1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

SIMGOT EN700 In Ear Dynamic Earphone

Rating:
3.8/5,
  1. ExpatinJapan
    Simgot/Suzuka EN700 is a great performer for the price.
    Written by ExpatinJapan
    Published Sep 15, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Looks fantastic, good instrument separation, on the neutral side of sound
    Cons - cable is a bit stiff, sound stage is medium

    Simgot/Suzuka EN700 Earphone Review - Expatinjapan

     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    Simgot/Suzuka EN700 review​
    -expatinjapan​
     
    Thank you to Shenzhenaudio CN for sending us the EN700 for review​
     ​
     ​
    Facebook​
     ​
    [​IMG]
     
     ​
    Packaging and build.
     
    Full unboxing here:  http://headpie.blogspot.jp/2016/07/en700-simgotsuzaku-earphone-unboxing.html
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    The earphones are made of a light weight metal. Housing: Aluminum and stainless steel.​
     ​
    [​IMG]
     ​
    The box is a nice size, not too big. It is just the right size for the included earphones and accessories.​
     ​
    [​IMG]
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    The EN700 comes with a generous array of tips.
    I prefer a longer nozzle on my earphones, the EN700 has a medium length nozzle, I was able to achieve a decent seal with the larger silicone tips.
     
    [​IMG]
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    Many people have commented on the striking look of the EN700 and have likened it to a mini HE1000.
    I like it, it gives me thoughs of 1950s Americana and early science fiction images.
     
    [​IMG]
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    Cables are fixed and not detachable. 
    There is a memory wire for added fit around the ears.
     
    [​IMG]
      It comes with an attractive case. I just noticed now on the backside of the case is lettered `Salute to Art and Science` in a simple cursive script. A nice touch.
     
    [​IMG]
     ​

    Specifications

    Specification:                                                                                   
    Product Name: SIMGOT EN700 In Ear Earphone
    Type: In-ear 
    Brand:  SIMGOT
    Model:  EN700
    Impedance: 24Ω
    Headphone sensitivity: 101 3 dB/mW
    Frequency range: 15-25000Hz
    Degree of distortion: <1% 101dB (20μpa)
    Sound track difference: <1.5dB (at 1000Hz)
    Power Rating: 10mW
    Housing: Housing: Aluminum and stainless steel.
    Conductor: 25 * 0.05mm silver-plated oxygen-free copper wire antibacterial TPU
    Interface: 3.5mm
    Cable Length: 1.2m 0.05m
    Color: Silver
    Whether with mic: No mic
    Earphone plug type: Line type
    Vibrating membrane: polymer composite diaphragm
    Drive unit: 10mm ultra high magnetic composite dynamic unit
     
    [​IMG]
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    Fit
     
    I could achieve a comfortable fit with the EN700 after trying out several sizes of tips and adjusting the memory wire in the cable.
    The nozzle is of average length, but with some playing around I was able to get a satisfying seal.
    The earphones are fairly light weight.
    Due to the bulbous shape of the housings results may vary person to person.
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
     
    [​IMG]
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    Value
     
    At around US$100 the Simgot/Suzaku EN700 is well within the affordable range.
     
    For cool looks alone it is worth it :)
    Build is decent and the cable is strong and supple.
    Sound scales up well with different sources.
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    Sound
     
    As per usual I got some decent hours on the earphones before proceeding with the review.
     
    I used the Opus#1 Dap, Centrance Hifi Skyn, ipod touch 6G and Shozy Zero Gold for testing.
    The music I listened to was a wide range on shuffle to check the best points and limitations of the EN700.
     
    I have found the EN700 to be fairly clear and even overall. The main focus seems to be the mids and vocals, then the treble, and lastly the bass. It appears quite neutral.
     
    It is a $100 earphone and performs as such, but with that there is a pleasing aspect to it.
     
    Bass: The bass is there, but is fairly narrowly presented. On occasion deep, but not in your face heavy.
    Mids: Are clear and add a musicality to the presentation.  Crisp, smooth and lush. Not overly warm.
    Treble: Has a good clarity. Adds a lightness and airiness to the presentation. No sibilance or harshness to the treble. 
     
    Vocals: They come across as natural and are nicely matched to the music. Prominant, but neither too far forward nor recessed.
     
    Sound stage: The sound stage is medium, but the separation of instruments makes up for this.
    If I were to describe what I am hearing, the bass is in the middle of my head, the mids and treble reach the outside rim of my head and ears.
     
    Instrument separation: This is done quite cleverly. The EN700 houses a large 10mm driver and it performs quite satisfactory. Quite musical, a bit of bleed in here and there but overall very enjoyable and laid back with decent details.
     
     
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    Overall
    The Simgot/Suzaku EN700 is an affordable, beautiful looking earphone.
     
    The sound quality scales up well with different sources. The better the player the better it sounded.
     
    It is more treble and mid focussed than bass centered.
    Whilst I have down played the bass, it is there, fast...but more closer to the neutral side of things.
     
    The sound stage is medium, but acceptable and enjoyable due to the decent instrument separation.
     
    It has a decent sized dynamic driver that helps it in overall performance.
     
    The EN700 does not seem to distort at high volumes.
     
    All in all the EN700 is an enjoyable and non fatiguing earphone. It tends towards the neutral side of things but has enough energy, separation and soundstage to be pleasing. 
     
    It has honestly exceeded my expectations. Nice job.
     
    [​IMG]
     ​
    Thank you to Shenzhenaudio CN for sending us the EN700 for review​
    -expatinjapan​


  2. bhazard
    A mid centric, vocal loving dynamic
    Written by bhazard
    Published Oct 26, 2016
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Great extension from lows to highs, vocals
    Cons - Sibiliance
    Introduction
     
    Simgot is a new name in Asian audio that is getting some attention with their new EN700 model. Supposedly, some that were involved in tuning the Ostry IEMs have tuned this one, so it immediately caught my interest upon hearing this.
     
    I’d like to thank Shenzhen Audio for providing me the Simgot EN700 for review.
     
     
    REVIEW
     
    Specifications
    1. Housing: Aluminum and stainless steel
    2. Driver unit: Single 10 mm dynamic
    3. Frequency response: 15 Hz – 25 kHz
    4. Impedance: 24 ohm
    5. Sensitivity: 101 +/- 3 dB/mW
    6. Power rating: 10 mW
    7. Cable length: 4 ft (1.2 m)
    8. Conductor: Silver-plated oxygen-free copper wire, antibacterial TPU
    9. Connector: 3.5 mm
     
    Accessories/Packaging
    1. Leather storage case
    2. 6 pairs of silicone ear tips
     
    IMAG0039.jpg   IMG_20161026_213607.jpg
     
     
     
    The packaging is high quality, with the leather case being the highlight of the accessories. This kind of presentation is what I want in a purchase inching towards the $100 range.
     
    Housing/Fit/Isolation
     
    QQ_20160705165049.jpg
     
     
    The design heavily borrows from HiFiMan’s Flagship HE-1000 headphone, no question about it.  It does makes the EN700 look very good, but also takes away from any originality that could have come from the design. I don’t think Simgot when I look at these, I think HiFiMan, which isn’t something you want when building a brand. The housing isn’t the most comfortable either, as it’s over-ear, shallow insertion creates seal and eartip issues. I was able to get the best results from the newest KZ black whirlwind type tips, which are quickly becoming my favorites alongside the JVC Spiral Dots.
     
    Cable
     
    Chin slider, sturdy, memory wire over ear. Nothing special, but not bad either.
     
    Sound
    Testing Gear (in order of quality)
     
    LH Labs Pulse X Infinity 2.0
    LH Labs Geek Out V2+ Infinity
    Axon 7
    Asrock Fatality amped onboard DAC/amp
     
    Music used for testing
    Alter Bridge, Iron Maiden, Buckethead, Korn, Testament, Die Antwoord
     
    Amplifier Needed?
    No
     
    Sound Signature
     
    Neutral bass, mid centric focusing on vocals, boosted and unnatural treble (almost to a point of distortion)
     
    Bass
     
    Insertion and seal play a huge part in bass levels. It is very easy to have little to no bass with a majority of eartips. An absolute perfect seal must be achieved or you will be disappointed in this IEM. It even throws off my Veritas measurements, with an almost 20dB difference in bass levels, as seen here:
     
    2.jpg 3.jpg
     
     
    With a perfect seal, bass is neutral to slightly elevated, reminding me a bit of Havi B3’s bass, with the EN700 having a bit more clarity and subbass. While you won’t always notice the bass, once you throw on a deep rap bassline you’ll all of a sudden feel all the bass that was seemingly missing before.
     
    Midrange
     
    If you love mid centric IEMs, you may love these. Much like the old Ostry KC06, the EN700 seems tuned specifically for vocal performances. Vocals excel and are the high point/strength of the EN700.
     
    While providing the clarity for vocals to excel, guitar distortion can push into sibilant levels however. While this won’t be that noticeable during a rap or pop song, metal becomes fatiguing and a bit too sharp at anything above lower volumes. EQ can tame it, but it’s a shame because these are so close to being excellent.
     
    Treble
     
    While the dynamic driver in the EN700 is fully capable of providing full extension from lows to highs, I feel the IEM would have benefitted in being a BA/DD hybrid. I think the driver is tasked with doing too much, making treble suffer from the same sibilant sharpness found in the upper mids at times, making things sound a bit off without EQ to bring it down.
     
    A warm source might be the key in synergy with this IEM, as the EN700 is more tolerable on my AKM DAC in the Axon 7 than with my Pulse Infinity. Still, extension is excellent for a single DD, and those that are less treble sensitive may not have an issue. At most times, a high quality sound IS there, but it doesn’t favor my music choices.
     
    Soundstage, Imaging, Resolution
     
    Soundstage is above average with nice width. Imaging and resolution are also above average, with a slight knock against being sibilance prone.
     
    Comparisons
     
    Simgot EN700 vs QY-20:  It EN700 is a detailed, mid centric IEM that reminds me of the Ostry KC06. The QY-20 has much more sub and midbass, making a more pleasing listen to me. The EN700 has more pronounced mids, a better soundstage, and equal to slightly better clarity.
     
    Dunu Titan 1 vs EN700: The EN700 is slightly better than the Titan 1 in all aspects aside from the treble sibilance. I prefer the fit of the Titan, but find the open back difficult to use on a commute without annoying everyone around me.
     
    Conclusion
     
    The EN700 is a nice first entry into the market from Simgot, but it could use some slight improvements. Increase the bass a bit, add a BA, and fix the sibilance in the mids and highs and you’ll have a fantastic IEM.
     
    At its current price of $99, it is difficult to recommend over budget hybrids such as the Urbanfun and Senfer 4in1, both of which can be bought for less than half of the price of the EN700 and sound a bit better.
     
    It may sound as if I'm negative about the EN700, but that isn't really the case. While they aren't my personal preference, there is a lot to like here and it may be a fantastic purchase for quite a few people.
     
    You can purchase the Simgot EN700 here:
     
    http://www.shenzhenaudio.com/simgot-en700-in-ear-dynamic-earphone-24-original.html
      kvad and Cinder like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. akg fanboy
      wow, a miniature he1000 with a mid centric sound signature, definitely need to do some research on these
      akg fanboy, Oct 27, 2016
    3. akg fanboy
      any idea on how they compare to the re400s I own?
      akg fanboy, Oct 27, 2016
    4. bhazard
      Better subbass, similar mids, better treble extension than the RE-400, but the RE-400 mids/highs sound a bit more natural/smooth/relaxed. Soundstage EN700>RE400   Imaging RE400>EN700
      bhazard, Oct 27, 2016
  3. Cinder
    The Simgot EN700 Tells a Tale of Balance
    Written by Cinder
    Published Aug 12, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Good mids reproduction, good treble retrieval and articulation, solid build quality, decent cable
    Cons - Small memory foam eartips, thin bass
     ​


    IMG_0727.jpg

    -Introduction-

    I’m on a roll. This will be the third consecutive Chinese IEM I review. Up until this point, I’ve not really been disappointing by these smaller brands, and thankfully, the Simgot EN700 continues the trend. Despite it’s lack of glaring flaws, can it stand out in an already crowded price segment of high-quality IEMs?
    The Simgot EN700 is available from Penon Audio here for $99. Simgot’s official website can be found here.
    Disclaimer: This review is based upon a sample unit provided to me by a manufacturer in exchange for my honest opinion and un-edited words. I do not profit in any way from the writing of the review. I would like to thank Simgot and Penon Audio for providing me with this unit.
    Preference and Bias: Before reading a review, it is worth mentioning that there is no way for a reviewer to objectively pass judgment on the enjoy-ability of a product: such a thing is inherently subjective. Therefore, I find it necessary for you to read and understand what I take a natural liking to and how that might affect my rating of a product.
    My ideal sound signature would be an extended sub-bass with a leveled, but textured, bass. The mids should be slightly less pronounced than the treble, but still ahead of the bass. I prefer a more bright upper range.
    Source: The EN700 was powered off of a Nexus 6P -> Creative Sound Blaster E3. All music was served as FLAC, ALAC, or as 320Kbps Mp3. I found the standard DAC/Amp inside my phone and PC to not be adequate to drive the EN700 at near-peak levels of quality.

    Tech Specs

    1. Brand: SIMGOT
    2. Model: EN700
    3. Vibrating membrane: polymer composite diaphragm
    4. Driver: 10mm ultra high magnetic composite dynamic driver
    5. Impedance: 24Ω
    6. Headphone sensitivity: 101 ±3 dB/mW
    7. Frequency range: 15–25000Hz
    8. Degree of distortion: <1% 101dB (20μpa)
    9. Sound track difference: <1.5dB (at 1000Hz)
    10. Power Rating: 10mW
    11. Conductor: 25 * 0.05mm silver-plated oxygen-free copper wire antibacterial TPU
    12. Interface: 3.5mm
    13. Cable Length: 1.2m ±0.05m
    Please note that these specs were taken from the Penon Audio page for the EN700.
    IMG_0728.jpg

    -Sound Signature-

    Initial Impressions: These impressions were taken before I’d seen any FR response graphs or measurements. Impressions are taken off of random songs in my music library.
    The EN700 sounds fairly neutral, with a slight lean towards mid treble. It’s not sibilant or piercing by any means, and has a rather relaxed sound signature. Layering is good, with there being a fair amount of air between some of the instruments. Bass sounds a little thin.
    Treble: Songs used: White FlagMidnight CityOutlands
    White Flag was smooth, and strangely enough, didn’t sound that bad because of it. Not to be confused with softness (a trait I absolutely hate in IEMs), this smoothness results in treble that melds well with the rest of the song, and doesn’t have too many aggressive edges to it. The vocals in particular play nicely with the EN700.
    The drums and electronic chorus of M83’s Midnight city are presented well on the EN700, and exhibit the same kind of smoothness that was present in White Flag. While I wish the treble had a slightly faster decay, I don’t have any real complaints about the EN700’s performance here.
    Outlands had a tinge of sweetness to it. The background’s violins were pleasant and well defined. During the climax of the song, I didn’t notice any particular distortion. A little more air in-between the various treble-based instruments in the song would go a long way in helping the EN700 create a more symphonic experience.
    Mids: Songs used: The DriftJarsI Am The Highway
    The lower mids seem to be very quiet. The deep chugging of The Drift is far less emphasized on the EN700 than my other IEMs. In turn, however, some other elements of the song, such as the violins and pianos became the primary focus. It’s not a bad change, but is certainly different from the traditional listening experience you would get from The Drift.
    The guitars of Jars didn’t have the edge I wished they did. However, the relaxed tonality of said guitars did allow for a lot of details to come into play. Imaging and separation were both good, but again, lacked the airiness I would have liked.
    I Am The Highway had a much more vocal-bound focus on the EN700. While I didn’t get too much deep sound out of the bass guitar, I didn’t really mind. Unlike the Advanced Sound M4, I don’t think it impacts the sound quality severely. However, Simgot, if you are reading, please release a new EN-series with more emphasized lower-mids!
    Bass: Songs used: LightsKyoto99 Problems (Hugo Cover)Leave Me
    Based off my earlier experiences with the EN700, I wasn’t looking forwards to the bass section. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The EN700 is capable of delivering deep drum-kicks, albeit not very loudly, and this rings true in Ellie Goulding’s Lights.
    Kyoto was a mediocre listening experience. The sub-bass is there, but doesn’t rumble at all. Mid-bass is present, but is never boomy and is rather well shaped.
    99 Problems, as a more acoustic song, did fair better than Kyoto. The bass guitar is easy to perceive and has a smooth tonality. It sounds to me like this is the kind of song the EN700 is tuned to perform well with.
    I really do like using Leave Me as a trial song as it is literally always outputting some form of sound in the 20Hz-250Hz frequencies. Unfortunately, the EN700 didn’t have the meaty and deep sound I was looking for with the song. It didn’t sound anemic, but did sound restrained.
    However, it’s not all bad news! It’s fairly easy to EQ the EN700 without any distortion or loss in quality. I was able to get good results off of both my Nexus 6P and my Sherwood AD230B hardware EQ, giving me more sub-bass and lower-mids.
    Clarity: Songs used: ThroneMap of The ProblimatiqueI’m Not Alright
    Throne performed decently. I didn’t notice any blown out sounds, but did notice some jagged sounds in the chorus. A toned down upper-treble would likely solve this. The problem persists when the EN700 is paired with my Nexus 6P and HTC One M8.
    Listening to I’m Not Alright was a breeze. The boosted upper frequencies lend the song the justice it deserves. The background violins do play well in the background initially, but become harder to hear than I would have liked during the chorus.
    Map of the Problimatique was a good listen as well. I did not notice any faded or missing details. In fact, I did notice some that resolved better on the EN700 than many of my more expensive IEMs.
    Male Vocals: Song used: Hotel CaliforniaAshes of EdenSunday Bloody Sunday
    The vocals of Hotel California were resolved very well. The harmonies and small details that the Eagles created resolved convincingly and were well-toned.
    Ashes Of Eden’s vocals were much more up front than usual. However, this lends them much better resolution. They exist cleanly against the rest of the song, and sound smooth.
    Sunday Bloody Sunday’s vocals were a little too thin, and were, in a few isolated cases throughout the song, sibilant.
    Female Vocals: Songs used: Stupid GirlNeed Your HeartCrushCrushCrush
    The vocalist of Garbage does a good job of using inflection and intonation in her singing to convey an emotion, and the EN700 does do a good job of showing displaying them appropriately. Details and tone are on point.
    Need Your Heart’s lyrics were less commanding then I prefer, but had a decent enough resolution. I did find the vocal echo to be resolved pretty well, and to fade out evenly. In certain parts of the chorus’s intro, I did find her voice to be slightly shrill.
    Haley Williams’ voice plays very well with the EN700. The vocals of CrushCrushCrush were toned well and never had the shrillness that occured in Need Your Heart.
    Sound Stage
    The stage is moderately wide, with a slight amount of depth to it. There is some airiness, but not enough to be impressive. Overall, the sound stage is passable for the price, but isn’t anything to write home about.
    Comparisons
    EN700 v.s Thinksound Rain2 ($90)
    The EN700 definitely seals better, and has a more articulate upper mids and treble. That being said, the Rain2 is much warmer and has better bass response, making it hard to declare a solid winner. The Rain2 should satisfy bass lovers, while the EN700 should be the choice of listeners who want a more reference sound.
    EN700 v.s RHA MA750i ($130)
    The EN700 and MA750i have remarkably similar sound signatures. The MA750i has a slightly more relaxed treble, but has a fuller lower-mids and mid-bass. The MA750i has a better ear-hook though, and is much easier to fit around the ear than the EN700. The win goes to the MA750i.
    EN700 v.s AAW Q ($200)
    The EN700’s treble is more aggressive than the Q’s. Additionally, the Q’s upper-mids are far more tamed. Upper treble resolution of the EN700 is better, but only by a small margin. Sound staging is worse of the EN700 than the Q, and is less airy. Lower mids are more full sounding on the Q, and have more detail. The EN700 has smaller sub-bass response. The win goes to the AAW Q.

    Packaging / Unboxing

    IMG_0712.jpg
     ​
    IMG_0713.jpg
     ​
    IMG_0714.jpg
     ​
    IMG_0722.jpg
     ​
    IMG_0723.jpg

    -Build-

    Construction Quality
    Build quality on the EN700 is pretty good. It appears as though the main construction material is aluminum, as the driver-housings, Y-splitter, chin slider, and 3.5mm jack are all built from it. The aluminum has a smooth finish to it, but is not polished and shiny the way the chromed grills on the back of the driver-housings are.
    The cable is of reasonable thickness, and is built from a standard plastic material. It’s not completely smooth, but doesn’t catch on anything either. The cable has a heft to it, but lacks the annoying “memory” that cables, such as the ones RHA uses, have.
    The ear guides are a little long for my tastes. Since they are “memory shaped”, you need to mold them to the shape of your ear each time you use them in order to secure the large earphones to your ears. While this implementation isn’t bad, it’s not as good as some other ones out there, such as those RHA uses.
    Comfort
    The EN700 is reasonably comfortable. Unfortunately, the included memory foam eartips weren’t my size, so I didn’t get the supreme comfort I’m used to. The ear hooks do a good job alleviating the downward pull of the heavy aluminum chassis.
    Unfortunately, I could never get that great of an isolating seal. The large size of the EN700 makes it hard to use while laying down, and painful to wear while laying on your side.
    Controls
    The EN700 does not have inline controls.

    -Accessories-

    The EN700 comes with a lot of accessories. Inside the box you will find 8 pairs of eartips, one of which is memory foam. You will also find a leatherette carrying case, and what appears to be a small cleaning brush.
    I really like the case, as its understated design and smooth finish gives it a premium finish. Most importantly, however, the EN700 fits very well in the fuzzy interior of the case.
    IMG_0724.jpg

     ​
    IMG_0730.jpg

    -Summary-

    The EN700 is a premium feeling IEM with a well-balanced sound signature. However, the lack of an emphasized bass may be off-putting for listeners of electronic and R&B music. For $99, the EN700 isn’t priced poorly, but certainly doesn’t stand out in its price bracket. I would save a little more money and get a higher-tier IEM.
     
      B9Scrambler, puppyfi and hqssui like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. mochill
      dap does help a lot :)
      mochill, Aug 13, 2016
    3. Cinder
      @audio123 Simply being questioned by two individuals who have no objective proof that my setup is too feeble to allow me to fairly and comprehensively evaluate the IEMs which I've tested is as you said "not convincing".
       
      @mochill I still don't think that an entry level DAP will lend me a significant change in source quality. In fact, I do not ever plan on purchasing a DAP and will instead allocate my future funds to a desktop DAC/Amp stack, which in all likelyhood, outperform whatever DAP I could buy for the price.
      Cinder, Aug 14, 2016
    4. audio123
      @Cinder I don't want to offend you but most of the top reviewers these days use daps to evaluate iems as iems are used mostly for portable setups. You wont be carrying a desktop dac/amp outside. also, to add on, it may not outperform daps like Lotoo Paw Gold, Questyle QP1R, AK380.
      Cheers!
      audio123, Aug 14, 2016
  4. HiFiChris
    "Honey, I Shrunk the HE-1000" - A super classy and elegant looking IEM
    Written by HiFiChris
    Published Sep 6, 2016
    3.5/5,
    Pros - That design!, excellent build quality, good and detailed (yet slightly recessed) midrange
    Cons - vent coverage affects bass quantity, treble and bass could be a little more refined though they're average, treble is uneven and unnatural
    IMG_2080.jpg

     
     
     
    Preamble:

    I saw the SIMGOT EN700 some time ago and haven’t really thought about it much at all. Then I read some people saying that it kind of looked like if the HiFiMan HE-1000 transformed into an in-ear, and I have to admit that this is kind of true and the outer grille design of the EN700 does indeed look somewhat similar to the HE-1000 in a miniature format.

    I was recently asked by Penon Audio whether I was interested in reviewing the EN700 or not, and before I could even accept or decline, the in-ears were sent to me free of charge for the purpose of an honest, unbiased review. Thank you for that.
    As always, I am neither affiliated with either of the companies and am not receiving any compensation or profit.

    As far as I have seen, the EN700 that goes for $99 and is a single dynamic driver in-ear that is supposed to be worn over the ears. It is also SIMGOT’s first in-ear, nonetheless their appearance and website looks (http://www.simgot.com/en/products/detail/5.html#!/detail) well-structured and professional, hence I wouldn’t be too surprised at all if the SIMGOT staff doesn’t consist of rookies but in fact of at least halfway experienced people from the audio industry, but that is to be found out in the course of this review.

    So without further ado, let’s get started.


    Technical Specifications:

    Price: $99 (http://penonaudio.com/SIMGOT-EN700)
    Transducer unit: 10 mm high magnetic composite moving-coil driver
    Frequency response: 15 Hz - 25 kHz
    Sensitivity: ≥101 dB (at 1000Hz)
    Impedance: 24Ω
    Distortion: <1%  @ 101 dB
    Rated power: 10 mW


    Delivery Content:

    The professional impression from the website continues with the package.
    On its front and sides, it shows nice pictures of the in-ears and cable, and displays an interesting exploded diagram on the back.
    The actual package that is black can be slid out of the white sleeve and features a picture of an interesting animal that looks like the mixture of a dragon and chicken and is probably something that comes from Chinese tales or mythology.
    Inside, one will then find the in-ears, a manual, warranty card, cleaning tool, leather carrying case, two paper sheets with three pairs of long stem and short stem silicone tips on each and last but not least a small bag with one pair of foam tips as well as one pair of extra small long stem silicone tips.
     

    IMG_2052.jpg   IMG_2053.jpg
    IMG_2054.jpg   IMG_2055.jpg
    IMG_2056.jpg   IMG_2057.jpg
    IMG_2058.jpg   IMG_2059.jpg
    IMG_2060.jpg   IMG_2061.jpg



    Looks, Feels, Build Quality:

    The in-ears look extremely beautiful and are perfectly built.
    The matte silver housings have got a shiny silver grille on the outside that really resembles the HiFiMan HE-1000’s design and is surrounded by a copper-coloured frame.
    The cables are permanently attached and have got memory wire. The cable is flexible and well built, and above the metallic y-split, one can find a metallic chin-slider. The straight 3.5 mm connector is made of metal, too, and has got good strain relief.
    In the cable’s lower section is a Velcro cable tie that can fortunately be taken off, as I don’t fully like such ties.
    Overall, especially the unique design and excellent build quality leave a very positive impression, even more so at the price point.
     

    IMG_2068.jpg   IMG_2070.jpg
    IMG_2071.jpg   IMG_2072.jpg
    IMG_2074.jpg   IMG_2077.jpg
    IMG_2078.jpg   IMG_2079.jpg

    IMG_2062.jpg   IMG_2063.jpg


    The carrying case could be a little larger inside to better fit the EN700 with attached long stem silicone tips, however it is still possible.
     

    IMG_2075.jpg   IMG_2076.jpg



    Comfort, Isolation:

    The in-ears are supposed to be worn with the cables around the ears which is also the professional standard in higher price ranges. This is also my preferred wearing style with all in-ears as it makes the fit better and reduces microphonics.
    The in-ears are on the slightly larger side but sit flush in one’s ears.

    I am very glad that also tips with a longer stem come included, else I would have had to strongly criticise the fit with the other included ones. With the longer stem silicone tips, fit is relatively good for me however not perfect despite my large ears.
    Microphonics are by the way pretty much inexistent.

    Sound isolation is on the somewhat weaker side and below average.


    Sound:

    Just in case, the in-ears were burnt in for 150 hours with sine and noise signals before even first casual listening started.

    My main sources were the iBasso DX80, Luxury & Precision L3 Pro as well as the HiFime 9018d.

    For listening, I used the largest included long stem silicone tips.

    Tonality:

    Before I go on with what I heard, let me tell you about one thing where the EN700 is somewhat flawed in my opinion: Chances are high that it won’t sound identical for everybody. The reason behind this is that the vent on the inside has got a huge influence on bass quantity. Depending on how much it is covered, the lows can either be very flat, super bassy or somewhere in-between. This is also why I have read some impressions of the EN700 being bass-light but others that stated the opposite, saying it has got the right amount of low-end impact.

    Let me illustrate this with a frequency response measurement that displays the sound with a totally open and a totally closed vent:

    ventopenventclosed.jpg
     

    The orange line obviously displays an open vent hole whereas the green one covers the sound with a fully closed vent. So depending on individual ear anatomy, the sound might vary.

    Please note that my plots weren't recorded with professional equipment but with my Vibro Veritas coupler that was pseudo-calibrated to more or less match a real IEC 711 coupler’s response with applied diffuse-field target, hence the results shouldn’t be regarded as absolute values but rather as a rough visualisation. Especially at 3, 6 and 9 kHz, there are sometimes greater deviations from professional plots with at least 5 to 10 dB – but for a general, rough amateur comparison between various in-ears and a rough idea of how they sound, the results are sufficient, and in the mids and lows, they are even (very) accurate most of the time.

    So please, pretty please, have in mind that my impressions might greatly differ from yours as in my ears, the vents were quite (but not completely) covered, making the lows relatively bassy.

    What I am hearing is a sound that is sub-bass driven in the lows with (in my ears) 9.5 dB above a flat in-ear like the ER-4S in the lower midbass and in the sub-bass. The lows don’t spill into the midrange but stay completely out of it.
    The midrange is a bit on the thinner and brighter side however not by too much. This is mainly as the treble isn’t really even, definitely on the brighter side and has some metallic peaks in the middle highs with less level in the upper highs, dampening cymbals a bit but making them somewhat metallic in attack because of the somewhat peaky lower and middle treble.
    In the mids and treble, the EN700 isn’t necessarily a realistic in-ear. Especially treble instruments such as trumpets sound metallic and skewed to a bright tone.

    Using a sine generator, I hear the bass starting to climb around 450 Hz and then continuously gaining level down to 40 Hz where the climax is being reached that is kept upright down to 20 Hz. Although the climax is reached low, the upper bass does also not appear shy. I would say this is a good implementation for a bassy in-ear, however personally, I wouldn’t mind a little less level around 100 Hz to make it a perfect lowly set start of an u-shaped bass. This is just a personal thing to make the bass emphasis perfect, because as it is now, it doesn’t spill into the mids and doesn’t have a too warm or mellow root, which is already nice to hear.
    In the highs, I am hearing a first peak at 3 kHz and another one that is stronger and narrower at 5 kHz, a usually critical frequency band for most. The upper treble around 10 kHz and before then has less level, and in the super treble above 10 kHz, level starts evenly rolling off after 11 kHz towards 15 kHz.

    Hmm, I really wish the treble was a good bit more even and realistic. However, with the somewhat covered vent, the highs are balanced out by the bass a bit and aren’t as obtrusive as they would be for people with an ear anatomy that leaves some space between the vent and ear, making the bass more neutral and therefore bringing the treble more to the front.

    Resolution:

    IMG_2073.jpg
    To pull off a bright and peaky treble, an in-ear needs a good detail retrieval else it can become annoying. And the SIMGOT is quite on the border here. It is about averagely resolving for its price, so neither an underappreciated gem nor a slouch. Still, its treble could be more detailed, as even at low listening volumes, it could be somewhat more differentiated and better layered. If the highs were less forward and more even, they wouldn’t be as artificial and it wouldn’t be as obvious that they don’t sound as detailed as the treble of a better higher priced in-ear. “If you cannot properly pull it off and make it detailed, don’t do it” is what I am thinking, as without an emphasised but even treble, the EN700 would have sounded more authentic in its price range instead of trying to fake some resolution and air by the emphasis. I might sound a bit over-critical here, but in my opinion if the treble resolution isn’t very high, an in-ear cannot authentically pull off a bright treble.
    The mids are however very okay to being even quite good and live up to the price, but the enthusiastic treble doesn’t give them all the room they want to, so they are a bit overshadowed by the treble. Compared to the bass and treble, they could be more forward, but despite being a bit in the background compared to the bass and highs, they put out a quite nice amount of details and have got a nice speech intelligibility, even with busy tracks. Yes, I think the mids are the silent star of the show, as they don’t hide any details at all and sound clean whereas in the bass and treble, the SIMGOT sometimes withholds some details.
    The bass is among the somewhat quicker for a dynamic driver in-ear in its price range and decays quickly enough and shows an adequate amount of aridness and control for the price, however it softens somewhat towards the sub-bass which however most in-ears in this price range also do. While its speed and control are good, I unfortunately also perceive it as a little blunt and almost one-noted, which is mainly because of the vent is covered in my ears and the driver is therefore putting out more bass than it would normally do, hence being stressed more. Reducing bass quantity or placing the in-ear so that the vents aren’t as covered, the bass is then relieved a bit and also sounds less blunt as well as more detailed.

    So overall, I would say that the detail retrieval is about average for the price. You shouldn’t expect a super clean, detailed and fast-paced sound, however it is cleaner, more differentiated and better layered than the average in-ear in the $50 range.

    Soundstage:

    The soundstage is not the largest nor the smallest but about averagely wide, ending between my ears and eyes to the sides and having about 80% as much spatial depth as width.
    So yeah, it sounds quite circular, but a little blurry as well. With normally fast and quicker recordings, instruments start bleeding into each other but still stay clean enough to avoid fogginess.

    ---------

    In Comparison with other In-Ears:

    Again, keep in mind that the EN700 has got more bass in my ears because of its vents are more covered because of my ear anatomy and insertion angle/depth.

    IMG_2081.jpg

     
    Fidue A65:
    The A65 has got the less prominent midbass and sub-bass but is warmer in the root and has also got the somewhat warmer however not mellow mids. Both have got comparable amounts of upper bass. The Fidue’s treble is somewhat on the darker side.
    Regarding resolution, I am always surprised by what the A65 delivers for its price. Compared to the EN700, the Fidue’s bass sounds better layered and controlled while both are comparably fast, however the A65 doesn’t really soften towards sub-bass. In the mids, the A65 is somewhat better textured and layered, but the EN700 is not far behind. The Fidue’s treble is more even and much more realistic with the somewhat higher resolution too, however both in-ears let cymbals decay a little too quickly.
    The A65’s soundstage is smaller but better separated and more precise.

    DUNU Titan 1:
    The Titan 1 has got less bass quantity in my ears, but not by too much, however it appears to have less impact as it is cleaner and more arid. In the mids, both are comparable regarding timbre with the Titan’s appearing more distant. In the highs, while the Titan 1 also has got a bright and slightly uneven treble, it is more even than the EN700’s and has got more level in the upper treble with a realistic cymbal decay.
    The Titan’s bass is somewhat more detailed, better controlled and faster. In the mids, the EN700 is just slightly less detailed than the Titan but seems less distant. In the treble, the Titan 1 sounds more realistic plus even and especially more detailed, hence it can pull off its bright and emphasised treble easier than the SIMGOT.
    The Titan’s soundstage is more spacious in all directions and more precise, with more air around instruments and the cleaner separation.

    SoundMAGIC E80 (stock wide bore tips):
    The SoundMAGIC is less bassy in comparison but has got the warmer, thicker mids. In the middle highs, the E80 has got a dip and then a narrow peak in the upper treble that emphasises cymbals.
    The SIMGOT has got the somewhat more detailed and better layered mids that are a bit more in the background. In the bass, both are comparably arid but the E80 is somewhat more detailed and also somewhat more controlled here. In the Highs, while the SoundMAGIC appears more realistic, both are about identically detailed.
    The SoundMAGIC’s soundstage is a bit wider and also deeper and has got the somewhat more precise instrument separation, however not by much.
    Overall, I would say these two in-ears are about comparable on the technical side and in some areas one is superior while in others, the other wins, making a tie overall.


    Conclusion:

    IMG_2069.jpg
    The SIMGOT EN700 is a unique in-ear with a very nice and special design, a love to small details and a very good build quality. Also, the unboxing experience is very valuable.

    It delivers solid sound at its price point while it is none of those “secret budget kings”. However, it is also not out of flaws and has got a bright, somewhat uneven as well as artificial treble as well as an inner-facing vent that has got a quite high influence on the amount of bass one will hear.
    What it does very well though is the midrange which sounds quite detailed and has got a high detail retrieval and speech intelligibility although it is somewhat in the background compared to the bass and treble.


    With my usual 70% sound quality for the money (65/100) to 30% aesthetics/build quality/fit (89/100) weighting, I come to a conclusion of 72.2% or 3.61 out of 5 possible stars.
      Brooko, s4tch, H20Fidelity and 5 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. gearofwar
      First look, it looked just like mini he1000 lol
      gearofwar, Sep 7, 2016
    3. AT Khan
      A nice review and much awaited review. I was waiting for it, as these kept catching my eyes. Now I know. Hmmm... after your review, I think I'll pass em for now.
      AT Khan, Sep 7, 2016
    4. thatonenoob
      Very nice! I need to get my butt onto the Chinese earphone scene asap. So much happening so quickly.
      thatonenoob, Sep 8, 2016
  5. peter123
    Fantastic looking IEM's with matching sound!
    Written by peter123
    Published Aug 6, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Well balanced sound, amamzing looks, great total package
    Cons - Lack some warmth, memory wire
    This is a review of the SIMGOT EN700 IEM’s.
     
    IMG_3898.jpg IMG_3899.jpg
     
     
    IMG_3904.jpg IMG_3905.jpg
     
     
     
    The SIMGOT EN700 was purchased by me from Shenzhen Audio. The retail price for them is $99.
     
    http://www.shenzhenaudio.com/simgot-en700-in-ear-dynamic-earphone-24-original.html
     
    I’m not in any way affiliated with SIMGOT or Shenzhen Audio.
     
    About me:
    I’m a 43 year old music and sound lover that changed my focus from speakers to headphones and IEM’s about five years ago. At that time I realized that it wasn’t realistic for me to have all the different setups that I wanted and still house a family of four children and a wife so my interest turned first to full sized headphones and later also IEM’s.
     
    My preferences are towards full sized open headphones and I believe that also says something about what kind of sound signature I prefer (large soundstage in all directions, balanced and organic sound).
     
    My music preferences are pretty much all over the place (only excluding classical music, jazz and really heavy metal). My all-time favorite band is Depeche Mode although I also listen to a lot of grunge/indie, singer/songwriter/acoustical stuff as well as the typical top 40 music.
     
    I do not use EQ, ever.
     
    I tend to value function over form within reasonable limits.
     
    I’m a sucker for value for money on most things in life Head-Fi related stuff is no exception.
     
    Built and accessories:
    The SIMGOT EN700 is a in ear monitor featuring one 10mm dynamic driver.
     
    AFAIK it comes only in one flavor without a microphone.
     
    The cable has a straight 3.5 mm connector and though I personally prefer angled connectors the one in use here seems very reliable.
     
    The cable is round and flexible but still feels a bit on the cheap side. The over the ears wearing style makes microphonics pretty much non-existing. The chin slider is also in place the way I like it. Unfortunately the EN700 also has fixed memory wire for a more secure over the ear fit, I really don’t like memory wire as I never seem to get the perfect fit with IEM’s that has it. I much prefer a regular cable and a pair of included ear-hooks or even better a detachable one.
     
    The build in general seem very solid. The housings are all metal and feel well made. Strain relief is in place on all the crucial points and the Y-split is also solid without being overly large.
     
    Left/Right markings are quite easy to spot and the over ear wearing style makes it pretty much impossible to reverse the channels.
     
    The retail package is very impressive for the price point and could easily have been for a much more expensive offering. The high qualtiy leather pouch is just the frosting on the cake.
     
    The accessories pack is ok at the price and includes the following:
    6 pairs silicon tips (S,M,L)
    1 velcro band to put around the cable
    1 Cleaning tool
    1 leather pouch to store them in when not in use
     
    The SIMGOT EN700’s easy to drive and worked very well with all the sources I’ve tried it with including cellphones. I don’t find them to benefit significantly from a more powerful amplifier but the do benefit from a clean source and perform best with a full or even warm source.
     
    IMG_3907.jpg IMG_3908.jpg
     
    IMG_3913.jpg IMG_3915.jpg
     
    IMG_3916.jpg IMG_3918.jpg
     
    IMG_3919.jpg IMG_3920.jpg
     
    The specs:
    Housing
    Metal
    Driver Unit
    10mm dynamic driver
    Frequenzy range
    15Hz-25KHz
    Sensitivity
    101dB
    Impedance
    24Ohms
    Weight
    25 g
    Cable lenght
    1.2m

     
    Fit and ergonomics:
    Despite some minor issues with the memory wire I find the SIMGOT EN700 to be quite comfortable and got no problem wearing them for several hours. The housings are wide and flat making them possible to use without any discomfort even when lying on the side in bed. The included tips are ok but in the end I found out that I enjoy them the most with Sony MH1C tips.
     
    Isolation is about average, maybe slightly below and if blocking out external noise is of great concern other offerings might be better. That being said they’re still ok especially with music playing.
     
    Sound:
    I’ve used them back and forward in the last couple of weeks and they’ve played for well over 100 hours. I’ve used them both around the house and when out and about and I haven’t really found any significant weaknesses in the way they’re designed.
     
    I’ve used them with my LG G3 phone and FiiO X3 combined with the Cayin C5 as well as the Burson Audio Conductor Air and although they’ve worked very well with all of them I find them to perform their best with a warmer sound like the X3 or X3/C5 but they also sound very good with the dynamic and detailed sound from the Air.
     
    As already mentioned I enjoy the SIMGOT EN700 the most with my Sony MH1C tips.
     
    Demo list:
    Mark Knopfler – Sailing to Philadelphia
    Røyksopp (Feat.Susanne Sundfør) – Save Me
    Ane Brun – These Days
    Michael Jackson – Dirty Diana
    Metallica – Die Die My Darling
    The Peter Malick Group – Immigrant
    Eva Cassidy – Songbird
    Thomas Dybdahl – A Lovestory
    Norah Jones – Don’t Know Why
    Celldweller – Unshakeable
    Jack Johnson – Better Together
    Seinabo Sey – Younger (Kygo remix)
    Dire Straits- So Far Away
    Passenger – Let Her Go
    Lupe Fiasco - Deliver
    Morrissey – Earth Is the Loneliest Planet
     
    The overall sound signature on the SIMGOT EN700 is well balanced, smooth, detailed and a bit on the bright side with a subdued mid-bass.
     
    The sub-bass extension is surprisingly good given the overall signature on the EN700. It doesn’t reach quite as low as the best but still enough to be enjoyable with bass heavy music. Sub-bass impact is also quite good and the texture of the sub-bass is tight and well controlled.  Mid- and upper-bass presence is way less than the sub-bass. Despite the subdued mid-and upper bass they still perform surprisingly well with electronic and other bass driven music.
     
    The midrange is well in line with the upper bass staying clean and clear but being a bit on the thin side and lacking in depth. The presentation feels very well balanced and controlled but lacks a bit of drive due to the low amount of higher bass. Male vocals and string instruments feels slightly on the thin side lacking a bit of weight. Female vocals are very enjoyable and non-fatiguing.
     
    The treble is very well extended and despite being on the thinner side it manages to never get harsh or fatiguing.
     
    Clarity and micro details are about average for an IEM at this price point. Soundstage width and height is very good but depth and 3D feeling is lacking quite a bit.  
     
    All in all the SIMGOT EN700 offers a pretty unique listening experience with its well balanced and brighter presentation without ever feeling harsh or fatiguing. 
     
    Comparison:
    Please note that the comments in the comparison section are not in absolute terms but in comparison between subject A and B. This means (as an example) that if subject A is found to be brighter than subject B it does not necessarily mean that subject A is bright sounding in absolute terms. I hope this makes sense.
     
    These comparisons were done listening from my phone through the Audinst HUD-DX1 .
     
    Havi B3 Pro1 ($59) vs SIMGOT EN700:
    Compared to the SIMGOT EN700 the sub-bass on the original B3’s doesn’t reach as deep and bass quality is equally great on both. Mid-bass is actually more present on the B3’s and they’re also over all a notch warmer sounding making their presentation slightly fuller across the frequencies with the exception of the already mentioned lowest bass. The midrange on the B3’s is also more forward and vocals sound more natural. Treble extension is also pretty similar with a slight advantage to the EN700, and once again the presentation is fuller on the B3’s. The soundstage width and height is pretty similar on both but the B3’s has better depth, timbre to the notes and 3D presentation.
     
    I find the B3’s more comfortable due to my issues with the memory wire on the EN700.
     
    I like the metal housings on the SIMGOT EN700 better but the angled connector and cable is better on the B3’s.
     
    They EN700 are much easier to drive.
     
    Isolation is better on the Havi’s.
      
    PMV-A01 MK2 ($79) vs SIMGOT EN700:
    Compared to the EN700 the PMV’s has a fuller presentation with more warmth. The sub-bass on the PMV’s digs deeper but the difference are not large. When it comes to mid-bass they’ve got quite a bit more presence though giving them a fuller and warmer all-over presentation.  The PMV’s does have some bass bleed into the midrange though and this is certainly never the case on the EN700’s.The midrange is also fuller and vocals are more forward on the PMV’s while the EN700’s are more linear. The treble extension is quite similar on both with maybe a slight advantage to the EN700. The EN700 has a thinner and more airy treble while the PMV’s are fuller. Despite the EN700 being the brighter of the two the PMV’s has at least the same amount of clarity and detail retrieval. The EN700’s has a wider soundstage and more airy presentation while the PMV’s have better depth and 3D presentation.
     
    Fit is very similar on these two and I find them to be equally comfortable.
     
    Build quality is good on both but I prefer the cable and connector on the PMV’s.
     
    The PMV is easier to drive.
     
    Isolation is pretty similar and quite low on both.
     
    LZ A2S ($70) vs SIMGOT EN700:
    Compared to the A2S the SIMGOT has better soundstage width and much less mid-bass impact.  The A2S has deeper sub-bass and overall more bass presence but also more boomy mid-bass. The overall signature of the SIMGOT’s brighter while the A2S are fuller as a result of the mentioned higher bass presence. The lack of mid- and upper-bass on the EN700’s makes male vocals sounding a bit this and nasal when compared to the A2S. When it comes to female vocals the EN700’s actually pulls slightly ahead with its brighter presentation. The midrange has similar presence on both but is much fuller on the A2S. The treble on the SIMGOT has better extension but is also much thinner. Soundstage width and height is better on the EN700 but the A2S has much better depth.
     
    I find the A2S to be the more comfortable of the two.
     
    Build quality is good on both but I prefer the lack of memory wire, cable and angled connector on the A2S.
     
    The A2S are easier to drive.
     
    Isolation is better on the A2S.
     
    Summary:
    The SIMGOT EN700 offers a quite unique presentation with a very low amount of mid-bass but still enough sub-bass to be enjoyable with most music in combination with a great and detailed and airy upper range that manage to stay smooth and non-fatiguing. Personally I’d have liked a bit more warmth and mid-bass presence to give a greater sense of timbre and depth to the presentation but I’m sure a lot of people who enjoys a more analytical and cooler sound will love the EN700 because it does what it does very well.
     
    In addition to being well built they also look absolutely amazing and is great to use in bed while going to sleep due to the flat housings. 
     
    IMG_3910.jpg
      Baycode, BloodyPenguin, kvad and 6 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. powermatic
      Nice review, very informative. And since you paid for these iems, your review actually means something! Well done.
      powermatic, Aug 10, 2016
    3. Cinder
      @peter123 What material do you use as the floor for your photoshoots? Plexiglas?
       
      @powermatic Are you implying that every reviewer who uses sample units is a corporate shill?
      Cinder, Aug 10, 2016
    4. peter123
      Thanks for the kind words guys, this means a lot to me :)
       
      @Cinder It's just plastic. You can fin it on Aliexpress or Ebay (and other places as well I'm sure).
      peter123, Aug 11, 2016