy S8, Adv. Accessport Air, Radsone ES100 and Opus #1(and #1S). They’ve worked well with all the souces with a coupl of minor exceptios. With the Accessport Air they do hiss quite a bit but then again so does every pair of BA IEM’s I’ve tried with it. It does also sound like crap from my phone but so does pretty much everything so nothing alarming there (I really hate the sound quality on the S8). My preffered pairing is with the original #1 as the airy and silky presentation from it fits perfectly with the TSMR-3 Pro for my preference.

    Before I go any further in describing the sound I’d like to do a short explanation of the tuning switches. Actually it’s not really mine but a direct copy paste from the Penon Audio site as I find it to be excellent (and I’m also a bit lazy).

    To sum it up real short each housing has three switches so in total the following seven combinations are available:

    Tuning mode instruction
    0 means push down ,1/2/3 means push up

    Mode 1:
    100: Bass enhancement mode
    120: Mixed tuning
    Mode 2:
    020:All balanced mode
    103: Mixed tuning
    Mode 3:
    003: Mid-treble enhancement mode
    023: Mixed tuning
    123: Mixed tuning (lowest impedance)

    The diifference between the settings are subtle but audible and they should, in my opinion, be considered as fine tuning rather than representing fundamentally different sound signatures. In the end I ended up preferring the 100 setting as it brings out the most lush and rich presentation for me. The sound described in the rest of this review is with this setting as long as nothing else is mentioned.

    So, lets start from the bottom. The sub-bass extension on the TSMR-3 Pro is not the best I’ve heard and impact is also quite low. The quality on the other hand is quite good. Mid bass has simialr good quality but is also a bit subdued. In genreal these are definately not basshead material. That being said the rich overall tonality still makes them feel perfectly capable with most music and they don’t come acrsoss as bass light per se but I do feel that they lack a bit of drive with electronic music occasionally. The mid- and upper bass has enough weight and presence to make male voices sound natural whithout overshadowing the midrange.

    The midrange is twhat stands out on the TSMR-3 Pro. It’s quite forward and this contributes to the impression of the bass not having the gratest impact. The quality of the midrange is great though and it’s up there with the best mirange presentations String instrument is also very well presented with a great organic sound to it as well as excellent timbre and weight.

    The treble is pretty well extended and does also feel rich and dense. I really don’t feel that anything is missing and the treble never ever sound harsh or fatiguing but it’s not an agressive presentation and may lack a bit of bite and airiness for some. I kind of like a bit of bite in the treble myself normally but despite that I stil find the treble quality on the TSMR-3 Pro to be extemely enjoyable.

    Clarity, micro details and resolution are about average for the price point but still good for such full and relaxed sounding pair of IEM ‘s. Soundstage width and height is good while depth, and 3D feeling is excellent.

    In total the TRMS-3 Pro offers a very relaxed and non-fatiguing listening experience with a very forward midrange. It works great with pretty much all music but does really shine with acoustic and vocal recordings.

    Comparison:
    Please note that the comments in the comparison section are not in absolute terms but in comparison between subject A and B. This means (as an example) that if subject A is found to be brighter than subject B it does not necessarily mean that subject A is bright sounding in absolute terms. I hope this makes sense.

    These comparisons were done listening through the bit Opus #1 and Radsone ES100.

    20190811_114158.jpg 20190714_145427.jpg

    LZ Big Dipper ($860):
    The similarities in looks alone makes this comparison a must. As already mentioned both of these two IEM’s offer identical tuning switches. They’re also both made of resin butt he Big Dipper are a bit larger (after all there’s four drivers more in each house). Both are very comfortable butt he smaller size of the TSMR-3 Pro makes them slightlu more comfortable. In many ways these two area slo similar in sound with one great exception: the midtrange of the TSMR-3 Pro is quite forward while the Big Dipper has a quite recessed midrange. Apart from that the overall percieved sound of the two are quite similar butt he difference in the midrange puts different parts of the sound in focus on them,.Both bass and treble comes across as more forward in the Big Dipper. The bass does also reach slightly deeper and overall bass impact is greater on the Big dipper, it’s also a step up in bass quality with both faster and tighter decay. The treble on the Big dipper has a bit better extension and a more airy presentation. The differences are nowhere near what the price difference shpould suggest though and when it comes to the midrange I do think that the TSMR-3 Pro are at least on par.

    The Big Dipper does also have the wider stage and are a bit harder to drive while isolation is top notch on both of them.

    The tuning system on both of them offer the same number of alterantive combinations and I do also find the amount the sound changes when the switches are changed to be quite similar. The changes are not very large but rather more tuning on one signature than changing between different signatures.

    20190811_114052.jpg

    Tenhz P4 Pro ($150):
    The P4 is actually even more relaxed than the TSMR-3 Pro. Despite both of these being mid centric the mids of the 3 Pro has even more forward vocals combined with more bass presence ginving them more attack in their presentation. Bass extension and quality is quite similar on the two. Upper midrange and treble is very polite on both of them butt he 3 Pro is more refined. Overall the Pro 3 is richer sounding with better timbre to the notes. The Pro 3 does also have a larger stage in all directions and comes across the technically better performer between the two.

    The P4 Pro is slightly harder to drive while the 3 Pro feels more well made. Comfort and isolation is great on both with a slight advantae to the 3 Pro.

    Brainwavz B400 ($199):
    There’s a lot of similarities in the overall sound on these two with the midragne being the shining star on both with a very smooth and non intrusive presentation. There’s one very easily noted difference though, the 3 Pro has more overall weight in it’s presentation which results in a richer and fuller sound. The B400 is also more two dimensional sounding and lacks bass presence in comparison. The treble extension is also better on the 3 Pro and the better extension in bot ends of the spectrum results in both deeper and wider stage.

    Comfort and isolation is better on the 3 Pro and I also find it to feel more premium in the way they’re constructed. The B400 is harder to drive.

    LZ A6 ($310):
    Once again two contenders that both has tuning possibilities. Both male and female vocals are more forward on the 3 Pro. The overall presentation on the A6 is more airy with a much wider stage. The A6 does also have better bass quality and quite a bit more bass impact. The bass does also reach deeper on the A6. Treble extension is also better on the A6 as is clarity, resolution, and detail retrieval. The A6 may (in some configurations) be more in your face compared to the more relaxed presentation on the 3 Pro. The A6 is the technically better performer between the two of them but the 3 Pro can be just as enjoyable with it’s more laid back approach and excellent midrange.

    Comfort and isolation is better on the 3 Pro while the A6 is harder to drive. I do also prefer the resin material on the 3 Pro over the metal housing on the A6, that being saif both of them seems very well constructed.

    The tuning system on the A6 offers more different combinations and I also think that the way the sound changes on the A6 in different configurations offer greater variations to the overall sound signatures.

    Summary:
    The TSMR-3 Pro is a very nice pair of IEM’s in many ways. First of all they’re extremely well built and although I may have come across a few other IEM’s with similar great finish and overall construction but I can’t think of any that’s actually better.

    Secondly the accessories included doesn’t leave much more to wish for. The only thing I can think of would be a balanced cable as an option but that’s hardly something I’d expect and certainly not at this price point.

    Thirdly, and most importantly, the sound that they put out is extremely enjoyable and easy to listen too. The may not have the best resolution, deepest bass or widest stage but what they do have is a fantastic vocal presentation on both male and female voices, excellent timbre to the notes and an very easy going but yet audiophile (if I dare say) sound. Their whole presentation is quite romantic in a way and I must admit as although this is not really my preferred signature I’ve definitely fallen for them.

    images

    1. IMG_20190714_150121_784.jpg
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Lohb
      Hey Peter, this was what confused me on Amazon.com reviews July 2019..but I guess he is wrong QUOTE...." And note this.... even though it appears to be a 0.78mm 2-pin cable, Tansio Mirai decided to use very thin, non-standard pins! Your nice 16 core 2-pin aftermarket cables won't fit because they'll have more standardized pins that are just too thick to fit in the tiny plug-in metal slots. Why, Tansio, Mirai, why? "" UNQUOTE
      Lohb, Aug 21, 2019
    3. Animagus
      @Lohb Hey! I hope Peter doesn't mind me answering... well the 2-pin sockets that TSMR uses are tight so that the earpieces don't disconnect if you're carrying them by the cable or by the cable's pull. For pins which are slightly fatter, you might have to align and angle the pins to the socket and use very slight force. But don't worry, the socket is held in by an extremely tough glue, it won't break. You have to do something extraordinary to break it.
      Animagus, Aug 21, 2019
      peter123 likes this.
    4. Animagus
      Adding on, I've used a lot of cables with them with absolutely no problems. Just align the pins to the sockets and then push them in. :)
      Animagus, Aug 21, 2019
      peter123 likes this.